Burke, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Jeani

Cranberry Apple Breakfast Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
What a simple delicious recipe! I, like others wanted a little more moisture, so I added 1/4 c. of spiced tea. I also added pecans because I like a little crunch in my muffins. These are perfect for any time and they go so well with a cup of tea. I made them in this beautiful rose muffin pan I just picked up at a craft fair. The next time I make them, I will dribble a sugar/milk glaze on top. Thank you Pitterpat of sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeani

One Bowl Brownies

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I teach cooking classes to young children and teens. I have used this recipe for a few years. It's failsafe, simple and delicious. In honor of St. Patrick's Day, in class we swirled green cream cheese batter in the brownies to make them a marble green. We just omitted the box brownies and made our own from scratch using the above recipe. They were delish. However, the calorie content is greater with the addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Chili I

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I followed this recipe almost exactly - I just left out the hot sauce since there are several children in my family who are sensitive to spiciness. It was very easy to make and very tasty. Even the sweetness from the sugar came through just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kale and Banana Smoothie

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I used Lacinato (Dino) Kale - the dark green variety. I also added half an apple. The smoothie has more calories than I like to consume at once, but it was worth it for the packed nutrition. It served as a meal for me. I have a Blendtec so I packed ice in it as well - the texture was perfect - cold, thick, sweet and very tasty. Thank you Rice for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeani

Cranberry Apple Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I actually made a lot of modifications to this recipe because I was afraid it wouldn't be moist enough, sweet enough or spicy enough. So here's what I did: I used 3 eggs, 2 cups of brown sugar, 1/4 cup of regular sugar, 3/4 cup vegetable oil, 1-1/2 tsp. baking soda, and I added the following spices: 1/8 tsp. cloves, 1/2 tsp. ginger, 1/4 t. allspice and 1/2 tsp Chinese 5 spice. I baked it in a tube pan for only 50 minutes. I also used a mixer instead of only hand mixing. I added a brandy glaze made with sugar, butter, half and half and brandy and I sprinkled sugar crystals on it. It was moist and delicious. I took it to a gathering and everyone loved it. The photos above are mine so you can see what it looked like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Makes the best chocolate chip cookies ever! The dough seems a little flaky but if you roll it up into balls, the cookies come out perfectly cute and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeani

Zucchini Gingerbread

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This was very good. We made it in our school cooking class today. We made a dozen cupcakes and two small loaves. We used homemade crystalized ginger which we chopped up fine and piped some frosting made with powdered sugar and a little milk and vanilla. The students loved it even though several were hesitant because of the zucchini. It's not very sweet, which I liked. However, if I make it again, I just might add half again or double the amount of sugar. Thank you Sarah-May for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
These were absolutely delicious! We made them in our school cooking class today. The kids and some teachers just loved them. I split the sugar into half brown sugar and half white sugar because I wanted to guarantee they would be moist. This is definitely a keeper! I will make them for the holidays and to give to others as gifts. Thank you Amy1028 for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuscan Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I love this soup! I love anything that my whole family eats. This is a very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Quiche

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I have made this quiche several times. My family loves it! I was surprised because as a Maryland girl, eating fake crab is taboo. Why eat fake when you can get the real deal? Oddly enough, the fake crab is what the kids enjoyed. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
So glad to find this recipe on All Recipes! I've been making this cake for years from a recipe I clipped from the Washington Post about 20 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cairn Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Very good! Used frozen blueberries and still came out great. I might use a little more berries next time. My topping kind of melted and burned on top so I might do that differently next time. I don't think it was the recipe - that was just a cook error. Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cairn Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Sweet Potato and Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Nice recipe! The only addition I made was a small can of tomato paste for color and some extra flavor. I also let it simmer for about 20 minutes longer than instructed so it condensed down to a thicker consistency, and served it over jasmine rice. Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheppardArts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Broccoli Braid

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Really Good! Although I leave out the broccoli. Only way I can eat red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sallystar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candy Red Apple Martini

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Had a ladies night yesterday and tried this for the first time. What a hit! I couldn't make them fast enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemonade Pie III

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Quick, easy, great on a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cairn Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I thought the recipe was great! I almost didn't try it because it is so similar to others. I think what intrigued me was not using an electric mixer. I also think the 1/2 cup of butter and extra sugar is what made this bread so good. The only change I made was I used sour cream instead of milk and next time I will reduce the salt to half. I divided it into two loaves using (Demarle loaf pans) and baked at 350 for only 40 minutes. This is definitely the best banana bread I've ever made! Thanks Chef John for sharing it with the All Recipe world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Very good! Definitely double recipe or you won't have enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cairn Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cowboy Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Very good - did half with butterscotch chips and hald with dried cranberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cairn Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Balls (Power Balls)

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Andrew really liked these. I rolled them in coconut or crushed granola cereal before freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cairn Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States