Raleigh - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Family favorite! Ended up getting boneless/skinless thighs and didn't cover them - cooked in less time and were delicious! My 11mo old and 5yr old loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Cat Poop Cookies II

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I find this whole concept disgusting. Does it really matter how it tastes? We eat with our eyes first. Who wants to eat POOP? I have a great sense of humor, but this is ridiculous. The only people I can even imagine finding this "funny" would be a book club of crazy cat ladies LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I thought this was a great base! I needed something that didn't have dairy, so no can o' ! This was easy to adjust to be dairy free with soy milk and margarine. I ended up using almost a whole additional cup of soy milk, and really it could have used more. I added some chopped carrot as well as half a jalapeno. Then I crushed up these crappy croutons we had on top, it was delish! Thanks for posting this blue collar gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 932ninja

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli and Stuffing Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Delicious just as written! No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDILASSITER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Mustard Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
My super picky 11 year old asked for seconds! This turned out really well. I served it with some roasted potatoes. Next time I'll either double the amount of chicken or cut the sauce recipe in half. It was swimming in sauce so I drained a lot of the sauce off about halfway through cooking. I used thick sliced deli ham and I had some deli sliced Muenster cheese. I also didn't have brown mustard so I used Dijon. It turned out really well & will be a regular menu item at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Blowing Rock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatloaf Roll

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Good flavor, but a bit sloppy in presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Noodles

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Good basic egg noodle. I recommend starting with about 3/4 cup flour per egg and a splash of olive oil. Add more flour as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
As others have suggested, this recipe definitely needed some extra seasoning to taste more "Mexican." I added cumin and oregano to the tomato sauce. And I also added a can of green chilies during the layering steps. My family enjoyed it. (And it's another great way to use up leftover roast turkey!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Individual Baked Eggs

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Made these today using pre-cooked bacon. Very easy to put together and cook. I added a few herbs to the eggs to try to get some more flavor out of them. I can see where these would be great to make in larger quantities. We made 6 this morning and they came out nicely. Will try them in the future as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made a double batch and froze half. Really glad I did. Made the mistake of making the day before and setting in fridge as formed rolls. They rose right out of the pan! Had to bake a little longer since they were so big. These were lightly sweet and very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Dip Sandwiches

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
We liked this, only thing we changed was to use one carton beef broth instead of bouillon. I had to cook my 6 lb rump roast for 8 hours on high to tenderize it, perhaps 12-18 hrs on low would have been even better? I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this as directed for Christmas dinner....three people and we put a major dent in this. My brother-in-law had 3 servings...that I saw and I had two. Great technique and sauce, will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Garlic Prime Rib

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Excellent!! First time cooking Prime Rib and it turn out to be a complete success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tatissitat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JuicyDevil

Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
The only thing I did differently was add minced freezed dried onions to the patty mixture, this is a well did recipe! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Leftover Pot Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was awesome ! My family ate the entire thing ! Best use of left over thanksgiving, by far ! The left over gravy is really the key !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Cheese Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
After reading a lot of different recipes and reviews for sausage balls, these are the ones I made. Because we like spicy, I used one lb. of Jimmy Dean's sage sausage and one lb. of hot Italian. Based on other reviews I let the meat come to room temp before attempting to mix. I mixed everything in my KA mixer with the dough hook and that worked great. I shaped the balls with my latex glove-covered hands and I baked on a sprayed rack over foil-lined jelly roll pans. Perfect. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Charlie's Sweet Island Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Curry can be very overpowering in my opinion so I did cut it back to 1/2 tbsp and increased the brown sugar a little just as a personal preference. Very good overall. Served w/ coconut shrimp and pineapple lime rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This stuff is the bomb! Have made it for several years now and just reviewing it. I double the recipe, which makes a lot, but always better to have extra for all the leftover holiday turkey. No need to dirty the blender/food processor to puree an orange. Just use canned mandarin orange with the juice. The small orange segments break down just fine during the long cooking process. I stick with dried apricots instead of dried mixed fruit as a personal preference. Have had many people ask for the recipe when taking to holiday dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Autumn Glazed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Sauce was wonderful! I doubled it like others suggested. Will make again. Used eight 1/2 inch thick bone-in pork chops seasoned with salt, pepper, onion and garlic powder. Browned 2 mins on each side, covered with sauce and simmered covered till done. Plain orange juice works fine in place of the orange juice concentrate, as well as a substitute for the apple juice if you don't have any. A little pinch of cayenne pepper works fine too if you don't have ground ginger. Gives it the same "warmth" that ground ginger would anyway. I also added a big tbsp of dijon mustard like another reviewer. Seemed like a perfect match with pork. I removed the chops and thickened the sauce at the end with a couple tbsp of cornstarch dissolved in another 1/4 cup of cold orange juice. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JuicyDevil

Chinese Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I followed this recipe to the 'T' IT WAS GREAT! I've made it several times now. A tried and true favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States