South Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Greek Lemon Chicken and Potato Bake

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I was skeptical of the large amount of seasoning in this recipe (I am notorious for under-seasoning), but I followed to a T & WOWZER, soooo good! My 10 yr. old said he'd like to invite his friends over this chicken! YAY! This dish is easy enough for a mid-week dinner, but I can totally see serving this for special occasions, too. My only substitutes were that I did not have enough taters, so I did 1/2 taters, 1/2 baby carrots. Also, had to skip green beans -- didn't have, but will def. try next time! Thank you Chef V!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina B. Cookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Perfect pot pie! Almost identical to the one I've been making for a very long time. Here's a twist on it. Just for a change, I sometimes forget the crust and serve it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folly Beach, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

no-fuss lemon pie

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Uses a blender to mix. Sweet tart pie with a nice thick creamy filling. Great with whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Bailey, North Carolina, USA

Teriyaki Marinade

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Very good!! I used minced garlic instead of garlic powder and added pineapple juice. I let my chicken marinate overnight... Everyone loved it.. Definitely a go to recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aljeromeh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Meatloaf

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
The texture was very unpalatable! My family are meat loaf lover's, but not this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Nolan Azecusky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chappells, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Tinga

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Soo yummy! Easy to add whatever you like to the sauce; I put garlic, a tiny bit of cinnamon and lime juice. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Faye Ortiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Varnville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yellow Squash Casserole

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I used this recipe last night to use up some of my squash in the garden, and I was not disappointed! All I would recommend would be to add a little more cheese (we like it cheesy) and a little less milk (made it just a touch too soupy for our taste). Other than that, wonderful squash recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
This recipe is AWESOME. The only thing that I add is black pepper, minced onion and extra cheese (to taste) to the mixture. It really makes a HUGE difference in flavor!! This is one of my favorites! My husband and daughter can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Sutton Turner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Edgemoor, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Sour Cream Pie

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
A must make. We do not like merigaine- so I made it with cool whip and every bite was eaten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA

Copper Penny

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Super good. I made them exactly as the recipe calls for and my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA

Mexican Street Vendor Style Corn Salad

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
This is delicious and so easy to make. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juiciest Hamburgers Ever

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
This recipe is awesome but with these changes: paprika instead of cayenne and some garlic powder, black pepper and onion powder. Italian bread crumbs. regular whole milk instead of condensed. With this, the burgers were awesome!!! We couldn't wait for them to get done... they smelled so good and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Sutton Turner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Edgemoor, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Pie from Deana

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
classic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaneeramsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Fudge Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Two stars for flavor, but turned out too runny. My only substitution was I used all butter as others had suggested. I don't think I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALMETTOMEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Green Hummus

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Better as a sandwich spread than a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RocK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Iced Coffee

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Great recipe! I really enjoy this either hot or cold, depending on my mood. I'd heard of using condensed milk in coffee but never tried it. Glad I finally did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

Jam Filled Butter Cookies

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I just took the cookies out of the oven, and I cannot stop eating them. I used the plunger from a large baby syringe to make the indentations. I added a pinch of salt , plus vanilla and almond extract. They were quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Southern Biscuits with Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Absolutely delicious. However, I couldn't get the tops of mine to brown at all. I cut them out with a mason jar lid and put them in a small round cake pan instead of cast iron. I had them on the top rack and took them out after only about 10 mins to avoid burning the bottom. They cooked much faster than 20 mins at only 400°, and the bottom was golden but tops were pure white, so not great looking presentation-wise, but the texture inside was perfect! Moist and soft and chewy, not crumbly. I used 2 tbs of olive oil and like I said, delicious! Will try butter next time just for curiosity's sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I followed the recipe as written. However, I had to add just a little bit more milk because the batter was quite thick. My picky preschooler ate five servings. I will make this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Fantastic and easy. I let it rise for an hour or so (since I had the time) and it was wonderful. Very sweet and yeasty flavor. Much easier than the 3.5-hour double-rise pizza I normally make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States