Ashburn, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cucumber Sandwich

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Interesting mix of ingredients. Fresh, clean, and tasty. Tip: don't slice the cucumbers too thick or they'll squirt right out when you bite in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Chef John's Caramel Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I used 3 large chicken breasts cut in small chunks instead of the thighs. This was pretty good, if a bit on the salty side. Tasted like something you would get at a chinese restaurant. Served over brown rice and everyone ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Cherry Bomb Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
A favorite of ours! I've been making this recipe for about a year and it's just spectacular. I use chicken leg/thigh quarters and usually keep about one of the habanero pepper's seeds intact for more spicy flavor. I made this for a party with 25+ people and almost everyone commented on how good it was and asked for the recipe. My husband has a habit of charring chicken on the grill, so I initially cook the chicken in the oven until just about done, then I have him throw it on our grill for that grilled taste. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This was surprisingly a HUGE hit at my house. I say surprisingly because 2 out of 3 of my kids are extremely picky and I just wasn't sure how this was going to go over with them. Well, they LOVED it! Every single one of them licked their plates clean. I did change the recipe ever so slightly based on what I had as well as another reviewers suggestions. First, I tripled the recipe to serve 6 for my family of 5. I omitted the bell pepper (didn't have it) and added a can of rotel with green chiles. I only had two cans of black beans so I used a can of refried beans for the 3rd can and one pkg of cream cheese. It came out a little on the "soupier" side (probably because of the refried beans as well as the rotel), but it was so scrumptious. I spooned it into burrito sized tortillas and there was enough for 6 large burritos. I will make this again without a doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Fabulous Zucchini Grinders

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was absolutely wonderful! I had a chicken breast I had baked the night before that I diced up and threw in after I cooked the zucchini since I knew my very picky kids would probably snub their noses at just zucchini. I also added half a white onion to the zucchini mixture for added flavor. This really was so, so good! I toasted the hoagies, laid very thin slices of provolone on the bottom so the bread wouldn't get soggy, and then layered as instructed. I sprayed the foil with oil so the cheese wouldn't stick once I rolled the sandwiches up and baked them in the oven. I will definitely be making this super simple recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This was outstanding. I used part of a rotisserie chicken so I didn't need to cook the meat with the veggies. I just tossed the meat in at the end. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shortbread Cookies II

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Followed the recipe to the letter. Ok, well I halved it but otherwise I followed it to the letter. I used a cookie press and didn't have the need to refrigerate the dough before I started making they cookies. The were excellent; just what shortbread should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I wasn't impressed with the sauce but the technique of roasting and then the slow cooker was great. I will use this going forward. I tossed the ribs on the grill and brushed with bbq sauce at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Steaks with Melon Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
The salsa was tasty, as was the fish. The problem: the salsa got lost on the meaty fish. I would totally make this again, but with a more delicate fish like Tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Chef John's Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Could not be more simple. I used my kitchen aid to make the dough to make it even easier. Love that they are from scratch - no preservatives, no lard or other weird ingredients and tastes super fresh. I doubt I'll ever buy tortillas from the store again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Wow, this was really really good. I've got to admit, the idea of pistachio pudding with coolwhip and fruits sounded odd at best. But so many people love this recipe that I was intrigued. I'm so glad I put my pistachio prejudice aside and made this dish, it was A-Maz-ing! I actually didn't add the marshmallows because my kids had eaten them all before I got around to making this dish and I omitted the fruit cocktail because I didn't have any. I did, however, at the suggestion of another reviewer add chopped pecans. I'll definitely be making this again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Mock Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I made this as written the first time, and it was really really good. I think it is more reminiscent of egg salad than tuna salad, but it was delicious and gave me the protein I was craving. I made it again a second time, and added some powdered ranch dressing, a little bit of cayenne pepper, some horseradish mustard and and it was still delicious. I think you can add and take away whatever you want to make it "your own." Very forgiving recipe and super easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Classic Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I had high hopes for the receipe based on all the great reviews. I found is horribly too sweet. I wished I would have read more of the reviews regarding this. I will try it again with only half, maybe less, than the amount of sugar called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon with Avocado Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
We've tried a lot of salmon recipes on allrecipes. This is freaking fantastic and the best we've had, particularly the avocado dip. The salmon itself is interchangeable - toss things up by coating it in some agave for a sweet crust, or with some cayenne for a spicy twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This was so good! Just what I was craving since I've developed an odd aversion to meat this pregnancy. I didn't change a thing, and took the advice of the submitter and served this with caramelized onions and baby greens on top. I also made a garlic-lemon mayo to go with it. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Made as directed. White meat was dry, dark was better, and it wasn't "sticky" as described. Flavors were not bad, but could have used more. There was a lot of juice in the bag before cooking. What I believe happens is that the salt pulls the juices out of the chicken. Given enough time, the chicken should reabsorb that (plus the seasonings) and make for a very moist bird (I've done this on turkey), but overnight standing just doesn't give it enough time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Bourbon Apple Cider and Honey Glazed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Glaze took 3x specified time to reduce at low temperature. Cooking time was way too long - used 1 inch bone-in pork chops and they were at 175 by 30 minutes (USDA says they only need to be at 145). Maybe I should have used thicker chops, but an hour is way too long at 350. Glaze was one dimensional - just sweet, not much flavor. Wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Slow Cooker Cinnamon Apple Steel Cut Oats

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
My first attempt at slow cooked oatmeal, and this came out pretty well but a bit on the bland side initially. I took another reviewers advice and grated some lemon zest into it (towards the end) because that was my final taste test to fix it and it did the trick. It gave it a bit of dimension, which is just what it needed. Oh and I used brown sugar in place of the splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Salade Lyonnaise

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Not a big fan. Felt like it was missing something - definitely too much dressing (1.5 cups for 1 head of lettuce?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Mexican Bean and Rice Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Good, but a bit dry. Would add more lime and cook the rice with too much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States