Rock Hill, South Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe. I have never made lemon meringue pie before, so I just made it for myself. It came out fantastic! I am a pretty experienced baker and I found the recipe very easy to follow. It was the perfect mix between sweet and tart and tastes like heaven. I plan on making this for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreeneyedGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yale, Oklahoma, USA

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
After all the amazing reviews I had to try this. Great cookie if you LOVE mints. It really just tasted like a mint to me but the cookie without the mint tasted like a brownie so I started playing with other ideas. A Rolo candy wrapped and baked in this cookie dough is fabulous! I'm currently adding pecans and a Rolo simply because the cookie with the mint was a bit too rich for me. I felt it needed something salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonbrandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meat Loaf

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Delicious! I diced the mushroom, added extra onion and garlic, no sage and a little spicy sausage. Threw some fingerling potatoes in for the last 2 hours -- sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliadiane
Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamA

Margarita Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Made this pie today for my Book Club we read a book "Ladies Night" by Mary Kay Andrews that is set in a bar.... I added 1 Tablespoon of Tequila Gold.... can't wait to try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamA
Home Town: Toccoa, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamA

Chocolate Pecan Pie VI

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
So chocolate!! So good, very rich pie. Love the texture of it and the great chocolate taste! I would definitely make again, easy and delicious. I think one of the best pies ever, great with cool whip on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamA
Home Town: Toccoa, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpernickel Bagels

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was my first time making these and these bagels brought me back to NY although I think a few tweaks could be made. I added 2 TSP of vital wheat gluten to the mix. If you have an efficient oven like I do I would drop the temp to 425 and cook slightly longer (if you have a baking stone that is a definite PLUS. I (personally would add more caraway seeds) I would definitely do a 1 egg and 3 TBSP water egg wash over the bagels after they have dried from the boiling water. The bagel insides were slightly wet in some places but because they were hot they continued to cook during the cooling process so don't be alarmed if they seem a little "juicy" in some places. They seemed to be lacking in something taste-wise but I just cannot place what as I have not been to NY in many many many years to have a REAL pumpernickel bagel. They definitely have the denseness of a classic pump bagel which was most certainly a plus. Overall if I can figure out what I am lacking and refine my recipe slightly there is absolutely no reason why these bagels would not deserve 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpernickel Bagels Recipe - Allrecipes.com

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was my first time making these and these bagels brought me back to NY although I think a few tweaks could be made. I added 2 TSP of vital wheat gluten to the mix. If you have an efficient oven like I do I would drop the temp to 425 and cook slightly longer (if you have a baking stone that is a definite PLUS. I (personally would add more caraway seeds) I would definitely do a 1 egg and 3 TBSP water egg wash over the bagels after they have dried from the boiling water. The bagel insides were slightly wet in some places but because they were hot they continued to cook during the cooling process so don't be alarmed if they seem a little "juicy" in some places. They seemed to be lacking in something taste-wise but I just cannot place what as I have not been to NY in many many many years to have a REAL pumpernickel bagel. They definitely have the denseness of a classic pump bagel which was most certainly a plus. Overall if I can figure out what I am lacking and refine my recipe slightly there is absolutely no reason why these bagels would not deserve 5 stars. On a side note, the recipe shows 2 different cooking times use the 20 minute time. These bagels took about 45 minutes to prepare as stated by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This was a huge hit! My wife, daughter (4), son (2) and son (1) loved this zucchini bread. I stuck to the recipe for one and added chocolate chips to the other. You can't go wrong with this recipe. We always have extra zucchini this time of year. Now, I know what I'll do with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Williamson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breaded Parmesan Ranch Chicken

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was really good! I was worried it would get soggy in the pan but it really didn't, it was crispy and juicy...perhaps a tad on the bland side for a main dish but I'll definitely use the recipe next time I want a chicken topper for salad or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was very good! I followed the instructions exactly, and while it wasn't exactly EASY, it went well for my first ever venture into homemade bread. And the finished product was tasty, however dense, and I probably will decrease the sugar a bit next time around. Overall a great outcome, and they made great Mother's Day gifts today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This was really good, but next time I'll need to decrease the time a little I think, cuz it turned out a little dry. I followed the recipe except for using pie filling rather than the puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Graham Cracker Crust

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This was very tasty, and easy, especially since I mixed it all up in the same ziplock I crushed the crackers in. The only problem I had with it was in the baking of my cheesecake, it kinda went all hard and rubbery...I'm not sure what happened, but otherwise I'm sure it'd be find for something you didn't need to bake. Also next time I'll probably increase the crackers and butter just a bit, I couldn't quite get it all the way up the sides of the pan without leaving holes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Rangoon III

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Good, however time-consuming, and not as sweet as I'd prefer. I may make them again but will have to find some sort of sweetener to add to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tatertot Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This was good, if a little bland. If I make it again I'll do so with tomato soup as the other reviewer suggested, or ketchup or something. I also thought it was too shallow, so I'd double the filling or use a smaller dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
the taste was very good, although i didn't care for the meat-to-sauce ratio. turned out a lot like hamburger helper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Tacos

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
That was unexpected. Lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Perfect Peanut Butter Milkshake

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Yes. Delicious. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Home-Fried Cheese Sticks

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Make sure you get the oil temp right, and fry only one the first time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamA

Easy Broccoli Quiche

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Made this tonight, it is very good and easy. I added a little more cheese. I used the Pilsbury roll out crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamA
Home Town: Toccoa, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deluxe Waffles

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
very tasty and easy, thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States