Lexington, South Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar and Garlic

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy DuBois

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Chicken Divan

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy DuBois

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brian's Easy Stuffed Flounder

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This flounder recipe is awesome. So good I had to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crowhole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roquefort Pear Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
OMG, this is good. My sister sent us some Harry and David pears so I was looking for a good way to use some of them. Thanks to her I found this recipe. I did not use the avocado (just a preference), I used 2 teaspoons of sugar in the dressing, and took 16oz top sirloin cubed and seared in blackened seasoning and served over the top of the salad. My husband, mother-in-law, and I made a meal off it. Instead of a head of lettuce, I used a 9 oz. bag of classic romaine salad mix. PERFECT............highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Holiday Shortbread Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I love shortbread cookies but alway dreaded making them... rolling out the dough and cutting the cookies... this was a breeze and makes so many! I rolled them in powdered sugar when they were cooled. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Meringue II

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Here in the south I have a hard time with meringue... This was fool proof and yummy! This is now my go to recipe for anything that requires it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Microwave Baked Apples

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made these for my guy and he told me they were "flawless". They were super easy too. I added two Kraft Caramels to each apple during cooking. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherSC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was awesome! The potatoes I got were so big, the recipe fit in a 2 1/2 quart dish.I just doubled the other ingredients. We were eating leftovers for days and they heated up great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Holiday Dressing

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This turned out very good today for Thanksgiving. I went exactly by the recipe, except I cut back just a little on the herb seasonings. It was perfect, got many compliments. I used medium sausage, one pound, in my opinion it did not need more. I would've given this 5 stars, but feel that I can't since I cut back on the seasonings a little. I will be using this again for Christmas, it is definitely a keeper (I will always use a little less seasoning than called for, for me seasoning amounts listed are a little too strong, just my opinion). I used 4 cups of chicken stock as called for. I learned a long time ago, if you take a potato masher and mash and mix your dressing quite a bit before putting in pan to bake, your dressing texture turns out quite nice, just add the sausage after the mixing so it won't blend your sausage into mush. I baked exactly one hour at temperature called for and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Cranberry Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Very good, made for Thanksgiving dinner today. I was concerned about letting it sit overnight, thought it might be too congealed to layer the next morning..it was congealed but easy to work with. The layer in the middle blends very well with the tartness of the salad. I will be making again for Christmas, everyone really liked it, even some that I thought wouldn't. Definitely a keeper. The only change I made was to add 2 tablespoons of powdered sugar to the cream/cream cheese mixture. It gave it a very slight sweetness, not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Yeast Rolls

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
We tried 15 yeast roll recipies, and this BY FAR was the BEST! Moist, tender, perfect!!! A great addition to your meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rawlins, Wyoming, USA

Pecan Pie V

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
So easy and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Terry Tripp

Hot Bruschetta Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Hubby gives this 12 stars! I can give it only 5...cause that's all there is! Honestly a great combo of tastes that tickle and tease the palate! Made this for our fri. date night.... No entree' necessary ... but still served the lobster anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
i added double/triple the spices and got amazing reviews. kind of bland without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistystroman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tortellini Bites

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistystroman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eileen's Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
my husband swore this was the best meatloaf he's ever had. it WILL remain in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistystroman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry Tripp

Chocolate Bundt Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Best chocolate bundt I've ever made or tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This pie is great.......I made this today and it is almost gone. I followed the recipe and didn't add any spices as called for; I like it better this way. It's just a matter of preference to whoever might be baking it. Also, you really can't go wrong with a Pilsbury refrigerated pie crust. There is no sweetness in the crust so it offsets the sweetness of the filling perfectly, and their crusts bake up crispy and flaky every time. I did not make the lattice crust only because I like to take cookie cutters (this time I used maple leaf cutters of varying sizes and scattered them all over the top) and use them for the top crust. I poured all the glaze over the apples and didn't pour any over the crust so it wouldn't brown too much. I just used a light brushing of melted butter over the crust before putting the pie in the oven. Perfection!!!!!! Thank you to Grandma Ople for this recipe. It will go in my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Sausage Zucchini Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistystroman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Gingerbread

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This is a very good recipe. I made exactly as written except for the baking time and temp. I made three loaves (my baking pans are 4x10 and white on the inside which keeps my breads from getting to dark during baking), baked them at 340 degrees for 50 minutes. They were moist, and the texture was perfect. I have already added to my little recipe box. No need to look for another pumpkin bread recipe after finding this one. The spices are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 90) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States