Columbia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I have never attempted baking any type of bread product from scratch in my life, now I wonder why. This was very east and turned out very well. I felt it was a little heavy compared to something you would buy in a bakery but heck for a virgin baker it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ky Borgstadt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Saucy Cheese Steak Hoagies

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Not a good combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Mullis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
By far the worst cookies I've ever made. I make cookies all the time and let's be honest, it's hard to mess them up. I have no idea what happened, but I made this exactly as the recipe describes and with high quality organic ingredients. The cookies melted down all into each other and made one giant connected mess across the baking sheet. I had to throw two sheets away because they wouldn't come off. Major bummer. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Original Irish Cream

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
OMG, this is the most delicious thing I ever drank! It's so additive I had to stop making it so often, I put on a couple pounds after discovering this fabulous recipe. I have made it numerous times, as posted, and tweaked various ways. As posted is hands down the best, with the only exception being that it was too strong for me. I didn't want a "shooter" I wanted something to sip. I did cut back on the amount of whiskey, but it's too good to sip. I usually slurp it down. Thank you mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Shipley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I made this last night, for just me, so I halved the recipe. I used feta in place of goat cheese, bc that's what I had on hand. I also added minced garlic and Italian seasoning to the egg mix. I baked the crust for about 20 mins, flipped it over, baked for another 10 mins, topped with caramelized onions and bell peppers, cherry tomatoes (halved),sliced pepperoncini, mozzarella and a light sprinkle of shredded parmesan, then baked for about 6-7 mins or just until cheese is melted. It was wonderful. Using half of the head of cauli, it made a small, personal size pizza, a little more then one serving. Thanks for sharing Chef John. I'm amazed. I had no idea I could do anything like this with Cauli.....who would have thought?? : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Shipley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Great! I added 2 stalks celery chopped fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Ginger Dressing

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Love it exactly as written. I did add a couple cloves more of garlic just because I love garlic but it really isn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolina233

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie Mullis

Cheddar Bacon Hamburgers

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Fell apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Mullis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Healthy Turkey Loaf

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I made this and it was really easy and good.Left out the bell peppers because my family does not eat them, added garlic and oregano. My daughter liked it with ketchup, but it was fine to me without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Sweet Cornbread

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Fabulous. Sweet and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Meatloaf with Cranberry Glaze on the BBQ.

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
My girls beg me once a month for this dish! very taste and filling, cut like a piece of cake and serve with mashed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsnyderp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana-Dulce de Leche Pie (Banana-Caramel Pie)

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Summary: DO NOT BOIL CONDENSED MILK IN WATER. Very dangerous. Buy La Nestle's Lechera Dulce De Leche on Amazon or at your grocery store. Full Story: Caramel tart is very popular in Australia, and is made by boiling the cans. People seriously injured by exploding cans, so companies stated making the caramel in the cans to prevent this from happening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia
Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aljeromeh

Mini Chicken Pot Pies

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Very simple and delicious recipe... Instead of buying canned biscuits, I made my own biscuits using another recipe from this site (Never Fail Biscuit recipe) and added Parmesan cheese to the biscuit dough. Turned out great!!! Definitely adding this to my recipe pile!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aljeromeh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Watercress Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I was out of milk so used fat free 1/2 & 1/2 instead. My watercress was very, very spicy and kind of horseradish flavored but this mellowed in cooking. Very pretty and tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Beef Chimichangas

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This was great! I want to make this again soon! This is a recipe worth making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsdale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Venison Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Fantastic recipe, in my opinion. The red wine adds so much flavor. I wanted more veggies so I added 4 sliced carrots and 3 small diced potatoes. I didn't have tomato sauce so I used a 6 ounce can of tomato paste mixed with 1.5 cups of water. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Very good. The potatoes absorbed the liquid, so I had to add a little more milk, and since I ran out of milk, I used evaporated milk and it still came out tasty. Perfect for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samidancer585

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Nicola May Thompson

Miss Betty's Super Quick Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Great basic idea... I added lots of veggies that I had that needed to be used, as well as a little Tabasco, garlic powder, Natures Season, and Italian Seasoning to spice things up. Like other reviews had said, it was a bit bland before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicola May Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts Pierre

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I want to meet you Nancy! I have read this recipe over & over again and was hesitant about chicken and tomatoes. I finally made this the other day and wow, we were so impressed. My husband is in love with this dish; I think it's his new favorite. Thanks a million for sharing this recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

King Ranch Chicken Casserole III

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I added black beans and did it with mild salsa for the tomatoes and pepper omitted the chicken broth used flour tortillas cut into strips, Mexican cheese, 1 tsp of cumin, 1tsp garlic powder, 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper and it was good my 13 year old loved it but I have high blood pressure and could taste all the salt so I probably won't make again unless it is for an event not in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States