Spartanburg - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Molasses Spice Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Delicious! Tastes like a molasses cookie. Next time I will try with coconut milk for a more creamy result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellford, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Pound Cake II

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Not sure what happened. Mine turned out very dense. Yes, I know pound cakes are supposed to be dense, but this wasn't very tender at all, and I even substituted cake flour for half the flour, which should have yielded a more tender crumb. The flavor is good, though, but I would have preferred something that rose a little more. If I do try this again, I may follow another favorite recipe and reduce the oven temp to 300 degrees. I'll keep looking, and/or experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My-Hop Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Made these and they were very good family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cream Corn Like No Other

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Tried it and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Great fudge! It's the first time I make this type of fudge. Be patient in letting it simmer, it takes a while, you will see it decrease in volume some. I stuck to it (since i did not have a cooking thermometer) and I kept dropping drops of fudge in the cup of cold water. I had to change the water several times, since it got all cloudy at first. Finally, after a while, I saw balls of chocolate in the water and I knew it was done. I also added toasted walnuts to mine, after adding the butter and AFTER mixing it thoroughly till it lost its sheen (about 5 min. of vigorous stirring). It set perfectly in the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slider-Style Mini Burgers

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Oooey gooey cheesey delishiousness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasadchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Very good chicken recipe. We used drumstick instead of wings, and it turned out lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasadchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This turned out great. I used spaghetti, since that's what I had on hand. I substituted cream of chicken for the cream of celery soup. Based on other reviews, I added about 1/3-1/2 can of water to the soup mixture. I sauteed some onions, celery and bell pepper and added to the mix. I also added some dried minced garlic and parsley. I stirred in the Parmesan cheese, rather than sprinkling it on top. I baked it covered with foil, until it started to get good and bubbly. I then removed the foil and topped with a three-cheddar mixture. I returned it to the oven, and baked until bubbly in the center. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Creamy Italian Dressing

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I thought this dressing was great, but I did modify it some. I'm not a mayo person so I used sour cream. Instead of sugar I used a little of my raw honey because I keep bees and it is so good! I thought 1 clove of garlic (pressed) was perfect. I was out of oregano so I used a rounded tsp of Italian Seasoning Blend and I highly recommend it. In addition, I added a little Celtic sea salt and ground pepper. Can't wait to have a salad with dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malbanese

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

Oven Fried Chicken II

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This recipe was pretty good but I think it calls for way too much oil. I only used about 2-3 TBSP per pan (had to use two 9X13 pans, due to so much chicken). I find that the chicken itself creates lots of grease as it cooks, so I don't need all that extra fat. As some other reviewers suggested, I used a gallon size ziplock bag to shake the flour on, then let the chicken sit for about 15 minutes before dipping in the egg wash (with hot sauce), and then the bread crumbs. I even made some country gravy with the pan drippings. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by imallie

Lemon Lentil Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I love this salad! With the sweet/tartness of the lemon, the bright clean freshness of the parsley, and the cool smoothness of the extra-virgin olive oil, this is a winner in my house every time. I always always always use fresh ingredients for this recipe, and I add the zest of a whole lemon into the dressing; I think it really brings out that sunny lemon-y essence. I only cook the lentils until they are tender/firm and I use red or yellow onions rather than green. This dish has a real Lebanese or Greek flavor to me, and I serve it with grilled chicken or falafel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggs Benedict

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I had never tried eggs benedict, and I was a little skeptical at first, but this turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
the recipe said to cook on low i will cook on high the potatoes,carrots were hard but,the meat was good but, make sure you cook the meat first & add to the slow cooker so you dont get any of the blood in the pot !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beverly
Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Funnel Cakes IV

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Had to give this one 5 stars simply because of all the powdered sugar on my wifes face and shirt after she was done....lol.....i added a lil more sugar, nutmeg and vanilla like EBONY3 suggested (ty)...i'm thinking of trying cinnamon instead of nutmeg next time, and there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by worshipleader

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA

Molten Chocolate Cakes With Sugar-Coated Raspberries

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
wow! I have never made lava cake before and it took me a few times to perfect it, but this is an amazing recipe. The trick is not over or under cooking it. It took me a while to figure this out, but you know it is ready when you gently shake the pan and it only jiggles a little. Also, some people say that you need "good quality chocolate," but I have found that good old chocolate chips work the best. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cream Cheese Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
this is really good *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beverly
Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Budget-Friendly Hearty Winter Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I substituted frozen, Italian-style, turkey meatballs for the bratwurst - because I had them and they’re a more heart-friendly ingredient. It was delicious. I added 1/2 to 1 C. of extra water to tone the strength and make a better soup consistency. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

Mayonnaise Biscuits

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I will never, ever tell my family that there's mayo in these biscuits, but YUM! Bonus points just for simplicity, and the taste/texture is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this for Sunday dinner today and my family raved about it! I followed other reviewers suggestions and used beef stock (2 cups) but I also added 1 cup of red wine (Merlot) and it was fabulous. I also left off the salt. Even though my stock was homemade and wasn't salty, we still didn't miss the salt. I only had 1 packet of Italian dressing mix (Good Seasons Garlic & Herb), so I added all the other seasonings - but used less pepper and onion powder instead of onion salt. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malbanese

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

Creamy Italian Dressing II

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I thought this dressing was great, but I did modify it some. I'm not a mayo person so I used sour cream. Instead of sugar I used a little of my raw honey because I keep bees and it is so good! I thought 1 clove of garlic (pressed) was perfect. I was out of oregano so I used a rounded tsp of Italian Seasoning Blend and I highly recommend it. In addition, I added a little Celtic sea salt and ground pepper. Can't wait to have a salad with dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malbanese

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States