Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by pomplemousse

Rhubarb, Strawberry, and Blueberry Cobblerette

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Very nice, but don't eat this warm from the oven if you prefer it firm. It firms up as it cools. I doubled the topping and might just halve the filling next time. I liked it but it made for a lot, and it overflowed my pan. I'm glad I put it on top of the pizza stone, which caught all the juices, but I'm thinking either my pan wasn't the correct size or this just bubbles up and over a lot. Either way, there's still a lot of filling to the doubled topping and I like my cobbler a bit more balanced between topping and filling. Delicious combo, though, and a great use of the rhubarb we got from hubs' parents. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse

Mr. Bill's New Mexico Buffalo Chili

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Not bad, but pretty spicy and I cut back on the spicy ingredients. I cut the cayenne way down and only used jalapenos. I suppose it might've been cut more by the beer, but I didn't add the beer to this. I also didn't add all the meats--just used bacon and pork--because I didn't have all of it. Did use the rub on the pork, and instead of chopping it up (I used pork chops) I put the rub on, seared it, and plopped in the slow cooker as is. Once cooked and falling apart, I just mashed at them with a spoon to get chunks of meat. Worked perfectly and helped me be lazy. I didn't add in the salsa as I thought all the other tomato based ingredients were plenty. Hubs and I prefer beans in our chili, and although that may not be a purist preference for New Mexico chili (I haven't the slightest idea--I'm from Oregon) I'll add some next time. All in all, adjust for spice if you are weird about it like I am, and it works pretty well with adjustments to taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Basil Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I made two different zucchini breads this being the second I tried. My husband ate some of the first and declared it delicious and then had some of this one. This one was fantastic! I've made it several times already this week and it disappears quickly. I've never been a lemon fan but I really like this too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Lemon Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I made two different zucchini breads this being the second I tried. My husband ate some of the first and declared it delicious and then had some of this one. This one was fantastic! I've made it several times already this week and it disappears quickly. I've never been a lemon fan but I really like this too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama's Recipe's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Rolls III

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
AWESOME recipe!!! My family absolutely loved them. I intend to make this a regular staple in my home....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama's Recipe's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Shells III

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was a great meal. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama's Recipe's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Wonderful Moist cake. I added 1 ounce of dark melted chocolate to the batter. I also did not have buttermilk so I used 1/4 cup regular milk and 1/4 cup sour cream instead. I frosted it with the chocolate sour cream frosting from this site and it was divine. Everyone loved it! My 3 year old kept saying "MMMMM this good momma" the whole time he ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse

Freezer Pie Filling

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I didn't freeze this at all and didn't use cherries because what I had was a bunch of overripe fruit I wanted to make into something . . .and this recipe looked like a good bet. So, I chopped up a mango, peach, and apriums (Apparently a cross between apricots and plums--don't worry if you've never heard of them as neither had I until hubs brought them home)and proceeded with the recipe minus the freezing. I didn't really know what the recipe submitter was talking about with the ascorbic acid and was too lazy to find out, so I made this without it. Hubs really liked the result and kept asking me what fruits were in it. While warm, the filling was rather runny, but the cooled filling thickened right up, and was the perfect amount for a single pie. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

DIY Cocoa-Hazelnut Spread

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Although, this tasted fine. It was definitely not a clone of Nutella or similar spreads. I made 1/2 recipe in my Vitamix blender. As it has a strong motor I blended alternating between speed 1 and 10. I rarely use high speed. The color is much darker than the picture and it does still have almond bits. Without vegetable shortening or similar products it is not going to get beautifully smooth like the picture. I actually have a personal recipe, in my recipe box, closer to Nutella. This will get eaten, but honestly it reminds me much more of a vegan chocolate fudge, in taste and texture, and it is definitely a healthy tasting spread made with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Mini Cheesecakes

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Love serving these little gems for holidays and get togethers. Everyone has a chance to put on their own toppings, so everyone is happy. Absolutely love this recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHISPERIII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
It was amazing delicious. I can't remember a pot roast coming out so well, in so little time with little mess or fuss. Fantastic recipe. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHISPERIII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
My Husband loves this bread. I make it all the time. I only used a tablespoon of the sugar or the bread is too sweet. Excellent recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHISPERIII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristiCooks

Chickpea Salad with Red Onion and Tomato

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Great recipe. I didn't have any fresh parsley so I had to use dried. I also added a chopped yellow pepper and 1 cup cooked quinoa. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apopka, Florida, USA
Living In: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman

Agave Almond Butter

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I really liked the flavor of this. More than the almond butter I have ground at the stores in the machines. I don't have an oster blender, so I put it in my Vitamix. I tested this recipe, because I liked that it didn't have a bunch of added oil. Be very careful, though, because it goes from almond butter, with perfectly fine visible almond bits, to an almost almond paste or candy chunks like stage. I suppose it is from the agave? It is equally tasty, but not so spreadable. I would love to know what other liquids people add, to get it perfectly smooth and stay that consistency. Unfortunately, in the fridge it thickened even more. I can't imagine not refrigerating the leftovers though. So, after the first use on bread I ended up using what was left as a substitute for granola in parfaits. That worked perfect as granola gets boring after awhile. It would have worked fine too thrown into smoothies for extra fiber and protein in the recipes calling for nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Fresh Peach Dessert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This was AMAZING! My only hint would be not to let the marshmallow cool toooo much as it doesn't blend easy with the whipped cream. Will make again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dundalk, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Johnson's Scones

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Absolutely fabulous! Divide dough and make two disks, otherwise they are too large. That also allows you to make two different flavors! My favorite is fresh blueberry dusted with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKTRUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Excellent and Healthy Cornbread

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This cornbread definitely tasted healthy. I have been making Golden Sweet Cornbread, on the site, for years. So, I had a comparison. I read the reviews and saw that some people subbed white whole wheat for all-purpose flour, so I did that. A lot of people mentioned it being dense, so I did 1/2 baking soda and 1/2 baking powder for the baking soda amount. I wanted it more sweet than savory, so I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp. I made 10 muffins instead of a square. I reduced the temp to 375 and baked them for 18 minutes. I measured out 1 tablespoon of honey and brushed the tops of the warm muffins. The slightly crunchy honey coated top was my favorite part. Although, it was not part of the recipe. Despite doing part baking powder, they were still just a little too dense for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Spinach Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This was the first time I've fixed these mushrooms and I loved them and will definitely have these again soon!!! Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Grandma's Famous Salmon Cakes

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I'm not a really big fan of salmon prepared any way,but these salmon cakes were pretty good and I would consider having them again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States