Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Holiday Baker

Mrs. Carrigan's Honey Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Ty Mrs. Carrigan, this bread is so yummy! I think it would make a great wheat bread even for those that don't typically eat wheat bread. I have made quite a few, in my bread machine, and this is my favorite so far. All the flavors balance well. It does have a tad sweetness, but it could be used as toast, meal bread, or even most sandwiches. I love how soft it is. I followed the recipe exactly, just using Gold Medal white whole wheat flour milled from a lighter color grain than traditional whole wheat. I also used the regular wheat setting on my machine as opposed to basic setting. On my machine the white and wheat settings are separate. I also don't have to set the lb size, or even the crust color, which is automatic. I couldn't understand why there were two measurements for water, but I just added them together when adding the water. This will be going in my bread machine recipe box. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker

Steamed Broccoli and Carrots with Lemon

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This was a very simple side dish to make. I used one cup of frozen broccoli and pre-shredded fresh carrots. To save on washing pots, steaming it, I just put the ingredients in a small covered bowl with a tsp or two of water and microwaved it for the 5 minutes. This only makes one large or 2 small servings. Since that was the case, I halved the lemon juice and seasoning salt amounts. I thought the end result was it was a little tart and salty. I definitely want to try this again and next time do 1/4 of the lemon juice and seasoning salt. It was a nice change to the typical garlic, olive oil, and lemon flavorings on many side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Savory Beef Tenderloin

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I can't believe how gaga my husband went over this meal. It was good for sure, but he said it rivaled his absolute favorite meals. Served it with a quinoa/orzo side mix, and a broccoli slaw with an Asian dressing. This meal came together so fast, it's a kick recipe for a weekday night for a family. Used low sodium Adobo and it was still great. I need to print this out before I lose it - I hesitate to think how upset my hubby will be if I do! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Company Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I made this for the first time today to take to a pot luck. Oh my goodness, are these potatoes delicious! I got many compliments and was asked for the recipe. Per some other reviewers' suggestions, I did mix half of the cheese into the potato mixture, and I used cream of chicken soup instead of cream of potato soup just because it was a personal preference. Obviously these aren't something a sensible person would eat on a regular basis, but as an occasional side dish they can't be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marie Rialb

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
My family devoured this chicken, even my picky tween asked for seconds. I used flour and water and more cream than the recipe called for- with the cornstarch and the recommended cream- because we are all about the sauce. I served this dish with garlicky jasmine rice and broccoli sautéed with olive oil and garlic. I was told I need to make it fairly often now. Thanks allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Rialb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse

Lemon Cheesecake Squares

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Very easy; just a tad difficult to spread the jam, so I heated it briefly in the microwave. Made a lot! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
OMG...These were fantastic!! Thanks, a Sandy, for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INESPR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

Beef Tenderloin Asturias

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Thought this was quite tasty, though missing something in the sauce. Hubby loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

100% Whole Wheat Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
So light and fluffy! I've made these a couple times and they're always a hit. I use white whole wheat, so it doesn't even taste like a whole wheat pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Chicken Saag

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This is a great and easy recipe for such a complicated dish. Flavors are on point- but I agree with other reviews that you need to double or triple the spices, it needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by librachic17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shayda

Amazing Chocolate Quinoa Cake!

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
omg... amazing! thank u for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Made this last night and omg, it was delicious! It was actually my first time ever having beef stroganoff and I was sold. My husband, who grew up on it made with Cream of Mushroom soup was in heaven. I also used homemade creme fraiche, another of Chef John's recipes, and will never go back to store-bought sour cream again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Curry Chili

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This was too sweet for my taste. I used hot curry powder thinking it would balance the sweetness but that didn't work so well. This is more like a curry for gringos recipe. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Coconut Shrimp

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Definitely goes into our Family Fav file. We didn't have enough cheddar so we used some cheddar, some swiss and some monterrey jack and it was WONDERFUL! Highly recommend and will be making it again SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cedar Planked Salmon

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Very good recipe. I bought ONE 2 lb package of salmon and it was enough for 6. I purchased the planks online from Costco. They are $30 for 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I doubled the cheese but other than that I followed recipe. YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rblessedx3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dadscook2

Karyn's Cream of Crab Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dadscook2

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Photo by shayda

Healthy Banana Chocolate Chip Oat Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
very yummy. added a 1/2 c flax seed for some extra health benefits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Great recipe and definitely adaptable to whatever veggies you have. I added a can of black beans and small white beans for some protein. It does make a ton of soup, but I thought all the amounts were just right. It does last for quite some time in the fridge as well. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States