South Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Happy Birthday Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
sadly this came out too thick and not very fluffy. thought I followed directions exactly. egg whites never got stiff perhaps that was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourlittlefeet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Lover's Pound Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I've made this cake and it turned out perfect as it. It was so good. Very moist and very lemony. I will make this again. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyW1205

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennettsville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Long Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA

Peanut Butter and Banana Dog Biscuits

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I used oatmeal instead of the wheat germ because I had plenty on hand. Otherwise, I didn't change the ingredients. My daughter helped me, and the dog gives his stamp of approval.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Asian Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaneeramsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Perfect, fool proof recipe (especially for someone who has never cooked them before.) I plan to comb the reviews to figure out how to determine the perfect amount to pour (some of mine were too small, one overflowed.) But that was my own error. As far as the recipe goes, great taste, consistency and easy to follow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This was nothing special I follow recipe and even did some of the suggested tweaks in other comments. I used 2.5 pound roast and the full amount of spices and the meat just didn't have any Italian flavor to it. It was bland pot roast on bun with good melted cheese. Doubt I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHENKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This is amazing!!! It's exactly what I was looking for -- but BETTER! I followed the recipe exactly but doubled it so it would feed more people. After taste-testing I did add more olive oil and lemon before serving but that was personal preference, it's perfect as written. Enjoy this amazing dish with friends, they'll thank you for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Been making this since last summer. I used thawed frozen blueberries since this is also a winter time treat and quality fresh blueberries are hard to find during the winter season. I also halved the cinnamon as a tablespoon seemed to overwhelm the recipe for my taste. I serve it often to my men's prayer group as it is one of their favorites as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayjwu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This recipe is delicious, but it isn't what you would really expect from salisbury steak. For one thing, if you want enough gravy left over for mashed potatoes, double the gravy. I didn't because I was serving with baked potatoes and the amount of gravy was just right for the steaks themselves. For another thing, this recipe is a little on the sweet side because of the ketchup. I thought it tasted good, but it's not really traditional and may not be your cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

April Fool's Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
This is such a fun idea! I made these for April Fools this year, using Pillsbury Orangesicle frosting for the "cheese" and the Buttermilk Pound Cake II recipe from this site for the bread. That bread is a bit crumbly for this application, but with some careful handling, it still made for a very fun presentation--plus the orangesicle complements plain pound cake perfectly! Highly recommended project for your little ones--mine both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Torte

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
This was such a fun, versatile recipe! I omitted the ricotta, used 3 whole eggs and a little extra parmesan, used a little sauce with the sliced tomatoes and mozzarella with the provolone (didn't have quite enough provolone, only had 2 slices left), and seasoned the whole thing with plenty of garlic salt and pepper. The result was impressive, delicious, and very fun for April Fools!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Pound Cake II

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I LOVE this pound cake! I've made it twice (both times without lemon extract sadly, and I know the cake would have benefited from it) and my only real complaint is that it is a little on the dry/crumbly side. However, it made a perfect base for other things--the first time I made strawberry shortcake with homemade strawberry sauce, and the second time I made faux "grilled cheese sandwiches" with orangesicle frosting, and it worked perfectly as a base for both items. I halved the recipe both times and made it in a 9x5 loaf pan, and it takes about 1 hour 15 minutes at 325 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrdave363

Fire Roasted Tomato and Feta Pasta with Shrimp

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Very quick and easy recipe with tons of flavor. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdave363

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Kimchi (Oi Sobaegi)

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
So simple and so good. Made a couple adjustments since I live in the middle east and a few ingredients aren't available. But still awseome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnalynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N

Southern Potato Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This is a wonderful potato salad recipe. My mom always made hers just like this while I was growing up. I now make it minus the celery and relish (picky kids.) Still turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

Mountain Trail Mix

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I taught this recipe to my group of cub scouts and they all loved it. I replaced the almonds with chex mix and pretzels. Great, versatile recipe for a hiking and camping snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Faith N

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This was a great meal. We omitted the carrots and celery but kept everything else + a little more seasoning. The gravy was a bit thin so we added some flour at the very end and that fixed it right up. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

Mexican Rice III

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
We love this! I saute the onion and pepper with the rice. As recommended by others, instead of the tomato I use a can of petite diced tomatoes with the juice. It is never dry and has great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi Chiles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Lentils with Cheese

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
A great side dish when looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States