Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Blender Woman

Mom's Zucchini Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
These were really good. Although, I have to admit I like Allrecipes zucchini patties recipe and another one of mine better. Only reason being is these were more of a floury type. Others are more heavy on the zucchini, cheese, and onions. What I liked about these though is they cooked up so nicely. There was not sticking and they just kept such a nice roundish shape and even browning. If you have a Vitamix, or similar high-speed blender, I highly suggest sticking 2" or so pieces of zucchini, in the machine, filling it with water, and processing it that way. It takes only 10 seconds, or so, on low, to shredded zucchini. I drained well pressing out the water, in the strainer, and then again patted dry with a paper towel. I made 1.5 times the recipe and it took 2 small/medium sized zucchini for 3 cups. I was able to cook them in 2 batches in an ex-large sauté pan I have with tall sides. First batch was 7 patties and the second was 6. I used a #16, or muffin scoop, for portioning. For the oil I just used 2 tablespoons of grape seed oil divided between the two batches and cooked them on temperature 6 on my stove. First batch was 3 minutes per side and then flipping twice more for 2 minutes per side. Second batch was the same, but second flipping was 1 minute per side once the pan was hot. I got 13 total with 1.5 times the recipe. I did the calorie calculation, as made, and it came to 75 calories per patty! ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Slow Cooker Chili II

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Fantastic. The servings count was a little low - no serving size mentioned, so we used 1 cup. It was absolutely delicious. We'll be doubling the recipe for our next go around. This served 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I probably had this on low for about 8 hours or so . . .I put it together with frozen chicken breasts the night before, kept it all in the crock in the fridge, and had my husband put it in the slow cooker this morning, then switched it to warm and shredded the chicken in the crock when I got home. I tasted it and thought it needed something, but figured I'd wait for the bbq lover (AKA my husband) to taste it and see if he thought it needed anything. He thought it was good as is, so I left it alone. While mixing the sauce, I did double the sauce itself, halve the maple syrup, and added garlic powder and liquid smoke (probably about 3 tablespoons of the liquid smoke--no, I didn't mean to add that much, but it seems to have worked). I served it on Hawaiian rolls with cheese and hubs enjoyed it. This did have what seemed to me a lot of leftovers, but I'm giving some to a friend to try and we'll put the rest over baked potatoes sometime this week. I liked that this didn't use bottled bbq sauce as well--a great recipe when I'm out of it in the house and don't feel like picking up any. I also think cooking in the slow cooker makes the sauce a bit runny, but after shredding the chicken I thought it mixed together just fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse

Slow Cooker Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Pretty good. Yes, a tad dry even on low for 4 hours and starting with frozen chicken breasts. Still rather tasty. I wasn't a fan of how little the sauce covered when I put it in (although I did use canned chopped tomatoes--don't have crushed) so I added a full can of paste, some olives and mushrooms. I think the olives jacked up the flavor--which if you like olives is a good thing. If you don't like olives, not so much. My husband complained it tasted like olive brine--he's not an olive fan, so I guess I have to add those just to my portion if I make this again. I did cut down the balsamic vinegar a bit since there were complaints it was sweet. However, I don't think it was very sweet, just tangy. It was rather liquidy so I added about 1/2 a package of dry pasta when the chicken was cooked and mixed it in. It was cooked and ready to serve within an hour and soaked up all of the juices. All in all, not bad, but maybe a few more adjustments would make some people happier, and unfortunately I don't think this is a good recipe if you are away from home more than a couple of hours at a time, as it does appear to need someone to keep watch on it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Thai Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
One of my favorite dishes. I like it spicy! I will sometimes add some toasted sesame seeds to the mix. I also use Dreamfields angel hair pasta because it has a lower-glycemic toll than regular pasta and it tastes and feels just the same. Be sure to use toasted sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twila Davis Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This recipe makes an amazing taco seasoning!!! I'm never buying packets again!! The smell was spot on with the same seasoning I usually buy but the taste however, was way better than ANY packet you can buy, and I have tried them all.... Thanks so much for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama's Recipe's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I thought these were pretty good. My only issue is they are a little sweet. They remind me a bit of the oatmeal cookies on the popular oatmeal box, but with chocolate and walnuts. They bake up nicely. I made 1/2 recipe and got 29 cookies. I baked them on parchment paper and portioned with a cookie scoop. They took 17 minutes to bake. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Lasagna Alfredo Roll Ups

