Ashburn, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Birds' Nests IV

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Yes, very delicious. My mom made these for Christmas every year growing up with one alteration - she uses vanilla frosting with food coloring to make them pretty and different colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus Wrapped in Crisp Prosciutto

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
SO GOOD!! I made these for a Christmas gathering, and boy I tell you what, these disappeared very quick. I split one slice of prosciutto length wise and spread a thin layer of cream cheese over it, then spiraled around 3 thin asparagus. Cook at recommended temperature for 3 minutes, shake the pan and put back in the oven an additional 2 minutes. Broil for an additional 2 minutes for added crisp. There's plenty of salt from the ham, so I don't recommend adding salt or parmesan as others have mentioned. Will be making this for every special occasion. Thinking of wrapping my scallops with this ham as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops with Garden Rice

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Tasty but dry. Will add more broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I didn't know this would be such a hit! Will need to make more pies this thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado Smoothie

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven BBQ Chicken Drumsticks

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Cooked this recipe for my girlfriend. She loved it and so did I! Added some minced garlic. YAUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Sausage

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Been using this recipe for years and it's a favorite of our family. I always sub ground turkey for the pork and sometimes I'll replace the brown sugar with maple syrup. Seasonings are right on for my kiddos but for my hubby and I, I usually up the red pepper. Salty, sweet, spicy...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Devil's Steak Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made the recipe as it is. I must say this is very sweet. It tasted so good and I feel it lends itself better for lamb, pork and chicken. I prefer a more savory sauce for beef. It really is a great sauce and that's why I rate it a 5. Also, I would also try other jams as other reviews suggest. I will make this again but for pork and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai-Style Grapefruit and Prawn

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I used cayenne pepper since I didn't have the red chile pepper. I didn't like it at first but the next day when the flavors were well blended and it was chillled, it was very good. I will agree with another commenter that the fish sauce smelled pretty rank. I was worried that I ruined the dish once i put in the fish sauce..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Sausage and Cabbage Pitas

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This recipe was awesome minus the sugar. There's no need to add sugar. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing 'Pizza' Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This seems pretty kiddy at first glance, but it's a surprisingly fresh and delicious meal. Use a nice, thick, boneless pork chop, thick slices of tomato, and don't skimp on the garlic or basil. Mmmm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Soft Christmas Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
These were very good and easy to make. They will definitely be my decorating cookie of choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Fruit Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This will be my third Christmas baking this wonderful fruitcake. It is so moist and delicious! I replace the candied fruit with dried fruit because this is the way I prefer it. The first year I went out and bought the candied fruits and candied citron and orange peel in the plastic containers and was just disguised with the way it smelled. No way I wanted to ruin a perfectly good cake (and time, effort and money) with that junk, so I replaced with dried cherries, organic raisins, currants and dried pineapples and zested some orange and Lemon peel into the batter. Just a really really good cake - I look forward to Christmas season each year because of this fruitcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Definitely delicious and easy. I fried the chicken pieces a little bit and than added the sauce. You have to double the sauce. Next time i will vegetables to give a little more stir-fry feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Light Avocado Egg Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Other than using a whole avocado, I made the recipe as directed. It seemed to be missing something. It was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Buttermilk Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
A little on the salty side, next time I'll cut back on the salt. Also I added 1 tsp vanilla extract. Everyone in the family, except the pickiest kid, gobbled these down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

World's Best Potato Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I really, really wanted to like this. I felt it had potential, but was just too sweet and almost ordinary tasting considering that you make the sauce from scratch. I even put less sugar in than called for. I ended up mixing in some chopped dill pickles and their juice hoping it would lessen the sweetness and it helped some. This was almost like the stuff you buy at the grocery store, which I was hoping to avoid. I may try to make this again using way, way, way less sugar or none at all, adding dill pickles and using a full 5 pounds of red potatoes and green onions in place of the raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Cucumber Sandwich

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Interesting mix of ingredients. Fresh, clean, and tasty. Tip: don't slice the cucumbers too thick or they'll squirt right out when you bite in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Chef John's Caramel Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I used 3 large chicken breasts cut in small chunks instead of the thighs. This was pretty good, if a bit on the salty side. Tasted like something you would get at a chinese restaurant. Served over brown rice and everyone ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States