Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mexican Spaghetti Squash Stir Fry

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Enjoyed this very much. Put a dollop of sour cream and that took it to another delicious level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Pfeifle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Good and easy. there is definitely not enough gravy, needs to be tripled at least. I prepared it exactly how it is written. the only negative us it was too greasy for my liking and my husband would not touch the gravy because of the grease level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I was stuck with leftovers pizza and wanted to use it. I found this recipe and went to cooking mode right away. I did not have 45 minutes to bake. I greased a non stick pan, just in case. I cut the pizza to arrange in my round pan instead of a squared pan. It was easy crisscrossing the triangles. I followed the recipe and pour all my ingredients on top of the pizza. I cooked on my stove top on low until the eggs were set, then to oven for a bit more firm setting of eggs and finished with a quick broil. It came out looking great and it was so good. I omitted the butter that recipe calls to add to mixture. It was not greasy at all. I transferred to round plate and sliced with pizza cutter. It was a hit!!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilmany64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing - 2

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I don't really understanding posting recipes that are lifted directly from another site without any changes at all and not giving credit to the original poster which in this case is Top Secret Recipes: http://www.topsecretrecipes.com/Benihana-Ginger-Salad-Dressing-Copycat-Recipe.html. As posted by another reviewer the Benihana recipe is all over the internet and this recipe is very different from all of the other Benihana recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I don't really understanding posting recipes that are lifted directly from another site without any changes at all and not giving credit to the original poster which in this case is Top Secret Recipes: http://www.topsecretrecipes.com/Benihana-Ginger-Salad-Dressing-Copycat-Recipe.html. As posted by another reviewer the Benihana recipe is all over the internet and this recipe is very different from all of the other Benihana recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
For this I changed it up a bit by adding in some garlic (minced), broccoli (chopped), tomatoes (chopped), and some Italian season. Very good! My family loved it. Make sure you try this sometime. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgu3mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Watermelon and Tomato Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I absolutely loved this. I wanted to make a lighter, nutritious salad to go with a heavily unhealthy meal and this fit the bill. I used large tomatoes cut into cubes and added about 4 green onions. Delicious! I think it would help to let the tomatoes and watermelon drain a bit because the mixture I made tonight was very juicy. And you really need to use a flavorful watermelon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I started making soup every Sunday for football season so I am standing in front of a TV watching the Red Zone instead of sitting in front of a TV. I made this soup last Sunday and will make it many times again in the future. The only thing I changed was adding twice the red chili paste like other reviewers, sliced shiitake mushrooms, more broth, and cooked longer because I wanted the red onions softer. It was a challenge trimming the fat off the chicken thighs but worth the flavor and moistness breasts do not give. I appreciated Chef John's tip straining out the ginger, lemon grass, garlic cooking in chunks and using the lite and regular coconut milk. This was so tasty it was gone in two days. I am making Chef John's gumbo today. Go Colts!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I have recently become obsessed with Chef John's recipes, videos, and reviews. My husband made this chili on Friday night and did not change anything. The flavor and consistency were excellent. Last night I took the left overs and made a pasta bake with 8 oz Campanella pasta and shredded Vermont white cheddar in an 8x8 pan covered @ 350 for 30 min and uncovered for another 15 min. The chili had such wonderful intense flavor that I did not need to add anymore spice. This is very spicy and not for kids as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I wasn't crazy about this - the flavor was not "dark chocolate" enough for my tastes, and it was a bit too runny, even though I let it cool sufficiently. Does not present a glossy finish. Sorry, I'll stick to the powdered sugar recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This casserole was pretty good and mainly used what I had in the house. I had a 4 oz package of fresh mushrooms and sautéed those. I also added a cup and a half of cooked mixed vegetables. I used chicken, cooked in a little broth, instead of turkey and an Amish style egg noodle. It doesn't make a ton, as it will all fit in a 9x9 pan. I don't have a crowd to feed anyway. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Flatlander Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I love this recipe!! It gives me the start to a basic chili recipe. I do mine in the crock pot for about 8 hrs on low. I use 3 lbs of ground beef or if I feel like splurging, we use buffalo burger!! I add in 2 28oz. cans of tomato sauce, 3 cans of fire roasted tomatoes and jalepenos fresh from the garden. I don't like beans, so I omit them & it still tastes amazing!! I even entered it in a cook off & it didn't win, but everyone complimented me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cranberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beulah, Michigan, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Traditional Gyro Meat

