Centreville, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Black Bean Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Excellent soup, and I'm not even that crazy about vegetable soups! I added an additional can of black beans, a little bit of celery, some green bell pepper and some mexican spices. I simmered mine for a few hours and added the corn and some arborio rice the last 30 minutes of cooking. Next time I'll throw in some spinach. This is definitely one of those soups you can add just about anything to and it comes out great. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Green Peppers

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
These were surprisingly good and very filling. I wasn't sure what to expect since I had never made stuffed peppers before. I didn't bother to peel the tomatoes, as it seemed like to much work and added garlic powder. Not sure why, but mine were watery when I took them out of the pot (could be fat?), but I just held them above the sauce for a moment to drain and then just stirred the sauce. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LTLFLEA

Mom's Sticky Chicken From 1972

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This came out DELISH! My 11 year old so had 2 servings. I used Chicken Tenderloin and following the recipe of 3 lbs, I had to make a 2nd batch of sauce before putting it in the oven. Followed it to the T and came out great!!! Only thing I will change next time .. More Heat .. at it's written, is sweet no kick (at least not to me) ... make 1/2 for ltlman and 1/2 for me---HOT! Some stated sauce didn't thicken up....SO not the case - happens in oven stage of recipe. Got thru photos to mine and you can SEE the stickiness! Thank you so much for submitting!!! Those who try won't be disappointed - especially if you have littleones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTLFLEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charity Ponton

Breakfast Pizza

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This recipe was simple, but was lacking some meat (for my tastes anyway). I will probably make this again, but I will use real eggs and some sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity Ponton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charity Ponton

Chicken Lasagna Alfredo

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was a simple recipe to make and my son LOVED it! I followed the directions as written and it was a very yummy dish. I will be making this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity Ponton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I used Splenda for the sugar, used half wheat/half white flour, and added butterscotch chips instead of the nuts. Very good cookies and are still good days after making them. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Sweet and Spicy Chicken Wraps

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
These were AWESOME! The sauce is magnificent and so full of flavor. I cut my chicken up into bite sized pieces before cooking...so easy to put together in the morning for lunches!! Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTLFLEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charity Ponton

Mexican Goulash

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was a quick and easy dish, just what I was looking for tonight. I made one change: instead of salsa and Velveeta, I added 3/4 of a jar of 23oz Tostito's queso dip. My 13 month old ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity Ponton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Stuffed Potato Pancakes

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Yummmo! Made these last night and I had the boys (big and small) begging before I was even done cooking them all! As a time saver I used Simply Potatoes shredded hashbrown potatoes - 3 bags worth. Topped both with shredded cheese as others had suggested. Had 2 skillets going: one with ground beef middle and one w/bulk sausage middle. So breakfast AND dinner cooked at same time! **FYI**Didn't cook either beef or sausage before putting in middle and frying and came out PERFECTLY DONE**Yes, BOTH meats!! Thank you so much for a recipe that now MUST go into dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTLFLEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Meatloaves

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This recipe is FANTASTIC! The glaze/topping is the best and really makes these pop! I have made them twice now from demands of my family. I use a muffin pan and come out with 12 perfect meat-muffins. I have only made 2 small changes - once I added finely chopped onion and the other time I used a meat loaf mix instead of all ground beef. Both ways are fantastic. The recipe is PERFECT as is, but can see room to 'play' with it for more creations - next time will be adding bits of bacon to the meat ... Who doesn't love bacon?? Thank you Tonya from all of us for the NEW way mommy makes meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTLFLEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacquita

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I used half applesauce/half oil and more cinnamon, no cloves and about 1/2 cup more pumpkin. I made the cake portion different ways and found that piping it with a large decorating tip worked the best and kept the cookies a consistent size. The pumpkin flavor in the cakes is really good. I also used a cream cheese icing, as that is what I had, and they turned out wonderful! I froze the whoopie pies both before and after icing and had no problems with any sticky cakes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I used half wheat/half white flour, used smooth peanut butter (added about 1/2 cup more than called for) and added a mixture of peanut butter/chocolate chips to some of them. Mine were almost done at 8 minutes, so I took them out of the oven and left them on the pan to continue baking for another minute or two. They came out very chewy. Even though peanut butter cookies are generally a more dry cookie - these came out just like I expected them to be. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dijon-Tarragon Cream Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Delicious! Doubled the sauce recipe, using both whole-grain and regular dijon mustard and 1 teaspoon of dried tarragon. Yummy results for something that is so quick and easy to prepare! Served it with jasmine rice and picky eaters (husband and teenage daughter) cleaned their plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cake I

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I used half applesauce and half oil, splenda for the sugar and half whole wheat and half white flour. Since I grated the apples, I ended up with almost 4 1/2 cups of apples, but I think that just added to the moistness of the cake. The cake came out great, even with my little changes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Chicken I

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I made these with chicken breast tenders, so it cooked fairly quickly. I didn't have any cumin, but I used a few squirts of fresh mexican seasoning in a tube and also added a bit of chopped onion. Very good and excellent way to use black beans. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Squares

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I upped the apple to almost 1 1/2 cups, used Splenda for the sugar and omitted the nuts. Made them in a 9x9 pan and baked them for exactly 30 minutes. Came out perfect. Great flavor and I will make them again. Will probably up the cinnamon next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charity Ponton

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Wonderful recipe and easier than I expected. I did miss read the directions where it reads "stir in beans and mash" I thought it meant to add the mashed potato. So.. it was a bit watery and the beans were not mashed, but my husband (the dedicated carnivore) loved this dish and I can see myself cooking it once or twice a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity Ponton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Donut Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
What's not to like? Little bite sized donuts that you can pop in your mouth? Yum. I thought these tasted better after sitting overnight (in an airtight bag.) I realized once I started making these that I didn't have any nutmeg, so I used cinnamon in the batter instead, and they were really good. This is one of those "I have everything in the house to make them" kind of recipes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Manicotti Italian Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I added some extra touches that really "made it" and followed other reviewers suggestions to multilayer in the cheese. I added fresh basil, sliced tomatos, and some sauteed hot peppers. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charity Ponton

Amazing Italian Lemon Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was a wonderful recipe and was easier to make than the directions seemed. I cooked the chicken and the sauce at the same time so the sauce would not separate. I halved the butter called for in the sauce, but when I do this recipe again, I will do 3/4 cup of butter. I also made a little bit more pasta than it called for. Very yummy and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity Ponton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States