Wilmington, North Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Bill's Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Made recipe as written except I don't like maple flavored sausage so I stuck with regular Neese's brand. It was delicious; I was a little heavy handed on the salt so added extra pepper and milk to even out the flavor. Next time I'm going to use Neese's Hot country sausage. Will definitely make again... thanks Bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Chef John's Lemon Bars

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I made this today for a cookout and it turned out so ugly that I didn't even put it out. I was curious to see what it tasted like before I threw the entire pan away so I tried a tiny piece. The sides were a little burned and the top appeared to have a crusted over look. All this being said when I tried it, the bar wasn't bad but was extremely sweet. It's hard to rate this one because it didn't turn out looking like any of the photos but for the most part wasn't bad tasting. If I made this again, I would cook it for a little less time and cut back on the sugar by 1/4-1/3. I would probably give a light sprinkle of confectioners sugar over the top to mask the "crusted over" look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Stroganoff

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I usually don't rate recipes unless I prepare them exactly as written but I had to comment on this one. First of all, I was disturbed by the amount of grease this produced and you don't drain it off. I couldn't help myself... I was scooping it off (and this was AFTER the soup, flour, and seasonings were added). Like other reviewers I added some garlic powder and also some beef base. When the sour cream was added I was relieved because the grease was gone and it looked and tasted like stroganoff should. I don't think I'll make this one again but thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Chef John's Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I used chicken thighs for this recipe. It tasted great but is definitely not a recipe for a deep fryer. At 350 degrees the first batch burned after 10 minutes. I put the second batch in for 8 minutes and it looked perfect but neither batch was fully cooked through. Had to microwave them to finish cooking... thank goodness the buttermilk tenderizes the chicken and they didn't dry out. Next time I'll try actually pan frying it although I've never had success with that method. I'll also substitute some hot sauce (Franks, etc) for the cayenne pepper in the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I made these this morning and they turned out great. Some people were saying to use pineapple tidbits so to see which would be better I made half with crushed and half with tidbits. The crushed looked and tasted better by leaps and bounds. Otherwise I made them per the recipe with no alterations of substitutions, which is not like me. Here is my advice - Use parchment paper not wax, they stick worse to wax. Move them to a cool place in the kitchen both before and after inverting them, they easily get "sticky" on the bottom (cake side). I found that 20 minutes was not enough so I went about 24 to get them done. I also found it was a pain trying to push down the pineapple while keeping the cherry in the middle and covering the bottom completely. Put the pineapple down and then push the cherry through and down to the bottom to make this a ton easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Good base but needs changes. I made this today and followed the recipe to the T. I read the suggestions but figured I'd give it a go the way it was written. I wish I would have listened to the other reviews. First off DOUBLE THE CRUST! The amount of crust called for in the recipe is just not enough. I am going to make this again and next time split the white sugar with brown sugar as well as sprinkling brown sugar over top of the lattice work, this should make a huge difference. Depending on the temp of your kitchen you may want to chill the dough a little longer, I had been cooking for a while and before I could finish working with the dough it had already started becoming "sticky" and hard to work with due to the temp. This recipe also needs more peaches. I put in the 3lbs it called for but wish I would have added more like others said. This time it turned out a little on the runny side so next time I will do closer to 4 lbs. Lastly I think this would be better cooked in a 8x11 pan vs 9x13. The 9x13 just seems too big for the amount (even if you added an extra lb of peaches) of cobbler. I'll use my 8x11 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Chocolate Ganache

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This really saved my flourless chocolate cake for a dinner party. I had burned the top and cut away the black crusty parts, then poured the ganache over top, then place pecan halves in a circle around the periphery of the cake. It was wonderful and I was even asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Prather Hanley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niwot, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was a great recipe. I didn't have Lamb and shallots so I used Chicken breast and left out the shallots. I didn't have Thyme so I subbed Marjoram. I took others advice and omitted the salt which I am happy I did. Other than those small changes I followed the recipe but did find that I needed more time to reduce the vinegar down. Make sure you leave the spices on long enough to absorb them all. For those who say this has a vinegary taste, it's because you aren't giving the sauce long enough to properly reduce. I already had a higher end vinegar so I don't know if using a cheaper one would really make a difference, maybe maybe not. I was happy with the sauce but I can also see adding some cornstarch to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Beef Enchiladas II

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Nice and easy to make. I made some adjustments based on what I had and what my family likes. I only had 6 tortillas so I stuffed them and used toothpicks to hold them together while they cooked. I didn't have olives or onions so I omitted them. I had a jar of Old El Paso Taco sauce so I used that for the bottom coating and on top of them as well. I used taco seasoning in my meat and liberally coated the top with Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Super Moist Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is a good base recipe. Make sure when you go to add the soup and milk/cream that you drain the oil from the pan well. Just like others, I like to season and brown my meat beforehand. Be careful though, this can be a very rich dish so potatoes or noodles underneath will be helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I tried it once. Hahaha the first time didn't make it. But now, WOW, the second time around .... it is sooooo delicious. I'm making a loaf for my neighbors. There will never be store bought bread in my home ever again. Thank you for the wonderful recipe. Keep more of them going for us ,bread making southern belle's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by picasolewis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Steak Subs

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Not bad. I made this tonight using red and green peppers. I only marinaded the meat 30 minutes per the recipe (I didn't have longer) so it's likely the strips would have been more flavorful with more time. The taste overall was nice but the dish came across bland. I added some more salt and it helped but additional spices may need to be added per your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Javi's Really Real Mexican Ceviche

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Made this tonight and it turned out well. I found that this needed more lemon/lime in order to "cook" and as some other reviews have mentioned it needed quite a bit longer before it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This recipe was super easy and super yummy. My 12 year old daughter made the cookies herself. We did however adjust the cookie size to large tablespoon drops and reduced the baking time to 8 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubypeaches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Gravy III

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe, it is the same way i've been making B&G my whole life, except for the way you mix in the flour, mixing in the flour this way is great. I used to struggle to make lump free gravy. love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jimmy Dean Sausage Cheese Balls

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and even placed the balls on a broiling pan like others suggested. The balls came out greasy and bland. Only 3 balls of the entire batch got ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
The cookie itself tastes good but I have had to fight with it the last 4 times I have made it. I bake all the time and of all the cookies I made this Christmas, this is the only one that just not work right. The cooking time is way off. I need a minimum of 20 minutes at 350 for them to set and not be raw on the inside. I tried smaller cookies and larger cookies somewhat flattened. I just pulled my 4th batch out which took close around 18 minutes and we'll see how these turn out. I did omit the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Eggnog Quick Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I added an extra half cup of eggnog and 2 tsps. of bourbon instead of rum. It has great flavor, but still seems a bit dry - which is crazy because the batter seemed too wet. I am wrapping it in wax paper for a day or two and see if that helps with the moisture thing. It is delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubypeaches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Like most other reviewers, I also baked at 350F for 9 minutes. They turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubypeaches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttery Soft Pretzels

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
These pretzels surprised me. I didn't expect them to be as good as they were. I had to make a couple of adjustments but have made 4 batches and now have it down. I boil the water with baking soda and cook at 425 which makes a huge difference. I butter and salt them to taste and you should too. They're not Auntie Anne's but pretty dang close and hard to resist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States