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This recipe is awesome, I love it! I am going to use it every time my family craves the back home taste for gyros. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shante

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield Gardens, New York, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dessert Crepes

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I bought a new crepe pan and couldnt wait to make them as a surprise. I halved the recipe and it still made six crepes for my husband and I. Four of which, I sprinkled with sugar after flipping and again after folding, as I remember when last in Paris. I also put a good dollap of Nutella on two after flipping before folding for hubby. Unfortunately, this recipe tastes too much of egg, which could pass if making savory crepes, but not traditional French sweet crepes. Sorry. I'll try some other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Becky's Baked Oatmeal

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This was very tasty. It is so much better than the store bought product that tastes more like a hard iced cookie. This was like banana bread meets dense, soft, moist sweetened oatmeal. It is really sweet, I will not deny that. As such, I would probably save this as a breakfast treat to make in the fall. I would at least try the recipe just as is, though, before altering it to ones diet. I tried it because it was recommended by an Allrecipes member. I did use safflower oil instead of flax oil and rolled oats as it did not say what type. Both worked well. For easy clean up I lined an 8x8 pan with 2 layers of foil sprayed with pan spray. When done, and almost cooled, I cut it in half and each half into 4 2" pieces. I have no idea how this makes 9 servings. The pieces are very filling, served warm in a bowl, with milk. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
vjonsson is right! The moistest banana bread ever. Moist, sweet, delicious & golden crispy edges. Sooo good. My 10 yr. old son would've eaten the whole loaf if I hadn't stopped him. My only changes: used my homemade plain yogurt in place of sour cream, (healthier & all I had on hand) used 1 tsp. baking powder in addition to b. soda, mashed the bananas rather than sliced. (per suggestion of other reviewers) I didn't have any walnuts so made it without. I've made a lot of banana bread over the yrs. & this was the best. It's lighter, not quite as heavy as a lot of loafs. (maybe the b. powder helped w/that) It will be my go-to recipe from now on. YUM (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
There was nothing wrong with it and everyone ate it... but there were comments about a lack of spicing and moisture. I believe making two loaves from this, as opposed to three, would help with dryness. We just found it somewhat bland and I wouldn't put the work into it for this particular quality. Sorry- usually I'm right on board with the majority rating but I can't do it this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spanish Rice Bake

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe! I actually used 2 cups of chili sauce as it made the rice slightly moister (this was after I had doubled the recipe so it would fill a 13x9 pan). I also put 2 cups of cheddar cheese on top and it was very tasty. Not only did everyone love it but there were absolutely no leftovers- and this was substantially more than I would have ever expected them to consume!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spanish Rice Bake

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe! I actually used 2 cups of chili sauce as it made the rice slightly moister (this was after I had doubled the recipe so it would fill a 13x9 pan). I also put 2 cups of cheddar cheese on top and it was very tasty. Not only did everyone love it but there were absolutely no leftovers- and this was substantially more than I would have ever expected them to consume!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as is except I sub'd chicken broth for the water only because I had a lot of chicken broth on hand. The soup was delicious and very creamy. The important thing to making it creamy is cooking the flour roux long enough so it's nice and thick. I was originally gonna use heavy cream instead of milk, but I'm so glad I used milk since heavy cream would have been over-kill. This is a VERY easy recipe if you have leftover ham to use up. I'm giving it 5 stars because it tastes good and it is EASY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEESELF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States