Greensboro - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Beef and Broccoli

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is a good base recipe. I doubled the sauce and used 1 (18.7 oz.) can of Campbell's Zesty Tomato Bisque (which cut the tomato soup in half from original recipe), 1/2 large onion cut julienne style, 2 beef bouillon cubes dissolved in 1/2 cup hot water (crush them first), 2 TBS. Chinese black vinegar, 1-2 TBS. fresh grated ginger (I only added 1 TBS. but I think 2 might be better), 1 tsp. Chinese 5 spice, about 1 TBS. or so of sugar to off set the acidity,and used a little cornstarch and water to thicken the sauce. My family loved it. The recipe was greatly modified but as written it seems like it would be kind of bland and my family loved the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Summer Tomato Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
My whole family really enjoyed this! I added some shredded rotisserie chicken to the pie. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JuicyDevil

Banana Pudding with Meringue

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I followed this recipe without the brown sugar, just used white sugar, and it was great, just like Mammy use to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Photo by JuicyDevil

Coco Cola Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Great recipe, I left the pecans out though, Im not a nut person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Photo by JuicyDevil

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Simply delicious recipe, followed it to the 'T' HAD IT WITH SPAGHETTI :) HAPPY PEOPLE~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Photo by JuicyDevil

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I'm not someone with a sweet tooth, so I don't each cookies much, but these things are absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Ross

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I've made this a few times and the first time I added carrots, celery, onion, and garlic per other reviewers' suggestions. However, after making it again I only added carrots and celery sauteed in a little reduced fat margarine. I used low fat Half 'n Half but 2% milk works just as well. It was so much better. This recipe DOES NOT need onion and definitely doesn't need garlic. They add flavors that do not mesh well with this recipe and I'm a huge onion and garlic fan. However the carrots and celery do. Keep it simple! Because I love wild rice I usually buy a small box and precook 1/2 cup of it before adding to the broth along with the fast cooking rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
The whole purpose of brining is to help the white meat be more tender and flavorful. Keep in mind that you discard the brine after the meat has marinated in it for an hour. Only a tiny bit is absorbed into the meat. The salt is what helps the meat hold it's moisture. If you marinate it more than an hour it will probably be saltier. IF you cut back on the salt there is no real need to brine it so don't bother. I made this exactly like the recipe called for and it was not salty at all. It was delicious and moist. I usually cut my chicken breast in half horizontally instead of pounding them. Each breast is like less than an inch thick. It makes cooking them easier and it helps cut the portion size down. Letting it sit for 5 minutes after cooking also helps the meat hold it's moisture. This is an awesome recipe. My family loved it, it was moist and very tasty. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chicken Breasts Stuffed with Perfection

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
These are fantastic! I did change the bread crumb topping. Instead of using stale bread, I used a mix of panko crumbs, Italian bread crumbs, and fresh grated Parmesan. I also cut the breasts up the middle instead or rolling them. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Stuffed Peppers My Way

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Yummy! I used yellow and red bell peppers. The dish was very flavorful. I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp and the time for the peppers to cook to 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by daydreams123

Chicken Breasts Pierre

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Absolutely amazing dish. Everyone loved it! It went really well with oven-roasted asparagus and white rice. I did use "fire-roasted" canned tomatoes instead of the regular ones and it was very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Bean Soup With Kale

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Very yummy. I added chicken breast to this and shredded after it was cooked thru. I didn't bother to smash up some of the beans as I knew that shredding the chicken and letting it simmer would thicken it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make Ahead French Toast

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Very easy to make. I used a mixture of leftover bread from a couple of dinners (including some biscuits) and I didn't add the cream b/c I didn't have any, but did not seem to cause a problem We will be making this again, but I will add cinnamon to the sauce next time. Kids and hubby all loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Pudding IV

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Banana Pudding is my husband's favorite dessert and he said this the best one he's ever had. I am not typically a fan of banana pudding, but the cream cheese in it really won it over for me. We will definitely be making this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I've never been a huge asparagus fan, always finding it chewy with an odd taste. These were excellent, however. The seasonings were perfect though it could use a little less salt. The freshly grated Parmesan cheese and (fresh squeezed) lemon juice really made these exceptional. I broke them off using the cooks comments of bending and letting them naturally snap and they were not even a tiny bit chewy or stringy. Thank you for a new excellent recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Southwest Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I LOVED this dish. I normally don't enjoy southwest type dishes, but this is delicious. I'm not a huge spicy fan and this was just the right amount of zesty. If you are looking for a big kick, I'd make sure to add some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Herby Roasted Potato Wedges

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Wow! Yummy! I use red potatoes and these are a favorite snack of mine now. They taste delicious with just salt and pepper as well, or with red bell peppers and onions cooked up with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Fabulous Fajitas

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Stuffed Eggplant Parmesan Rolls

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Very delicious. I used mozzarella instead of Romano because it is what I had at the time. I also used fresh spinach in the cheese mixture. Next time I'll pick up some Romano and see how it is. My boyfriend who hates eggplant loved this dish, so its a win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States