Ashburn, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I made this for my husbands birthday, he loves reeses peanut butter cups so I crushed some of those for garnish on top and little ones along the edge. It turned out to be amazing and didnt last long. The crust was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rmartinez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Fudge Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is EXACTLY what I was hoping to get out of a homemade hot fudge sauce. Rich, thick and out of this world delicious. I used Ghirardelli Chocolate. OMG good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Photo by ~Gina~

Spicy-Sweet Glazed Salmon

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
My family loved this simple salmon recipe. The glaze gave the salmon excellent flavor without being overpowering. I only needed to cook my salmon 10 minutes total, so be sure to keep an eye on it. I added glaze at 5, 7 and 9 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Gina~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Spanish Flan

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This flan had great flavor and texture. I did, however, have trouble getting out of the pan and it turned into a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Gina~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I recieved rave reviews from guests with this recipe. Everyone wants to know the recipe. It is perfect on a dessert OR appetizer table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Gina~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Cabbage-and-Potato Frittata with Bacon Recipe - Every Day with Rachael Ray

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This is my all-time favorite fritatta. The cabbage is delicious and sweetens the dish in a very inconspicuous way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Gina~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Udon Peanut Butter Noodles

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
My family really liked these Noodles. They are really good at room temperature and make great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Gina~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Shrimp Chowder- with Shrimp Bisque flavor!

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This chowder is really easy to make and tastes like a chowder from a fine New England restaurant. It's very rich, but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Gina~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Photo by ~Gina~

Cheeseburger Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I love this simple soup on a cold night. It really is one of my go to comfort foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Gina~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Earthquake Cake III

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
It's good, but it's a little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Gina~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Pot Stickers- Everyday Food

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
These potstickers remind me of the very freshest ones that are made daily at great New York City Chinese Restaurants. I love the fresh ginger taste! My kids enjoy helping to fill and make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Gina~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
We tried once with a regular blender and it didn't work for us, but we tried again with a hand blender and it changed over immediately. So delicious and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vandalia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candy Coated Pecans

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I have a similar recipe that I have been making for a few years, but can't find anymore. This one is pretty close, and plenty good. I doubled the coating, adding a bit of cinnamon and a bit more vanilla. Because I doubled the coating, I added about half a cup extra pecans. I like my pecans coated very well, but I hate wasting good coating that ends up as crumbs after being cooked since it is not covering anything. I got extra candy coated pecans out of it, so it was a win for everyone in my family. Also, I usually cook for longer than 10 - 15 minutes and at a temp of 300 - I just keep stirring every 5-7 minutes to make sure all the pecans are being cooked evenly and the coating is evenly distributed. I probably do this 4 times so I cook my pecans about 20-25 minutes. You can tell when they are done. They lose the wet shiny look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This stew taste a little sweet, but absolutly love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAX8144

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Delicious! Didn't have cream, so used whole milk in place of it. Didn't have basil so I just skipped it. Used morningstar veggie bacon. My kids (especially my 2 1/2 year old) loved it. As I do with all of my cream based soups, I added about some red wine vinegar after I took it off the heat. I'm not sure how much - maybe 2 teaspoons... I'm not sure what, exactly, the red wine vinegar does, but it gives cream based soups that extra depth. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Special Lobster Bisque

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Needed a quick and easy dinner and this one fit the bill. We ended up using frozen langostino tail meat which I used in place of the lobster. Also, I had no celery salt and no cream. I just used 5 cups of whole milk. The bisque was so creamy and flavorful with all the butter and whole milk, I didn't miss the cream anyways. And as I do with all of my cream based soups, I added about 2+ teaspoons of red wine vinegar when I took the soup off the heat. I'm not sure what it does exactly, but it gives all cream based soups extra depth. Soooo good! It hit the spot on this cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Drew's World Famous Triple Rush Hot Chocolate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Made this the old fashioned way: on the stove. Good Stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Nice recipe. My hubby LOVED this, and I thought it was pretty good as well. I made a ranchero sauce from scratch instead of using salsa and we only had flour tortillas instead of corn tortillas so I just warmed them up, not fried them. I also used morningstar veggie bacon. MUCH lower in fat than the original recipe, but still bursting with flavor. We actually ended up eating these again for dinner a few nights later because it was so easy to make. I had some cooked, chopped shrimp from dinner the previous night and I threw that on top as well the second time. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Oatmeal Waffles

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Doubled the recipe so we could have leftovers to freeze as an easy breakfast during school days for the kids. I powderized half of the oats in a coffee grinder so my kids a). didn't realize they were eating healthy and b). weren't put off by the texture. I did let the waffles sit for about 30 min before cooking so that the oats softened up and everything kind of melded together. These were a wonderful, hearty, extremely filling waffle. We will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I don't even know how many times I have made this recipe during football season in the last five years and it's a hit each and every time. I've tried it both with ranch and blue cheese dressings and my family prefers ranch, so that is what I use. Also, I ALWAYS use fresh chicken breast - about a pound give or take - in place of canned chicken (ew!). I usually coat my chicken in olive oil and bake in a 350 degree oven for 35 min then shred. Also, I make mine in layers and bake in an oven not the crock pot. I mix the cream cheese and ranch dressing and put it down as my first layer. Then I mix the shredded chicken, hot sauce and most of the cheese (2nd layer). Lastly, I sprinkle with additional cheese to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States