Burke, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Peanut Butter Balls (Power Balls)

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Andrew really liked these. I rolled them in coconut or crushed granola cereal before freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cairn Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Flautas

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I made mine using leftover shredded pork roast - they were excellent! My husband loves flautas and at first was very skeptical of baking them rather than frying. He gave it 5 stars and told me I can make this again anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cairn Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beer Margaritas

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Been using this same recipe for the last 30 years. And the best part is that it is so easy to remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cairn Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vodka Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I love vodka sauce and was excited to try this. I did not care for it! All I could taste was vodka. I added more of my homemade sauce and a ton of pancetta to make it palatable. Next time, I'll halve the vodka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was very good- I did double the feta and use a mixture of butter and olive oil between the sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Island Kielbasa in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I use Heinz Chili Sauce instead of ketchup (more savory) and I brown the sausage before putting it into to the crock... then all the cook time in the slow-cooker is used for is to allow the brown sugar, pineapple and sauce to co-mingle with the kielbasa. Always the first to disappear at any potluck event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Royal Icing III

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly as shown and was pleased with the result. The icing was relatively easy to apply with a small icing tip, and it became easier as the icing bag warmed up in my hands. It's got a mild papery taste, so it's better used as glue or as a piping decoration on stronger flavored cookies like gingerbread, rather than used like cake frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheppardArts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is really really good - love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe, I make this all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ghirardelli Chocolate Brownies with Peppermint Bark

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These were so delicious! Instead of making them in a 13x9 pan, I put them in a mini muffin pan to make individual servings (24 servings). They still baked for ~20 minutes and were perfect and gooey in the middle. I would highly recommend these for a holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I took this to a picnic and it was the first dessert to be finished! I took the advice of some other reviews and added a bit more cornstarch but it was still had a little too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sallystar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kafta (BBQ)

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I accidentaly upped the amount of onion and the meat on sale this week was ground chicken breast and ground beef. Didn't alter anything else in the recipe. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise Davis

Chocolate Zucchini Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is my 1st time using zucchini, and while I spent the whole time asking myself if I was doing it right..(was it ripe yet, how big should the grate be, do I press out the juice or keep it.., oh there's seeds inside) once that joy was over I got to the fun part. I made two subs cuz I couldn't wait to go to the store. I used 1/2cp olive oil, 1/2 cp applesauce. I don't own cardamom/cloves, so I upped the cinnamon/nutmeg and added a bit of ginger. I knew these would be eaten around breakfast time so I opted to cut sugar down a bit: 3/4cp white sugar & 1/2cp brown sugar. I threw in some mini choc. chips & sprinkled a few on top. A few had mentioned dryness being an issue or not enough cocoa flavor so I used dutch process cocoa but same qty as recipe called for. The added mini chips (very little bit) added to the flavor. These were flavorful, very moist and chocolatey. Can't wait to make them again. Shared with neighbor across hall who gave me the zucchini. She came over an hour later with Paula Dean's zucchini bread! I'm in carb heaven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

Bolivian Saltenas

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I submitted this recipe so long ago, I forgot a few things....I usually use chicken, sometimes I use shredded beef. The original recipe called for head cheese.For those of you who know what head cheese is, you know it is not a cheese at all. Not a fan of head cheese (1/2 cup; chopped), so I am meerly mentioning it for those that are interested. To be honest, I am not even sure where one would get head cheese. Don't skip the gelatin, it isn't the same without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mid-Eastern Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
great recipe will be a monthly addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herb21129

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I was very skeptical before I made this recipe. I simply couldn't imagine that the list of ingredients would work well together. Well, I was pleasantly surprised. This recipe is very good. One thing I would do differently is use small tortillas. These burritos are very filling, and I could barely get through one large burrito. If you have leftovers, no problem, they freeze beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ladyfinger Lemon Dessert

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I loved this, my hubby not so much. It was too lemony for him (at least that's what he said and then I caught him going for seconds).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fantastic Crab Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Served this both hot and cold. It was a hit either way, although I perfered to eat this at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackberry Pie I

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Hands down the best blackberry pie!! I've made this three times and each time I get loads of compliments. Many people have said it's the best pie they've ever had. I do make my own crust for this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Noodle Casserole II

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very good with some fresh lemon squeezed on at the last minute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States