Arlington, Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Potato Leek Soup III

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
A good recipe but I expect potato leek w/ out chunks. I guess I need to puree it afterward. It was tasty and I followed exactly. Didn't seem to greasy to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I use this to make bread, every kind of bread. Raisin, Cinnamon, Wheat, and white. I use exact ingredients, throw them into my Kitchen Aid, first paddle for a few seconds then hook for 10 Let rise for an hour then bake for 50 minutes, tap should sound hollow. Also made rolls as noted. Just a great, simple and fool proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmacsaunders

Easy Flank Steak Fajitas

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I missed the CHAR on the meat and veggies that I get when I make them on the grill but the meat marinade gave them good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmacsaunders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by jmacsaunders

Homemade Spinach Pizza Rolls

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Good stuff, I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmacsaunders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by jmacsaunders

Applesauce Energy Bars

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I made these for my 7th grade Teen Living class and they LOVED them. They demanded for me to put them on my school website for access to make some at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmacsaunders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by jmacsaunders

Golden Apple Raisin Squares

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Pretty much a spice cake with apples. can't go wrong with that. It is super moist, almost too moist. Don't worry about it drying out, that is for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmacsaunders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by jmacsaunders

Easiest Chocolate Blossom Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Yes, I am the creator and these are really easy, few ingredients and very moist. Kid friendly and helps to sneak some veggies in too. Office mates will enjoy this treat too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmacsaunders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by jmacsaunders

Cheesy Beef Lasagna

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Lasagna is always a labor of love. Making the sauce is task enough but I love how the whole boiling of noodles thing is gone by preparing this with dry noodles. I also made this the day before to ensure the noodles soaked up the sauce PLUS all the flavors marrying. You know how leftovers always taste better the day after? Well making this the day before helps with that HOWEVER keep in mind, if you heat this up stone cold it will take 1 hour and 1/2 instead of 45 minutes when it still warm from preparing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmacsaunders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Low Fat Buttermilk Ranch Dressing

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Outstanding! I have made this twice, using dried herbs both times and it was delicious! I am taking another reviewer's recommendation and keeping a jar of the premixed herbs in the cabinet. What a great flavor combination! I am thinking of mixing it in with bread crumbs and breading some chicken tenders. Thanks for sharing, jpsmommie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Caramel Brownies III

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Substituted vegetable oil for part of butter when I ran out and substituted German Chocolate for chips when I ran out. I only had half the caramels and it turned out just fine. Its a great recipe, a little rich when I follow it exactly but very forgiving of substitutions. I had to bake an extra ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low Carb and Gluten Free Quiche Lorraine

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I made this for a bridal shower brunch and it got rave reviews, with multiple people asking for the recipe. No one even knew it was gluten-free; they just knew it tasted great! Since this was my first time making quiche I have to say the recipe was easy to follow and true to taste. Since I like salt I didn't change that quantity (and no complaints from guests), but I did use 1 c 2% milk instead of half&half for the filling. I also made the whole thing the night before so all I had to do was throw it in the oven before brunch, and it turned out great. I will absolutely be saving this and making again - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple-Soy Glazed Salmon

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
didn't bother with a cedar plank. I didn't have lime so I used lemon juice/zest. Marinated for an hour in fridge. Broiled in oven, basting a few times. Squeezed lemon juice on top and YUMMMMMMMM... definitely my favorite salmon dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Balls

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I have made these many times using this exact recipe. KILLER. Can't stop eating them. Never any left after I make them for a party either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmacsaunders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this for Mother's Day brunch and my family LOVED it - after reading the reviews I decided that even though the amount sounded huge, leftovers would be scarce and go fast. So glad I did! I used slightly different fruits and mixed them together (instead of layering), let it sit covered in the fridge for several hours, and it was delicious. If you think fruit is sweet enough on its own this may be too sweet for you. But if you're looking for a crowd-pleasing dessert or to "trick" friends into eating healthy fruits who normally wouldn't, ;) this gets the job done without erasing the flavors of the individual fruits. Five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Meatless Meatballs

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Spectacular! I made these to give to a vegetarian friend but they are so flavorful and delicious, I am tempted to keep them! I used baby belas, ran everything through the blender and refrigerated overnight. Just amazing, Chef John! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Baked Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
My new favorite sweet potato recipe! I added chopped sweet onions. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I wouldn't say its gourmet but I still give it 5 stars for being quick and easy and yummy. A great weeknight recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Oh WOW. So easy and so delicious!!! I doubled the batch but will triple or quadruple it for freezing next time. I sautéed the onion in garlic flavored olive oil, used Italian style stewed tomatoes and Italian style tomato paste. I didn't taste any bitterness but added a tad of sugar just in case. I am going to make Chef John's meatless meatballs tomorrow for a vegetarian friend and put them in her fridge with this lovely sauce so she will have something to eat when she comes home from visiting her family out of state. Thanks so much for sharing this, Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Spicy Peach-Glazed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
My new all time favorite recipe for Pork Chops. Only wish the sauce got a little thicker - will have to try to reduce the wine next time so it's more of a glaze than a thin sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lynn Dickson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Amazing. Next time, I will add some more garlic salt and seasoning to the cracker, because it could have been a little more seasoned. Still amazingly delicious though! My husband loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lynn Dickson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States