Greensboro - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Southwest Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I LOVED this dish. I normally don't enjoy southwest type dishes, but this is delicious. I'm not a huge spicy fan and this was just the right amount of zesty. If you are looking for a big kick, I'd make sure to add some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Herby Roasted Potato Wedges

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Wow! Yummy! I use red potatoes and these are a favorite snack of mine now. They taste delicious with just salt and pepper as well, or with red bell peppers and onions cooked up with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Fabulous Fajitas

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Stuffed Eggplant Parmesan Rolls

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Very delicious. I used mozzarella instead of Romano because it is what I had at the time. I also used fresh spinach in the cheese mixture. Next time I'll pick up some Romano and see how it is. My boyfriend who hates eggplant loved this dish, so its a win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by JuicyDevil

My Favorite Mexican Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I made this recipe today* its delicious, the only thing I did different, is I added squash to m ine, it's a great recipe! I didnt add the salt to the dish till after it was done, and I also used no sodium chicken broth..:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Zucchini Pasta II

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Fantastic dish. I just made it for the second time and love it. The first time I made it, I didn't use roasted peppers, but this time I cut up a red bell and roasted it prior to cooking this dish. It was great tasting and I'm glad I kept that in the recipe this time! I did use about 1/2 cup of light cream cheese, which made a very creamy delicious sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Jeff's Hot Dog Chili

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This is the closest thing to the southern chili for hot dogs I've had in a long time. LOVED IT..however, next time I think I will try not adding the sugar, it was sweeter than I thought it would be and the chili I grew up eating wasn't sweet at all. Ketchup has sugar in it as well, which will probably be enough sweet for us. I did substitute beef broth for the water. Used 93/7 ground beef and took the advice of others, browned the meat and then drained the fat. Even so I followed the recipe exactly other than the method and the beef broth. Now I have a great chili for our hot dogs and it's pretty healthy. The whole family really likes it. Thanks orion3 for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Amazing and easy dish. I didn't change a thing. I used buitoni pesto and it was absolutely delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Ginger Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I made this and loved it! I've been searching for a dipping sauce like what we get in Chinese and Japanese restaurants. This was extremely close. Only thing I did different was I didn't blend in a blender. I finely minced the onion (used white onion decreased the amount to 1/8 cup). Finely grated the fresh ginger. Added just a touch of sesame oil, mixed it all together and WOW! EUREKA! This is it! And even better than a few I've had before. I also increased the lite soy sauce to 1/3 cup. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was really good. I added a few more potatoes and carrots because it didn't seem to be enough for the amount of beef. I also added about a cup and half more water. I increased the Merlot to 3/4 cup. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I used cornstarch to thicken the gravy. My hubby loved it! Will make again. Oh and the prep time is more like 45 minutes minimum instead of the 15 listed. But it's worth it! I ran out of time so I cooked it on high for about 3 hours and turned it down to low for about 2 hours. The meat was very tender. Served with a good crusty bread for dipping in the gravy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Awesome cheesecake! The texture was great. This is my new go-to recipe for New York style cheesecake. Looking forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tiramisu Cheesecake

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Yummy recipe and very simple to make. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Apple Cake I

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I've made this three times now, and it's always mushy and lacking texture. I'm sad too because the flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kilyena

Swiss Corn Slow Cooker Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This is AWESOME! LOVED IT. Not something I would cook a lot but definitely something I would cook when comfort food is needed. So simple yet so good. Used regular whipping cream since that's all I could find and it was delicious! I forgot to thaw out the corn before mixing all together but I was still able to mix it by breaking up the frozen corn. Also, this only needs to cook about 2 to 2 1/2 hours otherwise the part against the side of the crock pot starts to burn (and my corn was frozen to start with). Use a crock pot liner and cleanup will be a breeze, especially with this recipe. I want to try this with low fat half and half, or lite cream to see how good it is to lower the fat content so I can make this more often. Will post the results. My whole family loved this. Definitely will be making this again. Thank you for sharing Kymmie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Easy Cabbage Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was ok... I really like cabbage and cheese so this really peeked my interest..however... the two aren't necessarily good together.. It was ok but not good.. the two textures didn't necessarily complement each other. Sorry I really hate to not give a good review but with this one I really just can't ... sorry.. but maybe it's just me... you decide...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

No Fuss Shredded Beef Tacos

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This is a really good recipe. Taste vary so I followed the directions as stated and then altered to suit my taste. I did a taste test when the meat was done, and concluded it needed more of something. I added another tsp. of chili powder, another tsp. of cumin. It made a lot of liquid which I strained from the meat and reduced to half by boiling for several minutes. Did another taste test and realized it needed some sugar. I added 2 Tbsp. of sugar (to offset the acidic flavor) and another tsp. of salt. Then I thickened the liquid with some corn starch (make sure your liquid is boiling and use about a Tbsp. of cornstarch and 4 Tbsp.or so of cold water, mix well and add to boiling liquid. Then I added the nice thickened reduction sauce to the meat and mixed it together really well. I made quesadilla's with a Mexican blend cheese, topped it off with some hot queso cheese dip (We like Gordo brand), homemade salsa and homemade guacamole, and sour cream and voila! It was a OMG make this again from my family. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Refreshing Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Delicious. I have made a marinated cucumber and onion salad with mostly vinegar and a little olive oil and prepared mustard for years. This was a nice change. I did, however, use red wine vinegar this time; but white vinegar would have been fine. This recipe goes well with spicy Indian dishes. It's just a great side dish for whatever. Thanks for sharing. UPDATE: I made this recently and added a couple tablespoons low fat sour cream. Increased the white vinegar to 1/3 cup. Sprinkled a little garlic powder, added 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice and a sprinkle of dry dill. Family raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This dish is packed with wonderful flavor. If you don't like strong flavors then don't make this dish. Followed the recipe exactly. Used a large white onion which was perfect. Followed the advice of another reviewer and mixed the balsamic vinegar, tomatoes, and spices all together and then poured over the chicken. I also found it difficult to cook the chicken and onions together so I cooked the onions and then browned the chicken and added the onions back in the last few minutes of browning. Hubby went crazy over this dish. Has already requested we make it again. It was very moist and delicious. We dipped our crescent rolls in the sauce. Might serve over some white rice or pasta next time. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This dish is packed with wonderful flavor. If you don't like strong flavors then don't make this dish. Followed the recipe exactly. Used a large white onion which was perfect. Followed the advice of another reviewer and mixed the balsamic vinegar, tomatoes, and spices all together and then poured over the chicken. I also found it difficult to cook the chicken and onions together so I cooked the onions and then browned the chicken and added the onions back in the last few minutes of browning. Hubby went crazy over this dish. Has already requested we make it again. It was very moist and delicious. We dipped our crescent rolls in the sauce. Might serve over some white rice or pasta next time. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Honey Barbecue Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I have made this recipe several times for chicken wings. I has gone over very well with my BF. He requests them all the time. Easy recipe that makes wings better then you can get in a restaurant! Amazing how you can make a cheap meat (chicken wings) taste so yummy! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jody d

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States