Blacksburg, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spicy Salmon with Caramelized Onions

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Hubby actually liked this! It was too spicy for our 3 year old though. I baked my salmon in the oven, and used sliced onions rather than minced. It's great served with wild rice pilaf and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hungarian Goulash I

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
We didn't particularly care for this. Hubby said it was bland. I liked the consistency of the gravy, and despite being time consuming it was easy to assemble. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwest White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Absolutley delicious! Quick and easy, with restaurant quality results. The only addition I made was adding some jalepeno wine to the sauteed veggies because I had it in the fridge. I will make this many times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

Italian Sausage Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was extremely good, my three year old gobbled it up and asked for more. I did increase the size because I had 5 sausage links and didn't want to waste them. I also added half a pound of ground beef that I needed to use up. This is about as close a duplicate as I can find to my mother-in-law's recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I'm a vegetarian and this has become my substitute when everyone in the family is having hamburgers, absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LukeMaso

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Sugar Apple Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I was SO pleased with the way my pie turned out. I used nutmeg instead of cloves and 1/2 red apples. Thank you for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgoodhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Ham Grilled Cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I love these grilled cheese sandwiches. I omit the egg, and simply grill it like a regular grilled cheese, or I bake them in a 400 degree oven if I'm making them for everyone for dinner. I spread a little mayo and brown mustard on my bread and then simply layer ham, sharp cheddar and sometimes monterey jack cheese, and thinly sliced apples. They're delicious, and make a quick lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crustless Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
As suggested by other reviewers, I reduced the sweetener by using 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup Splenda and added spices...added an extra 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice. Love that the predominant flavor is pumpkin and that it's not too sweet. Husband says "Pumpkin Pie!!!!" and recommends pairing it with a bold or breakfast blend coffee. Also, we're going to try this blended into a smoothie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mr.edwardpinkerton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Parmesan Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was okay, I felt it was a bit bland. It's a great use of leftovers though. Make sure you're using a quality marinara sauce though, it does make a huge difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Red Pepper Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
The red pepper sauce is phenomenal! I stuffed some sliced provolone cheese in my chicken with the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This would have been so good, if I hadn't overcooked my scallops. It really is a great summer pasta dish, just make sure you watch your scallops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fajita Pizza

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I enjoyed this. I spread some refried beans on the crust and then topped it with the chicken mixture and cheese. I left the salsa off since I was hoping that my 2 year old would try it. I topped my slice with salsa, chopped tomatoes and a smidgen of sour cream, diced avocados would be great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jay's Signature Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This is really good pizza crust! I used half for a pizza, and froze the other half. A couple days later I used that half to make breadsticks. I forgot, though, that as it's freezing, it's likely to try to rise. Next time I'll leave more room in the container. :) Thanks, Jason!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Shrimp and Grits

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! To be honest, I've never had Shrimp and Grits but have been curious for a long time so decided to give it a go! Unbelievable! I definitely have to say the leftovers got better by the day and I think we've found a new favorite dish in our home! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIEJUNKIE
Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Bacon Avocado Sandwich

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This is a very good sandwich. It's like a turkey club with avocados. I used sharp cheddar since thats what I had on hand. This was great for a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is extremely good, even my picky toddler ate it. I used beef broth rather than water. I served our sandwiches with roasted peppers, caramelized onions, and provolone cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Beef Enchiladas

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
THE best enchilada recipe!! I skipped the cheese b/c I am lactose intolerant but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgoodhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Roast with Tangy Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
My fiancee and I just made this for dinner and it was DELICIOUS! We put on a little more rub than the recipe instructed, and also poured more of the sauce over the roast to bake than was suggested. We loved it and will definitely be making it again! By the way, it smells HEAVENLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Roasted Red Pepper and Ham Sandwich

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is delicious and such a great twist on a grilled cheese sandwich. I mixed a little basil pesto in with mayo and used that for my condiment. I opted not to sprinkle the parmesan on the outside of the sandwich, but that was the only change I made. This is a great dinner option when you're pressed for time, but want something a bit fancier than plain grilled cheese. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Chili Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Very good. I halved the recipe and served it along side of Ronaldo's Beef Carnitas (from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States