Greensboro - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cheddar Stuffed Meatballs with Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
The meatballs had a really good flavor, however, the sauce really needs some sugar. The cheese kind of gets lost, not sure I would use in these next time. The sauce was tangy and very tart. With some sugar I think it would make a world of difference. The maple syrup didn't add enough sweetness. I wish I had of tasted the sauce before I poured it over the meatballs. I would like to try these again but sweeten the sauce up a bit for a more tangy sweet balance. I followed the recipe exactly as written. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by JuicyDevil

Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
The only thing I did differently was add minced freezed dried onions to the patty mixture, this is a well did recipe! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Honey Lime Fruit Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
It's winter here, so fresh fruit is not available or too expensive (we live in Sweden). So, I used (in cans) mandarin oranges, peaches and pineapple. I added frozen blueberries and strawberries that I cut up. It was delicious and everyone asked for the recipe. I'm sure all fresh ingredients would have been better, but this was really good as well. The dressing and pine nuts is what brings it all together. It's nice to take as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Higgins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Lime Fruit Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
It's winter here, so fresh fruit is not available or too expensive (we live in Sweden). So, I used (in cans) mandarin oranges, peaches and pineapple. I added frozen blueberries and strawberries that I cut up. It was delicious and everyone asked for the recipe. I'm sure all fresh ingredients would have been better, but this was really good as well. The dressing and pine nuts is what brings it all together. It's nice to take as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Higgins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JuicyDevil

Chinese Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I followed this recipe to the 'T' IT WAS GREAT! I've made it several times now. A tried and true favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

King Ranch Chicken Casserole III

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I love this recipe. My only changes are to reduce the chicken broth to 1 cup and I also dip the corn tortillas in the broth. I also cook the onions and bell peppers in a skillet before mixing it with shredded chicken. Great recipe, it is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Not bad. Even though I added 2 cups of chicken broth along with milk it still wasn't creamy enough. I used Jasmine rice. I think next time I'll cut the rice to 1 1/2 cups and hopefully it will be creamier. I used a little garlic powder otherwise I followed the recipe. Hubby really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Peppered Shrimp Alfredo

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I make this all the time now! Bertolli's Alfredo goes really well here. I sometimes use mushrooms, but I've found it really good without it. Instead, I just use 1/2 a yellow or orange bell pepper in its place. I This goes really will with linguine pasta and is my usual go to, just for texture's sake. Also, 1 teaspoon is way too much cayenne pepper if you aren't a huge spicy lover. 1/4 teaspoon is still zesty, though I usually kick it up to 1/2 a teaspoon. Go slowly adding this to suit your family's tastes! Other then that, amazing dish and makes even better leftovers. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I am a true southerner and I do like my cornbread sweet my grandmother use to sweeten her cornbread with honey and topped it with honeybutter...Now if you like sweet cornbread follow directions if you like it slightly sweet use half the sugar if you are a "true southerner" like plain cornbread don't use the sugar at all...simple. Now my family likes this cornbread and I melt my butter in a cast iron skillet and then pour my batter in (my grandmother always made it that way) it comes out the pan easy and have that nice buttery taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBattle2011

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Hot Cocoa

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I give it 3 stars, but I did cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup. I wasn't brave enough to do 3/4 cup. Just thinking about 3/4 cup compared to the cocoa is insane. I think it was still a little too sweet. The flavor is good, but it isn't a thick and creamy cocoa. It's a little better than a package mix. Not bad if you are not too picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mamaw's Chicken and Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I was skeptical when I saw 3 cans of soup go into this and I almost deleted it until I read the 1st reviewer which stated my concerns with the soup and that it would have a processed taste which she stated didn't. I decided to try it. I used 50% less fat Land of Lakes Margarine to cut down on the fat. It takes a 3 quart or 9 x 13 in casserole dish which isn't stated in the recipe. I decided to give this a try thinking I would regret it but not only didn't I regret it I LOVED IT. It's fast, easy and it does not have a processed taste which I expected. I warned everyone ahead of time that it might not be great but it was an easy meal. Everyone said "what do you mean it's not great we love it". I have to agree. If you're looking for a relatively fast easy meal that's tasty this one is one you might want too consider. No processed taste at all. It was done in an hour and only prep time really was cutting up the chicken breast. Only change I made was to add some Her*box chicken seasoning (which I think is the best) to the mix. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Most recipes call for the chicken to be cooked prior to baking but this one didn't and I wasn't sure about it but after an hour I pulled a chicken bit out of the center and temperature checked it and it was done. My family really liked this and I will definitely be making this again and again. It's easy and tasty. If you are in need of a fast and tasty meal this one fits the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Excellent recipe! I've made it four times now. I up the amount of lemon/butter because it is delicious. MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Brazilian White Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
We loved this! Simple but tasty. Didn't change a thing. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Elephant Ears

