Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Bacon for the Family or a Crowd

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
This is my preferred way of making bacon. No mess and I don't smell like breakfast when I head out for the day. Line your pan with foil and it's a 2 second cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan B-R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Apple Muffins

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I thought these were okay. I did like that they were not too sweet. My only change was subbing 1/2 the flour with white whole wheat. I think these might be better with some walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Brunch Baked French Toast

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
YUM. Love that I can make it all ready at once. Bottom caramelizes so it doesn't even need syrup. And crunchy on top. Win win win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This is a keeper per hubby. I hadn't fixed stuffed peppers in a while and these were very good. Next time I will use mozzarella cheese instead of mild cheddar. Leftover filling looks promising for hard/soft taco filling plus sour cream or burritos. Will definitely make again. 5/1/2015
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Cheese Grits

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This turned out ok. It was filling for sure but it was dry and tough and lacked flavor. I even used half mild/spicy sausage. I'll stick with the 'Cheesy Ham & Grits Breakfast Casserole' from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Wanted to love this but couldn't. It's so full of good stuff but the cheese was overwhelming. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Hot Crab Dip

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I used 16 Oz cream cheese, 10 Oz crab meat, 4 Oz shrimp, 1/2 cup minced onion, 2 cloves garlic minced, 2 cups sharp cheddar cheese, 1/2 cup mayonnaise, juice from 1 lime, 2 tsp Tapatio hot sauce. Skipped the Worcestershire sauce. Heated in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Oni

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wynantskill, New York, USA
Living In: Highland Springs, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Perfect, perfect perfect chocolate frosting recipe. I added a touch more confectioners sugar to make the frosting a little more stiff, as I was piping it onto my cupcakes, but other than that, didn't change a thing. My batch frosted about 15 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Quivering Tenderloins

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
WOW - is this good!!! I added a little sesame oil but other than stayed true and it was awesome! Sweet, Spicy, Yummy!! I marinated for about 6 hours and then drained the marinade into a saucepan. Cooked covered at 350 for 20 minutes then uncovered, poured the pan juices into the saucepan and raised the temp to 450 for another 10 minutes. The meat was so tender and juicy!! I only had one tenderloin but used all the marinade ingredients. If I had two tenderloins I would double the marinade to make sure I had enough sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I always make pancakes from the mix, but I moved overseas and can't buy it here so decided to make these. I have to admit these are so much better than the box. Tasty and fluffy. Not quite as quick but not that hard to make either. I Don't think I'll go back to the mix if I get back stateside since these are worth the extra effort. I did add a tsp of vanilla and a splash more milk since the batter was thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easier Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Loved it- I did add just a smidge of heavy cream but I dont know that I needed it. delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzkenworthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

Pizza Spaghetti Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I thought this was okay. I also got 8 servings, but 582 calories per serving is crazy high. I was able to bring it down to 415, but still not a lite dish obviously. I used all reduced fat dairy products, leaner beef, and turkey pepperoni. I also sautéed green pepper, onion, and mushrooms (per suggestion that additional pizza toppings can be added) before cooking the ground beef. The flavor was okay, but it was just a bit to salty to me. I don't know if it was the pepperoni, cheese, and other canned or jarred items in combination. Not something I would make again, but it was interesting to try a different baked spaghetti recipe. I might just not prefer spaghetti this way as I have always felt it made it a little on this dry side. This one had just enough sauce, but the top got rather dry in the oven. I will see if others like this combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Naan Bread Margherita Pizza with Prosciutto

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
This was wonderful! We have also made this using pesto as a "sauce" with grilled chicken, artichoke hearts, sundried tomatoes, fresh basil and mozzarella...The oven takes longer to preheat than this does to make...so many options...We like naan bread for pizza because of the portion control and everyone can pick/choose what they want...Thanks for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanmarie Garner Bright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Fresh Asparagus Soup II

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This was delicious and I don't even like asparagus that much. I did exactly as written except I didn't have any lemon juice on hand. That would have probably been the little touch of magic to make this spectacular, but it was excellent without it. I will definitely use this again when I am given fresh asparagus. My husband hates asparagus and ate half of his bowl before asking what it was ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken Gnocchi Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
It was delicious. I did this pretty close to how the recipe was written except I did not have any red bell peppers. I also did not use fat free half and half, I just used half and half and whole milk. I also used kale rather than spinach because that is what I had on hand. However, I doubt these adjustments made much difference in flavor and it was simply fantastic. Not difficult at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shayda

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
delicious!! made this as easy as possible on myself and used a 10 oz bag of frozen organic rhubarb, 1 lb strawberries and refrigerated dough. followed the recipe exactly as is.definitely making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

Honey Of An Oatmeal Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Perfect! Followed recipe exactly. Won't need to buy sandwich bread ever again. Nice crust outside. Nice soft inside. Couldn't stop eating it. Husband couldn't either. Very happy to have found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Herb Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I wanted a vegetable cream sauce that was just a little bit different from my usual Alfredo Sauce to use over Pasta for our "Meatless Mondays" dinner, and this soup (which, admittedly, I totally changed) served as a GREAT base for that purpose (hence, the 5 stars). My "tweaks" included using 3/4 stick of Butter (as opposed to just 3 T.) and 2 pre-cooked (and fully mashed) YukonGold Potatoes instead of flour to make my roux. Then I used 5 Vegetable Bouillon cubes (plus 5 cups of water) instead of chicken broth plus the recommended 1 cup of Half-and-Half (I actually used 1/2 cup of Heavy/Whipping Cream plus 1/2 cup Homogenized Milk) to make the base sauce. I used 1/2 pkg. frozen chopped Spinach, 1/2 pkg. frozen Cauliflower, and 1/2 cup of shredded Carrots as my vegetables. Although I actually altered this recipe irrevocably, I am reviewing it here because I genuinely liked the idea of using Scallions instead of yellow onions and the addition of just the right amount of sugar. I would never have thought to use either of these ingredients instead of my own "old stand-bys", but these 2 adjustments made a BIG difference in the end product. I added the Basil, Parsley, Salt, and Pepper as directed, but I also sprinkled some Paprika over our Pasta just before serving; as always, I made a grated Parmesan/Rommano cheese mix available at the dinner table. I made 2 different shapes of Pasta -- Fusilli for the Adults and Bowties for the Grandchildren -- and EVERYBODY simply gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Zucchini and Chickpea Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This salad is delicious! No need to change a thing. Will double next time, because I want more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Minestrone Soup I

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I thought this was okay. I followed the recipe exactly, except for not having the small amount of cabbage. I ended up having to add a cup of water. It was still rather thick for this type of soup as it cooled down. Some people may like that though. I had recently made this type of soup from another Italian recipe, and think I may have been spoiled. This didn't have quite that same fresh taste. I am sure it will be eaten, but it is just a little salty and slightly canned soup tasting, to me, for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States