Greensboro - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Brazilian White Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
We loved this! Simple but tasty. Didn't change a thing. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Elephant Ears

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I just tried this today. I had my husband and 6 kids try it. They said it was better than the one they had the day prior at the fair. I normally try a recipe properly and don't change anything important if I plan on rating, but we have only whole wheat flour. That is what I used. I made only half the recipe and it made 8, 8x4in ears. I omitted the last step of putting the sugar/cinnamon on top. Which really isn't important since it is a personal thing what to put on it. I just made a butter/powdered sugar/cinnamon mix and we put that on there. They loved it. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I've made something similar to this for years. Instead of cracker crumbs I used flour mixed with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a little paprika. I find it is easier and the chicken browns better if you just melt the butter in the casserole dish before adding the chicken. I put the casserole dish in the oven to melt the butter, then add the chicken. I always bake my chicken on 350 for about 40 - 45 minutes for bone in and 30 minutes for boneless. Having said that I really like the difference the cracker crumb gives it. I always use about 1/3 cup of butter which is all that's needed. My family has already requested this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Creamy Broccoli and Cheese Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This was kind of a disappointment for us. First of all the 2 tablespoons of bread crumbs was not enough to cover a casserole... so I tripled it and it kind of covered it but not completely still. It's a personal preference but my family wasn't a fan. It was not only a taste preference but also a texture preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chicken With Mushrooms

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was really good as made but the 2nd time I made it with modifications and it was even better. I sauteed the sliced mushrooms and 1/2 large onion cut julienne style in a little butter, adding some fresh minced garlic the last 2 minutes. Removed to a bowl and de-glazed the pan with a little white wine and sat aside. I used 6 thin sliced boneless chicken breast half's, which works so much better. Seasoned the chicken with some garlic powder, black pepper, and a hint of salt before dredging in the eggs and breadcrumbs. I browned them in a nonstick skillet and baked them for 25 minutes. Added cheese (I have used both muenster and mozzarella and both are great). Then baked another 10 minutes until the cheese melted. I de-glazed then skillet with a little white wine. Scraped the bits from both skillets and combined, made a roux with a little flour and butter allowing the roux to brown slightly. Added 32 oz.'s of chicken broth with a little sprinkle of bouillon powder. Allowed it to simmer while chicken was baking. I used two different skillets so that the mushrooms and onions can saute while I'm browning the chicken, which saves time. When chicken was done I thickened the gravy with a little cornstarch and water and served over white rice. It is a huge hit at my house. It only took about an hour total to prepare and cook. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Beef and Broccoli

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is a good base recipe. I doubled the sauce and used 1 (18.7 oz.) can of Campbell's Zesty Tomato Bisque (which cut the tomato soup in half from original recipe), 1/2 large onion cut julienne style, 2 beef bouillon cubes dissolved in 1/2 cup hot water (crush them first), 2 TBS. Chinese black vinegar, 1-2 TBS. fresh grated ginger (I only added 1 TBS. but I think 2 might be better), 1 tsp. Chinese 5 spice, about 1 TBS. or so of sugar to off set the acidity,and used a little cornstarch and water to thicken the sauce. My family loved it. The recipe was greatly modified but as written it seems like it would be kind of bland and my family loved the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Summer Tomato Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
My whole family really enjoyed this! I added some shredded rotisserie chicken to the pie. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JuicyDevil

Banana Pudding with Meringue

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I followed this recipe without the brown sugar, just used white sugar, and it was great, just like Mammy use to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Photo by JuicyDevil

Coco Cola Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Great recipe, I left the pecans out though, Im not a nut person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Photo by JuicyDevil

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Simply delicious recipe, followed it to the 'T' HAD IT WITH SPAGHETTI :) HAPPY PEOPLE~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Photo by JuicyDevil

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I've made this a few times and the first time I added carrots, celery, onion, and garlic per other reviewers' suggestions. However, after making it again I only added carrots and celery sauteed in a little reduced fat margarine. I used low fat Half 'n Half but 2% milk works just as well. It was so much better. This recipe DOES NOT need onion and definitely doesn't need garlic. They add flavors that do not mesh well with this recipe and I'm a huge onion and garlic fan. However the carrots and celery do. Keep it simple! Because I love wild rice I usually buy a small box and precook 1/2 cup of it before adding to the broth along with the fast cooking rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
The whole purpose of brining is to help the white meat be more tender and flavorful. Keep in mind that you discard the brine after the meat has marinated in it for an hour. Only a tiny bit is absorbed into the meat. The salt is what helps the meat hold it's moisture. If you marinate it more than an hour it will probably be saltier. IF you cut back on the salt there is no real need to brine it so don't bother. I made this exactly like the recipe called for and it was not salty at all. It was delicious and moist. I usually cut my chicken breast in half horizontally instead of pounding them. Each breast is like less than an inch thick. It makes cooking them easier and it helps cut the portion size down. Letting it sit for 5 minutes after cooking also helps the meat hold it's moisture. This is an awesome recipe, however the ready in 25 min is misleading. It's more like 2 hours. My family loved it, it was moist and very tasty. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chicken Breasts Stuffed with Perfection

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
These are fantastic! I did change the bread crumb topping. Instead of using stale bread, I used a mix of panko crumbs, Italian bread crumbs, and fresh grated Parmesan. I also cut the breasts up the middle instead or rolling them. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Stuffed Peppers My Way

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Yummy! I used yellow and red bell peppers. The dish was very flavorful. I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp and the time for the peppers to cook to 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by daydreams123

Chicken Breasts Pierre

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Absolutely amazing dish. Everyone loved it! It went really well with oven-roasted asparagus and white rice. I did use "fire-roasted" canned tomatoes instead of the regular ones and it was very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Bean Soup With Kale

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Very yummy. I added chicken breast to this and shredded after it was cooked thru. I didn't bother to smash up some of the beans as I knew that shredding the chicken and letting it simmer would thicken it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make Ahead French Toast

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Very easy to make. I used a mixture of leftover bread from a couple of dinners (including some biscuits) and I didn't add the cream b/c I didn't have any, but did not seem to cause a problem We will be making this again, but I will add cinnamon to the sauce next time. Kids and hubby all loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Pudding IV

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Banana Pudding is my husband's favorite dessert and he said this the best one he's ever had. I am not typically a fan of banana pudding, but the cream cheese in it really won it over for me. We will definitely be making this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I've never been a huge asparagus fan, always finding it chewy with an odd taste. These were excellent, however. The seasonings were perfect though it could use a little less salt. The freshly grated Parmesan cheese and (fresh squeezed) lemon juice really made these exceptional. I broke them off using the cooks comments of bending and letting them naturally snap and they were not even a tiny bit chewy or stringy. Thank you for a new excellent recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States