Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Shuk Shuka

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is a quick fix for dinner. Not something I'd eat everyday I would get sick of it. It does need salt tho my only change to what's listed above. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simply the Easiest Beef Brisket

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I made this last night and used a hard apple cider for the beer, the sauce was out of this world!!!! (I did use some flour to thicken it up as a gravy at the end) my house smelled wonderful!!! I made it exactly as the recipe says, however my brisket did not come out tender at all. I'm sure that was some fault of my own not the recipe, I've never made brisket before!!! I know some said the sauce was too sweet but I liked it just the way it was! Yum! I'm definitely going to be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly19815

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse

Lemon Coconut Cupcakes

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I wanted more lemon in this so I added lemon juice and lemon zest. But then I accidentally dumped in way more coconut than called for . . .so ended up with much more coconut-y cupcakes than planned. Guess that's what happens when I use the bag to measure instead of a cup. Oh, well. Took them to work and they were gobbled up. I didn't make the frosting--have frosting I was trying to get rid of, but the cupcakes were decent with the added lemon. I may try these again without so much coconut, but they still were pretty good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry Cherry Compote

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This recipe was hard to rate. On taste I give it a 5, cherries, raspberries, and cinnamon. I knew I couldn't go wrong with the flavor combination. The issue comes in with the raspberry seeds. I have made raspberry mouse where I heat the raspberries and strain the seeds. I have made raspberry and banana smoothies, where I blend the raspberries and liquid alone until liquified and then add the other fruits. It dissolves the seeds first. That concerned me with the raspberries here. I cooked it down and the raspberry seeds were just abundant in the mixture and left a thick crunchiness to the compote. I ended up adding the mixture to my Vitamix blender, blending on medium for 2-3 minutes, and then further straining to reduce the seeds. It kind of defeats the purpose of having pieces of cherries. The flavor is amazing though. I would consider making this again blending the raspberries alone first in a little liquid, straining, and then using. Tweaks I made were halving the recipe, using agave syrup, and cabernet sauvignon. I also only had frozen fruit, cherries I pitted and froze and store bought frozen raspberries. I cooked them from frozen uncovered for 5 minutes on medium high, or 7 on my stove, and 5 minutes on medium. Half the recipe, after straining out the seeds, yielded about 1/2-2/3 a cup. I am going to try this tomorrow on a toasted English muffin or yogurt. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Roasted Turkey Legs

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
A good idea recipe as long as you follow some review suggestions. I skipped the butter and just did the celery in the slits followed by a little poultry seasoning. I cooked it at 350 covered fit an hour and a half, uncovered it and put a very small amount of butter on the top side then browned it just a little maybe 10-15 minutes. We made gravy with the drippings plus some chicken stock I had on hand and had this with mashed potatoes. My husband really enjoyed it so it was worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
These things are amazing. Best when cooled, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Elmore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Florida, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado and Black Bean Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This made for a quick and easy snack. I was confused if the beans and avocado were mashed together because of the picture. I just mixed the beans in initially. The color gets a funky green brown if mashed together I found. I thought the lime was quite pronounced. It did give it a fresh flavor. Not my favorite bean dip, but it was gone fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Mamon (Sponge Cakes)

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I wish I could have given this recipe 10 stars...WOW! I followed the advice of another reader, and substituted the regular flour for cake flour, but added another 3 minutes to the baking time. ( Make sure you don't over bake them.)I made only half of this recipe, and got 3 1/2 dozen regular size cupcakes. Sooooo easy to put together, and the flavor is out-of-this world. I will make these over and over again. Thanks for sharing with us. You made my day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INESPR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

Carrot, Potato, and Cabbage Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
i fell in love with cabbage soup when i spent some time in russia, and this one's pretty good. (also dirt cheap!) to make it truly great, ADD SOUR CREAM on top. i made mine vegetarian by juicing the other half of the cabbage and half a bunch of celery (made about 2 c. liquid) and using water for the rest of the 6 cups. needs a bit extra salt this way, but nutritious and flavorful. took about 5 hours on high in my crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Malaguena Lemon and Dill Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Excellent! I made as directed except mixing all ingredients using a small food processor. Served with grilled shrimp as an alternative to cocktail sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Healthier Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I followed the recipe except for using V8 juice instead of tomato sauce (its what I had). They turned out very well. I marinated the shrimp about 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Chicken and Summer Squash

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I am originally from the Middle East and we cook chicken with zucchinis all the time. In these recipes you must add a lot of chopped onion and garlic with the vegetables. Then put the seared chicken on top, and bake for 20-30 min. adding the onion makes the dish very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

S.O.P.P.

