Charleston - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was my first attempt at butternut squash. I roasted it with brussel sprouts and pine nuts. YUM!!! There was none left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATT103

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Delicious and chewy! A near-perfect cookie baked exactly according to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALMETTOMEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
For the first time ever I mastered gravy without having to buy a helper packet thanks to this recipe! Doubled it up for 6 people and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Good flavor, but runny and lumpy. Yes, I sifted both the cocoa and the confectioner's sugar. I added more conf. sugar, a little at a time. It didn't help. I'm sorry, but this one just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALMETTOMEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Food Junkie

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
We just found out our daughter has celiac disease and almost all commercial jerky uses soy sauce with wheat. So we bought a dehydrator and have used this recipe 3 times in three weeks. I cut out the salt totally (there is enough in soy sauce) and cut waaaaaaaay down on the liquid smoke. Awesome recipe! We have at least double the recipe every time with no issue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Junkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
A few years ago I tried this cheesecake as my first ever cheesecake attempt. I failed. I've been jinxed ever since and have FUBARed every cheesecake I try, but today I revisited this recipe and used a few tips I found throughout my cheesecake failures... And... It came out perfect!! I am so relieved and thrilled! Things I did differently this time: -let ingredients come to room temperature, not cold out of the fridge. -Water bath - if you don't know what it is you should google it! -Allow the cake to cool at least 1 hr in the oven, turned off, don't ever open the door! Allow to cool a few more hours on the counter before refrigerating, it won't crack! :) also don't take the spring form off until its cool. Thanks so much for the great recipe I hope my tips can help the other cheesecake novices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Beef for Tacos

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I was skeptical....but this was FANTASTIC! I used Taco Seasoning I from this website and used salsa instead of ketchup. Home run. I will absolutely make this again and recommend it. Omit the water though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Excellent recipe I added a can of Rotel, can of Mexican corn and one can of rinsed black beans. We take the leftovers if any, wrap them in tortillas add a can or two of enchilada sauce, top with whatever shredded cheese we have and bake at 350 for thirty minutes. I actually prefer this over the original
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Early

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yellow Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Love! However, made the dressing with olive oil which was overpowering. So I tried again with vegetable oil but just about 2T instead of 1/4c. It was perfect that way for us. I don't like anything too oily. May want to cut down on amount of pasta if you cut out oil though. Didn't seem that there was enough. Serve chilled and re toss before serving. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kalamata Olive Tapenade

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I made this as part of a trio with homemade roasted red pepper hummus and tzatziki. I also made homemade pita chips, carrots, and celery. It was a huge hit. Absolutely no salt was needed and maybe next time i might quick rinse the olives and capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyplease

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I thought this was an excellent recipe! I followed advice in previous comments by Butterfly Flutterby and they came out amazing. I turned the oven to 225*F and kept them warm while I finished the batch in my cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyplease

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This was really, really good and very easy to make. The only thing I changed was added some crushed red peppers to kick it up a notch but it didn't need it--hubby and I just like the added heat. Thank you for sharing, it's going into my menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Whipped Cream

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I'll never buy Cool whip again! This was so easy to make and the flavor was very good. I followed the suggestion of others and increased the cream to 3/4 cup and reduced the sour cream to 1/4 cup. I also increased the sugar to abt 1/2 cup and it was perfect. of course, i had to stop and keep scraping the sides, but the consistency was perfect for my first time. Will definitely make again. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS 2 REE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Bulgogi

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I love this recipe and so does my boyfriend! I did make some changes based off of other suggestions and my own experience, material on hand etc. I used brown sugar instead of white. I did not have green onion so I used spring onion. I also added rice wine vinegar and I had no sesame seeds. I like more garlic, so I also added another clove. At my local grocery store they sell shaved beef, so that made it a lot easier to put together. Awesome! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyplease

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was spot on! I used crushed tomatoes instead an the consistency was perfect. I used abt 3 cloves of garlic as I love the flavor and I didnt have any white wine on hand, so i used chicken broth. I also used abt 2 tbsp of brown sugar to help with the acidity. This was perfect for my chicken parmigiana and as a dipping sauce for my fried mac and cheese and fried mozzarella sticks. Will definitely make this again. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS 2 REE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Yum! I love the alfredo sauce at the Olive Garden and this is just a good and I can stay home and dunk my bread rolls in it, use as a base for a pizza, or spoon on top of a pasta dish. Very easy to vary the item to suit so many different dishes. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond Streusel-Cherry Cheesecake Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I love anything with marshino cheeries. This was a little time consuming but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
So simple, so good. You can't go wrong with this sauce. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp with Penne and Squash

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Yummy. My husband catches lots of shrimp here in Charleston so I'm always looking for different ways to serve those little critters. This was very, very good and not heavy with cream. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States