Raleigh - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Good and simple recipe, but the key to any kind of meat dish in the crock pot is to brown it first on all sides. I realize that it messes up another pot and defeats the purpose of using a slow cooker somewhat, but there's no other way to get that brown color and flavor on the meat. I did omit the Ranch dressing mix to cut down on the sodium and added some celery and small potatoes to the pot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Really enjoyed. Dressing was great. Put ingredients in a mason jar and shook vigorously to emusify. A lot of prep time cutting and chopping, but very good in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caribbean Chicken with Pineapple-Cilantro Rice

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
*I AM ONLY RATING THE RICE* Used the rice recipe to accompany some carribean marinated shrimp on the grill. Had high hopes for the rice but it was just ok. Nothing to write home about. Will keep looking for a different carribean rice recipe for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb-Glazed Roasted Turkey

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I am just rating the glaze as I did not follow the whole recipe for cooking the turkey. *Loved the glaze. Did use 1/2 honey and 1/2 pure maple syrup as others suggested, and poultry seasoning in lieu of other herbs. The drippings will come out darker than normal which will affect the color of your gravy but we didn't mind that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey 'n Stuffing Bake

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Pretty good. Had leftover turkey, dressing and gravy. Used cream of mushroom soup since it's what I had on hand, and replaced milk with leftover turkey gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Cobbler IV

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Great basic recipe and easy to prepare. I do agree that 2 cans of peaches are needed though * My modifications on subsequent preparations: drain peaches, use 1/2 cup of the syrup to replace 1/2 cup of the milk in the batter. Pour remaining syrup over entire thing before baking. I used reduced sugar peaches and couldn't tell any difference. ** Consider this: adding 1/4 tsp Almond extract to batter mixture and topping it with sliced almonds and light sprinking of sugar. The subtle almond flavor is fabulous with the peaches and takes this humble dessert over the top. Must serve warm with ice cream ( to cut the sweetness- LOL).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Collard Greens

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Left out salt pork (not neccessary) and used a leftover Honey-baked ham bone. Wonderful. Did not need the sugar because the ham bone added enough sweetness. I think using chicken "stock" and not chicken "broth" also made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Grits Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I halved the recipe to decrease the portion size, except did use almost the whole pound of sausauge. Only mixed one raw egg into the grits to help them set-up. The rest of the eggs I scrambled separately (be sure to season them with salt and pepper). I layered half the grits in bottom of a large oval slow cooker. Added layer of cooked sausage, layer of scrambled egg, layered rest of grits and topped with the cheese. Left in slow cooker on low for 20 mins or so for the raw egg in the grits to cook and set-up. I was very pleased with the result. Putting it all in a crock-pot was key to keeping the grits nice and creamy, and would work well for a brunch buffet, or if everyone can't sit down and eat together right when it comes out of the oven. Otherwise the grits will get cold and yucky. Layering the ingredients makes it look more like the above picture, and we liked being able to actually taste cooked scramble egg in the casserole. If not the egg just dissapears when you mix it raw into the grits. *Note- you must heavily salt the water when it comes to a boil before adding your grits! Otherwise, you will never get them salty enough. Taste them before building your casserole. They need to taste good on their own too. Only drawback to this recipe is the number of pots and pans that you have to dirty :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Orange Chicken Wing Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
We just did not care for orange flavored chicken wings. Sauce seemed more appropriate for a beef stir-fry maybe, with lots of other chinese vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Peel Beef

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
The marinade needs some work. 1 tbsp of soy sauce is not enough to flavor 1.5 lbs of beef. Next time would think about increasing soy sauce, and maybe adding some chopped garlic and ginger to marinade as well. Rest of recipe was pretty good. I deep fried the stips of beef and then just tossed it lightly in the prepared sauce just before serviing. With white rice and steamed broccoli, tasted just like Orange Beef that you get at the local Chinese place. Will keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
We loved it. A nice neutral accompaniment to any meat or fish dish, and MUCH better than any of the pre-made boxed rice pilaf. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scott's Buffalo Wing Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
All I could taste was ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905

Italian Wedding Cookies III

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I substituted pecans and used my small scoop which expedited the process. I dumped the hot cookies into a pie plateful of confectioners sugar and tossed them with a fork. The texture was a little too dry but that could be pecans v. almonds. I think I'll go back to my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made this for my sisters wedding and it turned out great! I did leave out the salt, poppy seeds and the onion and cut back on the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Casserole III

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pecan Corn Bread Dressing

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
SOOOOOOO GOOD! made this the past 2 years for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Party Cheese Ball

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Perfect! I make rolls instead of a ball and chill before rolling in pecans. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905

OREO Turkey

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Delightful project. I used double stuft Oreos and the "tail feathers" just stick right in the filling. I cut a slight bit off the side of the PB cup to make it flat and easy to glue/chocolate to the bottom Oreo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Taking the suggestions. I added frozen mixed vegetables and frozen brocolli to make it a meal. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDILASSITER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Excellent soup! I added cheese tortelli at the end as well and used fresh kale instead of spinach adding with the carrots. Great with parm cheese and crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJMIKELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States