Alexandria - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grilled Salmon, Snap Peas and Spring Mix Salad with Chow Mein Noodles

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Already had a salmon marinating and was only able to try the salad dressing - this one's delicious! Followed the recipe to a T. Served it with spinach, salmon, onions, edamame and chow mein noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Made it per recipe- turned out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraelise
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
2900+ reviews don't lie....this dip is delicious. I could eat it with a spoon....also good with Tostitos scoops. I'll follow Scott99's recommendation for the layering next time - the color is definitely unappetizing. I just boiled 2 chicken breasts in plain water for 20 minutes then shredded them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Best Bruschetta Ever

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I first made and tasted bruschetta in a cooking class in Tuscany and this is for the most part a classic Italian bruschetta recipe except for a few things. Fresh basil is a must, a little red pepper, some oregano and a splash of wine vinegar. This will give it the "kick" some reviewers thought was missing. And this Italian antipasto should be served on good, toasted Italian bread - not French! Before spooning on the tomatoes, rub the toasted bread generously with a garlic clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Great recipe. I was looking for a Mexican dessert for an impromptu Mexican dinner at my house. I had the ingredients for the recipe on hand, it was easy/quick to fix and the outcome was a hit with my dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibe1cent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mock Filets

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Yes, these are a weird 'mock steak' but amazing little meatloaves - the hubby and I loved every single bite. With the broiler on high (and ours is a strip down the middle of the oven), the little patties near the flame and the sauce got scorched 5 inches from the heat (per the recipe) and were still raw-ish in the middle (we microwaved the rest of the way). Will move the rack down a notch next time and test with a meat thermometer. I didn't have a broiler pan or casserole, but used a lined jelly roll pan with a rack in it which worked great - so much fat rendered down into it. Also, since our burner was down the middle, we needed to flank the loaves on the rack on both sides of the burner instead of right under it to minimize the scorching. Doubled the recipe and got 10 little loaves, and followed the recipe (used 93/7 beef and glad I did) exactly except for the onions. Opted to serve the onions sauteed on the side which worked great. Only had 1 cup of breadcrumbs left which was fine but will try the full amount next time. After adding in the egg, the mix almost got too mushy/liquidy, but the patties stuck together fine and were moist. Really easy, really delicious - and a perfect 'cabinet meal' for us. Thank you to the reviewers that say this freezes great - I can't wait to try that for a quick freezer meal. Only needed 3/4 of the sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Brown Sugar Pie II

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This is very good but very sweet (I even cut the white sugar down to 6 tablespoons). It's like a pecan pie without the pecans, however I love pecans so I thought it was lacking. Everyone at the party loved it though. If you're into chess pie, you'll love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Couscous Feta Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This is a perfect summer BBQ side dish. Easy to make, tastes great. I could have eaten that alone, it was that good. Followed the recipe exactly except for the parsley (I hate the stuff). Might use balsamic instead of the red wine vinegar next time for just a tiny bit more of a kick. Loved the pine nuts in this! No problems with the dressing otherwise - I thought it was perfect (keep in mind the couscous is not seasoned at all). Thought about marinating the cucumbers in the dressing while the couscous cooled - may try that next time. Rave reviews at our last BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Great recipe. I prep this in advanced, freeze it and pull it out to thaw the night before for an easy tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie O.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I can't believe how easy this was, especially with a pulled rotisserie chicken (a 3 pounder, from Costco) and a frozen veggie mix. I didn't have celery seeds and used celery salt which I think tasted a little funny, and I may try the poultry seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Southwest Breakfast Burritos

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This recipe is AWESOME. Followed the recipe exactly. Love the concept - spend a little more time up front, and have some to throw in the freezer later. Used about 1.5 pounds of sausage (hot/mild mix) and made 15 burritos. Make sure to drain the eggs and sausage well! Probably will take it down to 1 heaping tablespoon of Taco Seasoning I (to taste) and may play with adding brown rice to stretch these further. No luck with the whole wheat tortillas - they tore, will stick with white or multigrain from here out! Didn't wait for the mix to cool down before adding in the cheddar, it all worked fine. Had to microwave the tortillas in batches of 3-4 for 30 seconds at a time to make them pliable enough to wrap without tearing. 40 seconds from the fridge (in the microwave) to my tummy! I'm wondering how these will be out of the freezer - will update at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Awesome Spicy Beef Kabobs OR Haitian Voodoo Sticks

