Wilmington, North Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Ok, never been a fan of red velvet...it's always been so BLAH! It always seems so flavorless. This receipe is different. The chocolate comes through and they are dense and moist. I used the Wilton gel food coloring in the jars, so I had to guess how much to add, but I just kept adding until it looked to be the right color. The cream cheese frosting recipe included is awesome! It's not too cream cheesy or too sweet. I made these and put them in green cup cake liners, then sprinkled red edible glitter on the frosting for our office Christmas party...huge hit! I will only eat this red velvet from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
The BEST pancake recipe I have ever tried! I subbed 1/2 c cake flour for the all purpose. I reduced the salt to 3/4t instead of a whole teaspoon. I sifted the dry ingredients together. Mixed all the wet ingredients and added 2 t of vanilla bean paste. They were a beautiful golden brown color and had the best flavor. Amazing recipe and the holy grail pancake recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Cheeseburger Soup I

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Was definitely a keeper! Did change the chicken broth to beef broth as others suggested. Was easy, delicious, & my picky-eater even enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyp1978

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Yams

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Great basic recipe. Used a larger can of sweet potatoes (yams); I coarsely mashed the yams and added 1/2 of the brown sugar to them, 1 tbsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I put the remainder of the brown sugar on top with the margarine and the marshmallows. I don't like pecans but they would be a good addition to the top also. Baked 15 minutes covered with foil and 15 minutes uncovered to let the marshmallows brown. Make sure you drain the yams or you will have a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Pound Cake I

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I thought the recipe was good. I have made it before and this time was better. My butter, eggs, and cream cheese sat on the kitchen counter all day. I took a great point from another person who said make sure you mix everything well then incorporate the flour instead of mixing it well. I did add lemon flavor and squeezed juice from an orange on top of the hot cake. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This turned out really well. I even made it in a crockpot. I browned the sausages in an oven first, but then everything went into the crockpot till just before serving. At that point I added kale for the spinach and half & half for the heavy cream. I even cheated a bit and wanted the consistancy to be slightly thicker... so I added a bit of instant mash potatoes to thicken the soup just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubypeaches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Russian Black Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This bread turned out awesome! I don't have a bread machine, so I followed the editor's notes with no problems! I did not have any dark corn syrup, so I substituted 2 tbsp of light corn syrup and 1 tbsp of molasses. I also substituted 1/4 cup of the bread flour for spent grain flour (I'm a home brewer and try not to let anything go to waste!). This bread is great... I plan on using a loaf of it to make rueben patty melts tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubypeaches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Souffle

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Tastes just like the one served at the big cafeteria restaurant. Sift some powdered sugar on top and you have a near perfect clone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Slow Cooker Chili II

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I loved this recipe but it's a litle bland on it's own. I added extra veggies, more chilli powder, red chilli flakes, can of green chiles, paprika and lots more salt. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romania1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Oatmeal Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
After juicing 4lbs of carrots I had tons of carrot pulp and went looking for recipes. This is my new favorite carrot muffin recipe!!! I ate the batter straight out of the bowl, raw eggs and all! I omitted the cream cheese centers and replaced the oil with applesauce (reduces the fat). It's sweet and cinnamon-y, which we love at our house. I look forward to trying this same recipe with pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was really good! I pan fried the meatballs which turned out great. I also added more pineapple than called for, just because I like a bit of pineapple with every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Ranch Broiled Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Marinated for almost 24 hours and it had wonderful flavor. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy Zoe Gabriele

Janine's Best Banana Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
i have them made before ,,,for make extra for the road trp for the family and neighbor abt 10 of them ... they think i'm crazy make them lol,, best hoilday breakfast , so easy and best one ever to make.. , and also, I add cinnamon on the top to swirl it yum,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Zoe Gabriele

Cooking Level: Expert

The Best Banana Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
is was just great.. i add cinnamon to the top and swirl it smell so good thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Zoe Gabriele

Cooking Level: Expert

Grilled Zucchini II

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
My first time making chocolate frosting was for a friend's birthday cake. It turned out perfect using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Delicious and easy! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alice Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Delicious! I used Gouda because that's what I had on hand and it was great with that as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's® Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I add sliced almonds generously. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
SOOO good. I add a couple cloves of minced garlic and about an hour before we eat, I throw in some sliced onion. Serve it on a nice crusty roll, toasted with butter and garlic...this is a staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States