Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Deli-Style Fresh Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Way too sweet for my taste! I cut back on the honey, and wish I had also cut the Craisins in half. In addition, even though I chopped the largest head of broccoli I could find into florets, it wasn't enough - they were totally overwhelmed by the bacon and the Craisins, so I had to add more florets. I doubt I will make this again - sorry, Anne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paleo Coconut Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I don't know what I did wrong but these did not come out as cookies more like balls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Turkey Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I still like my beef version better but this is definitely decent for a turkey version. I'll add more cayenne next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Greek Pasta Salad I

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I tried it. EXCELLENT. I "halved" the recipe, and it came out just fine. Now, I must convince the wife to give it a taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cemab4y

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly19815

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
The ingredients sound totally strange on this, but it is actually pretty good. I tried it at a 4th of July bbq. It mostly looks like a mix of cabbage and ramen noodles, but the flavors transform themselves and it looks healthy. The ramen does stay crunchy in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Blender Woman

Chef John's Turkey Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Chef John these were really good! Normally, your recipes are a little too hot for me. So, I just did 1/8 tsp. of cayenne. I learned from experience on that. I used 1 lb of all white ground turkey meat and organic ketchup from Trader Joes. I suppose they would be only better tasting, if I used a fattier turkey choice and sweeter ketchup. I also only had approximately 1/4 cup left of green onion and it worked fine. I got enough filling for 8 buns instead of the 6. As this was quite easy, I would make them again. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Followed step by step and my roast was AMAZING!! My kids loved it and they are very picky eaters. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRIL R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I thought this tasted pretty good, but it was definitely more of an Asian inspired side dish than an all-purpose vegetable side dish with any meal. I had about 1/2 lb of broccoli, so I changed the servings to 2. It was really easy to make. I just steamed the broccoli in about 1~2" of water in the microwave, covered with plastic wrap, about 5 1/2 minutes on high. I microwaved the sauce ingredients, after melting the butter, about 30 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Chef John's Gazpacho

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Delicious! I made this tonight and it tasted fresh, flavourful, and healthy. The only change I made was to cut the amount of oil in half to reduce the fat content, and I left out the pepper to make it child-friendly. Even my picky toddler finished a bowl (I pureed his so he couldn't pick out the veggies). My only comment would be that the serving size seems a little off to me (or maybe my tomatoes just weren't large enough) but the serving size for 6 was just barely enough for 2 adults and a toddler. Otherwise it was great, and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cookie Press Shortbread

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This recipe is awful. The cookies were tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandie turner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Virginia, USA

Zucchini Corn Fritters

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
First, I made these in my waffle iron with just a little bit of spray oil and it worked great... healthier and less mess! I halved the recipe but still used 2 eggs. Made 8 4-5" waffles. No sugar or butter. Added some garlic powder. Yummy side in lieu of bread. Still more doughy than I want, so next time I will add another cup of veggies and see how that bakes up. Thanks for good and versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old German Honey Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
The milk was more appetizing than the cookies. I decided to follow others' reviews and change sugar to 1/2 c and honey to 1.25 c, and I added Cinnamon and Nutmeg. The first batch came out near tasteless, and my mother suggested adding chunks of apple to the batter. The apple made it a bit better, but I still didn't like them. If I'd kept to the original sugar and honey amounts (and perhaps upped the spice amounts, and changed the shortening to butter), MAYBE they would have turned out better. My parents and little sister all said they were "not bad," but I get the feeling they were just being polite. I will never make these again. *ALSO: I at first followed the advice of one user suggesting to wait until they were just a bit golden brown on the TOP, however mine never browned on the top. As a result, my first 9 cookies came out burnt. If your tops aren't browning, use the edges as a guide. If brown is just starting to peek out, they're done. Mine went for 11 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

Fruit Pizza I

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Hi I share this Allrecipes account with my mom, Tanya. I'm Gemma and 11 and I made this twice and it was amazing!! My whole family loved it! Since we loved the cookie it's self so much, the 2nd time I just made the cookie with chocolate chips. So yummy! Thank you, Anne for this great recipe. :-D I really enjoy baking as a hobby and hope to run my own business someday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgu3mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Szechwan Shrimp

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
We just made this for dinner tonight. It's fast, easy, and low fat--just what I was looking for. I only made a few changes, I used fresh ginger, left out the red pepper flakes (to make this kid-friendly), and used half the amount of oil. I marinated the shrimp in the sauce for 30 minutes before adding the cornstarch, then while frying the shrimp added the cornstarch to the sauce. I fried up some shredded carrots, shallots, and red bell pepper with the shrimp and served with rice and roasted broccoli (I thought the crunchy texture of the roasted broccoli really complemented this!). My picky toddler took one bite and then refused to eat anymore (as normal) but then when he thought we weren't looking shoveled the rest into his mouth--he completely cleaned his plate. Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Chicken in Sour Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman

Date Bars II

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
These were really good. I admit they were very sweet, but still tasty. For some reason I had bought a large bag of dates that were in the freezer. I found this recipe and it worked great. Only tweak I made was using 2 tablespoons of fresh squeezed oj for the rind and subbed apple pie spice for cloves and allspice. I would recommend to save time to small chop dates in a high speed blender or food processor. I baked mine on the bottom rack and lightly greased it with PAM spray. It took 30 minutes. I cut it into the 20 servings suggested and the bars are not much bigger than 2x2. Fine for breakfast or lunch size. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Maman's Fresh Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was my first strawberry pie and I was happy to find a recipe that didn't require jello --yuck. I made a crust of granola with almonds and used 1/2 sugar and blueberries instead of rhubarb because that's what I had. Not attractive (so needs whipped cream :) but cut well and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Just made these, amazing! I added 2 C of walnut pieces because I love them. These were fantastic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Most Requested Dinner Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Delicious! So much better than premade salad dressing! I subbed the white vinegar with apple cider vinegar and that was my only change. Made the salad leaving out the onions. It was sooo good. Makes me want to have a salad every day until I use up this dressing! Thanks Saveur :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States