Centreville, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cinnamon-Roasted Almonds

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This is a staple in our house during the cold months. This is the most requested snack in the family for christmas day while the kids are playing around with their new toys. I love the ease of making these nuts. I forgot them in the oven once for 15 minutes more than it should be, they still didnt taste over roasted or burnt. Exceptional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Five Minute Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I know this recipe does not need any more rave reviews than it already has :). This was outstanding!! My husband and son actually prefer this over the store bought icecream. In summer I make this with variety of different berries (trust me, just done try blackberries..lol). thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Olive Cheese Melts

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was a big hit with the family. The first time I made exactly as the recipe, and though everyone loved it, my husband felt like there was something missing. Next time, I added a little bit of chili powder and used mexican cheese blend instead of plain cheddar cheese. The results were outstanding, though it could be just a family preference. I see serving this on many other types of breads, I will try that out and write a review. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was very easy to put together. I doubled the spices for 3-4 pounds roast. But I still felt like it was a little on the bland side. The left overs reheated very well and were still juicy. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Yum. This recipe tastes like what you expect... A grilled baked potato. I brushed on the sauce instead of tossing it and boil time should have been more like 15-20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Feta Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Winner! We really liked this one with a steak. The only problem is that I could have eaten two instead of one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Garlic Parmesan Zucchini

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
We liked this one as is. It was a nice grill veggie that didn't involve tin foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Baked Jerk Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Out of my normal jerk, I tried this recipe. As is, not bad, but jerk uses scotch bonnet peppers, not cayenne to bring the heat. NOT being critical of this one...it was good. But, if you're a jerk seasoning fan, I suggest ordering Walkerswood Jamaican Jerk Seasoning (get 2 jars), and Walkerswood Jerk Barbeque Sauce. Easy to use, although it takes a bit of practice to get the heat correct, but once you figure it out, you'll use it in a LOT of dishes, including chili, spaghetti, hamburgers, chicken..and it makes for an unreal crockpot-cooked pulled pork barbeque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I agree with everyone that the recipe needs significantly more hot sauce. I didn't worry about reducing the broth because I let it simmer and reduce for a while. We are definitely fans. I threw in some ranch in lieu of the blue cheese. we also like a little celery in as well. 4 stars only because you have to change it up a little to make it work for the masses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This is my go to recipe for left over chicken and it is awesome! I changed a few things to better suit my family. I left out the water chestnuts because I just don't like them and put in celery for crunch. I also use red grapes since I don't care for green. Turns out super delish every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity Ponton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Coffee Cake I

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was very good and very easy to make. i was looking for a coffee cake recipe that did not start with a boxed cake mix. i only made half the recipe and baked it in a loaf pan. I messed up by not putting as much of the cinnamon sugar filling in the middle layers, so I'll know next time to add more. The cake iitself was very good. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Really one of the best salmon recipes out there. If I owned a restaurant, it's be on the menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Scampi with Pasta

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Made this tonight for my family for Valentines, it was great! It was easy! It was relatively quick! All pros in my book. I made this as written and thought it was terrific. Great choice for a weeknight meal or Lent and nice enough for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peppermint Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
These turned out very flat for me and were extremely hard to get off the cookie sheet after the two minutes of cooling - they pretty much fell apart. The cookies themselves taste fine, but I won't make again due to the fact that they just didn't turn out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I've made this recipe several times now for family get-togethers. Both times I followed the exact recipe, always feeling like I've made more than I should. I've yet to bring one bite home. Buy a aluminum foil roasting pan, with a lid and you won't be left with dirty dishes. I do suggest baking it on top of a cookie sheet so the pan doesn't buckle when you take it out of the oven. It's delicious, absolutely delicious. Just don't cut corners on the bacon or cheese. I would suggest doubling the chives, they really bring out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
i loved it! i am obsessed with pesto and cheese so I added some more in the recipe, but other than that it was the best pesto pasta dish i have had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Lasagna III

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was very good. I added a bit more fresh spinach, which I sautéed with the mushrooms and onion and also added a few tablespoons of Alfredo sauce in the layers. I just mixed everything together with a wooden spoon. My lasagna noodles were on the small side, so I used just about as many as the recipe called for. Was looking for a spinach lasagna and this is now my go-to recipe. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Applesauce

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I love this recipe. It is easy, fast and can be done on the stovetop. Cant get better than that for me. And I love the fact that I can double or triple the recipe and doesnt have to change any measurements. It comes out perfect. This year I had way too many apples from our apple picking adventure, so I made six jars of this applesauce and canned it. I used all kinds of apples, even mixed a few varities for one batch. It still came out good. So far we ate two jars and it seems to can well. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cake I

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I never made apple cake before, so I researched many recipes before deciding on this one. First time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly. It was way too sweet for our taste and a little on the oily side. But I think that is a personal preference. Next time, I used one cup of sugar and half a cup of brown sugar. And used only half a cup of oil. It was perfect. I had to bake a little longer because my oven tends to be on the cooler side for the set temperature. I think this cake is more of a muffin texture for me - not a complaint, just an observation, I loved it. I say that because my family likes to eat this for breakfast than dessert. It never stays long enough for me to see how it tastes after a day or two in the fridge. I think next time I will half the recipe and make it in a nine inch round pan. Thank you for an easy and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
awesome!! I made it so often and everyone who eats it loves it! even the people who dont like apple pie have said that this changed their mind
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States