Wilmington, North Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pizza Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This was a decent base recipe. First and foremost as some reviewers have said, the cheese will solidify and so I highly suggest mixing it in and then sprinkling grated Parmesan cheese over it all. This also needs salt and some seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Cuban Ropa Vieja

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This wasn't bad but it is missing something. It's flavorful (juicy etc) but not seasoned too well. I will keep the recipe and play around with the spices some. I had to add garlic (like many suggested) and a TON of salt. I followed the recipe as it was written but added a little minced onion rather than regular onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Greek Pasta Salad I

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This turned out pretty good. I do recommend increasing the dressing to about 1 1/2 what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Spinach and Feta Pita Bake

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
My husband really loved these! I did change some things based on what I had on hand. I had flat breads which are slightly thinner and smaller than pitas so I used 8. Sure enough he complained it needed more bread. Just to be safe I will cut back on the pesto a tiny bit next time. I also used about somewhere between 1/3 and 1/2 a bag of spinach, not sure what would equal a bunch but he wanted more on them next time. I had cherry tomatoes so I cut them in half. I did add some Kalamata Olives, extra Parmesan, Salt and Italian seasoning on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Tzatziki Sauce I

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was good. I'll make it again but will cut back on the dill by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Laura's Lemon Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This is recipe is a keeper. I made it per the recipe but had to cut it in half and had to sub the dill for celery seed and rosemary. I suggest that you flip the potatoes half way through and check on them around 18-20 minutes. I cooked them for 22 and feel that they would have been better if they were pulled out earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Roasted Greek Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This was really nice. I made it with a greek pasta salad and was happy with the pairing. My only complaint is that there was a little too much lemon and a not quite enough salt. I would cut back to 3 lemons. Instead of rubbing down the chicken and then applying the "marinade" I put it all in a large mixing bowl and stirred to coat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This recipe deserves all five stars! These were the best "Homemade" wings I have ever had even though I was a little short on the sauce. I followed other reviewers advice and kept them in the fridge the whole 90 minutes. I do recommend rolling each one in the "batter" individually to get a nice through even coating, at first I tried sprinkling it over top like the recipe says but you don't get the entire wing coated. The only change I made was to use minced garlic vs the powder. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
These were good. They did need more salt and spices though. Overall it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Corn Fritters

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
These didn't turn out as good as I was hoping but not bad either. My biggest complaint is the grease. These came out VERY greasy. Some of it may have been my fault because I used cream style corn. I'll give these another try with regular corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Onion Rings

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
These were pretty good considering there weren't many ingredients. I added salt, pepper and a sprinkle of Mrs. Dash. My batter didn't come out as thick as some of the pictures but my husband likes them and the coating has a good texture/taste. Once cooked leave them uncovered or they will get soggy. I made the mistake of putting mine in a covered warming pan and they got "soft". We ate some beforehand so we knew how good they really were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Carnitas Filling

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
These weren't too bad. I made them for my guys and they liked them a good bit. The only two complaints I had were that the tomatoes did not stew down enough even though they were diced small and that they were a little too spicy (not too much just a hair more than I like). I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Creamy Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I made this last night and the taste is pretty good. I took the advice of others and mixed the filling for 15 minutes but still it had some lumps. I think next time I make this I'll leave the cheese out until it's not just soft but room temperature. It needed more time so I baked it for 33-35 minutes and then turned the stove off leaving it until the oven cooled. Lastly I cut back on the sugar per another's review and I would have to say 2/3 cup is a good amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Took other reviewers recommendations and sauteed the onion with a couple cloves of minced garlic; used seasoned bread crumbs and added the Worcestershire sauce. I used the 5x9 loaf pan as indicated in the recipe and after 1 hour at 350 degrees it was still red inside. I ended up adding an additional 30 minutes to the posted cooking time. Tasted OK... hoping it firms up in the fridge overnight so I can get a decent sandwich out of it tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Chef John's Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
OK, I haven't made lasagna in years. The stuff I used to make was icky and the noodles were uncooked. Made this recipe last night and the family raved over it. My only question: where is the garlic??? Yes, I cheated and tossed in a couple cloves of minced garlic... anyhow, my aching hands from grating cheese were totally worth it and this will be my go to recipe! As always John, your recipe was phenomenal. I'm trying the maple-brined pork loin next! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Chinese Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
These weren't bad I cooked mine at 425 for 25 min. I marinated the pork overnight. 6-8 hours isn't long enough. They turned out tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Chicken Pot Pie III

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This is certainly a keeper. I followed the advice of others and used 2 cans of potato soup vs 1 can of potato and half a can of celery. I diced and sauteed the chicken and used 2 cups of canned vsfrozen veggies. This tastes great but even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Frosted Banana Bars

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
The bars were edible but just didn't taste good. I made them per the recipe and used cream cheese frosting but they weren't to anyone's liking. I think brown instead of white sugar along with some cinnamon might make this better. Using a semi-sweet and fluffy chocolate frosting would probably have worked better than the cream cheese. Lastly the cook time is too short, I needed another 8-10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I have to say I am impressed. I will make this one again. I tried to follow the recipe as best I could but I had to use what I had which was Cilantro vs coriander, half and half instead of whipping cream and i had to reduce tomatoes down to make tomato paste. The taste was good but next time I think I will double the sauce (It wasn't saucy like what you get at an Indian restaurant), add a good bit more salt, and cut out the chillies. The dish turned out very spicy and although I can handle spicy and I ate it my mouth was burning throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Chicken Shwarma

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This wasn't bad and was pretty quick to make. I do reccommend cutting back on the malsala some and add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States