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Made 2 versions of this (hot, mild) for a BBQ this past weekend and people went nuts over it. The hot followed the recipe exactly and the mild had only 2 cloves garlic and 1/2 tablespoon of cayenne (still fairly spicy to those who don't have tolerance for spice). The only thing is that the kabobs came out really salty - will half the amount of beef bouillon next time. Used top sirlion that had been blade tenderized (from Costco) - worked perfectly. Served with roasted fingerling potatoes and a pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
We made this for dinner tonight and it was good, but not great. The topping combination is really what made this dish, but when you add buttered ritz crackers to any dish it's almost guaranteed to be good. I thought the fish itself was bland and didn't absorb the butter or wine flavours, and all of the topping that fell off the fish into the wine turned soggy (naturally). Even though I wasn't a big fan, both my husband and toddler liked it, so compromising with 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Used this with butternut squash seeds. Tried what others said and dried overnight after rinsing and only needed 20 minutes to bake (follow your nose - when you smell it, it's ready!). I never used to eat roasted seeds with the shell on but these are delicious. Only needed about a teaspoon of butter for all the seeds in a small butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by Stephanie Nicole

Asparagus and Mushroom Quiche

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
My only changes to this recipe were adding more pepper and a bit of cayenne pepper to the egg mixture. It was delicious and my husband loved it. Next time I will go lighter on the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Nicole

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dark Chocolate Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Loved the taste/texture. 2 loaves evaporated in the office within 2 hours. On a side note, greek yogurt worked well as a substitution since I was out of sour cream. Try using 1/2 cup of dark chocolate chips or pecans instead of the 1/2 cup walnuts. I might go crazy and add more nuts since it seemed less nutty or chocolaty than I would have preferred. BTW at the office the one with Chocolate chips went fastest. Also as other people have said the bread should have mashed instead of sliced banana...the riper the more flavor. 1 cup is perfect so if you like to mash the bananas and freeze them like I do just measure out 1 cup portions for when you are in the mood for some fresh banana bread. It is delish right out of the oven. I had 6 bananas that worked out to 2 1/2 cups so best to mash and measure if you want consistent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Beal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shoyu Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I think the hubby might leave me if I did not add this to our permanent cookbook. I think it needs half or only 1/3 the amount of black pepper (and a little less ginger because I'm not a fan) but this was so delicious following the recipe exactly otherwise. Marinated overnight - the chicken was stained beautifully the next day so clearly the marinade took! Don't throw away that delicious marinade! Strained the leftover marinade and pulled out the onions; cooked it down with the onions to make a sauce. Served it with steamed broccoli (steamed then caramelized in a few spoonfuls of the marinade), and brown rice with a bit of the sauce. It was a PERFECT meal. If I wasn't already married, I would have been proposed to after this meal (he's still talking about it)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Rice Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is like a loaded rice bowl (easier to accept than a weird version of lasagna). Delicious (and probably even better with a little bit of sausage but I didn't have any on hand - it needs a tiny bit more flavor). The egg makes the dish comfortingly rich. Used brown rice made in the rice cooker instead of white and could have gone as much as 5-6 cups for a 9x13 dish (wasn't sure how big a 3 quart casserole was). Four cups barely made 2 layers. Doubled the beef and found that was just right for the 9x13. I made each layer meticulously and am now wondering if it was even worth it - the layers are preserved in the pan but once you spoon it out.....it's literally like a loaded rice bowl. Will probably save myself the trouble and make 3 layers next time and add some sauteed onions to the meat sauce for the hubby. Pretty decent cooking-out-of-my-cabinet meal though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Healthy Peanut Butter Fruit Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Bought a bag of chia seeds from Costco and was looking for ways to use it. I'm eating this with Wheatables at the moment and it's very good. It's definitely got the yogurt tang (Dannon nofat vanilla Greek yogurt), but I think it's because of the brand I chose. Don't worry about the chia seeds - you won't really feel/taste them - they'll swell overnight. I don't know that I love the cinnamon in here, might try without that and none to little honey next time. But it's healthy (I think I can eat the entire thing without worrying) but I will spread it out over days, so that trumps everything. Definitely not the prettiest, it's a fairly ugly (ok, really ugly) dip, but your tummy won't care :). The hubby didn't care for it - it's not his thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Chef John's Turkey Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I still like my beef version better but this is definitely decent for a turkey version. I'll add more cayenne next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States