Greensboro - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Meaty Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This has a wonderful array of flavors. I wouldn't add the sausage and chicken until the last 2 hours, because it will dry out the meat if you add as stated. We substituted fresh shrimp in place of the ham, added the last 30 minutes of cook time. I added rice the last hour and half and in order to get it to actually cook I had to add a cup or 2 of chicken broth and then the rice became mushy but it was still worth it. I would recommend making this without the rice and just serve it over cooked rice. We really enjoyed this. I will make it again. Not really spicy for our taste though next time we will up the Cajun spices. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Sesame Noodles

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Oh wow! This was delicioussss! Everyone raved about it. We cut the sugar in half, 4 tablespoons of safflower oil and rice wine vinegar instead of 6. Cut the sesame oil in half because it's a very strong flavor. 1 tablespoon chili sauce and added 2 tablespoons mirin. We adjusted for our taste and it worked out great, but honestly even if we didn't adjust this recipe (other and the sugar) I'm sure it would be delicious. Oh and yea we used 9 ounces of FRESH pasta. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I made the mistake of making these half hamburger meat and half Italian sausage) They were way too strong and over powering. Unfortunately the mild Italian sausage so over powered most everything else. I rated this a five star because my hubby really liked them and also because my alteration made this recipe taste much different than it would have been otherwise. So it would not be fair to give it a low rating. I will make this again using only hamburger meat and hopefully I will have a great meatball recipe, because if you stick to the recipe I don't see how you could go wrong with this one. These do a have a kick to them so if you don't like spicy, I suggest you omit the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Mexican White Cheese Dip/Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
To the reviewer mentioning the velvetta being the same thing, it is not. You need white american and the white queso velvetta is not the same thing at all. That stuff will not make this recipe even taste remotely like it is supposed to. You need to go to the cheese counter and ask for Land O Lakes white american cheese. This recipe is really good, though I'd start low with the spices and go up to what you think tastes right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is flavorful and yummy. My only issue with it is that the bread gets SO soggy after two hours. I was hoping for leftovers, but because the bread is so wet now, I doubt I'll be able to eat it in the morning. It may have been just me or my vegetable though. I'm going to try to make it a little drier next time and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is delicious! I actually made two quiches by just adding four eggs and half a cup of milk to the original mix. As a note: You shouldn't put the cheese on the top for an additional 10 minutes though. It was getting burnt by the end of the cook time. I'll certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Mediterranean Puff Pastry Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Very good. This smells -amazing- coming out of the oven. I expected the pastry to be more doughy after reading other reviews, but it came out really flaky on top. I chopped up my chicken and added Italian herbs to that as I only had regular feta cheese. Feel free to be liberal with the sun-dried tomatoes and feta. It is great as-is, but the flavors mesh so well that it could stand to have more. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Pita Pizza

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious in every way. I've made several times. While it is perfect as-is, you can also cook it in the over at 375 for 10-15 minutes and it comes out perfect as well. I added bell peppers for a wonderful and delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by daydreams123

Scrumptious Shrimp Scampi Linguine

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Very good! I added a few sun-dried tomatoes as well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Lemon Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Love this dish. I have made it several times and it has always come out great. The only (and important) change I made was to, instead of using lemon slices, to cut off the peel of a lemon and use slices of that instead ... without the white part. This made it so it wasn't bitter at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Slow Cooker Carrot Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
My family loves this recipe, in fact it is one of my kids' favorites! The only change I make is to use less water, approximately half-covered. I serve this is couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Anniversary Chicken I

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This wasn't very good and I followed the directions exactly. It may have been just personal preference though. This was much too BBQ-y tasting for me. The flavors all overpowered each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Linguine with Seafood and Sundried Tomatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Great recipe. I left out the scallops for taste preference and halfed the butter as it was just too much fat for me. Delicious regardless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This is one of the best chicken dishes I think I've ever had. Absolutely perfect as is... juicy, flavorful, I can't get enough. The juices make an excellent pan-dripping gravy and this goes really well with roasted red potatoes. Just pour the juice over them! Edit: I've moved to bigger chickens (~5lbs) since 3 lbs isn't much food for 2 people. The cooking time for this recipe would then be off. I now cook at 425 for 10 minutes and turn the heat down to 350 and cook for 20 minutes per lb. Great crispy skin, JUICY and delicious meat underneath. Brining the chicken has great results as well if you have the extra time. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chef John's Quiche Lorraine

