Charleston - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Ground Beef for Tacos

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I was skeptical....but this was FANTASTIC! I used Taco Seasoning I from this website and used salsa instead of ketchup. Home run. I will absolutely make this again and recommend it. Omit the water though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Excellent recipe I added a can of Rotel, can of Mexican corn and one can of rinsed black beans. We take the leftovers if any, wrap them in tortillas add a can or two of enchilada sauce, top with whatever shredded cheese we have and bake at 350 for thirty minutes. I actually prefer this over the original
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Early

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yellow Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Love! However, made the dressing with olive oil which was overpowering. So I tried again with vegetable oil but just about 2T instead of 1/4c. It was perfect that way for us. I don't like anything too oily. May want to cut down on amount of pasta if you cut out oil though. Didn't seem that there was enough. Serve chilled and re toss before serving. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kalamata Olive Tapenade

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I made this as part of a trio with homemade roasted red pepper hummus and tzatziki. I also made homemade pita chips, carrots, and celery. It was a huge hit. Absolutely no salt was needed and maybe next time i might quick rinse the olives and capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyplease

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I thought this was an excellent recipe! I followed advice in previous comments by Butterfly Flutterby and they came out amazing. I turned the oven to 225*F and kept them warm while I finished the batch in my cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyplease

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This was really, really good and very easy to make. The only thing I changed was added some crushed red peppers to kick it up a notch but it didn't need it--hubby and I just like the added heat. Thank you for sharing, it's going into my menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Whipped Cream

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I'll never buy Cool whip again! This was so easy to make and the flavor was very good. I followed the suggestion of others and increased the cream to 3/4 cup and reduced the sour cream to 1/4 cup. I also increased the sugar to abt 1/2 cup and it was perfect. of course, i had to stop and keep scraping the sides, but the consistency was perfect for my first time. Will definitely make again. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS 2 REE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Bulgogi

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I love this recipe and so does my boyfriend! I did make some changes based off of other suggestions and my own experience, material on hand etc. I used brown sugar instead of white. I did not have green onion so I used spring onion. I also added rice wine vinegar and I had no sesame seeds. I like more garlic, so I also added another clove. At my local grocery store they sell shaved beef, so that made it a lot easier to put together. Awesome! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyplease

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was spot on! I used crushed tomatoes instead an the consistency was perfect. I used abt 3 cloves of garlic as I love the flavor and I didnt have any white wine on hand, so i used chicken broth. I also used abt 2 tbsp of brown sugar to help with the acidity. This was perfect for my chicken parmigiana and as a dipping sauce for my fried mac and cheese and fried mozzarella sticks. Will definitely make this again. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS 2 REE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Yum! I love the alfredo sauce at the Olive Garden and this is just a good and I can stay home and dunk my bread rolls in it, use as a base for a pizza, or spoon on top of a pasta dish. Very easy to vary the item to suit so many different dishes. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond Streusel-Cherry Cheesecake Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I love anything with marshino cheeries. This was a little time consuming but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
So simple, so good. You can't go wrong with this sauce. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp with Penne and Squash

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Yummy. My husband catches lots of shrimp here in Charleston so I'm always looking for different ways to serve those little critters. This was very, very good and not heavy with cream. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Oh my goodness! Made this last night and it was amazing. I always read the reviews so I did tweak this one. I added green peppers and mushrooms, changed out the plum tomatoes with one can each of the stewed and petite diced. I didn't have much hope of being flavorful but I was wrong. I only used have a box of bowties because we like a lot of sauce...it was like eating a very hearty soup -- yup, I served it in individual bowls. Very, very tasty. My husbands comment was, "I'd even eat this as a leftover." Which is unheard of from him. Simply amazing, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three-Meat Stromboli

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Perfect stromboli. I've been using this recipe for years and always get compliments. Sometimes I use Crescent Rolls, or Pizza Dough, or even the Pillsbury French Bread. The flavors of the meats, cheeses and spices are spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Tomato Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I've often thought a tomato pie would be good because I love tomato sandwiches in the summer and this does not disappoint. I didn't change a thing and it was really, really good. I like to use the big beefsteak tomatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Oh my gosh, so good! And I'm a BIG gravy and sauce gal, but this was off the charts delicious. After reading most the of reviews, I marinated the cubed chicken in Italian dressing while I prepped the rest of the food, added a pinch of crushed red peppers and sauteed mushrooms and it was simply delicious. Even good cold right out of the frig the next day. A definite 'must have' in the arsonal of good meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
OMG, absolutely the best. Don't change a thing just be sure to not overcook. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herbed Dumplings

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Made these with chicken and dumplings recipe on this site and they were great! Definitely took them longer than 15 minutes to rise though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States