Wilmington, North Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Chicken Posole

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This is so easy! I've been to lots of Mexican parties and eaten posole and this tastes exactly the same. My husband is from Mexico and he is hard to please when it comes to making authentic Mexican dishes. He loved this and it has become a regular in our dinner rotation. The only thing I do differently is to use chicken thighs (the dark meat has more flavor) and I reduce the chili powder. I boil the thighs, then remove them when they are done, pour the remaining liquid through a strainer and save the broth. I add it back where the recipe calls for it, adding more water and some chicken bouillon if needed. I don't want it too spicy because of the kiddos so usually one, maybe two tablespoons of chili powder is sufficient. Also, I'm usually in a hurry so I've never let it simmer 90 minutes. Maybe 20 max. We garnish with chopped radishes, lettuce, fresh squeezed lime, and sometimes crushed tostadas. One of my favorite meals, and easy and quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I don't make this very often because I can't stop eating it. I don't usually like peanut butter but this stuff is addicting! And it is so easy to prepare so I have to make extra efforts to control myself and not give into making it whenever I need a sugar fix. Recipe is great as is, but I have been in a bind and had to use canola oil instead of butter and it tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I've made this recipe many times and it is always perfect. Moist and delicious and not overly sweet. I originally used this recipe because I was given a huge bag of sweet potatoes and was looking for recipes I could use them in. Now I buy sweet potatoes just to make this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spiced Raisin Mini Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I've been using this recipe for years and they are one of my son's favorite breakfasts– he always requests it when I ask him what he wants. I have never used a pot, just mix all wet ingredients in a bowl, and add the combined dry ingredients to it, they turn out just fine. Also, I've never done mini muffins. I just make regular size and it takes 16-17 minutes in the oven. I used nutmeg instead of cloves for a long time, but I've tried the cloves and they are great as well. Also, I've used half white, half whole wheat flour and half white, half brown sugar and they were wonderful so I usually do it that way now. I've never used the glaze and they are delicious without it. I usually double the recipe and they are still gone in a day. My kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This is not a good recipe for enchiladas. This is a great recipe for soggy burritos. For something similar, but less soggy and tastier, check out the recipe for burrito pie! Enchiladas are made with corn tortillas, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Davis-Hilbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burrito Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Absolutely delicious as is! No need to change a thing. My husband and kids love it. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Davis-Hilbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Duper Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This recipe, as written, is delicious! Dummy here forgot to add the parsley at the end but it didn't detract any from the flavor. So I have a nice bunch of fresh parsley hanging out in the fridge... maybe I'll dress up the oven roasted potatoes I'm making tonight with them. Great job cwmom98! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Easy Corn Salsa

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
It was fast and easy, the only thing I added was tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Autumn Apple Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I just found this to be awful. Maybe it was the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chili

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This wasn't good. First off it calls for way too much cheese! I started with 8 ounces and I'm glad I did. Even with 8 ounces it tasted like beans in cheese soup. To offset this I added a 3rd can of beans and another 3/4 cup of corn. I also added cumin, cilantro, salt and pepper. Only after adding all of the ingredients and even a little extra water it still tasted like beans in a cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Teriyaki Marinade with Ginger and Garlic

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Terrific flavor and meat tenderness was achieved by using this marinade. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bill's Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Made recipe as written except I don't like maple flavored sausage so I stuck with regular Neese's brand. It was delicious; I was a little heavy handed on the salt so added extra pepper and milk to even out the flavor. Next time I'm going to use Neese's Hot country sausage. Will definitely make again... thanks Bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Chef John's Lemon Bars

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I made this today for a cookout and it turned out so ugly that I didn't even put it out. I was curious to see what it tasted like before I threw the entire pan away so I tried a tiny piece. The sides were a little burned and the top appeared to have a crusted over look. All this being said when I tried it, the bar wasn't bad but was extremely sweet. It's hard to rate this one because it didn't turn out looking like any of the photos but for the most part wasn't bad tasting. If I made this again, I would cook it for a little less time and cut back on the sugar by 1/4-1/3. I would probably give a light sprinkle of confectioners sugar over the top to mask the "crusted over" look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Stroganoff

