Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

One Minute Chocolate Icing

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This frosting is wonderful! Be sure to double or triple the recipe for a layer cake as this was only enough to top two layers (I like to be generous with frosting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRGeep

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whiteville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

David's Yellow Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is absolutely the perfect yellow layer cake recipe. It bakes up perfect level layers, handles easily, cuts easily without crumbling and has the perfect level of moistness. Everyone raved about it....thank you! I will never use another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRGeep

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whiteville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker

Chicken Club Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I thought this had good overall flavor. It did remind me of a club sandwich. It is pretty salty though. Also, it is a bit more expensive and time consuming than I prefer for a pasta salad. I did like that it wasn't all watery like I have had trouble with some pasta salads that I have put in the fridge. My husband really seemed to like this pasta salad. I supposed because of all of the add ins. I had to sub mini mozzarella balls for the cheese, because my grocery store did not have block of the munster. I think the cheese in the recipe would have been better for added color to the salad alone. I used a tri-color rotini and think that was a good choice. It ended up as approximately 2 cups of dry pasta. I used a box of pre-cooked bacon, 1/2 cup of the celery, and 1/3 cup of green pepper, which was what I had. For the dressing I used regular mayo, which may have helped with the non watery issue, and Paul Newman's family Italian dressing. I added a pinch of sugar or two as the dressing was a bit more bitter than Kraft Italian. I think, 2 avocados would have been good to in this. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Taco Salad II

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Cook, drain, and chill the meat (we add a little hot sauce or picante sauce when cooking). You can also add some of the onions or peppers to the beef while cooking. We prefer mixed lettuce rather than iceberg. Although we've built the salad in a big common bowl, when enjoying at home, we don't assemble the salad in advance--put ingredients in different bowls and let each person create their salad with their preferences. Other great ingredients include rinsed beans (pinto, black, or kidney), chickpeas, olives, hot peppers, different cheeses (cheddar, Monterey jack, pepper jack, fresco, etc). Also different dressings for different tastes--I think Catalina is a classic with taco salad but others prefer Ranch or something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti Squash with Beef and Veggies

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Use Italian sausage instead of beef, phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILESVT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker

Easy Oven Brown Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
LOVED this rice or method of making brown rice. I usually make it in a rice cooker and it is so chewy. I lined my oval ceramic dish with foil, sprayed it with PAM, and added the ingredients with rice first. I microwaved the water right in my measuring cup in the microwave. I put the baking dish on a sheet pan and stirred the ingredients quickly. I covered with another sheet of foil not having a lid. After about an hour and 5~10 additional minutes I removed and the rice was nice and fluffy. This is my go to method now, easy clean-up and no stirring or watching. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Birds' Nests IV

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Yes, very delicious. My mom made these for Christmas every year growing up with one alteration - she uses vanilla frosting with food coloring to make them pretty and different colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Superb recipe - great tasting and easy to make! I go all out and put a full Andes mint on top of each cookie. The chocolate melts down into all the cookie crevices creating perfect cookie goodness! For those who said the cookies were flat, the butter probably wasn't cold enough. Before rolling into balls, put the dough in the fridge for 15-30 minutes. The chilled dough allows it not to spread so quickly in the oven, resulting in a thicker cookie. Also, use a cookie scoop to ensure all the cookies are the same size and cook evenly for the same amount of time. These cookies are pretty but they taste even better. Perfect for a cookie exchange and just as good 2-3 days later as the first day (and I'm not really a chocolate cookie person!!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vinton, Virginia, USA

Amazingly Good Eggnog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Shockingly good!!! I myself was scared to taste it. I didn't have any cloves so I substituted ground cloves (looked up the ratio). Once I sampled it, everyone started trying it. Before I knew it, all of it was GONE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goodie Mo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Pretty good! I made my own stock by boiling the hambone and veggie ends for an hour + in the water. I was leery of the mustard, but it was subtle and quite nice. I liked this dish quite a bit, but I was the only one in the family to get seconds of it, hence the 4 stars. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
The only change I made to this recipe was instead of using parsley I used cilantro. Delicious! I grilled on foil and after both sides were cooked enough where they would not fall apart I removed the foil to get s slight grill flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paleo Cauliflower Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I saved this recipe planning to try it. I dont have a food processor, so I put a 12oz bag of florets in my Vitamix with water to 7 cup line and processed that way 5-10 seconds on speed 3. That worked great. On the dr oz show he swore this would only work by steaming in the microwave with 2 tablespoons of water for 7 minutes. I then, changed methods. I would like to process cauliflower again as rice bits and saute it as instructed instead. I liked the texture, but it was not chewy nor tasted like rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Buffalo Chicken Wing Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Scaled this down to 2 and tossed it with some fried wings from the wing bar at Wegmans (local grocery store). We've been looking to find the best wings around our new home and had yet to find a good one that wasn't insanely expensive - the hubby declared this 'his new wing'! The sauce took about 3 minutes to put together and boil while I crisped up the wings in a hot toaster oven for a few minutes. Toss and consume, it's as easy as that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
It REALLY doesn't get much easier than this, folks! I have a hard time cooking rice and it came out just fine. I'd love to try this with brown rice to see if it comes out just as good. It came out slightly under done (crispy) so I will turn it down a little next time. Perfect side to enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Shoyu Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I know I have made this in the past and loved it. This time I fixed the marinade exactly as written and whoa was it hot and spicy! Definitely opened everyone's sinuses! Of course, my spicy hubby loved it, but I did notice he drank more tea with dinner! Served with just plain white rice which did help with the super spicy chicken. Next time I'll try cutting the cayenne in half versus the full tsp.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA

Italian Chicken Skillet

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Great base recipe! I took the advice of some others and added some chopped bell pepper and onion along with the chicken and garlic (doubled up on the garlic). Also took the recommendation of par-cooking the pasta then adding it just before putting the spinach on top w/the lid. Cooked for a couple of minutes then stirred it all together several times allowing the spinach to cook down. Added some fresh black pepper, a bit of ground sea salt, and some Italian seasoning. Would definitely make again! This recipe is quite adaptable. I'd probably add more herbs like basil and oregano next time, and try it with Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Quick and Easy Sauteed Spinach

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Just needed the actual cooking instructions, and this was perfect. WAAAAAAY TOO SALTY though. I literally used half the amount of salt and we could barely eat it. Next time I'll just use a dash of salt and some garlic cloves, or even just some salted butter. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceanchild

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

Grilled Balsamic and Soy Marinated Flank Steak

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This marinade rocks! I fixed up the marinade exactly as written. Didn't change a thing. Sealed it in a gallon sized freezer bag and let it marinate from a Friday afternoon until Sunday evening. I did grill it about 12 to 15 minutes per side because my steak was about 2lbs and I like it a little less pink than the current photo here. It turned out perfect! This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA

Double Chocolate Biscotti

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I made these over Christmas, with other biscotti, and forgot to rate them. Anyways, these were good. I thought they were more like a biscotti brownie in flavor. For the semi-sweet chocolate I had used a mix of semi-sweet and milk chocolate. I had liked that these were not excessively sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I've tried this recipe BOTH ways. It's delicious either way, but the skillet method is MUCH better, both for looks (browned) & taste (much more developed)! It's just a total PAIN!!! Trying to follow a recipe, written for the oven style, with only vague footnotes & reviews for the skillet style is INSANE! The original poster really should post her skillet method as an entirely NEW recipe! If she won't I will! BTW... I'm making it again, right now (Yes... it's THAT GOOD!), hence my present frustration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States