Lexington, South Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

German Apple Cake I

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Awesome.... Awesome.... Awesome... need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Caramel Frosting VI

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I made this as written... It was amazing! I poured it over a German Apple Cake and OM Goodness, Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Rachel's Tomato Basil Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Delicious!My husband and I are looking forward to leftovers today.We used spicy V8 and it couldn't have turned out better.Quick and easy recipe that we will make again.Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp and Feta Cheese Pasta

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I agree with other viewers, to me it was bland as written, for one thing it needs salt (just under 1 teaspoon). I didn't have wine, just used water. It also needed at least double on the basil and a good bit more garlic. I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used a 16 oz. jar of tomatoes that I canned from our garden this year, and 8 oz. dry angel hair pasta in place of 1 lb. of linguine. The dish was not dry at all and the tomato sauce and cheese blended well. I didn't have feta, I did have crumbled goat cheese with basil (on top of the doubled basil)......YUMMY......The trick is to taste the sauce making sure it is highly seasoned before adding in the pasta, shrimp, and cheese. The seasoning will tone down once the other ingredients are added. Even though I had to tweak this recipe to suit our taste, I still give it 5 stars because everyone has different taste buds and this is a really good recipe. My husband and mother-in-law loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Lemon Herb Pork Chops

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I followed the directions as written... marinated for 24 hrs... Awesomely tasty and tender! Grilled 5 -7 min per side for 1 inch thick boneless chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I'll be honest and say that I can't give you a review using the cottage cheese, because I substituted. I can tell you that using the same recipe substituting sour cream is divine! The parmesan, egg, and butter mixed with the noodles makes it really hold together and tasty. I also double the sauce for coverage and add a little garlic and onion. (You can always add your fave extras to taste) This makes a very full 9 by 13 dish. If you want less, use the original one sauce and cut the noodles in half. I have made this many times now, sometimes doing meatballs instead of ground beef. Either way, this always gets a satisfied eye roll and grunt from my husband. :) Everyone loves it! *Update- try it with italian sausage cut into 1 inch pieces. Cook a little to barely brown before adding to sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Quiche

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I really loved this recipe! I read almost all the reviews... as I usually do... and I followed the recipe to the tee. Cooked perfectly and with so much flavor with the simple seasonings! I keep thinking of what I might add next time.... probably nothing... It was really a class act as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Ground Pork Omelet

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
It was really good and easy! It will be a go to for a quick meal during the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Terry Tripp

Peach Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Great recipe as written! easy and beautiful and yummy! Give it a go... Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Baked Salmon Fillets Dijon

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
So simple and sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Fluffy Biscuits

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is truly my first bicuit success! I used 1/2 cup of butter, because I didn't have any shortening... turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Yahoo! I love this recipe... not that I'm lazy... just love a perfectly cooked and tender roast! I cut slits and placed garlic sprears, randomly. I seasoned with black pepper and garlic powder! Such a fail-safe/ go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Sour Cream Lemon Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I loved this recipe just as written! I had no issues with the ingredients at all! I love this vs the lemon pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Chef John's Crab Cakes

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I love this recipe! So easy and tasty... the perfect crabcakes! Thanks Chef John!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Pecan Sour Cream Pound Cake

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Awesome pound cake! I did use the cup of ground pecans in lieu of one cup of flour and it turned out perfect! Love the lemon glaze over the top!!!!! I recommend this recipe highly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Spicy Oven Fried Chicken

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
We loved this! I marinated the chicken using plain yogurt instead of the buttermilk! I also put the breadcrumb coated chicken in the fridge for 30 min before browning in the skillet. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Terry Tripp

Honey Chile Chicken

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Awesome recipe... just used the chicken thighs. I wished there were a suggested amount of red pepper flakes to add ( I added 1 tbs ) ... too hot for me ... just right for the hubby! All in all... great copy cat recipe for general tsos chicken! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Pan Seared Tuna with Citrus-Herb Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This recipe turned my non fish hubby into a fish guy! I followed the marinade and the dressing recipe to the tee... I made a garden salad with capers, bacon, Parmesan cheese and boiled eggs along with the veges! The dressing was the star of the show! I didn't have sushi grade tuna... but had tuna steaks... I just cooked them to med rare and they were perfect! Restaurant quality... Sure to impress at your next dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Country Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I tried this out today, only made a half recipe. I couldn't really tell there was any ginger in it, just a very slight aftertaste, next time I think I will add a little more. We wanted a quick and easy supper tonight so we made ham sandwiches out of it, extremely good. I make bread all the time and I would rate this as one of the better ones, baked in a cloche, texture and moisture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Honestly the best chili I have ever tasted! A little labor intensive but well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 90) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States