Winston Salem - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I too would like to know what is cured lemons and aioli???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannahsgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Tuna Melt (New Jersey Diner Style)

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This IS the tuna salad sandwich that I eat at a deli and crave at home. If anything, I have been enlightened to the benefit of red wine vinegar added to a tuna salad recipe. If you like sweet pickle relish in your tuna salad, it will still work here....I've done it! I do believe rye is the very best bread for a traditional tuna melt. But, I have experimented with other cheeses like cheddar and dill havarti with wonderful results. I also have to say that caramelized onions takes this sandwich to a crazy good level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Roasted Red Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Oh no, no, no. . . . The taste of the sauce was good but both my husband and I did not like the texture of the potatoes. May use the recipe for the mayonnaise mixture but I will definitely boil my potatoes from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Macaroons

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I agree with some of the above reviews, that it seems to have a bit too much liquid, also it's a bit too sweet for my taste. So I think that adding a bit extra of oats should take care of both of those things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinhais, Paraná, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar)

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Love this recipe and I've been using it for a while now! I was wary of the spices at first but now I'd never make this without them. I use a bit less sour cream because I found it too strong the first time around. I also find the baking instruction to be pretty flexible. If I don't have the time, I just pour the chicken or beef broth in the pan, cover it and let them finish cooking. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I found this recipe to be on the right track for the flavors I was looking for...but those flavors were just not bold enough. I doubled the red curry paste, lime juice, and brown sugar. Extra fresh cilantro too. I really appreciated this recipe because it was very simple and it did get me very close to the Tom Kha Gai at my favorite Thai restaurants. I found dried lemongrass in a jar on the Asian aisle and that has worked very well when I can't find fresh. I have learned though, you cannot replace fresh cilantro and fresh lime juice...ever. Thank you so much for sharing this because e I crave this stuff all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Delicious Salmon

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I fixed this salmon for dinner last night. It was so good!! I baked in a 400 degree oven for 15 min. Will cut down to 12 or 13 minutes the next time I make it. The marinade is awesome. I made a second batch of marinade to baste over the salmon before putting in the over and as a sauce to go on the fish while eating. It is delicious but it doesn't overpower the taste of the salmon at all . . . It truly enhances it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookBrooke

Honey Mustard Dressing II

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
For me, this is the classic steak house honey mustard dressing. I make this recipe exactly as written and then add a dash of cayenne pepper for a tiny kick (which everyone can handle). I always serve this with a spinach salad that consists of baby spinach, thin slices of red onion, chopped hearts of palm, tomato, small handful of alfalfa sprouts (they look pretty sitting on top), roasted sunflower seeds, a sprinkle of shredded cheese (usually mozz), and a few croutons for crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Pretzel Turtles

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
you use rolos they are perfect and come out perfect every time. Great little treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannahsgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
missing something. won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta with Tomato Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joe Quinoa

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthy Garden Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
So delicious. Swapped heavy cream for coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Orchard Punch

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Love love love this!! It was a hit at our cookout! Love how there is just enough tartness but still a lot of sweet. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

Sweet Candied Orange and Lemon Peel

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I made mine with tangerine peels. Don't know if that makes a difference but mine were a bit on the bitter side. I scraped off the white pith before I cooked the peels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinhais, Paraná, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Leek and Cheese Quiche

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I added bacon and used a swiss/gruyere blend instead. Delicious and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahlangston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Veggies- Joni's Way

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
NUMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonibooger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Squash and Zucchini Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe is awesome. I am not a squash eater though I do love zucchini. However, I had some of both so I tried this recipe. I steamed the veggies in a microwave steamer for 7 minutes. No excess water that way and the veggies were nice and tender. The only other thing I did was to take some seasoned croutons and made crouton crumbs in the blender. I used those instead of the saltine cracker crumbs and bread crumbs. Otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. Served it with our meal with our friends last night. EVERYONE (including me)loved it. There was none leftover! Only problem with that is that it would have been nice to have had some leftovers for today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Cheddar Homesteader Cornbread

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I liked this recipe because the cornbread held together and didn't fall into crumbles when we buttered the slices. It was just dense enough to be satisfying to bite, and the crust was wonderfully crispy-chewy, especially the parts in contact with the cast iron skillet. I have made this recipe several times now, with and without the jalapenos. I also put less sugar than the recipe calls for, since I'm a South Texan. Five stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoonPie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States