Wilmington, North Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
OK, I haven't made lasagna in years. The stuff I used to make was icky and the noodles were uncooked. Made this recipe last night and the family raved over it. My only question: where is the garlic??? Yes, I cheated and tossed in a couple cloves of minced garlic... anyhow, my aching hands from grating cheese were totally worth it and this will be my go to recipe! As always John, your recipe was phenomenal. I'm trying the maple-brined pork loin next! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Chinese Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
These weren't bad I cooked mine at 425 for 25 min. I marinated the pork overnight. 6-8 hours isn't long enough. They turned out tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Chicken Pot Pie III

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This is certainly a keeper. I followed the advice of others and used 2 cans of potato soup vs 1 can of potato and half a can of celery. I diced and sauteed the chicken and used 2 cups of canned vsfrozen veggies. This tastes great but even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Frosted Banana Bars

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
The bars were edible but just didn't taste good. I made them per the recipe and used cream cheese frosting but they weren't to anyone's liking. I think brown instead of white sugar along with some cinnamon might make this better. Using a semi-sweet and fluffy chocolate frosting would probably have worked better than the cream cheese. Lastly the cook time is too short, I needed another 8-10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I have to say I am impressed. I will make this one again. I tried to follow the recipe as best I could but I had to use what I had which was Cilantro vs coriander, half and half instead of whipping cream and i had to reduce tomatoes down to make tomato paste. The taste was good but next time I think I will double the sauce (It wasn't saucy like what you get at an Indian restaurant), add a good bit more salt, and cut out the chillies. The dish turned out very spicy and although I can handle spicy and I ate it my mouth was burning throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Chicken Shwarma

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This wasn't bad and was pretty quick to make. I do reccommend cutting back on the malsala some and add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This turned out pretty good. I would reccomend doubling the "sauce" and adding more salt. You could also cut back on theflour some by 1/3, I ended up having way more than needed.. A little more garlic and/or oregano would be fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Fajita Marinade I

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This was absolutely horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Chicken Tortilla Soup II

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was pretty good as a base but bland even though it had an excess of spice. I had to add some things to make it to my liking. I added the rest of the container of Chicken broth (normal sized Swanson container) a Chicken bullion cube, a little extra salt, extra Cilantro base (the kind in the jar), extra juice from a jar of minced garlic and a pinch more chili powder. It tasted pretty good but had way too many "spices" even after adding extra broth. I would suggest finding a way to cut back on the content of spices without loosing flavor, you'll have to do this by taste. If you don't you'll find yourself half chocking and coughing on the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Quick Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Try using corn starch instead of flour, or Wondra works well, too. It's lighter, clumps less, and combines easily with other dry ingredients. It's a great starter recipe that anyone can change to their liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Les

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb Roasted Pork

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was a great base recipe. I made this twice, the first time as the recipe was written but found it too sweet. The second time I made it I cut the sugar back to two-thirds of what was called for while I mixed white and brown sugar. In addition I added minced onion extra garlic and crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
The pie has a great taste but the cook time is way off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Apple Crumb Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
The pie wasn't bad. I read the reviews and took the advice of others that I should double the crumb topping, I wish I wouldn't have. I used red apples so I cut back on the sugar but it was still too sweet (even when you scrapped most of the crumb topping off. I also think this pie would be better using 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar or all brown. You will also need to add an additional 5-10 minutes of cooking time. Like many others have stated the pie will be somewhat watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Teriyaki Marinade and Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
The rice wine vinegar overpowered the sauce even after I all but doubled the sugar and honey. I'll have to keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Easy Chicken Posole

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This is so easy! I've been to lots of Mexican parties and eaten posole and this tastes exactly the same. My husband is from Mexico and he is hard to please when it comes to making authentic Mexican dishes. He loved this and it has become a regular in our dinner rotation. The only thing I do differently is to use chicken thighs (the dark meat has more flavor) and I reduce the chili powder. I boil the thighs, then remove them when they are done, pour the remaining liquid through a strainer and save the broth. I add it back where the recipe calls for it, adding more water and some chicken bouillon if needed. I don't want it too spicy because of the kiddos so usually one, maybe two tablespoons of chili powder is sufficient. Also, I'm usually in a hurry so I've never let it simmer 90 minutes. Maybe 20 max. We garnish with chopped radishes, lettuce, fresh squeezed lime, and sometimes crushed tostadas. One of my favorite meals, and easy and quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I don't make this very often because I can't stop eating it. I don't usually like peanut butter but this stuff is addicting! And it is so easy to prepare so I have to make extra efforts to control myself and not give into making it whenever I need a sugar fix. Recipe is great as is, but I have been in a bind and had to use canola oil instead of butter and it tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I've made this recipe many times and it is always perfect. Moist and delicious and not overly sweet. I originally used this recipe because I was given a huge bag of sweet potatoes and was looking for recipes I could use them in. Now I buy sweet potatoes just to make this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spiced Raisin Mini Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I've been using this recipe for years and they are one of my son's favorite breakfasts– he always requests it when I ask him what he wants. I have never used a pot, just mix all wet ingredients in a bowl, and add the combined dry ingredients to it, they turn out just fine. Also, I've never done mini muffins. I just make regular size and it takes 16-17 minutes in the oven. I used nutmeg instead of cloves for a long time, but I've tried the cloves and they are great as well. Also, I've used half white, half whole wheat flour and half white, half brown sugar and they were wonderful so I usually do it that way now. I've never used the glaze and they are delicious without it. I usually double the recipe and they are still gone in a day. My kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Duper Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This recipe, as written, is delicious! Dummy here forgot to add the parsley at the end but it didn't detract any from the flavor. So I have a nice bunch of fresh parsley hanging out in the fridge... maybe I'll dress up the oven roasted potatoes I'm making tonight with them. Great job cwmom98! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Easy Corn Salsa

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
It was fast and easy, the only thing I added was tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States