Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Lemon Chicken Orzo Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I just added a splash of an old white zinfandel we had on hand for cooking to replace some of the liquid that evaporated. My husband loved it and will be eating the leftovers all week. It will probably be very refreshing cold, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Don't know what went wrong here. My bread machine is fairly new, but all my rolls and breads have risen beautifully. I decided to do an apple version subbing dried apples for the raisins, apple pie spice for the cinnamon, and using part apple juice for the water. I cant imagine any of that affecting the outcome. In fact it had a nice flavor. The dough is probably best for cinnamon buns. It was super soft coming out of the bread machine. Luckily, I shaped in on a piece of parchment as I had to continuously flour my hands and roll with the paper. It rose fine in the pan too. For some reason, I ended up with 2- 2 1/2 inch loaves, when they completed baking. I wont be able to toast it as desired, but it will work fine as a non-conventional rectangular sliced version of a breakfast bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made half of the recipe and put it in the fridge overnight. Don't over cook the pasta. I didn't have enough cottage cheese so I used sour cream (3/1 ratio) to meet the recipe requirements. Only one layer and the last layer was the mozzarella cheese. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This was a great recipe! I did change some tiny things but I always do in a recipe. Read some other reviews and so I tried the 1/2 c. oil and 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce as well as just 2 c. of sugar. Added more shredded zucchini only because the one I had was larger so it was about 3-4 cups. And 1/2 t. baking soda. I also added a topping. The differences caused it to bake longer about 1 1/4-1/2 hrs not to mention I used a bundt pan. Got lots really good responses on this recipe and it was the first time I had made it. Yum Yum, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Raisin Bread II

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I substituted agave for honey, applesauce for the egg, and soy milk for the milk. My bread came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Tumwa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seahawk Burger

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very mellow flavors that compliment each other well. I toasted my bun with a smear of butter. Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Clay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Parmesan with Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I think, this could have really worked with a fresh tomato sauce. I tried something that seemed similar at the Bone Fish Grill recently, with cubed zucchini, which I did do here too. My only other real change was cutting the basil and oregano in half and that was plenty. I also ended up stirring in a couple of pinches of garlic salt. My issue was the canned tomato sauce, just really had such a strong canned/salty flavor that was very dominant. It almost reminded me of the jarred sauces loaded with vegetables. I may try this with crushed tomatoes, instead, and then re-review. I think, that will do the trick for me. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Fresh Corn and Zucchini Saute

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
As is, I found this very very bland. I tried a similar recipe that had cheddar cheese on the top and it was every worse. I was let down when this was finished. Only change I made was reducing the butter to 2 tablespoons upon making that similar recipe and finding it way too greasy. Then, I got an ingenious idea and stirred in 4 large tablespoons of deli style large chopped pickle relish into 1/2 the recipe. Oh yum, it tasted like a fresh chow chow recipe. I may attempt that again. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I can never get these garlic/oil recipes right! I thought this one would be different with having broth. I ended up with a soup like broth. My only change was adding in some sautéed mushrooms. I can't imagine it adding that much liquid! I finally ended up adding some half and half at the end, to change it up, and see if that would thicken the consistency. It did nothing. I ended up with white broth. On taste and texture, I would rate it about a 2. Being as I have never succeeded at one of these recipes I rated it 1 star higher. Maybe, someone will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Homemade Butter

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I LOVE butter!!! I have been making butter since I was eleven. It is great on Wardee's homemade sourdough bread. I take the cream off our raw milk and use 100% natural salt. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Beef Marinade

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This truly is the best marinade. I marinated a london broil for several hours last weekend and it turned out pretty good but then marinated the second london broil from the package for a week and that was even better!!Definitely keeping this in my repetoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ballwin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Charlotte's Butternut Squash Fries

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
We have a bumper crop of butternut squash this year to fix all different ways. Seasoned with garlic salt and paprika. Sprayed the cookie sheet with PAM and put them in the oven for 35 minutes Grilled the other half of this squash outside with the same seasoning for 15 minutes. Personally I prefer the oven baked squash fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tender Pork Stew with Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This recipe is super versatile and easy to make. I have made it in the crock pot on days I had to work and couldn't babysit the stove. Just cook it with the lid off for the last hour to thicken up the stew a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

