Greensboro - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Thai Hot and Sour Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Ok,to clear up some confusion I had I about fresh coriander, and I figured others might to. The recipe call for fresh coriander which is really fresh cilantro. In many parts of the world cilantro is called coriander, here in the US coriander is the dried seed of the cilantro plant after it flowers. Since the recipe calls for a bunch of fresh coriander it means cilantro, not the dried round coriander seeds. They have TWO different and DISTINCT flavors. So if you use dried coriander seed instead of fresh cilantro your soup will have a different flavor. I haven't made this soup yet but I will. Hope this helps clear up some confusion. UPDATE: Made this soup increased the broth to 8 cups and doubled the rest of the ingredients, used 1 1/2 lbs. shrimp in place of the chicken. It is delicious! I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chewy Chocolate Cookies I

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I added everything but the chocolate chips because I ran out. I added a full cup of cocoa powder to make up for the missing chocolate. I thought they were a little to sweet, so the next time I will have to cut back on the sugar to 1 - 1 1/2 cup. Mine also didn't come out flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Allen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Very good. I add garlic and put the glaze on top, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chef John's Pork al Latte

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I made this tonight followed the recipe exactly. It was devoured! I did double the recipe because we had a 3 lb. pork roast. Hubby went crazy over it. Fresh sage is a must! I served it over mashed potatoes with a side of mixed vegetables and some crusty bread for sopping up the sauce. It's relatively easy to make, however, I did find I had to cook my pork over 2 hours to get it tender enough, so take that into consideration (I had a pork sirloin roast maybe that was why?) Next time I might increase the sauce 50% or maybe even double it, because it really needed just a little more sauce (I think hubby might have been a sauce hog haha). Even my picky toddler grandson inhaled it. Watch the salt though, it shouldn't need any additional salt because you add it to the meat before cooking and also to help sweat the onions and that's plenty - also use low sodium chicken broth! I would highly recommend watching his video first before you make it the first time. You will not be unhappy with this recipe. I would also advise sticking to the recipe exactly the first time because you will see it doesn't need any changes. It will definitely be one of our favorites from now on. I could not find creme fraiche so I made it. It does take 24 hours so if you can't find it make it the day before. Whip together 1 cup heavy cream 1 to 1 1/2 - tablespoons buttermilk. Let it sit 12 hrs. room temp lightly covered and then refrigerate 12 hrs. before using. (will keep for 10 days in the frige).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great chili! The only alteration I made was I really spiced it up by adding a few habanero peppers, extra jalapenos and cayenne pepper. The ingredient list doesn't show jalapenos on it, but it is on the video. The chili peppers can be really spicy or mild depending on which peppers you choose. Although jalapeno's are chili peppers, on the video it showed 1 jalapeno and 2 chili peppers. It really needs at least 1 jalapeno. Served it with shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream, sliced green onions and Frito's. Big hit! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Pesto Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Delicious! We added some bacon to it and it was divine. I'm not a fan of provolone so I used pepper jack, gouda, and muenster cheese slice combo's per individual taste. Whole family loved this. Will make again. Pesto is a strong flavor, I go light on mine but hubby likes a little more than I do, so take that into consideration when making these. Also next time I think I'll probably use Roma tomato's sliced long ways because they aren't as juicy and the heirloom tomatoes did make it a bit soggy but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Corn and Black Bean Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I didn't have veg oil so I used olive oil, but the flavor if phenomenal!I did add a little onion and pepper because that's what I like, but it'd be great without. The sauce base of basalamic vinegar makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ceidrelynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Korean Fried Chicken Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
OMG tasty!! The Korean Fried Chicken Sauce is made to go with Chef John's Korean Fried Chicken - also listed on this site. This sauce is VERY hot and we love spicy, however, 1 tsp. of red pepper flakes is a nice amount of heat. If you don't tolerate heat at all I suggest you leave it out altogether, do a taste test and add a tiny amount if you feel it needs a little heat. I made a double batch and only used 1/4 tsp because my daughter doesn't tolerate spicy, and it still had a little bite to it but she said it was tolerable. You can always add more red pepper flakes to individual servings for those who do want more spice so others can enjoy a less spicy sauce. I use half sweet chili sauce and half Sambal Oelek chili sauce (which is spicier than sweet chili sauce) which can be found at your local Asian market. Sweet Chili Sauce can be found in most supermarkets in the Asian section. I also think it had too much lemon juice but he does say adjust to your taste. I had to add 2 tsp of sugar to offset the tartness, so next time I'll start with 1/2 juiced lemon and taste test. Like he said it needs to have a nice balance of sweet, sour and spicy. If you like fried chicken you have to try this recipe! We served it with some fried rice and stir-fry vegetables. Fabulous recipe! YOU WILL LOVE THIS SAUCE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Korean Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Absolutely delicious!! I found that I only needed 2/3 of a cup of cold water, I started out with 3/4 of a cup and my batter was too thin so I had to add some more flour and corn starch to it to thicken it up. We had 2 lbs of chicken and still had some batter left over. I'm thinking I'm going to use it tomorrow with some whole mushrooms since it has the onion and garlic flavor in it. I recommend you watch the video on Foodwishes.com before cooking because he gives some really neat tips that were very helpful. This chicken was moist and crunchy and fabulously tasty! The Korean Fried Chicken Sauce also listed on this site is VERY hot and we love spicy, however, 1 tsp. of red pepper flakes is a nice amount of heat. If you don't tolerate heat at all leave it out altogether, do a taste test and add a tiny amount if you feel it needs a little heat. I made a double batch and only used 1/4 tsp. because my daughter doesn't tolerate spicy and it still had a little bite to it but she said it was tolerable. You can always add more red pepper flakes to individual servings for those who do want more heat so others can enjoy a less spicy sauce. I used half sweet chili sauce and half Sambal Oelek chili sauce (which is spicier than sweet chili sauce) in which both can be found in your local Asian Market. I also think it had too much lemon juice but he does say adjust to your taste. I had to add 2 tsp. of sugar to off set the tart. Next time I will start with 1/2 juiced lemon. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This is a fabulous recipe!!! It makes a lot. I didn't add the greens to the beans, rather I put them in a separate bowl and those who wanted to add them could (I like my greens and - I used collards - with vinegar and a little sugar). I bought 2 lbs. of smoked pork neck bones and 3 large ham hocks to a boil and (I did not brown them because they are smoked; I omitted the smoked ham), cooked them in water until tender, adding additional water as needed but let the liquid cook down during the last hour to concentrate it because I wanted the flavor of the broth to add to the beans. To save time I cooked the beans separately (with the bay leaf and sauteed veggies) the last hour letting the liquid cook down. Poured the reserved liquid from the meat and added to the beans along with the rest of the ingredients. I removed the meat from the bone and cut into bite size pieces. I did have to change things a bit because I used smoked meat - our favorite. I did serve over rice but honestly, the rice isn't necessary. It's good and hearty with or without the rice. I served with some Mexican corn bread (bacon, onion, corn and jalapeno's). Let me say, OMG DELICIOUS!! I froze leftovers after the 2nd day because I am looking forward to this in the weeks to come! Thank you Chef John for yet another fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Smothered Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I made this tonight and it was a huge hit. I followed the recipe mostly as written except I didn't use the reserved bacon drippings I substituted canola oil instead. I used Panko bread crumbs with a one to one ratio with the flour, to give the coating a bit of crunch. Always allow your breaded meat to rest 15 - 20 minutes before cooking - it will help the breading to stick to the meat better. Cut back on the red pepper flakes if you don't tolerate spicy. The sweet and spicy caramelized onions along with the crunchy bacon go really well together, however, next time I think I'll cut down on the brown sugar a bit. It was a moist, juicy, crunchy, cheesy, delicious bit of goodness! Family said it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Thai Pineapple Chicken Curry

