Ashburn, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Devil's Steak Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made the recipe as it is. I must say this is very sweet. It tasted so good and I feel it lends itself better for lamb, pork and chicken. I prefer a more savory sauce for beef. It really is a great sauce and that's why I rate it a 5. Also, I would also try other jams as other reviews suggest. I will make this again but for pork and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai-Style Grapefruit and Prawn

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I used cayenne pepper since I didn't have the red chile pepper. I didn't like it at first but the next day when the flavors were well blended and it was chillled, it was very good. I will agree with another commenter that the fish sauce smelled pretty rank. I was worried that I ruined the dish once i put in the fish sauce..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Sausage and Cabbage Pitas

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This recipe was awesome minus the sugar. There's no need to add sugar. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing 'Pizza' Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This seems pretty kiddy at first glance, but it's a surprisingly fresh and delicious meal. Use a nice, thick, boneless pork chop, thick slices of tomato, and don't skimp on the garlic or basil. Mmmm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Soft Christmas Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
These were very good and easy to make. They will definitely be my decorating cookie of choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Fruit Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This will be my third Christmas baking this wonderful fruitcake. It is so moist and delicious! I replace the candied fruit with dried fruit because this is the way I prefer it. The first year I went out and bought the candied fruits and candied citron and orange peel in the plastic containers and was just disguised with the way it smelled. No way I wanted to ruin a perfectly good cake (and time, effort and money) with that junk, so I replaced with dried cherries, organic raisins, currants and dried pineapples and zested some orange and Lemon peel into the batter. Just a really really good cake - I look forward to Christmas season each year because of this fruitcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Definitely delicious and easy. I fried the chicken pieces a little bit and than added the sauce. You have to double the sauce. Next time i will vegetables to give a little more stir-fry feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Light Avocado Egg Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Other than using a whole avocado, I made the recipe as directed. It seemed to be missing something. It was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Buttermilk Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
A little on the salty side, next time I'll cut back on the salt. Also I added 1 tsp vanilla extract. Everyone in the family, except the pickiest kid, gobbled these down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

World's Best Potato Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I really, really wanted to like this. I felt it had potential, but was just too sweet and almost ordinary tasting considering that you make the sauce from scratch. I even put less sugar in than called for. I ended up mixing in some chopped dill pickles and their juice hoping it would lessen the sweetness and it helped some. This was almost like the stuff you buy at the grocery store, which I was hoping to avoid. I may try to make this again using way, way, way less sugar or none at all, adding dill pickles and using a full 5 pounds of red potatoes and green onions in place of the raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Cucumber Sandwich

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Interesting mix of ingredients. Fresh, clean, and tasty. Tip: don't slice the cucumbers too thick or they'll squirt right out when you bite in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Chef John's Caramel Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I used 3 large chicken breasts cut in small chunks instead of the thighs. This was pretty good, if a bit on the salty side. Tasted like something you would get at a chinese restaurant. Served over brown rice and everyone ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Cherry Bomb Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
A favorite of ours! I've been making this recipe for about a year and it's just spectacular. I use chicken leg/thigh quarters and usually keep about one of the habanero pepper's seeds intact for more spicy flavor. I made this for a party with 25+ people and almost everyone commented on how good it was and asked for the recipe. My husband has a habit of charring chicken on the grill, so I initially cook the chicken in the oven until just about done, then I have him throw it on our grill for that grilled taste. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This was surprisingly a HUGE hit at my house. I say surprisingly because 2 out of 3 of my kids are extremely picky and I just wasn't sure how this was going to go over with them. Well, they LOVED it! Every single one of them licked their plates clean. I did change the recipe ever so slightly based on what I had as well as another reviewers suggestions. First, I tripled the recipe to serve 6 for my family of 5. I omitted the bell pepper (didn't have it) and added a can of rotel with green chiles. I only had two cans of black beans so I used a can of refried beans for the 3rd can and one pkg of cream cheese. It came out a little on the "soupier" side (probably because of the refried beans as well as the rotel), but it was so scrumptious. I spooned it into burrito sized tortillas and there was enough for 6 large burritos. I will make this again without a doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Fabulous Zucchini Grinders

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was absolutely wonderful! I had a chicken breast I had baked the night before that I diced up and threw in after I cooked the zucchini since I knew my very picky kids would probably snub their noses at just zucchini. I also added half a white onion to the zucchini mixture for added flavor. This really was so, so good! I toasted the hoagies, laid very thin slices of provolone on the bottom so the bread wouldn't get soggy, and then layered as instructed. I sprayed the foil with oil so the cheese wouldn't stick once I rolled the sandwiches up and baked them in the oven. I will definitely be making this super simple recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This was outstanding. I used part of a rotisserie chicken so I didn't need to cook the meat with the veggies. I just tossed the meat in at the end. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shortbread Cookies II

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Followed the recipe to the letter. Ok, well I halved it but otherwise I followed it to the letter. I used a cookie press and didn't have the need to refrigerate the dough before I started making they cookies. The were excellent; just what shortbread should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I wasn't impressed with the sauce but the technique of roasting and then the slow cooker was great. I will use this going forward. I tossed the ribs on the grill and brushed with bbq sauce at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Steaks with Melon Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
The salsa was tasty, as was the fish. The problem: the salsa got lost on the meaty fish. I would totally make this again, but with a more delicate fish like Tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Chef John's Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Could not be more simple. I used my kitchen aid to make the dough to make it even easier. Love that they are from scratch - no preservatives, no lard or other weird ingredients and tastes super fresh. I doubt I'll ever buy tortillas from the store again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States