Blacksburg, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Shepherd's Pie VI

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was my first time making and tasting any type of Shepherd's pie, but I didn't care for it. Way too many potatoes and onions, not enough meat, and way too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIEJUNKIE
Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Amazing! I made this today for our Christmas Eve dinner both my husband and I both agree that it's the best lasagna we've ever had. After reading other reviews I did change the 1 Tbsp salt to 1 tsp. I also had to go with cottage cheese since I couldn't find ricotta in stock anywhere, and omitted the egg (food allergy in the family). So delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIEJUNKIE
Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Yeast Rolls

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I was so excited to try these because they looked like my mom's yeast rolls in the picture. They were so doughy, even after cooking for 4 additional minutes (after the suggested 10). They had no taste and were not light and airy at all. Maybe if I sifted the flour before adding they would have turned out better. Who knows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vtbarbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Italian Chicken and Orzo Skillet

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I followed another reviewer's suggestion and made my own cooking creme using a block of cream cheese thinned out with some half and half and chicken stock. I also added garlic, mushrooms and shredded carrots. I thought it was good, and liked the versatility of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
"Jaelyn likes my spinach."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Margaret's Keftedes (Greek Meatballs)

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Yummy! These were so delicious and everybody ate them (picky hubby, 5 year old, 15 month old and me!). I used 1 pound of ground beef since our commissary doesn't carry lamb, and only 2 eggs. I also played with the seasonings a bit, used more mint, parsley, oregano and marjoram. I baked them in the oven and served them on pitas with tzatziki sauce, sliced tomatoes, olives, and feta cheese. We will definitely be having these again, thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pepperidge Farm® Southwestern Strudel

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I had a sheet of puff pastry that I needed to use before it dried out and this seemed like a fun recipe. I cooked my chicken breasts in the crock pot with taco seasoning and just enough water to keep it moist. I used chunky salsa, substituted cilantro for the parsley and also added some lime juice and a can of drained black beans. Very good served over a mix of field greens, spinach and cherry tomatoes, and then topped with guacamole and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Muffins with Streusel Topping

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Delicious muffins -- I made them for a work breakfast and people were asking for the recipe. I used sultanas for the raisins since I had them, and they were a great fit for the color and texture of the muffins. The recipe does make 18 very large muffins -- spreading them out should make 24 reasonably-sized ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Everybody really enjoyed this one, except my four year old. He thought it was too spicy. I used mild sausage, and threw in about 3 pinches of crushed red pepper flakes. I also sprinkled some flour over the sausage after it was browned to make a roux with the sausage grease. I added half a cup of milk, 2 cups of chicken broth and then followed the rest of the recipe. Delicious, we'll have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cake I

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Here's the thing. The flavor... AMAZING! I'm giving it 3 stars because like some other reviewers, it would not cook. Even after 50 minutes it was still very mushy on the inside with a hard crust on the top. I think you really have to cut down the oil or something. It was more like a bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIEJUNKIE
Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

"Pantry Raid" Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This was very good, even my husband liked it and he doesn't care for cornbread. I used my mom's recipe for cornbread, and also added some diced onions and peppers as well as frozen corn. We'll definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

John G's rich potatoes au gratin with spinach

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I like it 'cos I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hannover, Niedersachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

John G's Cajun-style roasted chicken or poultry

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I like it 'cos I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hannover, Niedersachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sandy's Special Beef Marinade

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Delicious marinade! I made this for a 2 pound flank steak and it was wonderful. I didn't have any grape seed oil so I used canola oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Turned out wonderful, and I've made it several times to much applause. Thanks for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hannover, Niedersachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

John G's Caesar Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I like it 'cos I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hannover, Niedersachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fiesta Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I thought these were a nice variation of a stuffed pepper. I only used two peppers and one pound of ground beef. I didn't have as much salsa as I needed, so I mixed what I had in the beef and rice, and then mixed some chile powder, cumin, oregano, salt and pepper with a 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes to pour over the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Very tasty, I like the spicy and sweet. I used crushed dried cayenne peppers (from garden) in place of red pepper flakes - which may have made it spicer than written. The anchovy paste is key for me in pizza sauces to add that saltiness, and that extra kick. I omited any plain salt for this reason. Fun one for my daughter to measure out, just bring out a 1/8 teaspoon and tell her how many needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Stuffed Sandwich Wedges

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This was delicious, and the whole family enjoyed it. I didn't have any pimiento stuffed olives, so I had to leave those out. I did add a grated carrot to the olive salad (mostly to get more veggies in my four year old). I also used ham, salami, pepperoni, provolone and mozzarella cheese. I served this with some minestrone soup and we had a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
My husband raved about this. I think I used about 3/4 of the bunch of cilantro, and then sprinkled the rest over the chicken when it was finished serving. I served this in taco shells with black beans and corn, shredded cheese, and sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States