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Didn't change a thing and everyone loved it. I imagine the alfredo sauce you use might make a difference. I split mine into two dishes. One with alfredo mushroom and one with alfredo light. It was enjoyed regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Greek Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I absolutely fell in love with this chicken! Highest recommendations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Great base recipe, but here's my version. Boiled peppers first for 2 minutes then allow to cool. Brown 1lb turkey w/ 1c chopped onion and 1tsp minced garlic, 1 tsp salt and pepper. I then added the suggested tomato sauce mixture and rice. After stuffing the peppers, the sauce seemed quite thick and didnt leave anything for me to baste with...not a problem. Baked for 45 mins covered then uncovered and topped with sharp cheddar the last 5 mins. They were so frikin good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lybra975

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Definitely use fresh rosemary in this. All I had was dried and it just didn't do it justice. It was still delish, I just know how much better it would have been with fresh rosemary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Bruschetta Chicken Bake

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Made as is, it was okay. If you didn't know it was stove top stuffing, the flavor was a bit disguised, but as the cook who put the ingredient in there, it was hard to miss the distinct taste of it. Mine also came out too dry as the stuffing soaked up all the juices and we couldn't taste the cheese at all. This is a great idea though and with some tweaking we will try it again, skipping this Hamburger helper variety and use maybe fresh bread cubes, real bruschetta and parmesan cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Baked Chicken and Zucchini

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
What a great recipe for garden fresh zukes & tomatoes! I used panko on my chicken because that's all I had. The chicken turned out perfectly cooked, nice and moist. I doubled the garlic and added salt to the zucchini when stir frying it. Also, I subbed Monterey Jack for the mozzarella. I was low on ingredients at home and this recipe stood up to all my alterations! Thank you, Luaucow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA

Best Bruschetta Ever

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Added onions and used garlic powder. Let it sit overnight and then added balsamic vinegar the next day for more flavor. Easy recipe but needs to adjusted to ones preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Snickerdoodles I

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Just like my Grandma's recipe. I did not change a thing! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Megan's Granola

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is a sure winner! I've made it time and time again, just made a batch something about a rainy day to say, 'time to stock up on granola'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddw819

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lexington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman

Sweet Italian Green Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
These green beans were pretty good from coming from a can. I didnt have bacon but planned to use real bacon bits. I realized after beginning the recipe I only had about a teaspoon of them left. So, I cooked them with a tablespoon of grapeseed oil about 30 seconds. Then added the green onion and garlic and cooked another 30 seconds to 1 minute. The green onion I had were large, so I just used two. For the Italian tomatoes I pureed a can of stewed tomatoes with about 1/4 teaspoon of Italian seasoning, in my Vitamix on low. I then added the rest of the ingredients, but only did about 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and it was plenty. Served with mashed potatoes and meatloaf. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Shredded Potato Quiche

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I thought this was pretty good. I loved how quick it was to throw together. I made a couple of subs, for what I had on hand. I used Simply Potatoes southwestern blend shredded potatoes. If making this, I recommend a more flavored potato. This casserole is about half potatoes. I also subbed the ham with turkey breakfast sausage I made the other day from the site. Lastly, I didn't have swiss cheese. I had a shredded cheddar blend with cream cheese. So, I went with that. I used the same proportion of everything, except the cheese I only had a little over a cup. I thought the calories seemed high, but then realized it only showed the recipe as 4 servings. A 9x9 pan can easily be cut into 8 regular servings. I baked the hash browns for 25 minutes. There was only slight browning on the edges at that point. So, maybe an additional 5 minutes would have been good for a more crisp consistency. I had this problem with similar layered hash brown casseroles calling for pre-baking them. It always takes longer than suggested to crisp up. Once I added the eggs, it took 25 more minutes for them to set up. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Baked Kale Chips

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I use Pam Olive Oil Spray versus olive oil. No more than ten minutes. Make sure you put the same size of leaves on the tray together otherwise you will get burnt ones...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
So easy to make! I used homemade vegetable stock versus chicken stock which didn't have any salt added. I also didn't have the saffron. Although it takes a while to cook, it is a truly simple and easy recipe to make. This rice is great with a crockpot chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States