Greenville, South Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This is our new favorite peach cobbler. I took the advise of another reviewer and made 1 1/2 recipe for the topping. I had a few extra peaches I needed to use so I adjusted the recipe for that also. My husband said why make any other cobbler? And I agree! Finished cooking in exactly 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cndysc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Anna's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I love this recipe, I have tried many different ones and this is the best. I like it because it calls for less flour than some of the other ones and the cookies don't seem like cake. I love cake but not when I want the perfect cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natermoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Better than Bakery Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I've never made cookies that are so easy, the butter flavored shortening adds texture and flavor. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSTAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Excellent recipe. My only change was to NOT cook the peaches ahead of time. I do not like mushy fruit dishes, and by using ripe peaches, slicing thinly, and not baking them first they were absolutely perfect and juicy when the final product came out of the oven. I used a 9x11 pan and had to double the topping because the amount given didn't cover the peaches much at all in that sized pan. Oh darn! LOL It's juicy but not runny and the flavor is wonderful. The topping baked up nicely and had a slight crunch on top from the sugar sprinkled over it. I had some with whipped cream and it was delightful, but I bet ice cream does it proper justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANTABIROSTRIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado, Tomato and Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Tonight I made chicken, refried bean, and cheese quesadillas for the first time, and my husband requested salsa to go with it. So I looked up salsa recipes from the grocery store and jumped on this one. The only thing I changed was to eliminate the cilantro bc we just hate that herb, and eliminate the onion bc I'm just not an onion fan. Next time I'll only use two cloves of garlic bc it was pretty potent for us. But we both LOVED this salsa with our quesadillas and can't wait to use the salsa again tomorrow with more! This was super yummy! Definitely my favorite homemade salsa yet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This recipe was pretty darn close to what I was looking for to make a quick and easy dinner. I used fresh spinach instead of frozen, skipped the chicken broth, added a little wine and a tablespoon of onion and chive cream cheese for a little creaminess. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

MMMMM... Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I added an indeterminate amount of walnuts to the batter and on top just prior to baking. Also, I hand stirred with a whisk, adding the eggs one at a time. If you're baking in a darker pan, either lower the temperature 25 degrees, or bake for less time. These are amazing, and very chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Hockey Pucks

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I've made this before and everyone loved them, but I learned to make them using two cream sides of the Oreo (so the no-cream side was left over). You use double the Oreos but both sides adhere to the PB cup without having to melt it and the symmetry is more pleasing to the eye. That may be just me though...:P Regardless, I use two cream sides of Double Stuf Oreos, one PB cup, then dip it in the chocolate and sprinkle a little something pretty on top. You'll be on a sugar high for hours. I imagine using white chocolate might be pretty spectacular, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANTABIROSTRIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Traditional White Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Amazing, perfect recipe! It raised well, cooked perfectly, and tasted wonderful, all according to the specifications of the recipe, substituting corn oil for the lard. This will become a weekly practice for me. If you save a loaf for the following day, it is more manageable for slicing thinly. On the first day, it's so soft and spongy that the slices come out thicker, still, oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA

Russian Tea Cakes III

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Perfection - I have been baking this very same recipe for over 40 years. For those that need specific directions: mix the softened margarine, sifted confection sugar and vanilla together set aside and mix the flour and salt together, then combine the flour mix with the margarine mixture and stir in the nuts. Continue with step #2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I have made this several times and the only change I make is to add more lemon. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Traditional White Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Amazing, perfect recipe! It raised well, cooked perfectly, and tasted wonderful, all according to the specifications of the recipe, substituting corn oil for the lard. This will become a weekly practice for me. If you save a loaf for the following day, it is more manageable for slicing thinly. On the first day, it's so soft and spongy that the slices come out thicker, still, oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA

Corn Casserole I

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This is a has been a regular during the holiday for the last couple of years - great recipe just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bianchiveloce

Easy Roasted Vegetable Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I omitted the bell pepper and onion in favor of fresh broccoli and baby spinach. All other ingredients remained the same. It was the best lasagna I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bianchiveloce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Mom's Best Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
OH MY GOODNESS! I made this recipe for a family holiday party and everyone LOVED it! I will make this again and again and again....this is my new "go to" pasta salad recipe. Thanks SPIDERELLA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Dry Rub for Ribs

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
If you used smoked paprika instead of regular, and halved the salt, this is a 5 star rub. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ourlilzoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Corn Like No Other

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This corn will have you licking your plate, bowl, spoon, pot and pan! I made this for Thanksgiving for the first time and I believe I've found a winner. Be careful to watch and pay close attention when its cooking! I didnt and ending up scalding the bottom of my pan. I was able to save it though and it was still edible...by far a great recipe and tastes like its homemade straight off the cob! Thanks DIANA YOCKEY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Cranberry Bars

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Amazing! Made recipe as is, using a gluten free cake mix and it was perfect. Not too sweet, not to tart, but just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Oh wow! I love this chili because I love spicy food. This is by far the spiciest chili I've ever made and I loved every bite. Some recipes sacrifice flavor for spicy, but this recipe had both! I accidentally only purchased one can of the diced tomato and green chilies, but it tasted fine with just one. Next time I'll read the recipe more carefully and try it with two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bianchiveloce

Crispy Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I used thin sliced chicken breasts. For my crumbs, I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs and added fresh grated Pecorino Romano cheese to the crumb mixture. I used a jar of marinara sauce and added some sauteed Baby Portobello mushrooms to the sauce mixture. I served with roasted asparagus and roasted Roma tomatoes. It was the first meal I cooked for my girlfriend. She and I both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bianchiveloce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States