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
My mom used to make this back in the 70's and I loved it then. This recipe is exactly what she made. I made this last night and it was a huge hit... stunk up the house really well too! I will say that there is no way those potatoes are going to cook to tender in 10 minutes. You can certainly microwave them first to cut down on cooking time, just drain them well before you put them in hot oil. This is probably one of the easiest dishes to make when you are short on time. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hoisin Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This was so good! I had a jar of hoisin in the fridge leftover from some other recipe. I will now be purchasing hoisin again just to make this recipe! I was a little lazy and used dried garlic, ginger, and onion powder and just mixed it in a little bowl along with the other ingredients. I finely chopped about 3 jalapeno rings and it gave it the perfect pop. This made plenty of sauce for a large family pack of chicken legs. Even my picky 11-year-old loved it, so it's a winner in my book! Thanks Semigourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA

White Fiber Mini Shells with Cherry Tomatoes, Basil and Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
We loved this recipe! I added minced garlic and fresh mozzarella cheese to it, and that was the perfect addition to the flavor! Nice easy recipe, perfect for a busy family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Dailey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Sauce for Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This was easy to prepare and delicious! My husband and (picky) kids loved it! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Crustless Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Made this for the husband and I to bring to work for breakfasts (30 seconds to a minute in the microwave per slice) .This was delicious even though I forgot to add the cheddar! It needs some seasoning, perhaps a half teaspoon of salt and pepper, maybe a little bit of garlic powder. Used seasoned breadcrumbs and parmesan (3:1 tablespoons to make the quarter cup) because I didn't want buy croutons just for this and it added such a nice flavor. I love cottage cheese recipes! With low fat cottage cheese, reduced fat cheddar and 4 eggs to stretch over 8 servings (and it's crustless, to boot), this is pretty healthy - this will be my new quiche base recipe!! Lined my pie pan with Reynolds nonstick foil and it worked great (no spray/grease). I can't wait to try some of the suggestions here - artichokes, sundried tomatoes, 2 eggs with eggbeaters, it all sounds good! Definitely echo the need to squeeze the liquid out of the spinach first! LOVE Gina's idea about freezing the filling uncooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

How to Make Perfect Polenta

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Chef John you've done it again....this was perfect as promised. I was looking for a polenta recipe that didn't call for milk or cream and this was it! Followed the recipe exactly with grits (it's all I had on hand) except that I put in the grits into cold water to avoid lumps. Perfect side for meat! And the leftovers.....glorious when fried on both sides, then covered with spaghetti sauce, cheese, artichokes, roasted red peppers - whatever you have in your fridge. I might start making polenta just for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Drunk Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
We didn't love this chicken for the same reason others mentioned - the poultry seasoning was a little weird. But this recipe has to stay in my recipe box forever because the technique of skewering the beercan so it stays in when you move the chicken around is just a stroke of absolute brilliance. It's the reason for the 4 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Peruvian Style Beer Can Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Made this without rosemary as we hate rosemary and this was DELICIOUS. Brined the chicken for about 2 hours but forgot to poke holes - poked holes and let it sit for another half hour. BTW, an olive-pic that you use for martinis works really well as a hole poker! Followed the instructions for the Drunk Chicken recipe on this site in terms of skewering to keep the can in - GENIUS! Didn't have time to let it sit in the rub very long and hope to have more time next time. We have a gas grill, and needed to light the left two burners (one was a searing burner and one was a regular burner), and then put the chicken to the right as much as we could. It was the only way we could get to 350 in our grill. I heard it was better than Super Pollo (the best in the DC metro area)...hopefully with a longer bath in the rub, I will agree next time, but it was really, really good. With this small of a chicken, I was able to bring this in a resealable bag, with as much air squished out as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States