Gastonia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Roasted New Potatoes

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This recipe turned out very tasty, but 425 was too high for my oven and the potatoes burned. Next time, I will keep it at 400 degrees. But, regardless of a littel charring, they still tasted very good. I really liked the rosemary. We will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Feta Chicken

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was so yummy! I followed the recipe, adding only a little salt and pepper to the tops of the chicken before sprinkling on bread crumbs. I didn't like the way the bread crumbs were "dry" on top. When I make this again, I will spray the tops with some olive oil. But, the whole family lived this recipe. It was juicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I was very pleased with the recipe, as was my family. I took the advice from one of the reviews and used muenster cheese instead of swiss. It was very good. We will sure make this a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Applesauce Pork Loin

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I used left over applebutter (brand name)in place of applesauce! this worked very well we liked it even better this way. ease of useing jar for mixing bowl helped with basteing and less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This recipe turned out so good! I put a can of beef stock in and followed everything else per the recipe. This was easy - loved the crock pot - will definately make this a regular at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

New York Cheesecake I

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I made this last night and followed the other reviews, and used half the sour cream. It turned out awful! I don't know if it was me, or the recipe but it just didn't taste right. I think perhaps the almond was too strong. The filling just wasn't the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant Parmigiana Caponata

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I made this dish last night for Valentines Day and it was amazing! I followed all the reviews and didn't really measure my oil, just used enough to saute the veggies. It was the perfect amount! Everything about this dish was great, I even made extra sauce to use with chicken parmigiana...(my boyfriend wanted both chicken and eggplant). All I had to do was add s bit of vodka and heavy cream to the sauce, and a bit of tomato paste and it was amazing with the chicken. I would definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
this is an absolutely outstanding brownie recipe. I'm a new cook and baking is definitely not my strong suit, but this went very well and my guests raved about the browines. I was concerned upon taking the brownies out of the oven in that they seemed dry and crumbly, but a bit of cooling fixed that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Halved the recipe to make 8 hot dog buns. I got busy and distracted while these were rising, so I ended up letting them rise for one hour, punching down and letting rise for another hour before shaping them into buns. The flavor was very good and made regular hot dogs taste like a treat. I'll never buy buns again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieInNc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
These are awesome chewy, fudgy brownies. I doubled the recipe and baked in a 9 x 13 baking dish; didn't even bother with the topping because I didn't have the ingredients, but I did add about 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips. I made them for my younger son's birthday and my older son has requested them for his birthday as well. This time I might have to triple the recipe so that I actually get to eat one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieInNc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pepperoni Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
My 6-year old loves pepperoni pizza, so I made this as a pre-birthday treat. I make my own pizza dough and had some leftover, so I used it instead of the frozen bread dough. Here's a tip to help avoid excess grease (especially if you are a pepperoni purist like me and won't use turkey pepperoni) - lay pepperoni out on a double layer of paper towels and microwave for 15 - 20 seconds, then cover with 2 more paper towels and blot. I do this when I make pizza and had very little grease when I baked my bread. Brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with a little garlic powder and kosher salt before baking. Great appetizer - I'll be making this for Super Bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieInNc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I made this in the crock pot on a snowy day (which doesn't happen a whole lot around here). I used my own chicken stock since I didn't have any vegetable stock and also had to substitute dried white (navy) beans since I didn't have any garbanzos, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. It was delicious and very hearty. I served with homemade rolls, and my 8-year-old son almost licked his soup mug clean. I did follow the advice of a few others and added the zucchini toward the end of the cooking time. Great meatless meal for a cold snowy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieInNc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Here's what's great about this recipe - versatility. The kids don't like celery in their fried rice, but the husband and I do. So I fixed the kids' supper, and then mine. Then when the husband got home from selling Christmas trees, I fixed his - he didn't have to eat a reheated supper! Eggrolls keep warm in a toaster oven. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieInNc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
So good really sweet!!! I would like to be able to cut the sweetness a bit for my taste but they were great anyway. Everyone raved!! They looked GREAT. Big, crusty and chewy too,sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Stars and Stripes Grand Finale Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I also made this recipe layering the cake and whipped topping, except for the fruit I used store bought rasberries, thawed and mixed with orange juice. Then mixed a pack of gel. The tartness of the orange juice with the sweet of the cake was soo good. You may not need to use the gel unless you don't plan on serving right away. I found the weight of the mold itself held the cake together just fine as long as it was served right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

Weeknight Chicken Cordon Bleu

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
My husband said this was by far the best thing, I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Pretzels

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
These are addictive - I'm making them to put in my Christmas baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieInNc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Tenderloin in Bourbon

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
There wasn't any left! Didn't have bourbon, so I substituted whiskey and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieInNc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homesteader Cornbread

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
My southern husband says this is the best cornbread he has ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieInNc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Raised Yeast Waffles

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Really, really good. I am a mix kinda girl too so this seemed a bit more work that I would regularly do... until I tried them. I added vanilla flavoring and a bit more sugar (maybe 2 Tbsp)and let the mix rest and rise for the full 45 mins. Light and chrispy. I will make this one again but will take advise from another reviewer and make it the night before. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States