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I usually don't rate recipes unless I prepare them exactly as written but I had to comment on this one. First of all, I was disturbed by the amount of grease this produced and you don't drain it off. I couldn't help myself... I was scooping it off (and this was AFTER the soup, flour, and seasonings were added). Like other reviewers I added some garlic powder and also some beef base. When the sour cream was added I was relieved because the grease was gone and it looked and tasted like stroganoff should. I don't think I'll make this one again but thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Chef John's Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I used chicken thighs for this recipe. It tasted great but is definitely not a recipe for a deep fryer. At 350 degrees the first batch burned after 10 minutes. I put the second batch in for 8 minutes and it looked perfect but neither batch was fully cooked through. Had to microwave them to finish cooking... thank goodness the buttermilk tenderizes the chicken and they didn't dry out. Next time I'll try actually pan frying it although I've never had success with that method. I'll also substitute some hot sauce (Franks, etc) for the cayenne pepper in the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I made these this morning and they turned out great. Some people were saying to use pineapple tidbits so to see which would be better I made half with crushed and half with tidbits. The crushed looked and tasted better by leaps and bounds. Otherwise I made them per the recipe with no alterations of substitutions, which is not like me. Here is my advice - Use parchment paper not wax, they stick worse to wax. Move them to a cool place in the kitchen both before and after inverting them, they easily get "sticky" on the bottom (cake side). I found that 20 minutes was not enough so I went about 24 to get them done. I also found it was a pain trying to push down the pineapple while keeping the cherry in the middle and covering the bottom completely. Put the pineapple down and then push the cherry through and down to the bottom to make this a ton easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Good base but needs changes. I made this today and followed the recipe to the T. I read the suggestions but figured I'd give it a go the way it was written. I wish I would have listened to the other reviews. First off DOUBLE THE CRUST! The amount of crust called for in the recipe is just not enough. I am going to make this again and next time split the white sugar with brown sugar as well as sprinkling brown sugar over top of the lattice work, this should make a huge difference. Depending on the temp of your kitchen you may want to chill the dough a little longer, I had been cooking for a while and before I could finish working with the dough it had already started becoming "sticky" and hard to work with due to the temp. This recipe also needs more peaches. I put in the 3lbs it called for but wish I would have added more like others said. This time it turned out a little on the runny side so next time I will do closer to 4 lbs. Lastly I think this would be better cooked in a 8x11 pan vs 9x13. The 9x13 just seems too big for the amount (even if you added an extra lb of peaches) of cobbler. I'll use my 8x11 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Chocolate Ganache

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This really saved my flourless chocolate cake for a dinner party. I had burned the top and cut away the black crusty parts, then poured the ganache over top, then place pecan halves in a circle around the periphery of the cake. It was wonderful and I was even asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Prather Hanley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niwot, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was a great recipe. I didn't have Lamb and shallots so I used Chicken breast and left out the shallots. I didn't have Thyme so I subbed Marjoram. I took others advice and omitted the salt which I am happy I did. Other than those small changes I followed the recipe but did find that I needed more time to reduce the vinegar down. Make sure you leave the spices on long enough to absorb them all. For those who say this has a vinegary taste, it's because you aren't giving the sauce long enough to properly reduce. I already had a higher end vinegar so I don't know if using a cheaper one would really make a difference, maybe maybe not. I was happy with the sauce but I can also see adding some cornstarch to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Beef Enchiladas II

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Nice and easy to make. I made some adjustments based on what I had and what my family likes. I only had 6 tortillas so I stuffed them and used toothpicks to hold them together while they cooked. I didn't have olives or onions so I omitted them. I had a jar of Old El Paso Taco sauce so I used that for the bottom coating and on top of them as well. I used taco seasoning in my meat and liberally coated the top with Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States