Centreville, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quinoa Almond Pilaf

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This recipe was really good. I did not use celery because I dont liek "cooked" celery. But other than that I followed the recipe and it turned out really good. I served this as main dish with some side salad and it was gone in minutes. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
added this as a topping/side over smoked ribs with a barbeque sauce using Capt.Morgan's Rum. Enough flavors and texture to keep you going for a month...was a rave by all that had it (nope, no leftovers at all...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
We really liked the end product of this salad, but I'm only giving it 4 stars because "Cucumber Ranch" apparently can't be found in the grocery store anymore. I substituted 1 12 ounce bottle of Marzetti's Simply Ranch and 1/2 a cup of Greek yogurt. I also cut up one barrel dill pickle and a cucumber. It was a huge hit at the 4th of July picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage and Noodles

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This is a four star meal for what it is. Cooked as is, it's definitely dinner with a smile. It's definitely missing the WOW factor however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Fajitas

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
YUM! I added 1 portobello mushroom to add some "meatiness". I also added half a packet of "fajita" seasoning dissolved in water. I also skipped the corn & beans opting for a cold corn & bean salsa on the side. Next time, I will reduce the amount of olive oil as even drained, the serving dish had a ton of oil in it - which made the final few servings way too oily. Definitely great & will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Swiss Chicken Casserole II

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This was so easy and had great flavor! I made a few changes based on others suggestions: cut the breasts into bite size pieces, seasoned the chicken with garlic powder, black pepper and dried parsley, and (because I didn't have any cream of chicken) used cream of celery soup. My slightly picky 7 year old raved and my more picky 4 year old choked down a few bites as well. Success! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Wonderful salad! Like others, I used olive oil instead of the Crisco and I definitely recommend the Kalamata olives. These really give it a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity Ponton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spanish Honey-Cumin Roast Chicken with Apricots & Olives

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This takes some planning, but is well worth it! The flavors are different and delicious, and the leftovers are awesome. The first time I made this, my teenage daughter asked me to make it again ASAP. The second time, I didn't have apricots but did have some dried white peach slices. I cut them into chunks, and liked them even better-- they cooked down more, were soft, sweet and yummy with the chicken and olives. I also found the easiest way to make the pan sauce is to take the chicken out of the pan and tent it with foil, then return the pan to the oven for the juices to cook down to taste. Both time, there was a lot more pan juice than I expected and cooking it down definitely helped. Again, this is completely worth the planning and work involved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Artichoke Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Good and easy. I easily covered 5 medium to large chicken breasts with the mayo/artichoke mixture. I cooked mine for 45 minutes at 375. They were most and flavorful. I did crack some sea salt on my chicken before putting mixture on top. I also added buttered panko bread crumbs that also had basil flakes mixed in, on top....This added a nice golden color to the top and additional flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Banana Pudding Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
A touch I experimented with and get rave reviews from the annual family reunion. I shave some dark chocolate onto the meringue before baking it so it melts in. It only gives a small hint of chocolate, but everyone noticed it. Also, although it's ready almost immediately, anyone that grew up on banana pudding will tell you it's better after sitting overnight in the fridge! That allows the cookies to soak up some of the pudding and banana flavor. Trust me, they'll scrap the dish clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Gnocchi Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This was soooo good! DH and I really enjoyed it, and I'm looking forward to having it leftover. I used my food processor to chop the onion, carrots & celery-- maybe a little too fine, but it turned out great. I could see that as an easy way to get your family to eat more veggies! I did use the cornstarch slurry because I wanted it thicker than it was with just the half-and-half. This goes together fast (especially if you already have cooked chicken on hand) but tastes like you spent hours on it. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LTLFLEA

Sausage Scramble

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This turned out very good! It was simple..few steps...and very quick to make. I used the spicy ground sausage - and cooked with potatoes as mentioned...just need to drain grease before adding eggs. Cheese matter of taste - just fancy shredded Sharp Cheddar over here. Since the spicy seemed to dissipate during cooking, I topped with a few good dashes of Tabasco - can't add heat seasoning as my ltlman is a wimp like his dad! hahahaha Thank you so much for this recipe, it was EXACTLY what I was looking for!!!! We WILL be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTLFLEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttery Herb Wine Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This worked out great. I did use milk (since that's all that I had) and no egg because I was afraid I wasn't talented enough to avoid the scrambled egg effect. I added garlic -- as one review suggested -- and nothing else different. It was terrific over pasta. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Dyniec

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Cheese Bowties

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This was pretty good. I would strongly recommend that if you are going to use the whole box of pasta that you make more sauce. Some reviewers didn't feel it needed it, but if you like your sauce more "saucy" then you're going to wish you had. If you're going to use just the 8 oz, then you will be fine. All in all, pretty good though. I followed the directions with the exception of using a cheddar/colby blend and more noodles. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This is an awesome recipe. I follow the recipe exactly. I always make big batch of this sauce and freeze it for those hectic weekdays. I use this mostly on spaghetti and serve it with gralic bread. I also used it in lasagna several times and it turned out great. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hush Puppies II

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
These were really good. I would say they are more of "corn fritters" than "hush puppies". I followed the recipe exaclty and have no complaints about taste or texture. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vicki's Hush Puppies

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
These were really really good. They were restaurant quality. I followed the recipe exactly. Though I mixed it well, it turned out to be a little dry so I used a splash of milk to make it workable. I served them with fried fish and my family raved about it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Veggie Skewers

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This recipe was awesome. I loved the flavor of the marinade. My family could not get enough. The only thing I did different is not using the mushrooms (I have a picky eater in my family). Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out very tasty. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fiesta Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I was really skeptical about this recipe when I first read it. But I am glad I tried it anyway. My family just gobbled up and it was gone in 10 minutes. I followed the recipe exactly, it did not need any other salad dressing like others mentioned. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. The chicken turned out very juicy and yummy. I also use the honey mustard sauce separately as a dipping sauce or salad dressing. It is very good. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States