Rock Hill, South Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Ray Vicario

Italian Ricotta Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Oh boy this sure was delicious. The first time I made it I didn't seperate the beaten eggs from the rest of the ingredients. But it still turned out good for my first time baking. But when I made the 2nd time I seperated the eggs which made a difference. And used rum instead of the orange flavor. It didn't taste as rich which was good. And this time I added blueberry pie filling. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ray Vicario

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I followed recipe to a T, but instead of water I used a can of chicken broth. I also let the biscuits cook for an hour too. Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremont, North Carolina, USA

Slow Cooker, Easy Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Like many others, it was too watery for my liking. I read another review about mashing the potatoes, so I did & I like it much better than the chunks of potatoes. I cut bacon into teeny pieces & cooked my own, I left some extra for the top. I didn't add the extra seasoning salt & pepper, it was perfect without it. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Made this last night and it was fabulous! I threw together some marinara sauce with canned crushed tomatoes, Italian seasoning, bay leaf and garlic and onion powders - served that over noodles as a side dish. This is my new "go-to" for a quick yummy dinner! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imamimi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe. I have never made lemon meringue pie before, so I just made it for myself. It came out fantastic! I am a pretty experienced baker and I found the recipe very easy to follow. It was the perfect mix between sweet and tart and tastes like heaven. I plan on making this for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreeneyedGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yale, Oklahoma, USA

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
After all the amazing reviews I had to try this. Great cookie if you LOVE mints. It really just tasted like a mint to me but the cookie without the mint tasted like a brownie so I started playing with other ideas. A Rolo candy wrapped and baked in this cookie dough is fabulous! I'm currently adding pecans and a Rolo simply because the cookie with the mint was a bit too rich for me. I felt it needed something salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonbrandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meat Loaf

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Delicious! I diced the mushroom, added extra onion and garlic, no sage and a little spicy sausage. Threw some fingerling potatoes in for the last 2 hours -- sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliadiane
Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamA

Margarita Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Made this pie today for my Book Club we read a book "Ladies Night" by Mary Kay Andrews that is set in a bar.... I added 1 Tablespoon of Tequila Gold.... can't wait to try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamA
Home Town: Toccoa, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamA

Chocolate Pecan Pie VI

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
So chocolate!! So good, very rich pie. Love the texture of it and the great chocolate taste! I would definitely make again, easy and delicious. I think one of the best pies ever, great with cool whip on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamA
Home Town: Toccoa, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpernickel Bagels

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was my first time making these and these bagels brought me back to NY although I think a few tweaks could be made. I added 2 TSP of vital wheat gluten to the mix. If you have an efficient oven like I do I would drop the temp to 425 and cook slightly longer (if you have a baking stone that is a definite PLUS. I (personally would add more caraway seeds) I would definitely do a 1 egg and 3 TBSP water egg wash over the bagels after they have dried from the boiling water. The bagel insides were slightly wet in some places but because they were hot they continued to cook during the cooling process so don't be alarmed if they seem a little "juicy" in some places. They seemed to be lacking in something taste-wise but I just cannot place what as I have not been to NY in many many many years to have a REAL pumpernickel bagel. They definitely have the denseness of a classic pump bagel which was most certainly a plus. Overall if I can figure out what I am lacking and refine my recipe slightly there is absolutely no reason why these bagels would not deserve 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpernickel Bagels Recipe - Allrecipes.com

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was my first time making these and these bagels brought me back to NY although I think a few tweaks could be made. I added 2 TSP of vital wheat gluten to the mix. If you have an efficient oven like I do I would drop the temp to 425 and cook slightly longer (if you have a baking stone that is a definite PLUS. I (personally would add more caraway seeds) I would definitely do a 1 egg and 3 TBSP water egg wash over the bagels after they have dried from the boiling water. The bagel insides were slightly wet in some places but because they were hot they continued to cook during the cooling process so don't be alarmed if they seem a little "juicy" in some places. They seemed to be lacking in something taste-wise but I just cannot place what as I have not been to NY in many many many years to have a REAL pumpernickel bagel. They definitely have the denseness of a classic pump bagel which was most certainly a plus. Overall if I can figure out what I am lacking and refine my recipe slightly there is absolutely no reason why these bagels would not deserve 5 stars. On a side note, the recipe shows 2 different cooking times use the 20 minute time. These bagels took about 45 minutes to prepare as stated by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This was a huge hit! My wife, daughter (4), son (2) and son (1) loved this zucchini bread. I stuck to the recipe for one and added chocolate chips to the other. You can't go wrong with this recipe. We always have extra zucchini this time of year. Now, I know what I'll do with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Williamson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sopapilla Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This is Wonderful! I made it to take to work, but couldn't get out of the house! Fabulous... I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imamimi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breaded Parmesan Ranch Chicken

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was really good! I was worried it would get soggy in the pan but it really didn't, it was crispy and juicy...perhaps a tad on the bland side for a main dish but I'll definitely use the recipe next time I want a chicken topper for salad or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was very good! I followed the instructions exactly, and while it wasn't exactly EASY, it went well for my first ever venture into homemade bread. And the finished product was tasty, however dense, and I probably will decrease the sugar a bit next time around. Overall a great outcome, and they made great Mother's Day gifts today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This was really good, but next time I'll need to decrease the time a little I think, cuz it turned out a little dry. I followed the recipe except for using pie filling rather than the puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Graham Cracker Crust

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This was very tasty, and easy, especially since I mixed it all up in the same ziplock I crushed the crackers in. The only problem I had with it was in the baking of my cheesecake, it kinda went all hard and rubbery...I'm not sure what happened, but otherwise I'm sure it'd be find for something you didn't need to bake. Also next time I'll probably increase the crackers and butter just a bit, I couldn't quite get it all the way up the sides of the pan without leaving holes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Rangoon III

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Good, however time-consuming, and not as sweet as I'd prefer. I may make them again but will have to find some sort of sweetener to add to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tatertot Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This was good, if a little bland. If I make it again I'll do so with tomato soup as the other reviewer suggested, or ketchup or something. I also thought it was too shallow, so I'd double the filling or use a smaller dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
the taste was very good, although i didn't care for the meat-to-sauce ratio. turned out a lot like hamburger helper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States