Arlington, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Daddy's Popcorn

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
SO good! I have tried to make homemade popcorn many times and failed. First time I've succeeded....so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lynn Dickson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I made these and took them into work. I'm really glad I doubled the recipe as they were *very* popular! People kept stopping by to try the bacon cookies and then came back for seconds. :) You'd think that the bacon would overwhelm everything, yet you can still taste all the different flavors (raisins, corn flakes) and it's not overwhelming. Well balanced and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin-Carrot Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
i also thought the clove was too strong...and it needed something - like a lot more salt? won't make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Belle Glade, Florida, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Yum! :) I made it together with my husband. We took out 1 cup of all-purpose flour and replaced it with one cup of whole wheat flour. At first, the dough was a little dense. But I followed what others said, like normal bread, let it rise for an hour, then I made the balls and let it rise for another 30 minutes. They turned out fantastic. Nice and soft, didn't crumble when cutting through the middle. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.fan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Photo by mrs.fan

French Baguettes

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Awesome and flexible. You don't really need to do the egg wash finish. You can, it makes a nice pretty finish, but if you don't it still tastes awesome. This is my husband's favorite. I try to make it often. I usually triple the recipe, make a big fat loaf, and bake it all together. It turns out really big, and really yummy. :) And I don't have a bread maker, so I just follow what one would normally do when making bread (yeast, water, and sugar first...), and follow the ingredients used here. I've made it for parties, friends, get togethers, and it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.fan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
yummy, and flexible. I didn't have all the ingredients, but it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.fan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This recipe is so easy, and loved by many. It's also very flexible. I usually use whatever I have. i.e. sometimes I don't have celery, but I have corn and peas (which also tastes very good). I don't put the chicken bouillon, mainly because the ones here are filled with MSG. I've even taught my husband how to make it. I made it once for a Christmas party, and it was a hit. A good partner is some french bread (or any homemade bread). Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.fan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Blueberry Oatmeal Scones

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
These were great, could be a little sweeter on their own but with jam were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyckoff, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne and Vodka Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I used this just for the vodka sauce recipe and thought this recipe was a great starter recipe. I did make some modifications including adding sautéed onions and crushed red pepper and removing the pancetta since we don't eat meat. I also blanched two tomatoes to remove the skin and added them to the tomato sauce. I cooked the butter and vodka sauce for about 1 minute and added the tomato sauce and cooked for a good 45 minutes on low before adding the cream. This was so amazingly delicious, I will definitely make it again. We made our own pasta using the basic pasta recipe from this website - also highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I personally enjoyed this recipe but my husband thought it was WAY too salty. If I try it again, I will use reduced sodium soy sauce. Double the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sapna Bhatia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb Watermelon Feta Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Very good! I did not put in the full amount of herbs (I didn't want to kill my plants!) but it still turned out awesome. Used balsamic reduction instead of the vinegar, made it a little sweet but still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lynn Dickson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Holy yum! I had a really hard time figuring out what to use in regards to chile /chili sauce... The only chile with an "e" sauce I could find was the Thai chile...so that is what i used. not sure if the ribs were supposed to be as spicy as they were... But they were delish! A definite keeper! With the Thai chile sauce, they definitely had a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lynn Dickson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kale and Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
it's healthy - a powerhouse in fact... however, it's just not good. Strange combinations of texture, and not particularly flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lynn Dickson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This marinade was absolutely wonderful! Substituted red wine vinegar for the rice wine (I couldn't find it anywhere!) We have made this twice already... once we just made on the stove (which came out very watery but was still delicious), and the second time we finally tried it on the grill! Yum! We have tried with both chicken and shrimp- both are amazing. Highly, highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lynn Dickson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Asparagus with Parmesan

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Couldn't believe how good this was... Seriously. My husband and I made pork chops and asparagus for dinner...and the asparagus stole the limelight! Didn't and wouldn't change a thing. This was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lynn Dickson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Quick Coffee Cake

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
So simple and easy!! Taste great too!! Did add a little more milk as reviewers recommended and mixed the melted butter with the brown sugar, flour and cinnamon topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmacsaunders

Strawberry Sauza®-Rita

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Very tasty, we sprinkled a bit of Strawberry drink mix to add more red for more POP of color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmacsaunders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This was an amazing recipe! My husband absolutely loves Chocolate Chip Oatmeal cookies and these top the list as the best! LOVE them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lynn Dickson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fettuccine with Sweet Pepper-Cayenne Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Fantastic! Extremely spicy but very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lynn Dickson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
The dressing was a little too sweet- next time will cut down on the sugar a bit. Overall, great recipe! Love the combination with goat cheese, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lynn Dickson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States