Spartanburg - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tortellini Salad I

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
I made this for the first time when I had company. Very good! If/when I make again, I will either cut down on or omit the lemon juice entirely, as it was a bit too tart (otherwise, I'd give it 5 stars). I didn't have any feta on hand, so I used just the Parmesan cheese. I also omitted the black olives. I like the fresh herbs; next time, I will add some fresh oregano. I also plan to add some grilled chicken breast. All in all, a great summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I'm giving this 5 stars because the flavor was great. However, it was way too spicy for my liking, even after using only one can of the tomatoes and chilies. I also substituted chicken broth for the beer. The next time I make this (and I will make again), I'll opt for 2 cans of plain diced tomatoes and use regular kidney or pinto beans. I actually cooked my chicken breasts in the crock pot first(so I could eliminate most of the fat), and finished the soup on the stove top. Very easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I have made this for our holiday meals for two years now. It has been specifically been requested for our family get together for Thanksgiving again this year. I make it exactly as written except that I use a little more vanilla extract and I have to use a gluten-free all-purpose flour. I use King Arthur's multipurpose flour and it comes out great. I usually use the pistachios, but have also used pecans and both are delicious. We love it. The pinch of cayenne may sound weird to some, especially if you're new to Chef John's recipes, but don't question it, just do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malbanese

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I made this today for lunch and it was a BIG hit. I actually assembled it yesterday afternoon and refrigerated it overnight. I made it as written except for slightly less salt. It was excellent! In the past I have made these where you blanch the peppers first and brown the ground beef. I thought this was so much easier, even though it does take longer in the oven. The garlic and parmesan cheese gave the dish a wonderful flavor. I'm looking forward to making with half sausage, half ground beef next time. The only thing was that I had to cook it longer than the recipe states. My peppers were large and I have a gas oven which always tends to take longer. I even bumped the temperature up a bit for the first half hour, but it still took just shy of two hours. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malbanese

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

Molasses Spice Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Delicious! Tastes like a molasses cookie. Next time I will try with coconut milk for a more creamy result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellford, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Pound Cake II

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Not sure what happened. Mine turned out very dense. Yes, I know pound cakes are supposed to be dense, but this wasn't very tender at all, and I even substituted cake flour for half the flour, which should have yielded a more tender crumb. The flavor is good, though, but I would have preferred something that rose a little more. If I do try this again, I may follow another favorite recipe and reduce the oven temp to 300 degrees. I'll keep looking, and/or experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My-Hop Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Made these and they were very good family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cream Corn Like No Other

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Tried it and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Great fudge! It's the first time I make this type of fudge. Be patient in letting it simmer, it takes a while, you will see it decrease in volume some. I stuck to it (since i did not have a cooking thermometer) and I kept dropping drops of fudge in the cup of cold water. I had to change the water several times, since it got all cloudy at first. Finally, after a while, I saw balls of chocolate in the water and I knew it was done. I also added toasted walnuts to mine, after adding the butter and AFTER mixing it thoroughly till it lost its sheen (about 5 min. of vigorous stirring). It set perfectly in the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slider-Style Mini Burgers

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Oooey gooey cheesey delishiousness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasadchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Very good chicken recipe. We used drumstick instead of wings, and it turned out lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasadchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This turned out great. I used spaghetti, since that's what I had on hand. I substituted cream of chicken for the cream of celery soup. Based on other reviews, I added about 1/3-1/2 can of water to the soup mixture. I sauteed some onions, celery and bell pepper and added to the mix. I also added some dried minced garlic and parsley. I stirred in the Parmesan cheese, rather than sprinkling it on top. I baked it covered with foil, until it started to get good and bubbly. I then removed the foil and topped with a three-cheddar mixture. I returned it to the oven, and baked until bubbly in the center. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Creamy Italian Dressing

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I thought this dressing was great, but I did modify it some. I'm not a mayo person so I used sour cream. Instead of sugar I used a little of my raw honey because I keep bees and it is so good! I thought 1 clove of garlic (pressed) was perfect. I was out of oregano so I used a rounded tsp of Italian Seasoning Blend and I highly recommend it. In addition, I added a little Celtic sea salt and ground pepper. Can't wait to have a salad with dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malbanese

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

Oven Fried Chicken II

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This recipe was pretty good but I think it calls for way too much oil. I only used about 2-3 TBSP per pan (had to use two 9X13 pans, due to so much chicken). I find that the chicken itself creates lots of grease as it cooks, so I don't need all that extra fat. As some other reviewers suggested, I used a gallon size ziplock bag to shake the flour on, then let the chicken sit for about 15 minutes before dipping in the egg wash (with hot sauce), and then the bread crumbs. I even made some country gravy with the pan drippings. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by imallie

Lemon Lentil Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I love this salad! With the sweet/tartness of the lemon, the bright clean freshness of the parsley, and the cool smoothness of the extra-virgin olive oil, this is a winner in my house every time. I always always always use fresh ingredients for this recipe, and I add the zest of a whole lemon into the dressing; I think it really brings out that sunny lemon-y essence. I only cook the lentils until they are tender/firm and I use red or yellow onions rather than green. This dish has a real Lebanese or Greek flavor to me, and I serve it with grilled chicken or falafel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggs Benedict

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I had never tried eggs benedict, and I was a little skeptical at first, but this turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
the recipe said to cook on low i will cook on high the potatoes,carrots were hard but,the meat was good but, make sure you cook the meat first & add to the slow cooker so you dont get any of the blood in the pot !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beverly
Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Funnel Cakes IV

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Had to give this one 5 stars simply because of all the powdered sugar on my wifes face and shirt after she was done....lol.....i added a lil more sugar, nutmeg and vanilla like EBONY3 suggested (ty)...i'm thinking of trying cinnamon instead of nutmeg next time, and there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by worshipleader

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA

Molten Chocolate Cakes With Sugar-Coated Raspberries

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
wow! I have never made lava cake before and it took me a few times to perfect it, but this is an amazing recipe. The trick is not over or under cooking it. It took me a while to figure this out, but you know it is ready when you gently shake the pan and it only jiggles a little. Also, some people say that you need "good quality chocolate," but I have found that good old chocolate chips work the best. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cream Cheese Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
this is really good *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beverly
Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States