Greensboro - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Oh-So-Good Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Family LOVED this. I did add some frozen corn and taco seasoning. Garnished with sour cream and fresh cilantro. Will be making this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by JuicyDevil

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Solid recipe, it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Wow! This is a new favorite. What I love the most about this recipe is that it seems very flexible. All I had on hand were two chicken breasts and I cut them up into tidbits to make them go further. I followed the sauce exactly as stated but with low-sodium soy sauce because that is all I had on hand (it was salty enough and I think it might have been too salty if I used regular soy sauce). I lined an 8x8 pan with foil based on another reviewer's suggestion and poured the sauce over. Soon after putting it in the oven I found out my husband would be late so I just turned the oven down low to 300 degrees and let it cook for well over an hour. I stirred it around every now and then. Moist, tender little tidbits of chicken in delicious sauce came out. If I were using the full amount of chicken, I would double sauce because it is so good and I'm not even a big teriyaki fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SqirrellyGirly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bountiful Garden Zucchini Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Wow! I seldom leave a review, but I just had to with this one! The sauce in this is AMAZING! The mixture of vegetables can be varied but this sauce makes the whole dish. As others have suggested, I added cumin, mushrooms, yellow bell pepper and I decided to add italian sausage to mine. Chicken would be good as well. My son is making this cheese sauce to take to friends for nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Higgins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Steak House Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
These were pretty good, my family gobbled them up. However, I think I might try increasing the cream sauce next some next time so they will be creamier. Maybe it's because my potatoes were bigger than the recipe, but it only stated 3 russets and not the size so I tried to stay in the medium to medium large size. They did take longer to bake and I cut mine in small cubes. I'm going to take the advice of another reviewer and try boiling them for about 10 minutes before baking to cut down on the time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
We added chicken to make this a main dish. Yummy. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creole Black-Eyed Peas and Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
We found this to be rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Salmon II

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Amazing. I am NOT a fish lover and have usually hated salmon. This, however, has changed my mind. Absolutely delicious as written and the smell is out of this world good. Only change, the time was way too much for our particular salmon, 25 minutes was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Creamy Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I was not a fan of the Mustard powder, nutmeg and cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Higgins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Mongolian Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Good Lord! YUM YUM YUM! My husband and I both love to cook and we really enjoyed this recipe. We followed it exactly. The mustard sauce really does compliment the pork so well. This is definitely a keeper. We marinated the chops over night. We cooked them on our cast iron grill to get the grill marks and then put them in the oven on 300 degrees F until it read 140 degrees basting every few minutes. We also made braised cabbage from his site (Foodwishes). I made loaded mashed potatoes and served it with Weyerbacher's Merry Monks ale, a great ale for this meal. Thank you for another fabulous recipe Chef John, you ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Vegetarian Four Cheese Lasagna

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Very good! I used fire roasted diced tomatoes and canned pumpkin instead of the called for ingredients and it was delicious and easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Buttery Herb Wine Sauce

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I've used this recipe for years, I use it because it taste just like the sauce they use at Outback Steak House for their Wallahalla Pasta, very light and delicious, I do not add the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Slow Cooker Chicken

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I only gave this a 3 star because my husband loved it. I disliked it. I think it was the malt vinegar. I want to make it again without the malt vinegar and will give an update then. Malt vinegar is such a strong flavor it was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Meaty Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This has a wonderful array of flavors. I wouldn't add the sausage and chicken until the last 2 hours, because it will dry out the meat if you add as stated. We substituted fresh shrimp in place of the ham, added the last 30 minutes of cook time. I added rice the last hour and half and in order to get it to actually cook I had to add a cup or 2 of chicken broth and then the rice became mushy but it was still worth it. I would recommend making this without the rice and just serve it over cooked rice. We really enjoyed this. I will make it again. Not really spicy for our taste though next time we will up the Cajun spices. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Sesame Noodles

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Oh wow! This was delicioussss! Everyone raved about it. We cut the sugar in half, 4 tablespoons of safflower oil and rice wine vinegar instead of 6. Cut the sesame oil in half because it's a very strong flavor. 1 tablespoon chili sauce and added 2 tablespoons mirin. We adjusted for our taste and it worked out great, but honestly even if we didn't adjust this recipe (other and the sugar) I'm sure it would be delicious. Oh and yea we used 9 ounces of FRESH pasta. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I made the mistake of making these half hamburger meat and half Italian sausage) They were way too strong and over powering. Unfortunately the mild Italian sausage so over powered most everything else. I rated this a five star because my hubby really liked them and also because my alteration made this recipe taste much different than it would have been otherwise. So it would not be fair to give it a low rating. I will make this again using only hamburger meat and hopefully I will have a great meatball recipe, because if you stick to the recipe I don't see how you could go wrong with this one. These do a have a kick to them so if you don't like spicy, I suggest you omit the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Mexican White Cheese Dip/Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
To the reviewer mentioning the velvetta being the same thing, it is not. You need white american and the white queso velvetta is not the same thing at all. That stuff will not make this recipe even taste remotely like it is supposed to. You need to go to the cheese counter and ask for Land O Lakes white american cheese. This recipe is really good, though I'd start low with the spices and go up to what you think tastes right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is flavorful and yummy. My only issue with it is that the bread gets SO soggy after two hours. I was hoping for leftovers, but because the bread is so wet now, I doubt I'll be able to eat it in the morning. It may have been just me or my vegetable though. I'm going to try to make it a little drier next time and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is delicious! I actually made two quiches by just adding four eggs and half a cup of milk to the original mix. As a note: You shouldn't put the cheese on the top for an additional 10 minutes though. It was getting burnt by the end of the cook time. I'll certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Mediterranean Puff Pastry Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Very good. This smells -amazing- coming out of the oven. I expected the pastry to be more doughy after reading other reviews, but it came out really flaky on top. I chopped up my chicken and added Italian herbs to that as I only had regular feta cheese. Feel free to be liberal with the sun-dried tomatoes and feta. It is great as-is, but the flavors mesh so well that it could stand to have more. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States