Greenville, North Carolina - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Irish Steaks

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this tonight for my Irish wife. It turned out wonderful. I substituted Bushmill Irish Whiskey for Jameson simply because I was out of Jameson. Turned out fantastic. The recipe doesn't specify, but I used yellow sweet onions rather than white and I was very pleased with the sweet caramelized results. My wife is hard to please because she's such a great cook herself and she loved it. I had little to no sauce left to drizzle over the steaks. This may be the way it was intended, but I cooked it in a 14" cast iron skillet. I think I'll add a little more liquid ingredients next time and more whiskey to see if I can get an au-jus to pour over them. All in all a wonderful recipe and I'll certainly be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy Jordan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Vegetables

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this tonight for my wife and I to go with Irish Steaks. It was a wonderful, yet simple recipe and came out great. I look forward to adding a few different kinds of vegetables and trying it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy Jordan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country-Style Steak

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Very good! Better than K & W!! I will make it again and again! and.....I am a dude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsbaines

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Great starter recipe. Never made egg salad and this recipe was very helpful. I substituted onion powder for the green onions and used relish instead for celery for a sweet crunch in taste!! Turned out delicious and will definitely make this again tweaking different ingredients for new ones, thanks for the simple recipe....love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.MackChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is a WOW! I added 2 by 10oz frozen spinach. Squeezed out as much water as I could. I also finely chopped a handfuls of sun dried tomatoes in the food processor and added this to the sauce. This freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justducky

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I follow the recipe just as is and it is delicious. I have made the recipe 2x and find that it consistently made 16 muffins. I do prefer to use margarine as it isn't too heavy. Butter can sink in the middle. If you do prefer to use butter make sure to bake it for the full 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curlypower1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simpson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Mother-in-Law's Plum Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
MAN, is this good!!!! I had a can of plums to use up, so I found this recipe. I was afraid that using canned instead of fresh would make it too mushy, but it was perfect! I didn't toss the plums in flour, obviously, and I didn't assemble everything as the recipe says, but didn't change anything else. I mixed the flour and sugar in one bowl and whipped all the other ingredients in another bowl with a whisk. Added the wet to the dry, then gently stirred in the plums. Oh, and I added about 1/3 cup chopped pecans. This is SO good fresh out of the oven slathered in butter!! As one reviewer already noted, it really sticks to the pan. Be sure to grease and flour the pan, especially the bottom. Mine was a mess to get out, but I wasn't serving it to company so it didn't matter. It didn't sit around for very long anyway because it was so delicious. Looking forward to trying it with peaches. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCwriter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Pound Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This recipe was the recipe I was looking for. Great taste,texture and moisture.I fold in the flour and milk rather then using the mixer,that allowed for the air and fluffiness that was in the egg,sugar and butter/shortening to remain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Freeport, Bahamas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Volcano Pancake

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Pretty good. kids loved it and loved watching it change shape. was good with the syrup will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flax and Sunflower Seed Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Mmmmm. Thank you. It also keeps pretty well. I used the white whole wheat flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justducky

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

Chorizo Stuffed Bell Peppers

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Really good. The grocery store was running short on green bell peppers. Red peppers work well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Klaulis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Meatloaf I

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This has been my go-to recipe for meatloaf since I discovered it last summer. It's now one of the most requested dishes for my meat'n'potatoes lovin' family! It is a staple in our menus and will continue to be so! The sauce is absolutely amazing, sweet and tangy! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aaepirate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ghirardelli Chocolate Brownies with Peppermint Bark

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These were so delicious! Instead of making them in a 13x9 pan, I put them in a mini muffin pan to make individual servings (24 servings). They still baked for ~20 minutes and were perfect and gooey in the middle. I would highly recommend these for a holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was a hit with my family...moist and delicious. I modified the recipe slightly. I put the broth and vinegar in the roasting pan from the beginning. The birds actually sat in it like a marinade, in the fridge, for a few hours before cooking. I also added a clove of garlic in the cavity along with the lemon and rosemary. I cooked it for an hour and a half based on other reviews. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahJayne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
O.M.G. Best bread I've ever baked. Easy directions, perfectly portioned ingredients. To give it an extra flaky, crisp crust: before preheating oven, place a shallow pan on the bottom rack of the oven. When oven is preheated, fill pan with boiling water and bake bread as directed. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I subbed 1/2 cup butter for 1/4 c. butter, 1/4 c. applesauce. I also used 1/4 c. sugar in the raw and 1/4 c. white sugar. Absolutely delicious. This will be my new go-to banana bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: La Paz, La Paz, Bolivia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Mmmm Mmmm good. I had a lot of leftovers so I brought them to work and shared with my co-workers. Everyone loved it. I'm also not a big leftover person and I ate this soup for lunch three days in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbilovesben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Squash

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was always something that was around at get togethers in North Carolina. Now that I'm living in Washington State, I wanted something that told a story about me for a church picnic we had this summer. I brought this dish and a dump cake. I did end up having some leftovers but squash isn't for everyone. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbilovesben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dump Cake V

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
My Mom always made this for large events back home in North Carolina. So I decided to make it for a church picnic this summer. I just HAD to make one for me and my family too of course. I liked heating it in the microwave for a little bit and then adding ice cream on top. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbilovesben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Milano

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This recipe was delicious. I wish there was a little more sauce though for the pasta. I added white wine to stretch the sauce a little more. It added some great flavor. I gave it 4 stars though because it was very rich. I couldn't eat anymore after a certain point. I'm not a big creamy sauce fan though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbilovesben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States