Wilmington, North Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by ToriCooking

Savory Bubble Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Very Good!!! I am still new with my bread machine but this was perfect and easy. I did have to problem with it being sticky, but like others i just put it in flour once I got it out of the machine. I also had to double to spices because my fiance is a fan of lots of flavor. After all of the pieces were in the pan i sprinkled a little bit of shredded parmasen cheese on top of the dish so it would have a cheese top. It was very good, and we will make again. I paired it with Spagetti, so it was delicious to dip into the Sauce. It is a nice change from the traditional Garlic Bread. I am also going to try and make a sweet version from this recipe. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Springtime Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is a lovely salad that I took to a dinner party. Everyone raved! Last night I made it again, leaving out the egg and strawberry and using mixed greens and it was just as wonderful! Great recipe!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Prather Hanley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niwot, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this the exact way it says and it came out amazing! I had never usedmy bread machine before this was a first time for me. So easy and really good. I cut the bread kind of thick and used it for sausage and peppers. My super picky fiance loved it!! ( I tried to put 5 stars but my computer is being weird)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Delish! I didn't use as much Cayenne pepper. For my spice blend I used Old Bay blackened and Tony Chacheres creole seasoning 50/50, about 3-4tsp total. I couldn't get my hands on fresh crawfish here in NC, so I used 16 ct Gulf shrimp... this is just soooo good and I've never had authentic etouffe before, but I'm sure this is hard to beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Ok, never been a fan of red velvet...it's always been so BLAH! It always seems so flavorless. This receipe is different. The chocolate comes through and they are dense and moist. I used the Wilton gel food coloring in the jars, so I had to guess how much to add, but I just kept adding until it looked to be the right color. The cream cheese frosting recipe included is awesome! It's not too cream cheesy or too sweet. I made these and put them in green cup cake liners, then sprinkled red edible glitter on the frosting for our office Christmas party...huge hit! I will only eat this red velvet from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
The BEST pancake recipe I have ever tried! I subbed 1/2 c cake flour for the all purpose. I reduced the salt to 3/4t instead of a whole teaspoon. I sifted the dry ingredients together. Mixed all the wet ingredients and added 2 t of vanilla bean paste. They were a beautiful golden brown color and had the best flavor. Amazing recipe and the holy grail pancake recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Jambalaya

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I had to alter the recipe based on what I had in the pantry. What I ended up with was great. I cut the recipe in half and cut out all seasonings except for the Cajun seasoning. I used one can of Tomatoes with green chilies vs listed one. I also substituted all of the remaining ingredients and the rice for one bag of Spanish rice. I found that the dish was dry so I added the entire can of tomatoes with green chilies (would have called for 1/2 since the recipe was halved) to compensate. Nice recipe, I think I will make again just the way I did tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Sausage Mushroom Quiche

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I should have listened to others when they said there was not enough filling for two pies. Double the ingredients! If you follow the directions then you'll find it needs more egg and cheese. I also skipped the lemon juice because frankly it made no sense. I won't use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Cheeseburger Soup I

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Was definitely a keeper! Did change the chicken broth to beef broth as others suggested. Was easy, delicious, & my picky-eater even enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyp1978

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Yams

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Great basic recipe. Used a larger can of sweet potatoes (yams); I coarsely mashed the yams and added 1/2 of the brown sugar to them, 1 tbsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I put the remainder of the brown sugar on top with the margarine and the marshmallows. I don't like pecans but they would be a good addition to the top also. Baked 15 minutes covered with foil and 15 minutes uncovered to let the marshmallows brown. Make sure you drain the yams or you will have a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was a great apple pie recipe. I had a bag of apples that were going to go bad if they didn't get ate so I decided to make a pie on a whim. I had store bought pie crusts so I used those vs making my own. I had 8 red delicious apples so I used them rather than the granny smith. I followed the recipe but added cinnamon. Instead of just pouring the sugar mixture over the apples I poured 3/4 of it into a mixing bowl and mixed it with the sliced apples thoroughly this way it is evenly distributed over all slices. I then used the remaining mixture to coat the of the apples before applying the top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Made this today for Thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved it! I had to cook it longer than the posted time for the topping to set nicely. I did use two large cans of sweet potatoes to save time. I used my immersion blender to cream the sweet potatoes and evenly distribute the ingredients. Save this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Pecan Pie Bars I

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this yesterday for Thanksgiving dinner. I did make a couple of changes though. I used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar. I also used all butter, no margarine. The bars turned out really good. I would suggest that you scoop some of the filling out so it doesn't run over and cause a mess in the oven, also you may need to lengthen the baking time another 5-10 minutes for the bars to properly set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Cream Cheese Pound Cake I

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I thought the recipe was good. I have made it before and this time was better. My butter, eggs, and cream cheese sat on the kitchen counter all day. I took a great point from another person who said make sure you mix everything well then incorporate the flour instead of mixing it well. I did add lemon flavor and squeezed juice from an orange on top of the hot cake. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This turned out really well. I even made it in a crockpot. I browned the sausages in an oven first, but then everything went into the crockpot till just before serving. At that point I added kale for the spinach and half & half for the heavy cream. I even cheated a bit and wanted the consistancy to be slightly thicker... so I added a bit of instant mash potatoes to thicken the soup just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Gawthrop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Russian Black Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This bread turned out awesome! I don't have a bread machine, so I followed the editor's notes with no problems! I did not have any dark corn syrup, so I substituted 2 tbsp of light corn syrup and 1 tbsp of molasses. I also substituted 1/4 cup of the bread flour for spent grain flour (I'm a home brewer and try not to let anything go to waste!). This bread is great... I plan on using a loaf of it to make rueben patty melts tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Gawthrop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Souffle

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Tastes just like the one served at the big cafeteria restaurant. Sift some powdered sugar on top and you have a near perfect clone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Slow Cooker Chili II

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I loved this recipe but it's a litle bland on it's own. I added extra veggies, more chilli powder, red chilli flakes, can of green chiles, paprika and lots more salt. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romania1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is difficult to rate. I had to make this the day before a party. When I made it I tried a small spoonful of this and thought it was good. After it sat in the fridge (well covered) for a day it was somewhat dried out and didn't seem to taste as good. I tried to add milk to fix the problem but it just didn't seem to help. I will keep this but only make it shortly before a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I didn't have time to make the chips so I bought some (they weren't good). I got mixed reviews on this. Some really liked it and others either didn't or found it just ok. I will keep the recipe but will likely make only a small amount in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States