Lexington, South Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Terry Tripp

Stuffed Banana Peppers

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Really easy and simple recipe but tastes so good! Was looking for a recipe to use up the last of my garden peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Garlic Mashed Potatoes with Eggplant

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Love the taste of eggplant in the potatoes! Made and tasted per recipe... rated it 5 stars as is! Hubby likes creamy taters, so I did add a little butter and sour cream! Really didnt change the flavor but did change the texture, still a 5 star recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
My first time making banana bread, but not my first time eating it! This was the best banana bread I've ever eaten! So easy to make, I even had my 4 yo grand daughter to help! Fun recipe for the kiddies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Cranberry and Apple Stuffed Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I cut a slit in my chops and brined them for 3 hours before stuffing, searing, and baking. Turned out delicious, hubs and I both loved them. Extremely moist and tasty.Had a touch of juice in pan after baking, just dribbled it over top of chops. This one is a keeper. I will continue to brine beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tilapia Scampi

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I have tried many many Tilapia recipes... this is by far the easiest and tastiest ever! I was so full and wished I had more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Terry Tripp

Pizza Dough II

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My first try at pizza dough! This turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Terry Tripp

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Followed recipe to the tee! I slightly over cooked it but it still was so so good! Can't give it any less than 5 stars because of my failure at frying! Seved it with garden salad and fried eggplant.... I didn't over cook the eggplant! Thanks John!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Terry Tripp

Mexi-Quiche

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I used the basic recipe , but incorporated fresh ingredients for the tomatoes and chillies, made my own refried beans and used turkey sausage with mexican spices.... if it was this good from pantry cooking... I've got to make trip to the grocery next time and try the real deal! Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Tiffany's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Made these today, turned out great. I used mini chocolate chips (that's what I had), and sprinkled sea salt on top before baking to bring out the flavor. This is a great recipe, will definitely make again. My husband said they were the best chocolate chip cookies he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This is an awesome teriyaki recipe! I had 4 chicken breasts and apple cider vinegar. I reduced the cooking time to 25 minutes total. Also, as the chicken cooled a little and the asparagus baked, I basted and the sauce ended up nice and thick. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I made these pancakes this morning for my daughter and I. We loved them! What a wonderful recipe!! It's even better with 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract or some cinnamon!!! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I originally made this recipe in 2007 by Mary Gecho, which is no longer listed on this site. It is slightly different ingred., mixing inst., and pan prep. I misplaced it and have been using this one which is good, but Mary's is much better. During a recent move I found Mary's; to me the texture of hers is much better. Here it is....3 eggs, 1 cup sugar,2/3 canned pumpkin, 1 tsp lemon juice, 3/4 cup all-purp flour, 2 tsp cinnamon,1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 cup chopped walnuts, 6 oz cream cheese,1 cup conf sugar, 1/4 cup butter, and 1/2 tsp vanilla. the directions are basically the sane except....beat eggs for 3 minutes...beat in sugar for 2 minutes.....grease the wax paper, but don't flour it, it will peel off easily.....bake 12-14 minutes...cool 5 minutes before dumping from pan. Just a hint from me, I have found that if I sprinkle my cake with powdered sugar instead of my towel, it works much better for me. Hope you enjoy. Mary's recipe is moister, to me this one is a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paydirt Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I can't tell you how many times I've made this recipe, they are great. The butter flavored shortening is very important. One time I didn't have any so I used regular, they were good, but not as good with the butter flavor. I am making again today for our family reunion tomorrow. Every time I've made these, I've had many compliments. Who cares if you need the cookie mix, if they're good, that's all that matters. Of yeah, I can't find the mix in the box any longer, so I use the bag one and add a decent dollop additional of peanut butter, still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ColleenMarie

Mexican Pizza

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I used a boxed crust mix and sprinkled taco seasoning on the dough before baking. We love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rawlins, Wyoming, USA
Photo by ColleenMarie

Creamy Cucumber and Tomato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
My family really loved this one! A great way to use our abundance of cucumbers and tomatoes! I love it just the way it is and I've also sprinkled some dill and a little sour cream for a different flavor. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rawlins, Wyoming, USA

Stuffed Zucchini

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I love this one with fresh zucchini out of the garden. I use this ones with the larger zucchini. I did not cook the sausage separate, I stuffed the halves with the raw mixture and found it cooked thoroughly and the zucchini was cooked as well. I've also made these with slices of thinner zucchini. Slice them about 1 1/2" and scoop out a divot and then fill it with a scoop. These cook faster and are a great appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rawlins, Wyoming, USA

Shrimp and Crab Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I had mixed feelings about making this after reading the reviews, especially the ones that said it was bland. The one thing that jumped out at me with the recipe was that it didn't call for salt. To me it's just a given, but did some people not add salt? That would definitely make it bland. I added 1 teaspoon of salt to the rice while it was cooking, and 1 more teaspoon when mixing all together. I also used double the amount of crackers on top mixed with 2 tablespoons of melted butter. This is a very good casserole, goes well with cornbread. Also, this makes a huge casserole, it's more like 12 servings, not six. Unless you're feeding a crowd, I recommend cutting in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

S'mores Crescent Doughnuts

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
SOOO easy and omg good. We accidentally burnt ours but it made the entire treat taste like burnt marshmallows....it was actually better. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherSC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Molasses Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I can't believe I forgot to rate these cookies. These are absolutely delicious! I didn't have any shortening, so I substituted butter. The molasses makes them divine, and the spice amounts are just right. Go by the bake time as to not overcook them, no matter how they look. They are perfectly crunchy on the outside and chewy in the middle, and they stored fine for me. I love spice cookies, and this is definitely my go to spice cookie recipe now! Thank you so much for this awesome recipe! btw... For people who had flat cookies, invest in a cookie scoop. Not sure if what caused the cookies to be flat, but a cookie scoop makes a perfect cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot and Sour Cabbage Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This stuff is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Crowe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 90) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States