Ashburn, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Salade Lyonnaise

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Not a big fan. Felt like it was missing something - definitely too much dressing (1.5 cups for 1 head of lettuce?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Mexican Bean and Rice Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Good, but a bit dry. Would add more lime and cook the rice with too much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Chicken Stew with Dumplings

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I'm just rating the dumplings because I used my own chicken and sauce recipe. The dumplings were fabulous - tender and buttery. I just omitted the dill because I don't care much for it. Just looking at the rest of the recipe, I'd probably add more chicken broth though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Holly Christmas Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Important: DO NOT use wax paper. Use parchment paper. Wax paper is not quite capable of handling the sticky, delicious cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Salsa Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This recipe is so simple, but ridiculously tasty. I did find that I had to cook it about 45 minutes to get it up to 165.. seems like a long time for boneless chicken, perhaps due to the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
These cookies are delicious! I don't see how you can go wrong using this recipe. If you love peanut butter you'll definitely love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
It's a good base. I think that next time, I'll add more to jazz it up (maybe some beans, corn, and fresh jalapeno).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Tropical Sweet Potato Fries

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Perfect combination of spices. Kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Chicken with Orange-Maple Glaze

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Tasty, but the sauce wasn't much of a glaze. Should boil longer to reduce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Simple to make and surprisingly delicious. Don't skimp on the dollop of sour cream and green onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Mediterranean Three Bean Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I was looking for a really simple and fresh recipe with beans and I'm so glad I stumbled upon this one. It was exactly what I was looking for! The only thing I omitted was the olive oil because I didn't want the extra fat and I only used half a lemon for my super picky kids. I love lemon and I'm sure adding the entire lemon would have made the bean salad even more delicious. Thanks for a keeper of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Brazilian Lemonade

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
A favorite of ours! My method of making it is a bit different than written here. I blend the limes, one cup of water and sugar until the limes are nice and shredded to bits (love my ninja!); strain; put strained mixture back in blender and add condensed milk and blend again; pour over tons of ice and Enjoy! So good and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Kristen's Potato Leek Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Had a bunch of leeks hanging around and wasn't sure what to make with them until I stumbled upon this recipe. The soup was amazing! Used more leeks than called for since I wanted to use them up and added about a TBLS of red wine vinegar after it was done cooking to amp up the cream in the soup. Will definitely be in our winter menu coming up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Quick Sunshine Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
My mom used to make this cake when we were growing up. I would always request it for my birthdays and have tons of memories of taking a slice to school packed in my lunch. My 9 y/o asked for it for her birthday today and I am hoping we can start this tradition for her too. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Eggplant Parmesan

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
How do you make 1/2 a star? I would do 4.5 if I could figure out how...Eggplant is one of those mysterious vegetables to me. I got nervous because it wasn't really browning and I felt like I baked it twice as long than the recipe called for. I continued following the recipe to the "t" as I always insist for the 1st time. While my husband looked on and asked where the tomato sauce was, I commented that this is why I liked the recipe. I don't like the usual eggplant parm recipes because of the heavy bread crumbs and tomato sauce and I have acid reflux. Two strikes - but I love tomatoes, garlic and I love cheese and my husband likes eggplant! This was a perfect way for me to control the balance although not exactly a regular recommendation. Bottom line, this really is a great recipe! I am going to make this tomorrow night with salmon (found on here "Slammin'Salmon", marjoram potatoes & onions and a green salad!! Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Very fast and tasty with items I typically keep in stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackberry with Red Wine Sorbet

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Great recipe. I use a cabernet sauvignon. I always feel more sophisticated whenever I eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I followed the recipe with the exception of the fresh parsley. I used 3.5 chicken breasts and cut them into pieces and pounded them out. I needed more than 2 tablespoons of oil and I didn't have enough sauce for all of the chicken but what I did have was very tasty. I probably would have used more capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Special Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This was nice. Just regular deviled eggs with a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basmati Rice

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Not a huge rice fan but decided to make this for father's day. It was very good. I used cumin powder based on another reader's reveiw and that worked all well. The rice was flavored throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States