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Don't like super spicy food and didn't have paste so just used an oriental curry powder. Worked well and still tasted delicious despite the huge difference between pastes and powders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
OUTSTANDING! WOW! Not only is this replacing my gravy recipe for the holidays that's I've had for many years, I didn't have to make gravy when trying to prepare 8 other dishes for my whole family the day of Thanksgiving. I thought my gravy was the best I've ever had and it is good but this gravy is packed full of delicious flavor and was a big hit. I did use like 4 - 5 large smoked turkey wings and added a little more chicken broth (in place of water) and added some chicken bouillon (Herb*ox my favorite, I just didn't add salt). It reheated wonderfully. I am freezing the rest for Christmas! Thank you Chef John for another absolutely wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Blackened Salmon Fillets

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
WE LOVED THIS!! We used a minimal amount of olive oil instead of butter, added some garlic powder to the spice mixture (2 tsp.), substituted Sweet Hungarian Paprika for regular paprika, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The salmon we had was pretty thick and it was skinless. Cooked it on medium-high heat in a hot cast iron pan lightly coated with some canola oil, until the deepest part read 125 degrees (medium-rare) about 2 and a half - 3 minutes a side. I hate overcooked salmon and that was perfect! It was so tender and silky. It was 2 1/2 lbs. and it was devoured by 3 of us! Just know that if you cook this indoors especially on stove top, it will smoke up your house, be prepared! If you are cooking the fillets in batches, make sure you carefully wipe the pan out with a couple thick paper towels, between fillets, because although it's "blackened" salmon, you don't want the previous blackened spices etc. for the next fillet. Just add the bare minimum canola oil to barely cover the bottom of the pan in between batches (after wiping the pan out), making sure you move each side a little in the pan to keep it from sticking. Although we lightly coated the fillets with extra virgin olive oil, we used canola oil in the pan it has a much higher smoke point, it just didn't seem right to coat the fillets with anything other than olive oil. I will most definitely be making this again! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chicken In Basil Cream

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I used fresh pimentos and my boyfriend LOVED the dish. I thought it could use a teeny bit more flavor but overall the dish was excellent. I'm definitely going to be pounding the chicken first next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chocolate Crinkles II

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I went by the recipe completely besides I only had 1 teaspoons vanilla extract. They came out perfect and they look so pretty!!! The dough will become hard to mix and its very sticky after you take it out of the frig. It's a chewy type of cookie. I'm making the whole family these for xmas. +UPDATE+ I made these for xmas for everyone and they LOVED it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Allen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Sour Cream Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
My husband didn't think this would be a good recipe by just the name alone. But after trying it he LOVED it and wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Allen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I don't understand why it has so many stars. The sauce wasn't thick but really watery and it wasn't good at all. No one liked it and we LOVE honey mustard. Better off buying honey mustard already made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Allen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Oh-So-Good Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Family LOVED this. I did add some frozen corn and taco seasoning. Garnished with sour cream and fresh cilantro. Will be making this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by JuicyDevil

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Solid recipe, it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States