Raleigh - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Brussels Sprouts in a Sherry Bacon Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was amazing. I actually thawed a bag of frozen sprouts and then halved them. Made it w/o mushrooms and used regular sherry and heavy whipping cream. Came out phenomenal. I don't usually change recipes that I find in any way. I like to try them out just like the cook made it first, but I had to use what I had at home, glad it worked out! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Orchard Punch

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Tried this for a bridal shower recently and it was a huge hit. Many women asked me for the recipe. Instead of using frozen cranberry juice concentrate, I used apple juice concentrate and cranberry juice instead of apple juice. Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Savory Kale

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I followed the recipe closely, even using more kale than called for. With the temperatures and times called for, it was reduced to about a cup and a half of green mush in the bottom of the pot. I won't try it again--certainly not in accordance with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I think there is a step left out in the printed recipe, as compared to the video. Video shows everything done in the saucepan, whereas the printed recipe starts and cooks the beans separately, in a skillet. I followed the video, did everything in the pan, and it worked out fine. Very tasty and good. As per another suggestion, I quartered a few small red potatoes and added them. (Would need to wait until the last 30 or 40 minutes to do this.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Sweet and Sour Drumettes

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I love this recipe and use it often. I use chicken drumsticks to make it into a dinner. I skip the frying part, it is a lot of work and really not needed. The sauce is absolutely delicious! I serve it over white rice and pour the sauce over so the rice absorbs it. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingclinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushrooms with a Soy Sauce Glaze

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was tasty and easy, but cooked down too much. I'll make it again, but using a full pound of mushrooms, even for two of us..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This was "OUT OF THIS WORLD" GOOD! I read some reviews and then I watched the video. I like watching those! LOL I went right by the recipe. The only thing I did a little different was, I just put all the asparagus in a big zip lock bag and then added the other ingredients (except the lemon juice). I shook the bag up real good and then baked it. Since I'm one of those people who like those brown edges and getting something just a little done, I baked this for 20 minutes. I did stir it around every 10 minutes or so. The result was a wonderful, light browning of the cheese and the garlic! IT WAS INCREDIBLE! After I took it out of the oven, I squirted some lemon juice on it. I like using a real lemon. What a wonderful topper, too! I will definitely be making this again! It was the BEST asparagus recipe I have ever had, in my life! I highly recommend this. I'd give it 10 stars, if I could. :-) A big thank you, to Swedishmilk, for sharing this recipe. I see why it has a 5 star rating!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamborghini Gal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Hands down AWESOME!!!! I didn't have any curry powder so I used paprika. Next time I will use 5 instead of 6 tablespoons of mayo. Was a bit "wet" for my liking but it was still good and full of flavor! I will def make this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pork and Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Not as flavorful as I had expected, although I added Worcestershire and soy to pep it up. My wife liked it, and that's all that matters..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Un-Slimy Okra

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I keep it simple.. leave out the garlic, salt and pepper and the tomatoes. I still thing it is really good. I love fried okra but I do not fry in my house. This is just as good and not greasy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Acorn Squash

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I also add a bit of cinnamon and its great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
not having to buy seasoning packets anymore is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Crab Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I do make this a little different but everyone loves it! I use half a cup reduced fat miracle whip and half cup lite italian dressing, one cup peas and one cup green pepper, no chestnuts, dill or chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angel Cake Surprise

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This is a great light dessert. I love that I can really just used whatever fruit I have on hand at the time and you can never get tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ed's Potato Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Super easy to make and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Chicken and Herbs

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This came out a little dry and bland. I may try it again with some variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I used egg whites and no salt because of being on a low iodine diet and even with those changes it was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Refried Beans Without the Refry

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Nobody in my house would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Decent basic recipe, but it really needed more seasoning. Garlic scapes are really mild and frankly, I would prefer more basil. I recommend that you make the quinoa more like a pilaf by adding some chopped veggies. Then I would zip up the chicken with some minced garlic and perhaps use a stronger cheese: gorgonzola, for instance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2cook

Ceviche

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I love ceviche, but this recipe had too much celery and needed something sweet to offset the tartness. I originally made it exactly as written and thought it was just OK. I ended up adding chunks of very sweet fresh mango, which really helped make this easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States