Burke, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bella's Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was my first time making Brussels sprouts and it was absolutely delicioso! I also added a small touch of sugar with the balsamic and the taste was just perfection. Thank you for a wonderful addition to my side dish collection:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Press Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I give it three stars, because without some changes they don't work out. I followed the advice of previous posters. I used 2 eggs, 2 tablespoons of milk and a teaspoon of vanilla. They were spectacular! They really do taste like brownies. I would recommend trying this recipe BUT only with the changes previously mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is an "OK" recipe. The seasoning was just perfect for my family; we don't like it very spicy. I do take issue with the texture. It was not the normal "custardly" texture I expect in a pumpkin pie. It seemed like a firm pudding. I think I will keep looking for a recipe that has the right texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
THE BEST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cairn Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mahogany Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I really enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato and Shiitake Mushroom Gratin

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. I would make it again tonight when we run out of leftovers if I could. This was a major hit on Thanksgiving and even had my mushroom hateing best friend devouring two portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oh So Tender Brisket

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Never mad brisket before. Absolutely wonderful. Fork tender and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Corn Pudding

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Made per recipe and it was awesome! People that didn't like corn pudding had seconds. It was a hit with everyone at thanksgiving. Pretty sure I baked this longer then the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish-Style Lamb Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Amazing!Everyone in the family loved this recipe! I used the pressure cooker because I was short on time. It was absolutely perfect! Succelent chunks of lamb in an outstanding stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Roll Pie Crust I

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I had to use up a bunch of veggies on the fly with ingredients I had in stock, so I threw together a squash/zucchini/red pepper pie, and used this crust- it came out PERFECTLY. It was just the right measurements for a good textured crust, and coated the pie dish without being too thin or goopy. Will definitely make this crust again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheppardArts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was great- just what you would expect. I added a bunch more vegis with this for a complete meal and served over egg noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Busy Day Barbeque Brisket

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
awesome everytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta Primavera with Italian Turkey Sausage

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was a great mid-week meal. We had spicy sausage that had to be eaten, and also added a small bit of low fat cream cheese per another viewers suggestion and it was delish. I didn't have as much fresh basil and i think it would have made this 4 a 5 but it was still great. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
We made 150 of these cookies as our wedding favors and they got amazing reviews! They were perfectly crisp but also chewy in the center...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pork Chops with Gorgonzola and Apple

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This was wonderful- particularly the sauce- fiance asking for more sauce as I type...We had pretty healthy cuts of pork (costco) and even then an hour resulted in over-cooking it. Nonetheless, it was still excellent and we plan to make again, but cook a little less AND double the stuffing! Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This had too much vinegar for my husband's and my tastes, but my 3 children (4 year old twins and a 2 year old) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Wonderful- really just fantastic!! I added about a third of the amount of sugar it called for, used only 2 chicken breasts (but the same amount of sauce), and used hot curry paste instead of powder. I also followed anther's advice to let the curry paste cook in the oil for 5 minutes before adding the onion, and then then garlic (allowing them both to cook for another 7 minutes). I also added some peas for a little green, but i think it made the sauce more sweet then i wanted, though still good. I will cook them separately next time. CAN'T WAIT FOR NEXT TIME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soul Smothered Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was delicious and very easy. Tasted just like chicken noodle soup on a plate- we had it with rice and thought that worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jay's Signature Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I love this recipe! I have never had any problems with it. I have also used it successfully on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States