Lexington, South Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cream of Chicken and Gnocchi Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I made this with a few substations (only because I was working with what I had on hand), but I feel the end result was the same. This is a delicious soup, it will definitely go in the recipe box. Only tried and true recipes go in my box. Hubs and I both loved it. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Chicken and Gnocchi Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I made this with a few substations (only because I was working with what I had on hand), but I feel the end result was the same. This is a delicious soup, it will definitely go in the recipe box. Only tried and true recipes go in my box. Hubs and I both loved it. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Habanero Simple Syrup

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
A great addition to our Martini menu! If you like fireballs. .. you will love this simple syrup with Vodka!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Habanero Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Multi use sauce! Creamy and Spicy... love the smokey flavor! Tis Hot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Habanero BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
If you like thick, sweet and Spicy BBQ sauce this recipe is for you! Emphasis on spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Pecan Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made these with my few pecans that i had left ... worried that it would be a waste of precious, rare pecans, ( not a plentiful crop and very expensive in SC this year ) ... I forged on! So glad I did! These cookies are so good and so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Stovetop Green Beans

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
VERY GOOD! I've been asked to make these every time we have a family get together. I've never added the bread crumbs and cheese to the top. We like to eat them right from the pot. Soft and Salty, southern style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Broome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Stuffed Banana Peppers

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Really easy and simple recipe but tastes so good! Was looking for a recipe to use up the last of my garden peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Garlic Mashed Potatoes with Eggplant

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Love the taste of eggplant in the potatoes! Made and tasted per recipe... rated it 5 stars as is! Hubby likes creamy taters, so I did add a little butter and sour cream! Really didnt change the flavor but did change the texture, still a 5 star recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
My first time making banana bread, but not my first time eating it! This was the best banana bread I've ever eaten! So easy to make, I even had my 4 yo grand daughter to help! Fun recipe for the kiddies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Cranberry and Apple Stuffed Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I cut a slit in my chops and brined them for 3 hours before stuffing, searing, and baking. Turned out delicious, hubs and I both loved them. Extremely moist and tasty.Had a touch of juice in pan after baking, just dribbled it over top of chops. This one is a keeper. I will continue to brine beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tilapia Scampi

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I have tried many many Tilapia recipes... this is by far the easiest and tastiest ever! I was so full and wished I had more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Pizza Dough II

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My first try at pizza dough! This turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Followed recipe to the tee! I slightly over cooked it but it still was so so good! Can't give it any less than 5 stars because of my failure at frying! Seved it with garden salad and fried eggplant.... I didn't over cook the eggplant! Thanks John!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Mexi-Quiche

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I used the basic recipe , but incorporated fresh ingredients for the tomatoes and chillies, made my own refried beans and used turkey sausage with mexican spices.... if it was this good from pantry cooking... I've got to make trip to the grocery next time and try the real deal! Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA

Tiffany's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Made these today, turned out great. I used mini chocolate chips (that's what I had), and sprinkled sea salt on top before baking to bring out the flavor. This is a great recipe, will definitely make again. My husband said they were the best chocolate chip cookies he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This is an awesome teriyaki recipe! I had 4 chicken breasts and apple cider vinegar. I reduced the cooking time to 25 minutes total. Also, as the chicken cooled a little and the asparagus baked, I basted and the sauce ended up nice and thick. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I made these pancakes this morning for my daughter and I. We loved them! What a wonderful recipe!! It's even better with 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract or some cinnamon!!! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I originally made this recipe in 2007 by Mary Gecho, which is no longer listed on this site. It is slightly different ingred., mixing inst., and pan prep. I misplaced it and have been using this one which is good, but Mary's is much better. During a recent move I found Mary's; to me the texture of hers is much better. Here it is....3 eggs, 1 cup sugar,2/3 canned pumpkin, 1 tsp lemon juice, 3/4 cup all-purp flour, 2 tsp cinnamon,1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 cup chopped walnuts, 6 oz cream cheese,1 cup conf sugar, 1/4 cup butter, and 1/2 tsp vanilla. the directions are basically the sane except....beat eggs for 3 minutes...beat in sugar for 2 minutes.....grease the wax paper, but don't flour it, it will peel off easily.....bake 12-14 minutes...cool 5 minutes before dumping from pan. Just a hint from me, I have found that if I sprinkle my cake with powdered sugar instead of my towel, it works much better for me. Hope you enjoy. Mary's recipe is moister, to me this one is a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paydirt Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I can't tell you how many times I've made this recipe, they are great. The butter flavored shortening is very important. One time I didn't have any so I used regular, they were good, but not as good with the butter flavor. I am making again today for our family reunion tomorrow. Every time I've made these, I've had many compliments. Who cares if you need the cookie mix, if they're good, that's all that matters. Of yeah, I can't find the mix in the box any longer, so I use the bag one and add a decent dollop additional of peanut butter, still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 90) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States