Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by tiffany t

Strawberry Cake II

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Delicious! Made this for my wife for her birthday and she loved it. The best strawberry cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany t

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
My husband said he loved his prime rib. He likes it more rare. The inside is bright pink/red. The outside is done to my liking. I used exact method he said except I didn't salt because the salt will pull the juices out of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker

Espresso Biscotti

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I thought this was a good recipe. I used it in some mailed cookie boxes for Christmas. I like how there is so much going on flavor wise. The orange zest flavor is pretty dominant and I liked that. The colors arent so vibrant like on the marichino cherry ones. I actually labeled what was in them, on the gift packages, because its hard to tell. Only change I made was halving the fruit and chopping it up. I also just chopped whole almonds. For the coffee I used starbucks instant Christmas blend grind. Lastly, I used cake flour and salted butter. The 2" width, on the shaping, seemed small. I went with approximately 2.5." I suggest that, because they dont puff up much larger after the first bake. They still are a smaller biscotti. I had no issues with cutting them which was nice. I hope the food gift is liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by pomplemousse

Scrambled Egg Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I halved this recipe to take to a work meeting today and decided to make it the day before then just heat up in the microwave at work before serving. I didn't let it sit overnight or for 8 hours and it seemed fine. It's a bit time intensive and uses a lot of dishes but my coworkers loved it--several went back for seconds. I didn't have stuffing mix but just cubed half a loaf of bread, tossed in some seasoning, and called it good. Worked well, and it is relatively easy for all the steps. I thought it was pretty good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Great Grandma's Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
very easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
quadrupled the recipe and served it at a church social. Many compliments! The pot was empty. I will be making this again. Be careful with the pasta though, as it acts like a sponge and absorbs all the broth. I used mini bow-tie (mini farfalle) pasta instead of tortellinii to save $. Next time, I will bring the cooked pasta lightly tossed with olive oil and add it to the soup right before serving. Wondrful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse

Aggression ( Oatmeal ) Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Basic oatmeal cookies. I don't have kids to make these with at the moment, so I just used my KA mixer, which worked perfectly fine as well. I halved the recipe because I didn't want to overload the mixer, and added in some vanilla and dried cranberries just because I wanted a bit more than plain oatmeal cookies. These turn out pretty well. They spread a bit, but I was able to get 9 cookies per sheet. I baked at 11 minutes and they were perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Cake tasted much too artificial. I followed recipe except for separating egg yolks and beat whites into peaks and added separately as recommended. Cake did not turn out dense and texture was fine BUT the Jello dominates the flavor, that i may as well have baked a box cake! I also tried a second run with much less Jello flavoring and it was slightly better but I still would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mocha Coffee

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Super easy (which I love) and super yummy!!! Thanks for the recipe, I think it's perfect. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA

Thanksgiving Leftovers Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This was delicious! A great way to use up leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharonBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry Pound Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I made this cake for a holiday dessert party. I used a bundt pan and added about 50% more cherries. I baked it for 60 minutes. After it was cooled, I sifted confectioner sugar over the top - the cake presented very nicely. It tasted super good! Next time, I would use twice as many cherries as called for. Based on other reviews (thank you!), I drained the cherries before dredging in flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharonBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pork and Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I don't like sauerkraut but my DH loves it. So I tried this recipe to go outside my comfort zone to give DH a treat. I added a few carrots to the mix. The pork was very tasty and tender but the dish didn't present very well. Next time, I would add lots more carrots for more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharonBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cold Asparagus with Prosciutto and Lemon

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I needed to bring an appetizer to a holiday party. I needed something that was simple and could be made ahead of time without last minute cooking. Also wanted something gluten free and dairy free since some of the partygoers are on restricted diets. This recipe fit the bill perfectly. A bonus: it was easy to make and I got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharonBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse

Nutty Pecan Waffles

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I made this without the pecans; I decided to add cranberries instead. I also added pumpkin pie spice while I was at it and am pleased with how the waffles came out. I'm realizing that I totally missed adding the butter in; I didn't even see it in the recipe. However, it worked perfectly fine so I see no need to add it in. I thought these were basic waffles that easily went well with my subs. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse

Pumpkin Spice Soft Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Cute little cookies that spread a bit, so space them a bit apart but you can still get about 9 cookies to a sheet to bake. I added the pumpkin pie spice to the sugar mixture because of a comment that you couldn't taste the spice much. These are a tad too sweet with the extra sugar for my taste, but they are sugar cookies so it makes sense. I baked for 10 minutes at 350 degrees instead of 7 minutes at 375. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse

Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Pecans

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Hubs liked this; I thought it just tasted like cabbage, but I'm not a brussels sprouts fan by any means. I used a lot less pecans and added in bacon and some chicken flavored seasoning. I thought it was still a tad bland, but again, I don't like brussels sprouts so I don't think my opinion should count all that much. The sprouts didn't really carmelize so maybe a hotter temp or a longer time baking and more seasoning? Either way, hubs liked it and he will eat the leftovers so it's not all that bad, just not my taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Ug, what a disappointment, no amount of additions could save this and we dumped it all down the drain. Agree with others that maybe sauteeing the onion and garlic first might be the key. Used red onions and it was bitterly overwhelming of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Melt-In-The-Mouth Cashew Meringues

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
My husband declared these AWESOME! I personally thought they were a bit sweet even after using salted cashews. They are very good however. I've never made meringues before but had 5 egg whites to do something with and this recipe fit the bill especially since I had cashews! I think I may be making these again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by It's A New Day

Spicy Cheese Crackers

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Crackers? Not by any stretch of the imagination. Cookie? Maybe but a savory one. Crumbly mess? Yep. These are good, they do need some sort of heat (I used red pepper flakes). But they do not stay together AT ALL. And the Rice Krispies are hard little nuggets in the otherwise soft crumbs. I wish I hadn't wasted butter and cheese on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Horseradish Dill Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I love this with Prime Rib roast. It is refreshing and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie's Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States