Arlington, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
It's very bland, and If I made this again I would use sour cream instead of cream cheese, and add mushrooms, white wine and worcestershire -- maybe even a little extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

English Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I loved them. I'm living overseas, making it hard to find certain foods. So, I gave it a try, and they are just like the ones I bought in the US. Someone commented that it's much easier to bake them...I totally agree. I baked half and fried half. The baked ones turned out nice and it was a big time saver. The fried ones were nice too, but didn't keep as well. Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.fan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Portobello Sandwiches

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
exactly what i was looking for... so easy to make and absolutely delicious! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Toddy

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Pretty classic, although the cinnamon and nutmeg not so much. Honey, stud the lemon slice with the whole cloves (keeps them contained in the lemon so they're not floating where you might drink one), whiskey (bourbon is tasty), and hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Awesome Korean Steak

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Wonderful recipe! So easy to make! The house smells like a Korean restaurant! Love it!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very good! We would probably use hot Italian sausage next time for a little more zip and more salt was required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyMarkmann
Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Festive Shortbread

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Excellent recipe! Easy to make! Hubby loves them too! Recipe did not say how long to chill the dough and I did a research online and chilled in refrigerator for an hour and followed the recipe exactly! Will definitely make again!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Mole

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Great recipe! I noticed the comments about spiciness, so I used just one chipotle pepper for my first time. I think I'll use 2 next time and see how spicy it is. But the flavor is wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kurvers
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Savory Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Made it twice so far. First time used chicken breast and second time used chicken leg quarters (more time in the oven), both were super yummy!!! I did take someone's advise to generally sprinkle garlic powder and onion powder with black pepper and salt, I also sprinkled salt free Mrs. Dash original blend seasoning. Both times I used cream of mushroom and chicken soup. I also sprinkled shredded parmesan cheese on the chicken for the last 5 minutes. will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IV

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My very picky eaters loved this recipe! I followed the latest review and baked the crust for 5 min, added garlic powder and brushed with an egg white - it browned beautifully and it was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyMarkmann
Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This one's a keeper. Yummy with items I always have on hand. I did add 2 tablespoons of honey and it could have used a bit more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely the BEST Rich and Creamy Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Fantastic without a wait! We loved it!! I used whole milk because I didn't have buttermilk and Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream. Just great on a wedge salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Bland. I am still looking for the right combination of ingredients to bring this to life. I added a shot of bourbon and couple of ozs. of molasses. I am guessing that plain whit vinegar instead of apple cider and lessen chicken broth might make this more tangy. Maybe some red pepper flakes would help - but this recipe needs help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
FANTASTIC! only used 2 cups of sugar and you don't even miss it! This will be my banana bread recipe from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tasty Lentil Tacos

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This is so much better than it has any right to be, and has quickly become one of my favorite recipes! It's very friendly to dietary restrictions and easily becomes vegan. Be sure to stir in the salsa with the lentils at the end... it has a significant impact on the overall flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
DELICIOUS! I halved the recipe because I don't like to have too many sweets at home and I baked them in a mini muffin pan for 14 minutes -- PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sapna Bhatia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Snowballs II

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Delicious! Made a batch with pecans and a batch with almonds, totally preferred the almonds so I will do this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Citrus Wild Blueberry Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Super easy. Used fresh blueberries, and added some candied ginger. Omitted cinnamon. Delicious over buttermilk pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Excellent soup. I added a dollop of sour cream & didn't add diced tomatoes because my husband hates diced tomatoes. And only did half a can of green chile peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Shrimp with Lobster Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Picky Hubby gave it a four star! That's a five to me!! Did use more liquids with chicken stock but less soy sauce as the color should not be too dark. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States