Centreville, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Mystix

Mexican Goulash

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was a quick and easy dish, just what I was looking for tonight. I made one change: instead of salsa and Velveeta, I added 3/4 of a jar of 23oz Tostito's queso dip. My 13 month old ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Stuffed Potato Pancakes

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Yummmo! Made these last night and I had the boys (big and small) begging before I was even done cooking them all! As a time saver I used Simply Potatoes shredded hashbrown potatoes - 3 bags worth. Topped both with shredded cheese as others had suggested. Had 2 skillets going: one with ground beef middle and one w/bulk sausage middle. So breakfast AND dinner cooked at same time! **FYI**Didn't cook either beef or sausage before putting in middle and frying and came out PERFECTLY DONE**Yes, BOTH meats!! Thank you so much for a recipe that now MUST go into dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTLFLEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Meatloaves

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This recipe is FANTASTIC! The glaze/topping is the best and really makes these pop! I have made them twice now from demands of my family. I use a muffin pan and come out with 12 perfect meat-muffins. I have only made 2 small changes - once I added finely chopped onion and the other time I used a meat loaf mix instead of all ground beef. Both ways are fantastic. The recipe is PERFECT as is, but can see room to 'play' with it for more creations - next time will be adding bits of bacon to the meat ... Who doesn't love bacon?? Thank you Tonya from all of us for the NEW way mommy makes meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTLFLEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacquita

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I used half applesauce/half oil and more cinnamon, no cloves and about 1/2 cup more pumpkin. I made the cake portion different ways and found that piping it with a large decorating tip worked the best and kept the cookies a consistent size. The pumpkin flavor in the cakes is really good. I also used a cream cheese icing, as that is what I had, and they turned out wonderful! I froze the whoopie pies both before and after icing and had no problems with any sticky cakes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I used half wheat/half white flour, used smooth peanut butter (added about 1/2 cup more than called for) and added a mixture of peanut butter/chocolate chips to some of them. Mine were almost done at 8 minutes, so I took them out of the oven and left them on the pan to continue baking for another minute or two. They came out very chewy. Even though peanut butter cookies are generally a more dry cookie - these came out just like I expected them to be. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dijon-Tarragon Cream Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Delicious! Doubled the sauce recipe, using both whole-grain and regular dijon mustard and 1 teaspoon of dried tarragon. Yummy results for something that is so quick and easy to prepare! Served it with jasmine rice and picky eaters (husband and teenage daughter) cleaned their plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cake I

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I used half applesauce and half oil, splenda for the sugar and half whole wheat and half white flour. Since I grated the apples, I ended up with almost 4 1/2 cups of apples, but I think that just added to the moistness of the cake. The cake came out great, even with my little changes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Chicken I

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I made these with chicken breast tenders, so it cooked fairly quickly. I didn't have any cumin, but I used a few squirts of fresh mexican seasoning in a tube and also added a bit of chopped onion. Very good and excellent way to use black beans. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Squares

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I upped the apple to almost 1 1/2 cups, used Splenda for the sugar and omitted the nuts. Made them in a 9x9 pan and baked them for exactly 30 minutes. Came out perfect. Great flavor and I will make them again. Will probably up the cinnamon next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mystix

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Wonderful recipe and easier than I expected. I did miss read the directions where it reads "stir in beans and mash" I thought it meant to add the mashed potato. So.. it was a bit watery and the beans were not mashed, but my husband (the dedicated carnivore) loved this dish and I can see myself cooking it once or twice a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Donut Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
What's not to like? Little bite sized donuts that you can pop in your mouth? Yum. I thought these tasted better after sitting overnight (in an airtight bag.) I realized once I started making these that I didn't have any nutmeg, so I used cinnamon in the batter instead, and they were really good. This is one of those "I have everything in the house to make them" kind of recipes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Manicotti Italian Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I added some extra touches that really "made it" and followed other reviewers suggestions to multilayer in the cheese. I added fresh basil, sliced tomatos, and some sauteed hot peppers. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mystix

Amazing Italian Lemon Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was a wonderful recipe and was easier to make than the directions seemed. I cooked the chicken and the sauce at the same time so the sauce would not separate. I halved the butter called for in the sauce, but when I do this recipe again, I will do 3/4 cup of butter. I also made a little bit more pasta than it called for. Very yummy and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Beer II

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
OH MY! This is truly an ODD sounding combination .. however, take the time to make it and you will see ... SOOOO VERY GOOD! I have made it several times this summer and everytime someone asks - What is in that? When I tell them they are shocked yet break out pen & paper!! THANK U~~~!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTLFLEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I have made this 2 times now and both times stayed with the original recipe as written - no real changes need be made. I meant to add mushrooms the 2nd time however forgot to grab when shopping. This is a big hit and has definitely become one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTLFLEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Pasta

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was DELISH! My fam loves when I decide to do a new recipe. I did take the advise of others and fried the pepperoni with the ground beef - not only cut down on oil but also gave the beef a great flavor. Also added a dash or two of cayenne pepper. Recipe is GREAT as written (always try 2 make as written 1st time) only thing might add next time is mushrooms & maybe green peppers. THANK YOU for an awesome recipe which is NOW in rotation at my house by popular demand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTLFLEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cake VI

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Other than using splenda for the sugar, I made this as written. Strange directions (low temp/putting it in the freezer?!) but it worked! Very good taste. Mine made a 9x13 cake plus a small 7-inch round cake. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
First off, I have to say that I absolutely hate coffee, so I was really hesitant to put the coffee in, as I figured I would taste it. Whenever I eat something with coffee flavoring, and someone says, "Oh you won't even taste it" - I taste it. With this recipe I did not taste it at all. The flavor of this cake is really good. I made 24 cupcakes out of this and frosted them with a cream cheese frosting. Will definitely make again. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I used green bell pepper instead of green chile peppers, used sharp cheddar cheese instead of swiss and added a few tablespoons of Trader Joe's black bean and corn salsa to give it a little kick. This was SO good and I can see where you could use many different vegetables in it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Peach Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Mine cooked for quite a bit longer than the time called for, and my topping didn't quite get browned - maybe because I left out the almonds? This was very easy to prepare but didn't have that "wow" factor for me, even though everyone at work liked it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States