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I just tried this today. I had my husband and 6 kids try it. They said it was better than the one they had the day prior at the fair. I normally try a recipe properly and don't change anything important if I plan on rating, but we have only whole wheat flour. That is what I used. I made only half the recipe and it made 8, 8x4in ears. I omitted the last step of putting the sugar/cinnamon on top. Which really isn't important since it is a personal thing what to put on it. I just made a butter/powdered sugar/cinnamon mix and we put that on there. They loved it. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I've made something similar to this for years. Instead of cracker crumbs I used flour mixed with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a little paprika. I find it is easier and the chicken browns better if you just melt the butter in the casserole dish before adding the chicken. I put the casserole dish in the oven to melt the butter, then add the chicken. I always bake my chicken on 350 for about 40 - 45 minutes for bone in and 30 minutes for boneless. Having said that I really like the difference the cracker crumb gives it. I always use about 1/3 cup of butter which is all that's needed. My family has already requested this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Creamy Broccoli and Cheese Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This was kind of a disappointment for us. First of all the 2 tablespoons of bread crumbs was not enough to cover a casserole... so I tripled it and it kind of covered it but not completely still. It's a personal preference but my family wasn't a fan. It was not only a taste preference but also a texture preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chicken With Mushrooms

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was really good as made but the 2nd time I made it with modifications and it was even better. I sauteed the sliced mushrooms and 1/2 large onion cut julienne style in a little butter, adding some fresh minced garlic the last 2 minutes. Removed to a bowl and de-glazed the pan with a little white wine and sat aside. I used 6 thin sliced boneless chicken breast half's, which works so much better. Seasoned the chicken with some garlic powder, black pepper, and a hint of salt before dredging in the eggs and breadcrumbs. I browned them in a nonstick skillet and baked them for 25 minutes. Added cheese (I have used both muenster and mozzarella and both are great). Then baked another 10 minutes until the cheese melted. I de-glazed then skillet with a little white wine. Scraped the bits from both skillets and combined, made a roux with a little flour and butter allowing the roux to brown slightly. Added 32 oz.'s of chicken broth with a little sprinkle of bouillon powder. Allowed it to simmer while chicken was baking. I used two different skillets so that the mushrooms and onions can saute while I'm browning the chicken, which saves time. When chicken was done I thickened the gravy with a little cornstarch and water and served over white rice. It is a huge hit at my house. It only took about an hour total to prepare and cook. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Beef and Broccoli

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is a good base recipe. I doubled the sauce and used 1 (18.7 oz.) can of Campbell's Zesty Tomato Bisque (which cut the tomato soup in half from original recipe), 1/2 large onion cut julienne style, 2 beef bouillon cubes dissolved in 1/2 cup hot water (crush them first), 2 TBS. Chinese black vinegar, 1-2 TBS. fresh grated ginger (I only added 1 TBS. but I think 2 might be better), 1 tsp. Chinese 5 spice, about 1 TBS. or so of sugar to off set the acidity,and used a little cornstarch and water to thicken the sauce. My family loved it. The recipe was greatly modified but as written it seems like it would be kind of bland and my family loved the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Summer Tomato Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
My whole family really enjoyed this! I added some shredded rotisserie chicken to the pie. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JuicyDevil

Banana Pudding with Meringue

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I followed this recipe without the brown sugar, just used white sugar, and it was great, just like Mammy use to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States