Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by pomplemousse

Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
A little too sweet and bland for me but hubs really enjoyed them. That's good bc I made them for him. I baked the first cookie crust for about ten minutes then topped w the cream cheese and remaining cookie and baked for dirty minutes which worked well. I used a small cookie scoop to add the top crust as its too hard to spread. Glad hubs enjoys it! update: I like these better cold, which is great, as they should be in the fridge anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shayda

Healthy Peanut Butter Fruit Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

Cauliflower Fried 'Rice'

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This was really good. I used canned chicken instead of pork and no onions because I was out. You definitely need a really big pan. Yum! Tasted just like fried rice, without the guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WinstonSalem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
If you think this is vinegary, you are using the wrong balsamic vinegar. You can't get the $5 bottle and think it will work. Added garlic to this and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Watson McKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scrumptious Salmon Cakes

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
My stepdaughter, who loves crab cakes, but does not like fish, loved this recipe. It's a winner and very easy to make. I browned them for 6 minutes each side and they came out perfect. I used regular yellow mustard in place of dijon mustard and it was fine. This will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Watson McKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stroganoff III

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Very good. This did not stay around very long. My family loved it. Highly recommend. I made it in the pressure cooker and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Watson McKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I liked this, but I can't get my breadcrumbs crispy. I tried it on pork chops, and maybe that's my problem. Must try again on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Watson McKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Fantastic! I had smaller 8 ct. flour tortillas and using my scale I determined that the amount of chicken mixture worked out to 5.4 oz per tortilla. Also, used fat free sour cream and "healthy request" cream of chix soup. I felt 6 oz. of olives was way too much. Chopped up 1.5 oz to sprinkle over top. A full 6 oz. would have dominated the entire dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Karamales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Simple, pretty, nothing particularly unique however. Do make sure your berries are well-drained after slicing, or you will have a drippy mess on your cake top! Nice for a party, not too heavy in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tonya's Terrific Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
The texture is great but I have to admit I was disappointed with the overall flavor. Strange, because the ingredients looked like they would be the perfect combo; unfortunately, we found them bland. There is more flavor and spicing in a can of Manwich. That being said, this is easy to remedy by upping your own spicing or simply leaving as is for persnickety kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
So easy with pre-made meatballs! Sweet and spicy, perfect for family or entertaining. Just remember to make extra because they will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Buffalo Wings

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Excellent all around!! The spicing was perfect to give just a hint of heat, which is far better than the burn your mouth variety; that being said, you can definitely up the amount of cayenne if you like them hot hot. They were a perfect texture, like being "fried" in the oven. There were some complaints of the chicken being too soggy once baked but, as has been pointed out, extra time in the fridge after coating fixes that- I did 2-3 hours. I have to agree, the original home of the buffalo wing can't top these! My family loved them and begged for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup I

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Wow! Excellent, creamy and delightful for a cold day. You can vary the amount of green onion and bacon per your taste but everything else should stay as is. I used a triple cheese combination as opposed to straight Cheddar and it was extremely good. My recommendation for the potatoes is to bake them at 425, wrapped in foil, for about 1 hour and then let them sit for an hour. The potatoes have an excellent texture and taste. I used russets. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Velvet Cheesecake Swirl Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Delightful dense brownies, beautiful appearance. This was my husbands Valentines gift. Yes, it's that good! Fair warning, don't overcook- this is one dish easy to dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Loved this recipe! I used the whole pound of bacon and fried the potatoes and onions in all the drippings. I then added 2 cans creamed corn and 1 bag frozen to a crock pot, adding the potatoes. Cooked on low for several hours. I sauteed some crab meat, shrimp and bay scallops in butter on the side for the adults. Just before serving, a made a roux with butter, flour and evaporated milk and added that to the soup. I placed the seafood in a bowl and topped it with the corn chowder. The kids enjoyed just the chowder. It was a huge hit. Next time I will serve in bread bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaWicks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Pumpernickel Bagels

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Have made this by recipe directions and we loved it, also have put my own touches to it. Our family loves dark rustic breads and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Cream Frosting II

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I liked the frosting. It was (as it says) like what you find in the store bakery. It reminded of what I would find in the grocery store bakery, not what I'd expect to find in an actual bakery shoppe. I will make it again and use less sugar and add a little more milk, so it's not as stiff. It was easy and went well with the red velvet cupcakes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsuggs
Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lawn Mower Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Very good but very sweet and had already cut down. Only used half the seasoning packet but might add more next time. Good stuff, perfect side and alternative to salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by shayda

Blueberry Oatmeal Chia Seed Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
these are really good- the chia seeds taste like poppy seeds and the hint of orange juice / applesauce makes it taste a little more unique than the avg blueberry muffin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

Whole Chicken Slow Cooker Recipe

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This is tasty. The seasonings really do have that rotisserie flavor. Based on the amount of salt in this recipe I see how the store bought cooked chickens may be so salty now. Whole organic chickens were pretty pricey, so I went with a cut up one. A lady on the buzz suggested an onion in the cavity. That is a great idea. I modified it by layering the chicken with 2" pieces of onions. I mixed the seasonings and shook the chicken pieces in a bag with it, after cleaning the chicken and rubbing on a little oil. I did change up the seasonings some. For the peppers, all 3, I did 1/4 tsp. I did 1 1/2 tsp of salt, 1 tsp. of paprika and the rest of the seasonings the same. I took mine out of the crock-pot about 1-1 1/2 hours early, due to it being cut up. The meat is in a lot of liquid, at least with using the onion anyway. Next time I will elevate it on some balls of foil or other method. The cooked onions were tasty too. I may try a gravy, as suggested, from the strained liquid. The fall off the bone meat and onions will be good with a rice pilaf. Don't be expecting crispy chicken or skin at least following the method above. If that is not an issue, this works fine. Note: I also used a crock-pot liner for ease and clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States