Blacksburg, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Stuffed Shells IV

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
We really enjoyed this. I was craving stuffed shells, and after much searching finally decided on this recipe. I am so glad that I did. I used fresh spinach that I threw in the saute pan to wilt after I finished browning the turkey. It was actually better the next day when the flavors had a longer time to meld. Next time I make this I will prepare it the day before. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This was incredibly good. My husband is not a fan of sweet flavored meats, but he went back for a second helping of this. This will be the ham recipe that I continue to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Kale

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I used this recipe to eat Kale for the first time and this is a great way to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgoodhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Red Potatoes and Asparagus

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I like the idea of mixing the asparagus with the potatoes...the spices were a bit strong thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgoodhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This made a YUMMY dinner...even better than take-out! I used fresh squeezed orange juice, which really gave the chicken nice flavor. I steamed broccoli and baby carrots while the chicken cooked, and added it at the end (instead of bean sprouts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgoodhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Corn Bread Dressing

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was the first time I baked or ate cornbread dressing. It didn't have too much flavor, but my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgoodhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
My husband was very impressed. He thought I had been cooking in the kitchen all day, when really it took no time to put this great meal together....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgoodhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Insane Oven Beef Ribs

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was my first time making ribs, and I was so excited when they turned out DELICIOUS. I thought the sauce was a bit runny at first, but once it cooked in the oven, it thickened up. I also flipped the ribs 1/2 way through so each side got well marinaded. Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgoodhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Focaccia

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was a nice simple recipe - my husband enjoyed it dipped in oil and vinegar. It's a great appetizer, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgoodhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
These turned out better than my regular pancakes do! GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgoodhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Delicious! Used Ener-G Egg Replacer and Earth Balance to make it vegan and then just added a teaspoon each of cinnamon and vanilla extract. Couldn't tell the difference between "regular" banana bread and this. Made 24 mini-muffins and 12 regular muffins that all cooked in less than 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fish Fillets Italiano

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was good and extremely quick, great for a weeknight meal. I used a can of fire-roasted tomatoes since that's what I had in the pantry. I also used liberal amounts of Italian seasoning, and a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes. I subbed chicken broth for the white wine, and used kalamata olives. This was very good sprinkled with a little bit of crumbled feta cheese. Hubby didn't care for it, but he loathes fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Oven Omelet

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Made this for brunch this weekend and it was a huge hit. I did add 1/4 cup minced onion, 1 cup diced ham, and a cup of cheddar cheese before baking, and only used 1 tsp salt instead of 2. It took about 45 minutes to cook. Our guests loved it and it was soooo easy to throw together. We will definitely be using this recipes on a regular basis from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIEJUNKIE
Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
We loved this! Even our three year old ate it. I put a little hummus on my pita also. Can't wait to have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Potatoes Au Gratin

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I used thinly sliced potatoes and a thinly sliced onion. The sauce was great. I used a package of minced ham, which I don't recommend because they ended up like little pencil erasers. I'll make this again, I'll just be sure to use bigger chunks of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Hubby loved this, I liked the taste but didn't particularly care for the texture. I'll make this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was extremely well received in our house. Our three year old even asked for a second helping. I added some minced garlic and sliced mushrooms while sauteing the onions and also added a splash of worcestershire sauce to the gravy. I served it over roasted garlic mashed potatoes with green beans on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cupcakes

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I greased the pan, but these stuck like crazy! The tops did not become golden before the edges started to be overdone. I had to use the cupcakes for trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Italian Tortellini

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
My three year old loved this! I didn't cook it in the slow cooker, instead I browned my sausage, mushrooms, and an onion, drained the grease and added the sauce and tomatoes to a dutch oven. I didn't add the extra cheese either. We'll have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cilantro Chicken and Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I diced my chicken and opted not to dredge it in flour. This was good, but we felt like it was a bit bland. It could use some taco seasoning to kick it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States