Beaufort, South Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sausage-Stuffed Eggplant

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
LOVED IT. I did make 1 mistake. After I grilled the eggplant and sausage (for extra flavor), I scooped out the eggplant, combined all the ingredients as stated and stuffed it into large prebaked Portobello mushroom caps coated in EVOO and lightly salted. I somehow forgot about the eggplant "boats". It was to die for. I had so much filling left after piling two caps full, that I made the same dish the next night using 6 slightly smaller caps. I found that the caps are so dense where the stem is removed, I chose to slice shallow slits at the thickest part so they would bake evenly. Please try this small change of using the caps vs the eggplant shells. No waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Coxwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Yemassee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttery Soft Pretzels

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
These are BETTER than the mall pretzels! And WAY cheaper! This recipe works well for those who have bread makers. Just let the yeast, sugar and water do it's thing for 10 min, then procede as instructed. Then set bread maker to "Dough" cycle. In addition to vegetable oil, I added 3 tablespoons of butter. Some of the pretzels were coated in cinnamon & sugar; garlic powder, course salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning; and course salt! The finished product was AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawntee Hull

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sensational Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I made this tonight and was disappointed in the taste and the dryness of the cake. If I ever try it again I will try it with self rising flour, the baking powder made it taste bitter. It looked beautiful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowcountryJudi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Tips and Noodles

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is your basic beef stroganoff. It's good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

Spinach with Chickpeas and Fresh Dill

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I really liked this recipe, but made slight modifications. I used red onion as it is milder and used dried dill since I didn't have fresh dill. I'd like to try it with fresh dill. I shared it with a friend. Waiting for her opinion.on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Veggie Vegetarian Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I wasn't so crazy about this. It had a lot of spices, but not that spicy. Chili should have a kick to it. I'd add jalapeño or poblano peppers as well next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaetzle and Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Needs: Rosemary, sage, thyme and chicken bouillon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

Baked Sweet Potatoes with Ginger and Honey

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
These were good, but a little too sweet for me. The spices and honey masked the sweetness of sweet potatoes. Also, they stuck to the pan. I'd put foil down if I made them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Honey Pecan Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Fantastic and not too sweet at all. Double the butter and double the honey….. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

Reuben Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I liked the recipe but will add double the corned beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Coxwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Yemassee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Shells III

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
absolutely a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Coxwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Yemassee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Crust for the Bread Machine II

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Great recipe. I tweaked it though. Instead of vegetable oil, I used extra virgin olive oil, added 1 tablespoon of Italian seasoning to the dry flour, and put it in my bread machine. I doubled the recipe and made 1 pepperoni and ham pizza, and a barbecue chicken pizza. (recipe next) -Boil 2 chicken breasts -when done chop up chicken, put in a bowl - add generous amount of barbecue sauce mix together -(optional) mince enough pickled jalapeños to put on pizza (I only put it on half) - top pizza with BBQ chicken, jalapeños and cheese - bake for 20-25min. This recipe is a hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawntee Hull

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta with Kielbasa and Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I thought it was okay but there were way too many noodles. I tried another reviewer's suggestion and added brown sugar to sweeten the sauerkraut. I thought it was okay; My husband and 2 year old HATED it. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melmel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This recipe is amazing. We have never quite figured out what the original recipe author meant by "dry beef gravy mix" so we use brown gravy mix, assuming that's what they meant by beef gravy. The mixture of the gravy mix with the italian and ranch dressing mixes adds flavor to the beef like no other pot roast I have ever tasted. It's amazing! We use baby carrots instead of regular carrots, and we usually add an extra onion and some cubed red potatoes, if there is room in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melmel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made this for my family and we LOVED it, including my picky 2 year old. I substituted the cottage cheese for ricotta cheese, following some other suggestions, and it was delicious. It tasted like an easy spaghetti lasagna. I baked it in a stoneware dish, which crisped the edges (yum). It's great leftover and makes a large amount; however, it is not great frozen and reheated - very dry when reheated. I would not recommend freezing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melmel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made this for my family and we LOVED it, including my picky 2 year old. I substituted the cottage cheese for ricotta cheese, following some other suggestions, and it was delicious. It tasted like an easy spaghetti lasagna. I baked it in a stoneware dish, which crisped the edges (yum). It's great leftover and makes a large amount; however, it is not great frozen and reheated - very dry when reheated. I would not recommend freezing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melmel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Crepes

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Easy and very tasty recipe! They were a bit doughy, but I will sift my flour next time. Nonetheless, I was still happy with the results. As a filling made two small pots of sauce- in each pot add 3-4 tablespoons of sugar 2 tablespoons butter 1/3 cup of heavy cream 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract- On a medium heat stirring constantly (to avoid scorching). When sauce is creamy add two cups of thickly chopped bananas in one pan, and strawberries (halved) in the other. Lower cook temp to low for a 2-3 minutes, then take off the stove. Fill crepes, fold and garnish with whipped cream on top. My family loved them! Alors, bon appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawntee Hull

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Yum!! We put it over pasta, and it was sooooo good! I do recommend a little bit of cornstarch just to thicken it up a bit if you're making this a pasta dish. Other than that, it's fantabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My-Hop Pancakes

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These pancakes are OUTSTANDING. So dang good, they don't even need syrup. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawntee Hull

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gingerbread Cookie Frosting

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Great recipe! It tastes great and does not take long to make. Thank you! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States