Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Stuffed Cubanelle Peppers

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Pretty good recipe. The only issue I had was it was that amount of salt. It was pretty salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

Pralines

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I read a lot of the reviews before I attempted this, and I suggest you do the same. Candy making takes practice and this is an expensive recipe for your first attempt at it. The portions of the recipe are good. Couple of things I want to mention, I do suggest using light cream or half and half instead of milk. Buy yourself a good candy thermometer. Mine turned out best when I cook slightly past the soft ball stage. I like the pecans toasted, even if they are fresh. Toasting the pecans not only smells amazing, but it intensifies the nuts natural flavors. I toasted in the oven at 300 for 10 mins. in a single layer on a cookie sheet or stone. Like many other reviewers, I used whole and chopped pecans and I used 2 cups instead of 1 and 1/2cups of nuts. I waited to add the vanilla when I took the pan off the stove. I tried the ice bath and the mixture cooled too quickly to work with. What worked best for me was to remove from heat, beat in the vanilla and let the mixture cool naturally for a couple of mins. so it's thick but not too thick to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Cakes

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Modified slightly based upon ingredients on hand: unseasoned bread crumbs, less Old Bay, Dijon vs. regular mustard, add parsley and onions. I also pan fried versus baked. Modified recipe follows: 2 cups shredded zucchini, 1 cup UNSEASONED bread crumbs, 1 egg, 1 T. mayo, 1 tsp. Dijon mustard, 3/4 T. Old Bay Seasoning, 2 T. onions, 1 tsp. parsley or fresh parsley Squeeze dry zucchini. Mix egg, onion, mayo, OLD Bay, mustard, and parsley in bowl. Add zucchini, bread crumbs, mix well. Shape into 8 patties, 1/4 c. each. Heat 1 T. oil in a large nonstick skillet on medium. Add 4 crab cakes. Cook 3 mins. per side or until golden brown. Drain on paper towels. Repeat with remaining patties, add oil as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Five stars ARE NOT enough to be fair. It was the hit of my dinner party for my daughter's baptism. I did not add the chicken broth, and it really made the difference. Also, using the tortilla chips, instead of regular ones makes a big deal. Loved it. Per another reviewer, I topped the casserole with Pepperjack cheese. Wow! One rotisserie chicken was enough. And, I used green chile peppers ( 1 med. can)instead of the fresh green peppers, and it was a nice touch. This casserole was large...I mean big. No need for doubling. Chef John, you are one amazing chef! Thank you...and "Muchas, muchisimas gracias, Chef"!!!!!!!!! Que viva Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INESPR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Omg. SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Excellent flavor, even without the chicken! (That I forgot to buy) :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Tea Cooler

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
keep a pitcher of this in my fridge at ALL times. Perfect refreshment for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jazzy cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

NO YOLKS® Asian Vegetables and Chicken in a Spicy Peanut Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Added garlic and ginger. Used thick rice noodles in place of the No Yolks. Very enjoyable. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Banana Muffins II

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Hi! After using all-recipes for a LONG time, this recipe finally made me join, to write a review. The recipe is DELIGHTFUL! I followed the tips from the comments, left out a banana because I didn't have enough, and instead added blueberry, and whipped up a crumble to go on top. So moist, filling, and even without one banana, the banana flavor is strong. I absolutely love this recipe and will make it my go-to muffin recipe. One tip to give, Make SURE you use bananas that have been sitting and have a fair amount of brown spots. These are sweeter and softer. And like all the other tips, just mix until the mixture is moist. Once again, great recipe! I tried to upload a picture but it wouldn't go through... Anyway, Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmusLazul
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Wonderful bread and very moist! Great flavor and good to enjoy any time of the day. I shredded my zucchini more finely than as illustrated in the video. No other changes. My husband and kids love it!! Won't experiment with any other recipes. This one is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsuggs
Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker

Instant Chocolate Hard Shell

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
YUM, I tried a peanut butter version of this from Pinterest and misplaced the recipe. I had to try this one when I found it. I made 1/4 of the recipe or about 4 servings. So, the full recipe is about half the servings suggested. That amount was equivalent to 1/2 cup choc chips and 2 Tblsp + 1 1/2 tsp of coconut oil. I used Ghiradelli mini choc chips, from the freezer, and it took 1 minute to melt stirring half way through. I tried it on top of Edys 1/2 the fat vanilla bean ice cream. It set up very quickly. It doesnt crack, but it does solidify. I cant imagine why anyone would buy the stuff in a bottle with the ease and taste of this. Edit Note: I didn't store it at room temperature as suggested. I put it in the fridge. To re-melt it, I put it back in the microwave for 1 minute stirring half way through. As it wasn't as warm as when just made it did actually crack into a few pieces, after it set for a minute or so, if that is desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Five Minute Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
This recipe is really versatile! I had fresh blackberries that I had to do something with so I put 10 oz through a food mill to get rid of the seeds. I mixed the blackberry liquid with the cream and sugar in a Vitamix and put in a freezer container. I did this in the morning. That evening we had perfect ice cream. It seemed more like a sorbet but it was really delicious! I was happy to find this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caribbean Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Excellent...Hubby gave a 4, I gave a 5. Very "light", flavors complement each other. Made it several years ago and just found again. Making tomorrow for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Polska Kielbasa with Cabbage and Egg Noodles

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I tried this using a reviewers suggestion to add some bacon, garlic, red pepper and honestly I could not stop eating it. Easy, quick and delicious. These are three essentials in my book for a five star review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I used the entire recipe for two pounds of meat (one pound of turkey and one pound of ground beef) for our taco night and it was PERFECT!! The perfect amount and the perfect taste! I browned the meats, drained the fat, and then added about 1/2c of water and all the spice mix and it was just wonderful! I was skeptical, but I really couldn't taste the difference between this and the chemical and preservative laden spice packets. DEFINITE KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garbanzo Tomato Pasta Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I didnt much care for this. I found it quite bland. It was also extremely salty despite using low-sodium ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Puddingwiches

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Love these and love having them in the freezer. What a good snack, and the perfect size when you need a small sweet bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Panna Cotta

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Needed something so quick to put together and this was perfect. Followed the recipe to a T and this got rave reviews (father in law ate 2 ramekins in the name of his birthday) and everyone else scraped theirs clean. Served it with a homemade strawberry sauce (boiled strawberries with sugar and water then pureed it with an immersion blender). I think the only thing that could have made this better would have been a vanilla bean instead of the vanilla extract. Great texture and perfect summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by Darlean May

Quick and Easy Summer Limoncello Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I just used plain yogurt and added a teaspoon of lemon extract to both the cake and the glaze - it turned out fantastic but my extract in the glaze wasn't needed it was just a tad to strong lemon taste for kids but the adults liked it. great summer cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlean May
Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States