Raleigh - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Smoked Gouda and Leek Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Made this and it came out very good. It wasn't very difficult, is pretty healthy, and is kind of "fancy." The only thing I will do differently next time is to make double the "stuffing." Maybe my chicken pieces were larger? I felt it would have been better with more of the leek/gouda/garlic inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriTheAuthor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I had almost 2 cups of light cream that had soured, so I looked for something to make with it. This cake was delicious! I only made 2 substitutions: brown sugar for white and pecans for walnuts in the filling. The cake was incredibly moist with a smooth texture. I made it in a bundt pan, but next time will bake it in a regular tube pan. You'll want the streusel caramelized on top! BTW, it took about 55-60 minutes in this type of pan. For the sake of your thighs, don't make this too often! It's hard to resist another slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
BEST bread I've ever made! It was so easy and came out perfectly! Nice and soft on the inside with the perfect texture crust on the outside. Delicious flavor, absolutely perfect! I made mine with regular flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriTheAuthor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Lemon Scones

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This was my first attempt at scones of any type. I followed the recipe except I added poppyseeds. I was expecting a fairly dense breakfast cake but they were not dense. They had a nice, thin crispy crust and very tender inside. In fact, they rose so much they kind of squooshed together while baking...no problem cutting them apart. I had to bake longer because they were squooshed. Next time I'll either use a larger sheet or two of my smaller Airbakes. I'll also halve the frosting and put as much juice and zest as I have. They were excellent the second day. Also used parchment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Elnora's Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is the recipe lovingly referred to in my family as "cupa, cupa, cupa" because it is just a cup of self rising flour, cup of sugar, cup of milk. You can pour it over any fruit. If you don't have self rising flour, just use AP flour and add 1 1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt. I give it 5 stars because, given the simplicity and quickness of the recipe, it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deviled Eggs II

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I woke up in the mood for deviled eggs but I was looking for a different way to do deviled eggs other than my usual way. I saw this and was intrigued by the addition of vinegar. My husband made breakfast today and I was still sleep but there was leftover bacon (if you can believe that) so I decided to add some chopped up bacon and a sprinkling of garlic and onion powder. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIS_2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Bacon

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Don't think that only men will flock towards this sweet salty deliciousness. I made this for a ladies brunch and it disappeared in seconds. I doubled the syrup and omitted the pepper. The only drawback of the recipe was the cooking. I was extra careful about lining up a foil-lined baking rack over a foil-lined sheet, and it spilled grease into my oven 10 minutes into cooking, smoking up my place. Besides the perfect placement of rack and sheet, turning every 5 minutes for a hour was too much work. I rescued the bacon and finished in the microwave, 2 minutes each side. Deliciousness with a lot less work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAsweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts Pierre

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Our 4 person family enjoyed this a lot. The chicken came out extremely moist. I paired it with sauteed garlic parmesan spaghetti squash and a green salad. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIS_2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yum Yum Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
As it is, 3 stars. Too much mayo flavor. Double the spices, add a splash of rice wine vinegar and it's 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Graham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAsweetie

Spicy Tomato Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Not a fan of spicy so I used regular diced tomatoes and cream of chicken soup. I also added taco seasoning for a little kick. I didn't layer the chips and used them to dip instead, and used regular mexican shredded cheese. Didn't use it but cilantro could be sprinkled on top when done. Be generous with the soup mixture, it's a tasty healthier option to queso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAsweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAsweetie

Black Bean-Mushroom Happy

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I omitted the onions, pepper and chives and subbed breasts for thighs, sesame oil for olive and ginger powder for fresh. Instead of adding the chicken later, I added everything at once, to give more time to cook. I also just used canned drained black beans and threw in some brocolli. The sesame oil, ginger and soy sauce I added later made it "oriental" tasting. Another idea is smashing the beans with a spoon to make a paste, if you're looking to do more work with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAsweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Kale and Chickpea Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I subbed almonds for walnuts but next time I would use walnuts, to give it a "richer" flavor. To save time, I didn't roast the almonds. I also used evoo and omitted the pepper. Quick, healthy snack. Tip-don't refrigerate leftovers, the kale loses its crispiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAsweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905

Lemon Chicken Soup II

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Very easy and delicious change of pace. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Judy7905

Homemade Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Absolutely perfect and easy peasy. Beautiful crumble. I used less sugar than called for and made 8 buns. Held up nicely to our black and blue Bubbaburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Strawberry Pie II

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This was very good...and, I'll say, adaptable. I had a grocery store shortbread crust (similar to graham cracker crusts). I made a cream cheese filling (sugar, vanilla, milk) to spread on the bottom of the pie, then added the raw strawberries and then the syrup. I followed the timing of the syrup and it set beautifully. I believe my cheese filling prevented the crust from getting soggy as others described. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Maryland Crab Cakes I

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Exactly right. These are true Maryland crab cakes. For the right texture, be sure to use back fin lump crabmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Silk Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I've had a very similar recipe from my old Betty Crocker cookbook. I used a homemade crust with Ghirardelli chocolate and reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup (I prefer it a bit less sweet). You absolutely must use real butter, softened, but not melted! You can pasteurize your own eggs by placing them in water on a stovetop. Using a digital thermometer, slowly heat the pot up to 140F and hold for 3 whole minutes. Rinse with cold water. (Be sure to save this trick for your favorite chocolate mousse recipe as well!) Just watch out. This pie goes from your mouth straight to your thighs, but oh, it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Polenta with Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I have been making this for years now, thank you Jaquita! We never had it before your recipe, now it is a standard carb on our plates. Most recently we have had it with venison osso bucco and both are tremendous together! I first made it to go with chicken saltimbocca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
We make this mostly as is (with the exception of using a pork loin rather than a tenderloin) and we love it. I tried some of the variations in the reviews and like the original best. Once I didn't have any wine on hand (shocker in my house) and used cooking wine instead. It was SO salty we threw it out. A big key is to use real red wine (we've found Merlot to be a winner) and not cooking wine to avoid salt overload. The extra au jus is awesome. We thicken some up and have it with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Park

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was fantastic! I served as soft tacos. Per other reviews I doubled the spice ingredients and added about 1 ½ tsp ground cumin. I cut the chicken into bite sized pieces put in a Ziploc bag added a drizzle of olive oil, dumped in the spice mix and mushed it all together. I put the chicken in the fridge for about 2 hrs. Thirty minutes before cook time I took the chicken out of the fridge and let it rest on the counter. I sautéed the chicken in 3 batches with the olive oil and butter. After browning the chicken I kept warm in the oven. I deglazed the pan with the lime juice and about 1/3 c. of chicken stock. I then add the chicken back to the pan and let simmer for about 15 -20 min so the sauce could reduce and coat the chicken. I served in warm soft tortilla shells with lettuce, tomato, cheese, Crema Mexicana and several healthy splashes of Salsa Picante de Chile Habanero!! Be warned if you don’t like it spicy don’t add the Habanero. I served this with Black Bean and Couscous Salad (also from this site) which was also very good. The entire family loved it and has requested that I make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIS_2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States