Greensboro - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Coquito

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
It has been a while since I've made this recipe, but it is delicious. If I make this recipe with alcohol, I use dark Bacardi or Capt. Morgan Spiced Rum, which gives the Coquito the kick that it needs. As a Caribbean American, I do not use vanilla extract; I use real vanilla. It can be purchased in any market that sells Caribbean or Latino produce/food. Tweak the amount of ground cloves and cinnamon according to your liking, and make sure to use Cream of coconut and not coconut milk. Those are two entirely different items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATEYZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Easy Lasagna II

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese. It came out amazing and was even better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by kptorbett

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This turned out wonderfully. I only used half of the orange juice, as suggested by others, so it wouldn't be watery. Next time I think I'll try with water, though made with the orange juice it has the perfect sweet and tart balance with a delightful hint of orange. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We really love this. I add potato, too. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rose's Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Best cookie ever! I subtituted rolled oats for the flour and made them oatmeal cranberry cookies instead though. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEMORAH4657

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Linda's Cranberry Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Best cookie ever! I subtituted rolled oats for the flour and made them oatmeal cranberry cookies instead though. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEMORAH4657

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jeff's Hot Dog Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I made this last night for hot dogs. In the south we eat homemade slaw, homemade chili, diced sweet onions and mustard on our dogs. This was perfect for a southern hot dog! I used beef broth instead of water. Since I was using 80/20 beef I just cooked my beef and mashed it, drained it, and added it back to pan. Then added the beef broth as needed. I used Rotel's tomato sauce with diced green chiles (try it if you can still find it). I used a small 8 oz can of the tomato/chile sauce for 1.5 lbs of beef. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to a T. Absolutely yummy! My husband who doesn't eat chili with beans commented that he could eat this chili with just a spoon. BIG statement coming from him! Thanks so much for sharing this one! It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Carnitas

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Ken you have really outdone yourself with this. The recipe was absolutely delicious! We're having them again tonight!! Thanks so much for your creativity and sharing this delightful recipe! You rock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Pie I

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I just made this on Wednesday (9/26/12) for my Mama's birthday. She wanted a Sweet Potato Pie and this is the one I chose. She said "it's the best sweet potato pie I have ever had." So right now, (9/29/12) I am making her another as she just got out of the hospital. I felt like she need a boost and this pie sure did make her happy. I followed the recipe almost to a T. The only thing that I added was (I used 2 med sized sweet potatoes), 1 Tbsp of flour, 1/4ish tsp of ginger and cloves to the other seasoning. I didn't have a piece, but the rest of my family all raved about it. And they are always honest with what they "really" think! Even the ones who don't eat Sweet Potato Pie. It did turn out beautifully. When I called to check my Mama, I asked, "do you want another Sweet Potato Pie" and she said, "Yes, I would love another that was the best pie I have ever had." Thank you so much Cougaar for such a delightful recipe that made my Mama so happy! I so appreciate you posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kilyena

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is a really good hearty breakfast casserole. Probably one of the best I've ever had. I increased the bacon since my family loves bacon. I drained it well for several minutes to get as much of the fat out as possible. Other than increasing the bacon some, I didn't change anything and didn't need to. Put leftovers in the fridge and we had for breakfast the next day. It reheats well. Served with some warm soft freshly baked Cresent rolls. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Ashley's African Peanut Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I loved this soup! I will definitely make this again. The only issue I had was that it was not soupy at all. Next time I will add more liquid (broth and more crushed tomatoes). It was terrific as a stew, but I would like to try it in its intended soup form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This sauce has a wonderful tanginess to it. I prefer not to bread it as others have suggested because the breading gets soggy. Had homemade won ton soup with it and some fried rice. We used sweet chili Sauce which gave it a nice kick. Was a big hit. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Mexican White Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This rice is really good. I followed the recipe exactly, except I fried the rinsed rice in a tablespoon of oil for several minutes as another reviewer suggested, then added the carrots and cooked a few more minutes and then added all the other ingredients. It was very tasty. I will definitely be making this again. And it will go into my printed recipe book of our favorite recipes. It's a keeper. Had poached salmon with it last night and tonight will have leftovers with chicken and gravy. This rice goes with so many different kinds of foods. My family really liked it. Thanks for posting it Tequila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Such a refreshing dip! It is absolutely great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekadams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

Southern Pecan Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
something's not quite right with this recipe. the only thing I changed was I substituted butter for margarine which shouldn't have made a difference. It needs tweeking (so sorry Debbie seriously nothing personal and if you can help me out I'd appreciate it) but I'm not sure exactly where.... I only say this because other reviewers will make this recipe and they need to know...mine came out dry and I only cooked them 22 minutes and I followed the recipe exactly. However, having said that my husband and daughter really liked them so based on that I rated it a 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Simple Lasagna

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese and jarred pasta sauce that I tweaked. Turned out easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dry Onion Soup Mix

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Thank You! I learned something new today and used this for my Amazing Pork Tenderloin - ya'll need to check out that recipe too. Thanks everyone for helping me make a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fairchildbecca

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
The recipe was amazingly simple and delicious! I cooked it on high instead of low for about 3.5-4 hours. I didn't have the onion soup mix so I looked up a recipe on here for it and found it. Dry Onion Soup Mix. I didn't have the bouillon granules so I looked to see if there was a reccipe for that! No go, I didn't have the celery seed anyway so went to the store and got the ingredients to make the Onion Soup Mix for my Amazing Pork Tenderloin. I used a 2009 Chambourcin red wine grown in Gold Hill, NC at Morgan Ridge Vineyards, about an hour away from where I live. Great wine, great recipe, great tenderloin! Served with fresh zuchinni from my garden sauted in olive oil and Mrs. Dash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fairchildbecca

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tzatziki Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I really like this recipe and tweak it to suit our tastes, but it's perfect as written. (I omit the olive oil, and drain the yogurt. As well as salt and drain the cukes. It really does make all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Greek Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
We thought these were really good. Served alongside a greek salad, pita bread and tzatziki sauce. YUM! Great healthy meal. Side note: we have tried this both grilled and baked. Grilled is definitely more what we are looking for, as if you bake this it becomes very soupy. (FYI, for those curious.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States