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
WOW! Delicious! Easy to make and so so good! Word of caution, it will take more than an hour for this to cool to just above room temperature and maybe longer. I gave it 35 minutes and decided to cut it and it wasn't long enough. It still tasted delish but wasn't firm in the middle. But I know for next time. The slices that cooled did firm up though eventually but we couldn't wait any longer after already cutting into it haha! I did have to bake it about 52 minutes because my oven seems to always take more time. I advise anyone who wants to make this to watch the video for some great tips. I did add about 3/4 of a cup of chopped leeks since he mentioned he added more. I used 7 ounces of Gruyere cheese because that's what I had and I didn't want to waste it, it's too expensive! In the video he says to layer with 2/3 of each and then top with the last 1/3 instead of 1/3 each x3 which is what I did because it was easier. My whole family loved this recipe. I will definitely be making this again on special occasions. Thanks to another fabulous recipe Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chef John's Turkey Burger

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
OH MY MY! This burger is a wonderful expression of a great blend of spices which packs so much flavor and taste. I would give it a 10 if I could. I followed the recipe exactly. I built my burger how Chef John suggested and it was wonderful. All the flavors meld so well together. The tomatoes tossed in lemon juice added a delicious touch and it went so well with the cilantro. All the flavors compliment each other so well. This has to be one of my absolute favorites. My hubby said he couldn't wait to eat another one and I'll probably be dreaming about them in my sleep tonight haha! I cooked it on a cast iron grill on my stove top. I wouldn't recommend cooking them in a pan though, the grill worked so much better. To save time I started cooking two of them in a pan since the grill could only cook 2 at a time. I ended up taking them out because they were just parboiling in liquid and finished cooking them on the grill. They were very forgiving and cooked up well. It would be a shame to change anything in this recipe because this burger is perfect! Thank you for sharing this Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Best No Bean Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Outstanding chili. The Ancho pepper is a great twist. Not too hot. If you need more heat, just reach for a bottle of Texas Pete!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Delicious recipe! How anyone could find this recipe bland I have no idea because it was anything but bland. Maybe they didn't caramelize the onions as instructed? Which is an important step for this sauce. It had lots of rich, full flavor. The only modification I made was for the poultry seasoning I used Adolph's Seasoned tenderizer since my family doesn't like regular poultry seasoning. The spice set is perfect for this recipe. It has garlic powder in it but I sprinkled a little more on the chops before searing them; no need to salt since Adolph's has salt in it or you could just use garlic powder, onion powder and salt instead. If you plan on serving over rice, pasta or even potatoes, for that matter, you might want to consider increasing the sauce to 50% more since it didn't make quite as much as we wanted. The sauce is wonderful! I served over some ridged elbow pasta with fresh steamed green beans sauteed in a little olive oil, fresh minced garlic, kosher salt and freshly grated black pepper. The chops were gobbled up with a definite request for this one to be a regular in our house. It will replace my another smothered pork chop recipe I've been making for years. Thanks Chef John for another fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Mushroom Chicken in Sour Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The chicken with the rub is definitely not bland. I took the advice of other reviewers and sauteed the mushrooms in a little butter before adding to the pot and I added the sour cream 30 minutes before serving. I also cut the chicken into bite size pieces and put back in the pot after adding the sour cream. My family really liked it. I will definitely be making this again. I had 2 lbs. chicken breast that I cut horizontally across before adding the rub so my breast were thinner and it only took like 3 1/2 hours total to cook. The last half hour I turned it up to high. Served over slightly buttered Jasmine rice. I did double the sauce which does make a lot. Unless you really want a lot of sauce I wouldn't recommend it. Because I doubled the sauce I also doubled the mushrooms. The next day I grilled up some more chicken with the same rub and added to the sauce and served for dinner again. It was very tasty. Thanks wx2computers for sharing a simple and easy but great recipe. UPDATE: The next time we made this my husband threw some of the leftover spice set from the rub (he made a little extra) into the finished sauce and stirred it all together. The extra spices added even more delicious flavor to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Basic Corn Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very tasty. I took the advice of another reviewer and added an extra egg, corn, chopped jalapeno's and Mexican blend shredded cheese (about a heaping 1/2 cup. I also used white cornmeal but I'm sure they would be just as tasty with yellow. Next time I want to try buttermilk instead of milk. I have also used Martha White Buttermilk cornmeal mix in the past and it turned out really good just don't add the baking powder. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States