Raleigh - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Strawberry Pie II

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This was very good...and, I'll say, adaptable. I had a grocery store shortbread crust (similar to graham cracker crusts). I made a cream cheese filling (sugar, vanilla, milk) to spread on the bottom of the pie, then added the raw strawberries and then the syrup. I followed the timing of the syrup and it set beautifully. I believe my cheese filling prevented the crust from getting soggy as others described. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Maryland Crab Cakes I

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Exactly right. These are true Maryland crab cakes. For the right texture, be sure to use back fin lump crabmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Silk Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I used a homemade crust with Ghirardelli chocolate and reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup (I prefer it a bit less sweet). You absolutely must use real butter, softened, but not melted! You can pasteurize your own eggs by placing them in water on a stovetop. Using a digital thermometer, slowly heat the pot up to 140F and hold for 3 whole minutes. Rinse with cold water. (Be sure to save this trick for your favorite chocolate mousse recipe as well!) Just watch out. This pie goes from your mouth straight to your thighs, but oh, it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Polenta with Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I have been making this for years now, thank you Jaquita! We never had it before your recipe, now it is a standard carb on our plates. Most recently we have had it with venison osso bucco and both are tremendous together! I first made it to go with chicken saltimbocca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
We make this mostly as is (with the exception of using a pork loin rather than a tenderloin) and we love it. I tried some of the variations in the reviews and like the original best. Once I didn't have any wine on hand (shocker in my house) and used cooking wine instead. It was SO salty we threw it out. A big key is to use real red wine (we've found Merlot to be a winner) and not cooking wine to avoid salt overload. The extra au jus is awesome. We thicken some up and have it with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Park

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was fantastic! I served as soft tacos. Per other reviews I doubled the spice ingredients and added about 1 ½ tsp ground cumin. I cut the chicken into bite sized pieces put in a Ziploc bag added a drizzle of olive oil, dumped in the spice mix and mushed it all together. I put the chicken in the fridge for about 2 hrs. Thirty minutes before cook time I took the chicken out of the fridge and let it rest on the counter. I sautéed the chicken in 3 batches with the olive oil and butter. After browning the chicken I kept warm in the oven. I deglazed the pan with the lime juice and about 1/3 c. of chicken stock. I then add the chicken back to the pan and let simmer for about 15 -20 min so the sauce could reduce and coat the chicken. I served in warm soft tortilla shells with lettuce, tomato, cheese, Crema Mexicana and several healthy splashes of Salsa Picante de Chile Habanero!! Be warned if you don’t like it spicy don’t add the Habanero. I served this with Black Bean and Couscous Salad (also from this site) which was also very good. The entire family loved it and has requested that I make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIS_2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
The entire family enjoyed this. My 5yo cleared her plate and she doesn't normally do that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIS_2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Roasted Acorn Squash

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Five stars for teaching me this easy peasy method of cooking acorn squash, but only one star for taste. I followed the quantities to a T and used my very best parm. reggiano and still the inherent sweetness of the squash overrode the parm. flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Best City Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
The meat was overcooked - the flavor was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Cream Cheese Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
These are the bomb! Hubs and I love them. I like to add spinach to mine, but other than that I follow the recipe exactly. Going to have them tomorrow for New Years day dinner, but planning to make them with seafood instead of chicken. Can't wait to try them with shrimp and crab. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Wolf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tasty Collard Greens

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I haven't even finished cooking these greens and they are so flavorful. I You definitely have to be the judge about the broth. I used the washed/cut bags of greens (2) and 4 boxes of chicken broth. I haven't even added salt yet. Make these greens people. Yummy yummy yummy :) Merry Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Hot Cocoa

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I am sipping it, while I type this review! This has a wonderful, creamy flavor. I did REDUCE THE SUGAR and per other reviewers advice, used half a cup of sugar. Other that that, I followed the directions exactly as written, and did not change anything else. One thing I would recommend is DO NOT ADD THE CREAM TO THE BOTTOM OF THE MUG. When I poured the hot chocolate into the mug with the cream, it was not even lukewarm! That was due to the cream, being in the mug already! Add the cream AFTER you pour your hot chocolate, not before. In the directions where you add milk and then heat UNTIL HOT, I would HIGLY RECOMMEND at this point, BRINGING IT TO A GENTLE BOIL and immediately remove from heat. THEN, pour in your cream. FIVE STARS! Love this! Jeanie Bean, thank you so much for sharing this recipe! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamborghini Gal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is good.. I like the cake, it is so rich, dark and moist. Next time I will try prune pie filing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon-Balsamic Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
These deviled eggs were fantastic! My 5yo daughter helped me make these and the whole family (husband and older daughter) loved them. I did add about 1 1/2 tsp of spicy brown mustard and also sprinkled with paprika. Will be making these again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIS_2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Neiman Marcus Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I love this cookies. I tweaked the recipe a little bit such as lower the white sugar to 2 tbs, 50% walnuts 50% chocolate chips, lower the temperature to 300 F, lower the cooking time to 20 minutes. The result was amazing, tick, soft and nutty.. just the way we like it ! Next time I will add a little bit more of espresso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Comforting Cube Steaks

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was very good and my steaks were nice and tender. My deviations from the recipe: I browned them in my cast iron skillet then deglazed the pan with a bit of wine, added the rest of ingredients and popped in the oven for an hour and a half. For soda I used club soda and my soup was one cr. mushroom and one cr. celery. I served over rice and everyone liked it. It was a bit salty so I may substitute a real onion for onion soup mix and use low sodium soups. Oh, I added in a can of mushrooms too because, why not? My gravy was very thick and plentiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Whole Chicken Slow Cooker Recipe

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Yummy recipe. I added rosemary to it and opted out of the white pepper simply because I had none. It was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nan May's Snowballs

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
The cooked mixture was too soupy and would not roll into a ball to roll into the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I made this last night and it is sooo good - used half Italian sausage and half Italian chicken sausage - used fresh tomatoes that I had frozen this summer - will definitely be making again this winter! (Two days later, we had leftovers and I had some leftover cooked red potatoes so I cut them into fourths and put in the soup - yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States