General Tso's Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
While my family did eat it, I was not at all impressed.I made this recipe right to the letter and it almost wasn't enough for my family of four. It made a really small amount. Thank goodness I made rice to go with it lol. It tasted nothing like the many restaurant versions I've had. I'm gonna try the misspelled General Tsao's II on this site and give this meal another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama's Recipe's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse

Easy Ham and Swiss Pie Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This is pretty good, and pretty easy, but I have to agree with the comments that there is a bit too little liquid. I adjusted this to make it more like a quiche because I didn't have all the meat and cheese called for--just had crumbled bacon and American Cheese, so I wouldn't have had enough to do this as written with the mix poured on top. However, having said that, I think it would work well with sliced cooked bacon lining the dish as well--I might try that next time, as that is something I'm more likely to have in the house as opposed to all those meats and cheeses. I added another egg and about a 1/2 cup water, then mixed everything together. I did add frozen chopped spinach to the mixture and it baked up well--needed about 10 extra minutes to cook totally. It was eaten at a breakfast I brought it to, but it did take longer to disappear than the other casserole I brought. To be fair, we did have a lot of other food and maybe I scared people with the spinach. ;) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse

Egg and Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Yummy! And very easy. I didn't add any milk, but did add some water and another egg. I used an 8x8 pan instead of a 9x13 and it took about an hour to cook, and the crescent rolls got pretty dark. Still, it was still pretty tasty. I didn't have the cheeses called for so placed slices of American cheese on top of the crescent rolls, then topped with bacon (no sausage around either). For the cheese in the egg mixture, I used crumbled Boursin cheese. I took this to a work function and it was gobbled up before 10:30 am; the other casserole I made took a bit longer to be eaten. We still had some crescent rolls in the fridge so I made this for breakfast this morning but used 5 eggs and just the American cheese since it's just the two of us. Still delicious, didn't miss the extra cheese, and it needed cooked about 40 minutes until done. I can see using biscuits, or maybe pie crust and getting a similar result. I did pre-bake the crust for about 5 minutes each time, and I wouldn't recommend that with the 8x8 pan full recipe, but it seemed okay, if still somewhat dark, with the 5 egg casserole. Eggs did get under the crust the second time I made it, probably because I didn't press the seams together as well as I could, but it was still tasty and came out of the pan easily. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I could've sworn I've made these before but I have no photographic or reviewer proof, so maybe not. I recently used this recipe to make the frosting only (had another recipe for rolls) and the frosting is totally easy and quick--although it helps to think ahead and soften! Makes a good amount, is sweet, and a perfect topping for cinnamon rolls without too much fuss--all in all, a great recipe. I will try to make the rolls another time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Swirl Bread for the Bread Machine

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Very good. I always roll out way too much with cinnamon bread and tend to get more loaves out of the recipes I try. This time it worked perfectly since I got 2 loaves and a batch of cinnamon rolls--perfect because I was making this at the request of a coworker who asked for one or the other--and I gave her both! She loved both, and I topped the cinnamon rolls with the frosting recipe from Clone of a Cinnabon--easy, quick (just remember to soften everything first!), and without milk (very important since I had no milk in the house). I did use the normal amount of yeast I use for similar ratios as I bake all the time, so I used 2 1/4 teaspoons, and I needed more flour (about 1/2 a cup) to get the dough to the correct consistency. That, of course, can vary due to humidity but a good reminder to check during the cycle if you are using a bread machine. I gave one loaf to my coworker early (it was for her goodbye breakfast) and she ate half before noon. I'd say she loved it. :) thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
It was excellent. My mom makes a great banana bread and this rivals her's. My wife made this and I'm very grateful. We will be sharing this with our "foodie" friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Imitation Crab Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Excellent. Only used four eggs and instead of salt and pepper I seasoned it with Old Bay. Could easily substitute cooked macaroni or small shells for bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States