Raleigh - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Mama Sprinkles

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Loaves turned out wonderful! Fluffy and tasteful! The ONLY thing I 'changed' was I backed off on the bread flour after adding the first 4 cups. I just played it by ear from that point, kneading in what I thought I needed. Excellent recipe! Thanks so much for posting! Can't wait to get creative with it next time around :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Sprinkles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Zucchini

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Based on other reviewers, I made modifications, including my own. I thought adding the seeds would overflow the zucchini "boat", and I was right. I had more than enough filling. I discarded the seeds and used a melon baller to get them out. I added dried basil and used Jimmy Dean sausage with sage for a little more flavor. Used bread crumbs but a lower calorie panko would work as well. I omitted the sauce, as the juices from the zucchini and cheese were enough. Lastly, I omitted covering with mozzarella, to cut down on calories and work. Goes great with white wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAsweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
We added chicken to make this a main dish. Yummy. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creole Black-Eyed Peas and Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
We found this to be rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Trifle

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
When I made this my friends and family gobbled it all up. There was none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Friendship Bread I

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Made this today, as listed but added vanilla pudding. Made two wonderful loafs, just like my mother made in the 80's when they were all into "Herman" starters. We also made chocolate today with chocolate pudding and chips, which is also good but the original cinnamon is the best. I will keep my starter and do the cinnamon again next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTYSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Tortilla Chips

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I used olive oil cooking spray and sprinkled with a small amount of salt then cut into wedges. I baked for 7 minutes then flipped them and baked for another 5-7 minutes waiting for the edges to start browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato and Basil Pasta Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was really easy to make and very very good! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Patties

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This recipe was so good! I have a few minor tips to add: 1) use "drained" ziccini (shred it and salt it to remove a lot of water then give it a rinse to remove any surface salt) and do not add extra salt to the batter and 2) use a 1/4 cup measure (or smaller!) or disher to measure out the zuccini-batter as it is very soft and easy to flip/fold over onto itself and a smaller patty flips better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Easy and pretty muffins. We gave this 3 1/2 stars. I didn't read the other comments prior to making and followed the recipe as is. The cake part of the muffin was bland. Definitely will try again and either use buttermilk or add vanilla and sour cream. I think I'd like brown sugar in the crumble topping better too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfectly Roasted Vegetable

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
After I roasted at 400F for 28 min, it was drying out, shriveling up and unattractive. Tasted alright, but certainly nothing to go back to. Think I'll try microwaving for 5 min, and then crisping a bit under the broiler. I like the mixture of vegetables !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Grilled Lemon Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is delicious! And very versatile. I've done kabobs with the marinade. That was a huge hit. I also made a large tossed summer salad and prepared the chicken as the recipe called for. Made extra marinade to use as a salad dressing and topped it with the chicken sliced thinly. YUMMY. Only thing I change on the recipe is to add more dijon as I love the punch it gives! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This recipe made a much denser pancake than I prefer. I think it's the additional 1/4 cup of flour. Without that and a dash of vanilla, I think this would be a much better recipe. Also subbing buttermilk (plus 1/2 baking soda) would take this over the top. Won't make this as written again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mama Sprinkles

Mom's Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Smells delicious! I added chopped mushrooms, and since I didn't have croutons, I topped it with fried onions. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Sprinkles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I used buttermilk in place of milk and melted butter in place of oil. The muffins were very fluffy and moist. The topping really completed them, but I had a lot of extra left over. I will probably half that next time. These muffins are delicious for breakfast or as a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Super Easy Pizza Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Like the title says, super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Jansen Miskiewicz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Enchilada Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I'll never use canned enchilada sauce again! Other than grinding your own dried chilis, it couldn't taste more authentic, and who has the time for all that when chili powder is so readily available. I made exactly as written and tasted first before adjusting seasoning. In the end I did choose to double the amount of cumin, onion powder and garlic powder as some other reviewers suggested for a little more warmth and stronger flavor. Still, as written it was good, and probably perfect for the average person who doesn't like things as spicy or intense. I personally liked the hint of sweetness from the brown sugar and didn't think it too sweet. Will use again and again from now on. Thx to Mary Kate for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mama Sprinkles

Yellow Squash Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
My only 'issue' was that it did not fill a 9"x13" pan. Oh darn, I'll just have to double the recipe next time :P Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Sprinkles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretty in Pink Sangria

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This was a huge hit! Made it exactly as the recipe except used sangria wine. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Yumazuti

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
The recipe was just ok the way written 3 stars. My teenagers did not mind it at all. I had a problem with the crunchy noodles because there was not enough sauce to cover them. I did make changes (I always cook one the original way and another my way so I can give an honest review.)I usually have to double a recipe due to having 3 teenage boys and an 8 year old that can eat you out of house and home. on the one I did my way I added a lot more cheese than called for, I also used rotell instead of stewed tomato. Instead of the 1 can of soup, I used 1 large can of soup. I also added salt, pepper, garlic, and basil for seasoning. It really does make a lot, but with all the teenagers here they ate till they were full and did not leave any leftovers for lunch the next day. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mofks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States