Raleigh - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by luv2cook

Ceviche

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I love ceviche, but this recipe had too much celery and needed something sweet to offset the tartness. I originally made it exactly as written and thought it was just OK. I ended up adding chunks of very sweet fresh mango, which really helped make this easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2cook

Real Chiles Rellenos

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Very good and very authentic recipe! I avoided the freezing stage by using French fry-sized pieces of Monterey Jack and cheddar in place of the shredded cheeses. I had enough meringue to coat 6-8 chilies, so if you're going to take the time to make 4, why not make 8 instead? Poblano peppers are not particularly spicy, but the inch closest to the stem can be, so be careful! I suggest that you broil the chiles as close to the flames as you can get them. When I made these, I think some of the peppers were over-cooked because they started to split. A faster roasting probably would have avoided this outcome. I also used a clean paper bag instead if plastic because I don't really like the idea of putting hot things into plastic. Who knows what plasticizing agents come out of the plastic and into your food with the heat? As long as the chiles are well floured, you can ensure that they stay closed by coating them with the meringue and immediately frying. Overall, this recipe had wonderful flavor and a beautiful presentation. Now, if only I could find a super Mexican rice recipe . . . I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yellow Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I used zucchini in place of the yellow squash and the family loved it. I was also short a few crackers so I added some panko - a substitution that was virtually unnoticeable. I also reduced the total amount of butter by half - also not noticeably missing anything. Overall, I thought this recipe was easy and reasonably quick. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I just made this, doubling, with 6# of tomatoes - I didn't use cloves and like another person, I used chopped carrots instead of sugar and I also added 6 cloves of chopped garlic ...it was really good and the roux made it even nicer - freezing it and looking forward to fresh tomato soup in the middle of winter! I think dill or basil would be a nice addition at the end. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Quiche by Shelly

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
My husband made this! he subbed in the remnants of cheese we had in the fridge, used black pepper b/c we had it and did not have white pepper, omitted nutmeg and added broccoli. It was sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Very yummy! I became addicted to McDonalds strawberry iced tea,but it was getting to be an expensive habit. I decided to find a recipe for strawberry syrup to make my own tea and this one fit the bill! I didn't add the whole two cups of sugar, but cut it down to 1 1/2 cups as I don't like things too sweet. Perfect, perfect perfect. Will be using this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Wolf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAsweetie

Earl Grey Martini

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I wanted a quick drink for one, so I followed a previous reviewer and microwaved the gin, steeped with the tea for 5 minutes and cooled on ice for 15. I used honey instead of simple syrup, to make it easier. I omitted the lemon on the rim and just used water. No earl grey, used green tea instead. Green tea already has a light flavor so it was more lemon martini than tea. Next time, will use a stronger tea. Lastly, double your ingredients. This does not make 2 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAsweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buckeye Balls II

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Delicious and easy recipe! The ONLY reason this did not get a five star rating, is because the 6 oz. of chips (& shortening) was not near enough to cover the balls. And no, I did not make huge balls. Next time, I will definitely use a bigger bag of chips. I followed the directions to a T. I highly recommend this recipe. It's simple, fast and delicious. But do yourself a favor before making these: Go ahead and buy the next size up of chips. You'll thank me later. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamborghini Gal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easiest Falafel

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I was trying to be more calories conscious on this one, so I omitted the oil, baked them at 375 for 15 minutes and didn't roll them in panko. They were okay, a little dry, would probably be more tasty fried. If you bake, I'd definitely recommend using a tsatzki sauce. Combined with lettuce, tomates, on a naan or pita, would definitely be a hearty but healthier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAsweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic Korean Bulgogi

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
When this recipe showed up in the All Recipes Magazine, my Korean husband asked me to make it. We both scarfed it up. Doesn't taste like my mother-in-law's, but it was pretty close. I think we will try pan frying or baking next time. Something about the grill process just didn't let us get the sear we were looking for. I used shredded Anjou pears instead of pear juice and it worked just fine. Served with rice and kimchi. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Park

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Zucchini

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Based on other reviewers, I made modifications, including my own. I thought adding the seeds would overflow the zucchini "boat", and I was right. I had more than enough filling. I discarded the seeds and used a melon baller to get them out. I added dried basil and used Jimmy Dean sausage with sage for a little more flavor. Used bread crumbs but a lower calorie panko would work as well. I omitted the sauce, as the juices from the zucchini and cheese were enough. Lastly, I omitted covering with mozzarella, to cut down on calories and work. Goes great with white wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAsweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
We added chicken to make this a main dish. Yummy. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creole Black-Eyed Peas and Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
We found this to be rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Trifle

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
When I made this my friends and family gobbled it all up. There was none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Friendship Bread I

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Made this today, as listed but added vanilla pudding. Made two wonderful loafs, just like my mother made in the 80's when they were all into "Herman" starters. We also made chocolate today with chocolate pudding and chips, which is also good but the original cinnamon is the best. I will keep my starter and do the cinnamon again next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTYSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Tortilla Chips

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I used olive oil cooking spray and sprinkled with a small amount of salt then cut into wedges. I baked for 7 minutes then flipped them and baked for another 5-7 minutes waiting for the edges to start browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato and Basil Pasta Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was really easy to make and very very good! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Patties

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This recipe was so good! I have a few minor tips to add: 1) use "drained" ziccini (shred it and salt it to remove a lot of water then give it a rinse to remove any surface salt) and do not add extra salt to the batter and 2) use a 1/4 cup measure (or smaller!) or disher to measure out the zuccini-batter as it is very soft and easy to flip/fold over onto itself and a smaller patty flips better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Easy and pretty muffins. We gave this 3 1/2 stars. I didn't read the other comments prior to making and followed the recipe as is. The cake part of the muffin was bland. Definitely will try again and either use buttermilk or add vanilla and sour cream. I think I'd like brown sugar in the crumble topping better too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfectly Roasted Vegetable

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
After I roasted at 400F for 28 min, it was drying out, shriveling up and unattractive. Tasted alright, but certainly nothing to go back to. Think I'll try microwaving for 5 min, and then crisping a bit under the broiler. I like the mixture of vegetables !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States