Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Love with sour cream and shredded cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Spectacular! I used fat-free half and half and it was still creamy, rich and delicious! Thanks, Karyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Photo by shayda

Banana Date Flaxseed Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
a healthy alternative to regular banana bread! thought it would dry out with all the flax but the fruit and oil kept it moist. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I forgot cinnamon on first batch but added for the second very tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ketron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Virginia, USA

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I didn't realize that I was out of taco seasoning until I was home from the store. Being lazy and experiencing low outside temperatures, I decided to give this a try. I didn't have oregano but everything else. added it to my Mexican soup and I was blown away. I will never use the other stuff again. the dish smelled earthy and yummy while cooking all day and tasted wonderful. I think I'll make a batch to have on hand at all times. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean Breakfast Bowl

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This tasted better than what I expected. It kind of reminded me of a burrito without the tortilla. I made 2 servings using 1 egg and 1/3 can of beans each. I cooked the eggs in 1 tsp of whipped butter. I kept the rest of the ingredient amounts the same. For seasoning I added a pinch of garlic salt and a sprinkle of black pepper. Calories per serving, as made, came to about 360. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Creamy Frosting

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Worked out great until I put the milk in. It wouldn't blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy 20-Minute Chicken Posole

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
LOVED this! The husband groaned through his first 5 slurps of this. For 20 minutes, this is awesome. To cook the chicken, I used the Barefoot Contessa method of roasting chicken breasts - slather bone in breasts with skin on in olive oil, salt and pepper, and roast at 350 for 40 minutes. Let cool then de skin/bone and chop. Super moist! Did all that the night before, along with chopping the onion and garlic, so all that was left the day of was to pop a couple of cans and cook - so quick! The hubby didn't love the black olives (he loves them normally) and I was ambivalent to it - not sure it added that much here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by JARRIE

Healthy Chocolate Mug Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
The texture was interesting, not bad but not ordinary. The flavor was quite dull, probably due to the lack of salt which I'd have added if I'd noticed in time. I appreciated how quickly it came together and, as I'dI baked all 3 mugs before dinner, was pleased they were still steamy after dinner on account of the coffee mugs. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by JARRIE

Chicken Lemon Linguine

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This was 4 stars the day I made it but 5 stars the next day. I'll double the lemon next time but otherwise this recipe is a spot-on winner. Serve with salads or broccoli to pour the sauce over that first night! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Thai Chicken Bites With Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
We liked this very much. You can find the peanut sauce in the Thai section of your international aisle. I've had similar dishes with peanut butter that absolutely revolted me, but I love Thai food and the bottled House of Tsang sauce went well here. In the future I might sweeten and ginger up the sauce a bit more because I love those favors. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Apple-Berry Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This was my 2nd tapioca pie. The previous one was all blackberries and half the sugar and it set up better. This was still worlds less runny than most fruit pies and I appreciate the lack of pastiness that flour/cornstarch confer. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
These are by far the best! People are always impressed and think I'm some expert baker when I present these. Lol Took two plates, piled high to my friend's Halloween party one year, with the expectation she'd have some left over for herself. However, every last cookie was gone within 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Lanning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Chocolate/Salted Caramel Cake in a Mug

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Delicious! Have made it 3 times yet and I tried using Nestle Chocolate Chips with Caramel in them and it was even better than plain chocolate chips. 95 seconds was perfect timing for our microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Mostacciuolo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summersville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisabeth

Chocolate Surprise Cupcakes

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I made this from a cookbook I have and was very glad to see it here. I made a mistake when putting the ingredients together and put the dry chocolate in the cream cheese and bits, so I added everything else and stirred. Then I sprayed with Pam and filled a mug 1/2 full of the mixture and baked for 1 minute. Repeating this until the mixture was gone. You need to clean the mug after every use as moisture collects in the bottom, so wipe or wash and spray just a quick spray of Pam, it came out like a lava cake. The cream cheese when to the bottom and was a great dessert with my life saver dinner last night when the oven went out. I did use cider vinegar as I had no white vinegar and I used 3 banty eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fancy Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clatskanie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wake-Up Casserole - Canadian Bacon

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
The hubby declared this a home run. I liked it though was surprised the southwestern egg beaters didn't impart more flavor. Also thought it was really greasy, which is a shame given how healthy the rest of it is. I will try regular shredded potatoes next time instead of the frozen patties. Left out the salt and didn't miss it - the canadian bacon, egg beaters and patties had plenty of sodium already! Used only 1 bag of shredded cheese (2 cups) - thought it was plenty. This could use a little bit of spice, might try pepperjack next time or a few shakes of crushed red pepper, and LOVE the idea of scallions on top! Definitely hearty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Applesauce Barbeque Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This recipe saved my dinner tonight. I made the sauce yesterday and thought I would follow one reviewers instructions and bake at 175 for 2 hours and spread sauce over meat every 15 minutes. Well my oven died about 4 hours before I was going to start the meat and so I had already put in into a crock pot because I heard the Lord say to. Well, was I ever glad. After a couple of hours I took the meat and drained it and dipped it into the sauce and laid each piece back into the crock pot and turned it back on. I was really sweating not knowing how I was going to make the ribs taste good and not be sauceless. They came out perfect. I'll admit I did tweak the recipe a little. I make my own applesauce with sugar and cinnamon so I left out the cinnamon and 1/2 the sugar. I mada a second batch for dipping and didn't need it. THANK YOU for this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fancy Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clatskanie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthy Garden Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Very flavorful! I also added one chopped up avocado and some ground peppercorn, and decided to make this a little more filling by adding in orzo pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ptocheia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Beans, Texas Ranger

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
So I baked this on the higher "slow cook" setting in my slow cooker for 2.5 hours. It was a bit on the runnier side, so I then baked at 325 in the oven for 30 minutes. This'll thicken the sauce up a bit and give it a really good texture. Anyhow, really delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ptocheia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Enchiladas

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
So good. I will make this again (maybe next week). I used green sauce and added almost double the chili pepper and cumin. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States