Greensboro - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

No Fuss Shredded Beef Tacos

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This is a really good recipe. Taste vary so I followed the directions as stated and then altered to suit my taste. I did a taste test when the meat was done, and concluded it needed more of something. I added another tsp. of chili powder, another tsp. of cumin. It made a lot of liquid which I strained from the meat and reduced to half by boiling for several minutes. Did another taste test and realized it needed some sugar. I added 2 Tbsp. of sugar (to offset the acidic flavor) and another tsp. of salt. Then I thickened the liquid with some corn starch (make sure your liquid is boiling and use about a Tbsp. of cornstarch and 4 Tbsp.or so of cold water, mix well and add to boiling liquid. Then I added the nice thickened reduction sauce to the meat and mixed it together really well. I made quesadilla's with a Mexican blend cheese, topped it off with some hot queso cheese dip (We like Gordo brand), homemade salsa and homemade guacamole, and sour cream and voila! It was a OMG make this again from my family. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Refreshing Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Delicious. I have made a marinated cucumber and onion salad with mostly vinegar and a little olive oil and prepared mustard for years. This was a nice change. I did, however, use red wine vinegar this time; but white vinegar would have been fine. This recipe goes well with spicy Indian dishes. It's just a great side dish for whatever. Thanks for sharing. UPDATE: I made this recently and added a couple tablespoons low fat sour cream. Increased the white vinegar to 1/3 cup. Sprinkled a little garlic powder, added 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice and a sprinkle of dry dill. Family raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Sweet and Sour Drumettes

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Yuuuuu-mmmmy! I added some garlic Asian chili pepper sauce I had left over from making PF Chang style lettuce wraps. Perfect!! Def add a little "heat." It makes a good balance. My husband and I don't like anything spicy, but the Asian sauce was perfect-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Spaventa Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This dish is packed with wonderful flavor. If you don't like strong flavors then don't make this dish. Followed the recipe exactly. Used a large white onion which was perfect. Followed the advice of another reviewer and mixed the balsamic vinegar, tomatoes, and spices all together and then poured over the chicken. I also found it difficult to cook the chicken and onions together so I cooked the onions and then browned the chicken and added the onions back in the last few minutes of browning. Hubby went crazy over this dish. Has already requested we make it again. It was very moist and delicious. We dipped our crescent rolls in the sauce. Might serve over some white rice or pasta next time. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This dish is packed with wonderful flavor. If you don't like strong flavors then don't make this dish. Followed the recipe exactly. Used a large white onion which was perfect. Followed the advice of another reviewer and mixed the balsamic vinegar, tomatoes, and spices all together and then poured over the chicken. I also found it difficult to cook the chicken and onions together so I cooked the onions and then browned the chicken and added the onions back in the last few minutes of browning. Hubby went crazy over this dish. Has already requested we make it again. It was very moist and delicious. We dipped our crescent rolls in the sauce. Might serve over some white rice or pasta next time. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Honey Barbecue Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I have made this recipe several times for chicken wings. I has gone over very well with my BF. He requests them all the time. Easy recipe that makes wings better then you can get in a restaurant! Amazing how you can make a cheap meat (chicken wings) taste so yummy! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jody d

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coquito

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
It has been a while since I've made this recipe, but it is delicious. If I make this recipe with alcohol, I use dark Bacardi or Capt. Morgan Spiced Rum, which gives the Coquito the kick that it needs. As a Caribbean American, I do not use vanilla extract; I use real vanilla. It can be purchased in any market that sells Caribbean or Latino produce/food. Tweak the amount of ground cloves and cinnamon according to your liking, and make sure to use Cream of coconut and not coconut milk. Those are two entirely different items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATEYZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Easy Lasagna II

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese. It came out amazing and was even better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by kptorbett

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This turned out wonderfully. I only used half of the orange juice, as suggested by others, so it wouldn't be watery. Next time I think I'll try with water, though made with the orange juice it has the perfect sweet and tart balance with a delightful hint of orange. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We really love this. I add potato, too. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rose's Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Best cookie ever! I subtituted rolled oats for the flour and made them oatmeal cranberry cookies instead though. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEMORAH4657

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Linda's Cranberry Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Best cookie ever! I subtituted rolled oats for the flour and made them oatmeal cranberry cookies instead though. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEMORAH4657

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jeff's Hot Dog Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I made this last night for hot dogs. In the south we eat homemade slaw, homemade chili, diced sweet onions and mustard on our dogs. This was perfect for a southern hot dog! I used beef broth instead of water. Since I was using 80/20 beef I just cooked my beef and mashed it, drained it, and added it back to pan. Then added the beef broth as needed. I used Rotel's tomato sauce with diced green chiles (try it if you can still find it). I used a small 8 oz can of the tomato/chile sauce for 1.5 lbs of beef. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to a T. Absolutely yummy! My husband who doesn't eat chili with beans commented that he could eat this chili with just a spoon. BIG statement coming from him! Thanks so much for sharing this one! It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Carnitas

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Ken you have really outdone yourself with this. The recipe was absolutely delicious! We're having them again tonight!! Thanks so much for your creativity and sharing this delightful recipe! You rock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Pie I

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I just made this on Wednesday (9/26/12) for my Mama's birthday. She wanted a Sweet Potato Pie and this is the one I chose. She said "it's the best sweet potato pie I have ever had." So right now, (9/29/12) I am making her another as she just got out of the hospital. I felt like she need a boost and this pie sure did make her happy. I followed the recipe almost to a T. The only thing that I added was (I used 2 med sized sweet potatoes), 1 Tbsp of flour, 1/4ish tsp of ginger and cloves to the other seasoning. I didn't have a piece, but the rest of my family all raved about it. And they are always honest with what they "really" think! Even the ones who don't eat Sweet Potato Pie. It did turn out beautifully. When I called to check my Mama, I asked, "do you want another Sweet Potato Pie" and she said, "Yes, I would love another that was the best pie I have ever had." Thank you so much Cougaar for such a delightful recipe that made my Mama so happy! I so appreciate you posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kilyena

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is a really good hearty breakfast casserole. Probably one of the best I've ever had. I increased the bacon since my family loves bacon. I drained it well for several minutes to get as much of the fat out as possible. Other than increasing the bacon some, I didn't change anything and didn't need to. Put leftovers in the fridge and we had for breakfast the next day. It reheats well. Served with some warm soft freshly baked Cresent rolls. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Ashley's African Peanut Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I loved this soup! I will definitely make this again. The only issue I had was that it was not soupy at all. Next time I will add more liquid (broth and more crushed tomatoes). It was terrific as a stew, but I would like to try it in its intended soup form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This sauce has a wonderful tanginess to it. I prefer not to bread it as others have suggested because the breading gets soggy. Had homemade won ton soup with it and some fried rice. We used sweet chili Sauce which gave it a nice kick. Was a big hit. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Mexican White Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This rice is really good. I followed the recipe exactly, except I fried the rinsed rice in a tablespoon of oil for several minutes as another reviewer suggested, then added the carrots and cooked a few more minutes and then added all the other ingredients. It was very tasty. I will definitely be making this again. And it will go into my printed recipe book of our favorite recipes. It's a keeper. Had poached salmon with it last night and tonight will have leftovers with chicken and gravy. This rice goes with so many different kinds of foods. My family really liked it. Thanks for posting it Tequila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Such a refreshing dip! It is absolutely great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekadams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States