Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Asparagus, Chicken and Penne Pasta

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I made this tonight for myself and pre-teen boys. I was concerned about it being dry so when I drained the pasta, I saved some of the water. I added it to the asparagus and chicken with just a little mozzarella cheese. It was so good. Everybody enjoyed it. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon for the Family or a Crowd

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
This is my preferred way of making bacon. No mess and I don't smell like breakfast when I head out for the day. Line your pan with foil and it's a 2 second cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan B-R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Apple Muffins

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I thought these were okay. I did like that they were not too sweet. My only change was subbing 1/2 the flour with white whole wheat. I think these might be better with some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Bacon-wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I personally love this recipe as it's quick and easy to prepare but comes across as something more professional that could be served to special guests. The combination of cream cheese and bacon gives it a nice succulent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DK Hipkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lo Barnechea, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
These are nice and fluffy biscuits. I make a few minor modifications, primarily due to availability of ingredients where we live. Buttermilk is practically nonexistent in our corner of the globe, so I use whole yogurt without any added sugar in the same proportion. I also add some grated cheese right after I blend in the butter, just to add a bit of character. About the only thing I ever liked at Red Lobster was their biscuits (way back in the day -- never go there anymore) and likes the little bit of cheese flavor they had. I also had some incredible biscuits several years ago at a place called the Blue Plate Cafe in Memphis. They were light, fluffy, and melt-in-your-mouth good. These remind me a great deal of those. I've had numerous requests for them over the years. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DK Hipkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lo Barnechea, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brunch Baked French Toast

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
YUM. Love that I can make it all ready at once. Bottom caramelizes so it doesn't even need syrup. And crunchy on top. Win win win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This is a keeper per hubby. I hadn't fixed stuffed peppers in a while and these were very good. Next time I will use mozzarella cheese instead of mild cheddar. Leftover filling looks promising for hard/soft taco filling plus sour cream or burritos. Will definitely make again. 5/1/2015
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Cheese Grits

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This turned out ok. It was filling for sure but it was dry and tough and lacked flavor. I even used half mild/spicy sausage. I'll stick with the 'Cheesy Ham & Grits Breakfast Casserole' from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Wanted to love this but couldn't. It's so full of good stuff but the cheese was overwhelming. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Hot Crab Dip

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I used 16 Oz cream cheese, 10 Oz crab meat, 4 Oz shrimp, 1/2 cup minced onion, 2 cloves garlic minced, 2 cups sharp cheddar cheese, 1/2 cup mayonnaise, juice from 1 lime, 2 tsp Tapatio hot sauce. Skipped the Worcestershire sauce. Heated in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Oni

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wynantskill, New York, USA
Living In: Highland Springs, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Perfect, perfect perfect chocolate frosting recipe. I added a touch more confectioners sugar to make the frosting a little more stiff, as I was piping it onto my cupcakes, but other than that, didn't change a thing. My batch frosted about 15 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Quivering Tenderloins

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
WOW - is this good!!! I added a little sesame oil but other than stayed true and it was awesome! Sweet, Spicy, Yummy!! I marinated for about 6 hours and then drained the marinade into a saucepan. Cooked covered at 350 for 20 minutes then uncovered, poured the pan juices into the saucepan and raised the temp to 450 for another 10 minutes. The meat was so tender and juicy!! I only had one tenderloin but used all the marinade ingredients. If I had two tenderloins I would double the marinade to make sure I had enough sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I always make pancakes from the mix, but I moved overseas and can't buy it here so decided to make these. I have to admit these are so much better than the box. Tasty and fluffy. Not quite as quick but not that hard to make either. I Don't think I'll go back to the mix if I get back stateside since these are worth the extra effort. I did add a tsp of vanilla and a splash more milk since the batter was thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easier Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Loved it- I did add just a smidge of heavy cream but I dont know that I needed it. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzkenworthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

Pizza Spaghetti Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I thought this was okay. I also got 8 servings, but 582 calories per serving is crazy high. I was able to bring it down to 415, but still not a lite dish obviously. I used all reduced fat dairy products, leaner beef, and turkey pepperoni. I also sautéed green pepper, onion, and mushrooms (per suggestion that additional pizza toppings can be added) before cooking the ground beef. The flavor was okay, but it was just a bit to salty to me. I don't know if it was the pepperoni, cheese, and other canned or jarred items in combination. Not something I would make again, but it was interesting to try a different baked spaghetti recipe. I might just not prefer spaghetti this way as I have always felt it made it a little on this dry side. This one had just enough sauce, but the top got rather dry in the oven. I will see if others like this combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Naan Bread Margherita Pizza with Prosciutto

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
This was wonderful! We have also made this using pesto as a "sauce" with grilled chicken, artichoke hearts, sundried tomatoes, fresh basil and mozzarella...The oven takes longer to preheat than this does to make...so many options...We like naan bread for pizza because of the portion control and everyone can pick/choose what they want...Thanks for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just JM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Fresh Asparagus Soup II

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This was delicious and I don't even like asparagus that much. I did exactly as written except I didn't have any lemon juice on hand. That would have probably been the little touch of magic to make this spectacular, but it was excellent without it. I will definitely use this again when I am given fresh asparagus. My husband hates asparagus and ate half of his bowl before asking what it was ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken Gnocchi Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
It was delicious. I did this pretty close to how the recipe was written except I did not have any red bell peppers. I also did not use fat free half and half, I just used half and half and whole milk. I also used kale rather than spinach because that is what I had on hand. However, I doubt these adjustments made much difference in flavor and it was simply fantastic. Not difficult at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shayda

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
delicious!! made this as easy as possible on myself and used a 10 oz bag of frozen organic rhubarb, 1 lb strawberries and refrigerated dough. followed the recipe exactly as is.definitely making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

Honey Of An Oatmeal Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Perfect! Followed recipe exactly. Won't need to buy sandwich bread ever again. Nice crust outside. Nice soft inside. Couldn't stop eating it. Husband couldn't either. Very happy to have found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States