Centreville, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Perfect Baked Jerk Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Out of my normal jerk, I tried this recipe. As is, not bad, but jerk uses scotch bonnet peppers, not cayenne to bring the heat. NOT being critical of this one...it was good. But, if you're a jerk seasoning fan, I suggest ordering Walkerswood Jamaican Jerk Seasoning (get 2 jars), and Walkerswood Jerk Barbeque Sauce. Easy to use, although it takes a bit of practice to get the heat correct, but once you figure it out, you'll use it in a LOT of dishes, including chili, spaghetti, hamburgers, chicken..and it makes for an unreal crockpot-cooked pulled pork barbeque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I agree with everyone that the recipe needs significantly more hot sauce. I didn't worry about reducing the broth because I let it simmer and reduce for a while. We are definitely fans. I threw in some ranch in lieu of the blue cheese. we also like a little celery in as well. 4 stars only because you have to change it up a little to make it work for the masses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This is my go to recipe for left over chicken and it is awesome! I changed a few things to better suit my family. I left out the water chestnuts because I just don't like them and put in celery for crunch. I also use red grapes since I don't care for green. Turns out super delish every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Coffee Cake I

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was very good and very easy to make. i was looking for a coffee cake recipe that did not start with a boxed cake mix. i only made half the recipe and baked it in a loaf pan. I messed up by not putting as much of the cinnamon sugar filling in the middle layers, so I'll know next time to add more. The cake iitself was very good. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Really one of the best salmon recipes out there. If I owned a restaurant, it's be on the menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Scampi with Pasta

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Made this tonight for my family for Valentines, it was great! It was easy! It was relatively quick! All pros in my book. I made this as written and thought it was terrific. Great choice for a weeknight meal or Lent and nice enough for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peppermint Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
These turned out very flat for me and were extremely hard to get off the cookie sheet after the two minutes of cooling - they pretty much fell apart. The cookies themselves taste fine, but I won't make again due to the fact that they just didn't turn out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I've made this recipe several times now for family get-togethers. Both times I followed the exact recipe, always feeling like I've made more than I should. I've yet to bring one bite home. Buy a aluminum foil roasting pan, with a lid and you won't be left with dirty dishes. I do suggest baking it on top of a cookie sheet so the pan doesn't buckle when you take it out of the oven. It's delicious, absolutely delicious. Just don't cut corners on the bacon or cheese. I would suggest doubling the chives, they really bring out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
i loved it! i am obsessed with pesto and cheese so I added some more in the recipe, but other than that it was the best pesto pasta dish i have had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Lasagna III

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was very good. I added a bit more fresh spinach, which I sautéed with the mushrooms and onion and also added a few tablespoons of Alfredo sauce in the layers. I just mixed everything together with a wooden spoon. My lasagna noodles were on the small side, so I used just about as many as the recipe called for. Was looking for a spinach lasagna and this is now my go-to recipe. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Applesauce

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I love this recipe. It is easy, fast and can be done on the stovetop. Cant get better than that for me. And I love the fact that I can double or triple the recipe and doesnt have to change any measurements. It comes out perfect. This year I had way too many apples from our apple picking adventure, so I made six jars of this applesauce and canned it. I used all kinds of apples, even mixed a few varities for one batch. It still came out good. So far we ate two jars and it seems to can well. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cake I

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I never made apple cake before, so I researched many recipes before deciding on this one. First time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly. It was way too sweet for our taste and a little on the oily side. But I think that is a personal preference. Next time, I used one cup of sugar and half a cup of brown sugar. And used only half a cup of oil. It was perfect. I had to bake a little longer because my oven tends to be on the cooler side for the set temperature. I think this cake is more of a muffin texture for me - not a complaint, just an observation, I loved it. I say that because my family likes to eat this for breakfast than dessert. It never stays long enough for me to see how it tastes after a day or two in the fridge. I think next time I will half the recipe and make it in a nine inch round pan. Thank you for an easy and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
awesome!! I made it so often and everyone who eats it loves it! even the people who dont like apple pie have said that this changed their mind
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Almond Pilaf

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This recipe was really good. I did not use celery because I dont liek "cooked" celery. But other than that I followed the recipe and it turned out really good. I served this as main dish with some side salad and it was gone in minutes. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
added this as a topping/side over smoked ribs with a barbeque sauce using Capt.Morgan's Rum. Enough flavors and texture to keep you going for a month...was a rave by all that had it (nope, no leftovers at all...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
We really liked the end product of this salad, but I'm only giving it 4 stars because "Cucumber Ranch" apparently can't be found in the grocery store anymore. I substituted 1 12 ounce bottle of Marzetti's Simply Ranch and 1/2 a cup of Greek yogurt. I also cut up one barrel dill pickle and a cucumber. It was a huge hit at the 4th of July picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage and Noodles

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This is a four star meal for what it is. Cooked as is, it's definitely dinner with a smile. It's definitely missing the WOW factor however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Fajitas

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
YUM! I added 1 portobello mushroom to add some "meatiness". I also added half a packet of "fajita" seasoning dissolved in water. I also skipped the corn & beans opting for a cold corn & bean salsa on the side. Next time, I will reduce the amount of olive oil as even drained, the serving dish had a ton of oil in it - which made the final few servings way too oily. Definitely great & will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Swiss Chicken Casserole II

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This was so easy and had great flavor! I made a few changes based on others suggestions: cut the breasts into bite size pieces, seasoned the chicken with garlic powder, black pepper and dried parsley, and (because I didn't have any cream of chicken) used cream of celery soup. My slightly picky 7 year old raved and my more picky 4 year old choked down a few bites as well. Success! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Wonderful salad! Like others, I used olive oil instead of the Crisco and I definitely recommend the Kalamata olives. These really give it a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States