Ashburn, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mock Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I made this as written the first time, and it was really really good. I think it is more reminiscent of egg salad than tuna salad, but it was delicious and gave me the protein I was craving. I made it again a second time, and added some powdered ranch dressing, a little bit of cayenne pepper, some horseradish mustard and and it was still delicious. I think you can add and take away whatever you want to make it "your own." Very forgiving recipe and super easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Classic Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I had high hopes for the receipe based on all the great reviews. I found is horribly too sweet. I wished I would have read more of the reviews regarding this. I will try it again with only half, maybe less, than the amount of sugar called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon with Avocado Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
We've tried a lot of salmon recipes on allrecipes. This is freaking fantastic and the best we've had, particularly the avocado dip. The salmon itself is interchangeable - toss things up by coating it in some agave for a sweet crust, or with some cayenne for a spicy twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This was so good! Just what I was craving since I've developed an odd aversion to meat this pregnancy. I didn't change a thing, and took the advice of the submitter and served this with caramelized onions and baby greens on top. I also made a garlic-lemon mayo to go with it. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Made as directed. White meat was dry, dark was better, and it wasn't "sticky" as described. Flavors were not bad, but could have used more. There was a lot of juice in the bag before cooking. What I believe happens is that the salt pulls the juices out of the chicken. Given enough time, the chicken should reabsorb that (plus the seasonings) and make for a very moist bird (I've done this on turkey), but overnight standing just doesn't give it enough time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Bourbon Apple Cider and Honey Glazed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Glaze took 3x specified time to reduce at low temperature. Cooking time was way too long - used 1 inch bone-in pork chops and they were at 175 by 30 minutes (USDA says they only need to be at 145). Maybe I should have used thicker chops, but an hour is way too long at 350. Glaze was one dimensional - just sweet, not much flavor. Wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Slow Cooker Cinnamon Apple Steel Cut Oats

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
My first attempt at slow cooked oatmeal, and this came out pretty well but a bit on the bland side initially. I took another reviewers advice and grated some lemon zest into it (towards the end) because that was my final taste test to fix it and it did the trick. It gave it a bit of dimension, which is just what it needed. Oh and I used brown sugar in place of the splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Salade Lyonnaise

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Not a big fan. Felt like it was missing something - definitely too much dressing (1.5 cups for 1 head of lettuce?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Mexican Bean and Rice Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Good, but a bit dry. Would add more lime and cook the rice with too much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Chicken Stew with Dumplings

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I'm just rating the dumplings because I used my own chicken and sauce recipe. The dumplings were fabulous - tender and buttery. I just omitted the dill because I don't care much for it. Just looking at the rest of the recipe, I'd probably add more chicken broth though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Holly Christmas Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Important: DO NOT use wax paper. Use parchment paper. Wax paper is not quite capable of handling the sticky, delicious cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Salsa Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This recipe is so simple, but ridiculously tasty. I did find that I had to cook it about 45 minutes to get it up to 165.. seems like a long time for boneless chicken, perhaps due to the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
These cookies are delicious! I don't see how you can go wrong using this recipe. If you love peanut butter you'll definitely love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
It's a good base. I think that next time, I'll add more to jazz it up (maybe some beans, corn, and fresh jalapeno).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Tropical Sweet Potato Fries

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Perfect combination of spices. Kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Chicken with Orange-Maple Glaze

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Tasty, but the sauce wasn't much of a glaze. Should boil longer to reduce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Simple to make and surprisingly delicious. Don't skimp on the dollop of sour cream and green onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Mediterranean Three Bean Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I was looking for a really simple and fresh recipe with beans and I'm so glad I stumbled upon this one. It was exactly what I was looking for! The only thing I omitted was the olive oil because I didn't want the extra fat and I only used half a lemon for my super picky kids. I love lemon and I'm sure adding the entire lemon would have made the bean salad even more delicious. Thanks for a keeper of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Brazilian Lemonade

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
A favorite of ours! My method of making it is a bit different than written here. I blend the limes, one cup of water and sugar until the limes are nice and shredded to bits (love my ninja!); strain; put strained mixture back in blender and add condensed milk and blend again; pour over tons of ice and Enjoy! So good and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Kristen's Potato Leek Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Had a bunch of leeks hanging around and wasn't sure what to make with them until I stumbled upon this recipe. The soup was amazing! Used more leeks than called for since I wanted to use them up and added about a TBLS of red wine vinegar after it was done cooking to amp up the cream in the soup. Will definitely be in our winter menu coming up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States